COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 SMART & FUNCTIONAL
By I.ERICSSON, SURREY, UK, June 4, 2013

I travel a lot through Europe for business and have never managed to find a bag which is big enough to carry what i need to take with me but small enough to get in as cabin baggage. I also need it to accomodate a laptop bag. The air boss does this easily - functionally it is great, design wise it is equally impressive and the customer service was brilliant. A great product supplied by a great company.
 
 A year in: Great, but with limits
By RP, Washington, DC, May 26, 2013

I think it's been about a year since I got my Air Boss and I wanted to update my review.

First of all, after lots of planes, trains and automobiles, it still looks practically new. No frayed edges, no funky zipper problems.

Secondly, I just returned from six days of business travel (five airplanes, three rental cars) with sportcoats, ties, dress shirts, dress pants, and a spare pair of size 13s. I couldn't have done that with my roll aboard. This thing is big.

Thirdly, the wrinkles really do fall out if you hang stuff in the bathroom overnight after running the shower a while.

Fourth, I was able to fly standby on an earlier flight because I hadn't checked anything and even though the overhead bins were full, I could wiggle my AirBoss into a spare space.

The downside is that my back is now paying for bad body mechanics one time I hoisted all of that on my shoulder. Six days of clothes may fit, but there's a reason people like wheels. It also gets really old carrying it from the farthest gate.

This is probably the most versatile bag I've owned, but it isn't right for everything. Sometimes, you just need to check a bag. Or maybe the Sky Train is easier to lug, since it has backpack straps.

 
 Love the Air Boss
By Joshua Weller, Australia, May 16, 2013

I am very happy with the Air boss. It is everything I was expecting and more. The new changes are improvements that were pointed out in many Online reviews and have been corrected, Ugly Logo Badge, etc.. one thing I would like to see.

1: a D ring or Loop of kinds inside one of the Zip pockets to hang a Key clip on and also to Attach the Dog Tag /ID & Cable Lock so it inside the bag not dangling outside making noise and getting in the way.
 
 Love it, but...
By Mike, Chicago, IL, May 13, 2013

My wife bought this for me after I researched it extensively, as an alternative to being forced to gate check too many times with a roller case, and to help get around in crowded city streets, trains, subways, small taxis, etc. I have used it on several domestic and international trips, both business and recreational, and in general love the look and solid feel.

First the good: this thing is built like a truck, with super strong zippers pull ties, straps, etc. It can easily be stuffed into crowded overhead compartments and at a pinch under an airline seat. I can pack enough shirts, underwear for a Monday-Friday business trip, although shoes can be an issue if you like to run and carry a spare pair. The central compartment is great for accessing books, camera, laptop, your ziplock of liquids.

Cons: there is no organizer space for pens, computer mouse, keys etc, part from the small side pocket. The real negative I have is that you can plain overload it, and it can easily weigh 25-plus pounds with a few papers, books, magazines, laptop and power supply slipped in. That can put you over a weight limit on some small European planes, but the biggest problem I have had is, since using this bag, I have developed a shoulder pain on one side. It gets better when not traveling and flares up again when I use the bag. Now maybe I should just use the carry handles, but they are not super comfortable, and then I don't have a free hand. I am fit, but in my fifties, so maybe the problem is specific to me.

Net: great product, but I would consider the double shoulder strap/backpack Sky Train the better option for carrying when walking any distance, but then you lose the flat packing ability of the Sky Train. As it is, I will continue to use this bag, minus the shoulder strap, for family trips.

I also have the Metro briefcase, which I use daily. I have never successfully been able to fit the one into the other, but at least having both takes care of the lack of small item storage pockets in the Boss.
 
 Love this bag!
By E Cox, Boston, MA, May 6, 2013

This suitcase has been everywhere from Russia to Colombia, mainly for business travel. Packed properly, I can travel for a week without having to check a bag. I have spent so much time using and bragging about my luggage that my wife got tired of hearing me and made me get one for her.
 
 Form & Function
By Susan, Maryland, May 5, 2013

Since I had some trips coming up I decided it was time to invest in something better than the junky rolling carry-on I got years ago. I've been reading Onebag.com and following Doug's advice on packing & that obviously convinced me to order the Air Boss.

I used it on a two week business trip in April. I did laundry once, so I basically had 7 days worth of clothes, 2 pairs of shoes, plus miscellaneous stuff like chargers, a toothbrush, and some paperwork. After packing, I definitely could have put more in the bag -- although I think if I had stuffed it to capacity I would have trouble carrying it for long. As it is, I got a little tired hauling the bag around the airport on a quest for coffee, but no other problems.

The claw strap deserves all the raves it's gotten -- I wish I could get use it on the bag I take to the office every day!

And now that I'm back home I'm delighted that this will take up a lot less space in the closet than my old carry-on.
 
 As good as they get.
By CC, Bakersfield, CA, May 5, 2013

This bag probably travelled over 200,000 miles with me. It handled heat & humidity, air-conditioned cars as well as dusty public buses. And it is still in excellent shape. I am glad I spent a bit for high quality.
 
 More than I can handle
By Jill Johnson, Baton Rouge, LA, May 2, 2013

I bought this bag on the recommendation of the 'OneBag.com' guy. He was right on about all the attributes of the bag. It's great.

It has an amazing amount of space (like magic, you can keep adding stuff). I packed for a 10 day trip including my computer, make up, etc. and stuffed everything in.

MY only problem is that all that stuff is heavy, and even though the OneBag.com guy is opposed to bags with wheels, I wish I had gone for a wheeled version. Next time I will pack less or lift weights to prepare for the journey.

So my only complaint is not with the bag, but with my physical abilities. I will probably also look into another shoulder strap.
 
 Could have packed more...
By Gordon W P C, Curacao, April 25, 2013

International shipping? The bag arrived extremely quickly, I was very impressed.

I just used it for the first time, a 5 day trip, nice and easy. I laid out my usual, sparse items, packed everything up and for the first time ever, I had plenty of extra room.

This is also the lightest bag I've ever had to carry around an airport. I'm now going to be nauseatingly promotional to everyone I know about this bag.
 
 Boston/Arizona
By Steve, Oregon, April 12, 2013

I took a 5 day trip to Boston (Grandson 's school trip) and then took a 6 day trip to Arizona. Both times I carried on both bags, Airboss and the Rockhopper.

Everything I needed was contained in just those two bags. They are quality construction and can carry a bunch of stuff. I am a big guy and my clothes take up more space but I was able to take everything I wanted and then some coming home.
 
 Excellent quality and the perfect design
By Anonymous, Washington, DC, April 12, 2013

I've only had this bag for a short time but I already love it. I travel a lot for business and recently took this bag with two suits that stayed perfectly wrinkle free. Packs easy. Fits perfectly in the overhead compartments...even with full overheads I can usually squeeze it into a space. Can't do that with hard side roller bags. Comfortable to carry over my shoulder and really light weight. Material, zippers and shoulder strap are all strong and well made. Looks like they'll outlast me :-)
 
 Great bag overall
By Ryan S, Bethesda, MD, April 9, 2013

Just came back from my first trip with this bag. I love the appearance and the construction of the bag. My eagle creek cubes and folders fit perfectly. My only quip is the shoulder strap. As advertised, it will not slip off your shoulder. But it's just not comfortable, and does not do a good job distributing weight. I guess it's a trade off between slipping and weight distribution. I'll probably swap it out for the Tom Bihn and then it'll be perfect.
 
 Appropriately Named
By Sean Murphy, Phoenix, AZ, April 9, 2013

Never has a product been so appropriately named, Air Boss.

Simply put, if you are looking for the ultimate carry-on bag, this is it.

Quality construction, light weight, thoughtful design, and downright cool!

I have a hard time filling it up for a weeks worth of business travel. If you feel the urge to stuff it, beware that it will hold a lot which can get heavy. I have learned to resist the urge and take only what I need. The result is a easy breeze through any airport and stress free travel.

I cannot recommend this bag strongly enough. The only thing better than this bag is the customer service from the Red Oxx staff.
 
 Not for me.
By Bob Kelly, Virginia, April 4, 2013

I am too large for this bag. Most of my trips are two week vacations and at 6'6" and over 250 with big feet there is no rational way to pack enough clothing and shoes for the duration.

I am sure that there are a long list of compromises I could make to condense my load, but shoes are the deal breaker. So no.

No problem with quality or delivery.
 
 Airports made easy
By Ben, , March 31, 2013

Purchased the Air Boss for myself as I have been traveling more for work. My old wheeled carry on was starting to feel heavy and cumbersome. So in comes my new Air Boss, makes getting through security to through terminals a breeze. Nothing to worry about dragging behind me. Fitting this into over head bins is no problem at all. Plenty of room to spare. The Claw strap is amazing, there is no chance of it slipping off my shoulder. Love this bag, I can no longer be tethered to wheeled luggage.
 
 Air Boss is Amazing
By Anna Hade Duncan, Connecticut, March 28, 2013

A very well constructed bag, and every piece is of the highest quality. I was amazed at how much I could pack in this bag.....and actually remember what I put where. It is very intuitive. I got a red one and the color is rich. Love it. Contacted the company and begged for some "wheeled" choices in larger bags.
 
 Very good bag . . .
By Mario, U.S., March 28, 2013

I'm tall so a roller bag is a headache to wheel around. The Air Boss is my new favorite and very good bag; easy to pack and holds more than it may seem at first sight. Difficult to overpack as well - a very good trait. The non-slip aspect of shoulder strap is great - however the strap is too narrow and needs to be wider . . . I would still recommend the bag to all.
 
 Air Boss
By Anthea Matley, Central Victoria, Australia, March 21, 2013

This bag is so good my husband expressed 'Air Boss envy, so I bought him one too!
 
 The perfect short trip bag
By Kolja Kassner, Hamburg, Germany, March 11, 2013

I just received my Air Boss two days ago and traveled back from Berlin by train. So my opinion is based on just the first impression and a single trip of two hours.

The Air Boss kept all my luggage I traveled with for a week visiting a trade show and spending the weekend privately. So it had to fit business attire (two suits, three shirts, pair of shoes etc.) and casual.

Yes it ended up being heavy on the shoulder but what else should I expect packing that much. I liked both, shoulder strap and handles. Everything is solidly built and as other more experienced users write, I expect it to be a long time travel companion. Happy to have it bought and already began recommending ;-)
 
 Airboss.. quit researching this is the one
By Scott, Midwest, March 9, 2013

Great bag.. quit doing the research.. I researched for almost two years.. kept thinking about buying.. didn't but.. researched, etc... they bought the Metro briefcase and loved it so much finally pulled the trigger. Great purchase. thanks!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.