Skip Navigation Linksrailroad-grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Grip on our production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monograms add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (253 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
 !st thing a new hire should buy
By Joe Johnson, Peoria IL, December 15, 2011

I have been getting some student conductors and one of my first recommendations to them to save money and aggravation is to order a grip from Red Oxx. I spent a lot of $$ on several grips that just did not hold up well on road travel and needed replacing after just a few years. Get this one and be DONE.
 
 Stop looking, buy it.
By D. Foster, Michigan, December 13, 2011

There's no question, it's worth the money... after seeing trainman after trainman toting these around, I decided to ditch my old backpack and get one... No regrets.

Big enough to hold whatever you could possibly need, and the last time I saw something this tough, it came out of my mom.

Good work, RedOxx.
 
 First Class Grip
By Scott Wiesemann, Stockton, CA, December 12, 2011

I have over 31 years of service as a locomotive engineer on the BNSF Railway. Needless to say I've gone through my share of grips in a variety of designs. When I opened my birthday present and pulled this grip out of the box I turned to my wife and asked " do you want me to go back on chain gang?"

This bag huge! It is well made of quality materials. The workmanship is perfect. It looks, feels,and is a first class grip. Well worth the price.
 
 Quality Gear
By Roger, Spokane,Wa, December 10, 2011

Have been using my grip for only a few months now, but have already figured how to store too much stuff in it! As the ad says, all of my safety gear and rule book fit perfectly in the roomy compartments leaving plenty of room for cold weather gear and personal items-well worth the money!
 
 Railroad Grip Bag
By Becky Wittig, Minnesota, December 8, 2011

Bought this as a gift for my son-in-law who's a conductor and has been wishing for one for years. Bag is awesome and can't wait to give it to him for Christmas. Think it will make packing for his road trips much easier with large main garment area and numerous, sizable zippered pockets for rule and reg manuals.
 
 Better than expected
By Justin, KC, MO, December 2, 2011

I didn't realize how incredibly spacious this bag would be until it showed up at my house (way earlier than expected I might add) and I started to load it up.

Best grip I could have ever dreamt of owning.
 
 Outstanding Service
By Tristan, Wisconsin, November 10, 2011

Ordered the Redoxx bag after my old grip started to tear on the shoulder strap I decided it was time to order a new grip, after seeing so many other co workers use this grip I asked what they thought and all the answers I got were very positive.

I can't be more happier with the Redoxx rr grip , it holds everything for out of town trips.

Defiantly best grip I have ever bought
 
 Built tough
By Anonymous, Pa, November 10, 2011

I only had for a little while now. But I think it will last a very long time. The end pockets are bigenough to fit the big Csx timetables in. And plenty of room in the main compartment for other things . I wish it would have a place that had the little loops to put pens in. But not mandatory . I would recommend this bag for anyone who worked on the railroad.
 
 Strong like OXX....
By Ace Bogue, Atlanta, Ga, November 7, 2011

Was looking for the old aluminum tackle box style RR grip when I came across yours. I'm glad I did, this is, by far, the best built, (American Made), grip for the money. This bag is tough, made for the rough life rail roaders put their equipment through.. I strongly recommend this grip, you Red Oxx folks rock..
 
 last grip ill ever buy
By Avery, east tennessee, November 3, 2011

Ive been thru many grips trying to find the right one but this is it. Everything i pack fits perfectly. Im proud of this bag, its a real winner.
 
 Better then Best
By Michael G Flynn, United States, October 27, 2011

The only problem I have with my new bag is that I did not order it sooner. The bag far exceeds my expectations. The Craftsmanship and materials are bar none. Could use a special pocket for your Hand Held radio. I would highly recommend this Grip to all my co-workers.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Robert, Washington State, October 20, 2011

This is my last purchase for my Railroad career (12 more years) and Traveling needs, as I attend several labor Conferences a year, I enjoy the options I have with the Red Oxx bag, having spent money every year on cheap bags, I will be pleased to end the constant hunt.
 
 About time for a real "Grip"
By Scott G., SE Oklahoma, October 2, 2011

I used to go thru grips about one every 6 months. I had a High Sierra bag that lasted about a year and a half & this is replacing it. Poor zippers & non-skid on the locomotives are the Achilles heal of grips by my experience.

What do I think about this grip? I think it's built like a tank & worth every penny. Everything to do with the railroad industry is heavy duty & someone finally got it & made a grip to last. All of the hardware is big & tough, zipper is what I would call industrial, and I love the way the shoulder strap is made...nice touch. Only reason that I gave it 4 stars is because it doesn't have anywhere for small stuff like pens, ear plugs, cell, & so on. Would be a nice touch on the side somewhere.

I recommend putting your rule books in the bottom to keep bag from "taco-ing".

Yes, I do recommend this grip to anyone. The warranty alone is worth it...

Scott

Engineer
 
 railroad grip
By B, Illinois, August 30, 2011

have only made two round trips with this bag but can already tell it was well worth the extra bucks to purchase. well built and will hold everything. rule book, flashlight, gloves, reflective vest, reverser and keys in one end pocket. shaving bag and change of clothes in other end pocket. leaving plenty of room for whatever else in main compartment. the only thing i wish it had was a loop to keep ink pen in, so you don't have to go fishing to copy gbo or something. love the bag.
 
 Great.
By Anonymous, Montana, August 11, 2011

Great grip. I was pretty disappointed you didn't have the different color zipper pulls so I had to knock a star off
 
 How to Keep Your Bag from Folding
By Shelley, Fullerton and Anaheim California , August 10, 2011

This is a combination follow up review and advice dispenser. I've owned this bag for a month. I'm the sometimes proud and not so proud owner of a lot of bags in my day, I don't drive and I carry everything with me. I'm sure it will end up on a train trip with me, soon. The railroad grip is the best bag I've ever owned.

Here are some hints on how to pack so it won't fold if you don't think you have enough stuff to fill it. This bag is not only durable it's flexible and packing it is an art form. I put a lightweight summer jacket on the very bottom, yes it gets cool these days where I reside, and then place heavier items on top such as my water bottle, empty because this bag does leak if water gets out of it, a problem that is easily fixed by putting a heavy duty towel on the bottom just in case. I'm always prepared it's my motto.

I also put a bag with my wallet, first aid kit, foldable walking cane, lunch bag, and other misalaneous stuff, whatever i can think of at the time. I find that putting something reasonably lightweight on the bottom keeps the bag more stabled on the bottom. I live out of this bag. I don't run trains but I keep sixteen hour days, I call this my Sixteen Hour Day bag! It's the best.

The deep pockets holds my headset, a small radio, bag with a flash light, rain gear, yes I put rain gear in my bag during the summer, and one pocket is devoted for snacks, protein bars, an idea I got from reading one of the engineer reviews here. That was an excelent idea! I wanted a bag carried by and designed for the gear of train crews. I didn't know how perfect it would be for me, a woman who definitely doesn't carry a foo foo bag! Oh and btw, if you need to get a mother load of groceries, it works for that, too. Thanks guys!
 
 passanger service rated
By bikerblock, laj, July 28, 2011

This is Quality @#$%, Built tough, room for everything +++. Only suggestion is a plastic removable floor to keep bag from folding like a taco, thats because I can't find enough stuff to fill it.
 
 Happy Grip Owner
By Shelley, Fullerton, california , July 17, 2011

I waited six months to get this bag it was the only one I could find online that made me want it. All the crew reviews convinced me it was worth buying and now I believe it. Ok I'm not a railroader but I love talking to railroad engineers I'm a local fixture at our station and I am very very hard on bags. I've bought enough bags in my day to know I' already love this one! The d rings and fasteners are heavy weighted and are awesome! I love all the pockets and the heavy duty zippers. The only problem is I don't know if I can fill the bag it is so spacious. My room mate told me not to worry, I would. We'll start tomorrow. Really do love the tough quality of the material and the customer service was excelent, even saved me a few dollars in shipping I thought that was exceptional. Bag goes out with me tomorrow on its first adventure. Cant wait to show it off. TEGIRL
 
 Railroader
By David S., Waterloo, Il, July 2, 2011

By far the best bag I have owned. Everything on this bag is so heavy duty.I know it will last me for years of use on the railroad. Great customer service, great all american product, great worry free warranty. Well worth every penny you can spend.
 
 so far, very pleased
By Anonymous, buffalo, June 25, 2011

easily the toughest bag ive had. should have a contract with the military. one letdown was the pockets being too small to accept larger ec-1 and rule books. they do fit easily in the main compartment, but was hoping for a seperate storage area for this. have had it for a few trips and havn't been able to "test" it yet, but have seen others with theirs 6 months old look brand new. black is great, but how about a color choice? they are getting popular at work, and have to start reading the names so i dont take the wrong one!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking, self healing
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use that helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.