Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (665 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Very pleased!
By Bhaya, Brooklyn, March 19, 2012

I read several reviews on carry on bags and visited stores to check out a few brands before deciding to go with the Red Oxx Air Boss. When it arrived, I liked the look and feel - high quality material, great zippers and easy access to all compartments. But I was concerned about how much stuff I could cram into this seemingly tiny bag. I was packing for a week - 5 days of business meetings followed by a weekend of personal travel. I tend to overpack and I didn't hold back just because the bag looked small. I was surprised to find that I was able to get everything to fit. Clearly its small size belies its actual capacity. Another benefit is that after stuffing it full it was still rather light - I could carry it on my shoulder without straining myself. Likely because the bag has no wheels, handle or frame to weigh it down. Fitting in the overhead bins was never a problem at all. I'm extremely pleased with my purchase and would recommend it highly.
 
 Believe the hype
By Andrey Rukhin, Fredericksburg, VA, March 16, 2012

There are plenty of rave reviews for this item both on and off Redoxx's site. After my first, week-long, trip with the bag, I have to say that I wholly agree with the overwhelming positive reviews for the Airboss: solid craftsmanship and it looks good!

This is a DEFINITE keeper: make sure you get the right colors, though.

My only unfulfilled wish is that RedOxx doesn't make anything with wheels: with the amount of stuff I can pack in their gear, I can use all the help I can get when walking/trudging through the airport.

In my humble opinion, this is a flawless item: I cannot come up with a single drawback for the Airboss.

Sorry if this review is too boring!
 
 I am sold on it, my wife isn't
By Edward, New Jersey, March 15, 2012

My wife and I for a week plus vacation usually take a spinner luggage. For this 10 day trip we took only carry on. Me the Air Boss, she the carry on with wheels. I had enough room to pack all (note to others, you will pack too much, scale back). I could carry with the shoulder strap, my wife would not be able to manage due to the weight. And I, at times, looked with envy at those who could wheel their luggage with nary an effort. The bag is well-contructed, this will take a licking. I got the coal, a good choice, doesn't stand out and is not the ubiquitous all black.
 
 Early impression good, but chose wrong colour?
By David Skibinski, Singapore, March 12, 2012

At first was underwelmed. I had very high expectations from all the reviews and was not 'wow'ed. Was surprised by how unstructured the bag is when empty. And the color I ordered (midnight) is not conservative enough for me. I should have got the black, but was put off by the red badges.

I have used the bag on two trips and am starting to warm to it. Looks much better when full, and can really hold a lot in an organized way. I took all the monkey fists off as the zips worked great without. I am going to keep using it. Colour still not right though for me. Maybe I'll order another in black!
 
 air boss
By Mike Rilling , Austin Texas , March 9, 2012

No shoulder straps so it got really heavy quickly. Not for women since it puts so much weight on the neck /shoulder area. It desperately needs shoulder straps to compete with similar bags. It's not tablet /laptop friendly since there is no padding in the floor of the center compartment. The side pockets desperately need 3straps... It only has 2. Our clothes arrived sagging and wrinkled ...
 
 Great bag
By AFB, South Florida, March 5, 2012

Have used it religiously since I got it. Made the mistake of not using it on a 2 day trip and was forced to gate-check my wheeled bag. I'll never have that problem again. I am only using the Air Boss from now on. Bundle wrapping and the straps keep everything perfect, even wehen there are 6 nights worth of stuff.
 
 First Try
By Mark, Fulton, KY, February 28, 2012

I had my first chance to use the Air Boss for a quick trip to Disney with my family and back. It performed better than I could have imagined. My wife packed a small carry on suitcase with wheels. I could fit more in my Air Boss with better mobility. We had a total of 4 flights and my Air Boss got me through each one with ease.

I can see where the Sky Train could be of benefit by wearing it like a backpack, but I had more than enough clothes packed to get me through the trip.

I was impressed with how easily it packed and could be used.
 
 Finally Up to Potential
By William, Cleveland, February 28, 2012

This past weekend my wife and I took a trip to New York City to visit my oldest. Since the trip was so brief I convinced my wife that we should both do carry on only. Me with my air boss and here with a "carry on" size wheeled suitcase. on all our flights she had to gate check. The air boss fit in each overhead, even the little prop job from Philly to NYC. The return trip, our first leg canceled. We then were bumped from our next flight. Finally we booked on a direct flight home from another terminal and a different airline. Had we not been using carry ons we might still be waiting for our luggage. Highly recommend the air boss. It holds everything I threw in and fit every overhead compartment.
 
 Best bag I've ever owned
By Paul, San Francisco, CA, February 27, 2012

I've been using this bag for a few months now and I have to say it's the best bag I've ever owned. First, the construction on this thing is beyond anything you can throw at it traveling, it's not going to wear out. Second, I've used this bag for international travel as well as short hauls on commuter flights in the US and have only had one time where I couldn't fit the bag in the overhead. This bag is absolutely perfect. I used to pack a little more willy-nilly, now I pack in this bag and bought some cubes for random items like cables and things like that but everything works perfectly and on top of everything else I don't see many of these on the road so it's nice to have something that is a little unique.
 
 Good bag...
By Craig, Alabama, February 26, 2012

The Air Boss is a nice bag. Is deceptively roomy and holds a LOT of clothing. The build quality is very good. The bag delivers what is promised. I've only used on one trip thus far but am happy with the purchase....
 
 Very nice with one reservation
By James, Denver, February 23, 2012

The bag is great. Very smart design, beautifully constructed. It would be nice to see Red Oxx again offer that removable pad for the center compartment - depending on what you're packing, that's a nice option to have.
 
 Perfect
By John Donohue, Hamden Ct, February 18, 2012

After trolling the web to find the best solution to my business travel needs, I came across the AirBoss. It's more than lived up to my expectations: well-designed and thought out with an exceptionally high quality of material and craftsmanship. it won;t be the last product I buy from Red Oxx...
 
 International buyer
By Adam, UK, February 16, 2012

With the wealth of information on www.onebag.com and the high quality RedOxx video's posted on YouTube, I had no hesitation about ordering this for shipping to the UK.

The comprehensive communications after ordering and tracking info as it made its way to me via UPS reinforced my confidence in my purchase even before it had arrived.

The pedigree of the brand and the personal values which have gone into developing the product became immediately obvious as soon as the package was opened.

This is an _excellent_ bag for frequent national and international travellers on planes and trains - and wherever else checking your luggage is to be avoided.

The quality of the materials, the capabilities of the design and the reassurance of the guarantee all stack up to a create a case which I expect to deliver reliable support for many years and many thousands of miles to come.

If you need a new case, if your old rolling luggage cannot cut it any more, and if you can man-up and embrace one bag travel - the RedOxx is the choice to make !
 
 Very happy with purchase (so far)
By Emil, Brazil, February 10, 2012

I've been looking at this bag on-off online for a year or so and finally decided to buy a black one. I've just returned from a week long business trip to the Middle East and it performed very well. Quality construction, handy pockets, fitted into all the airline overhead lockers...

The only downsides I can think of at the moment are the price (a price point under USD 200 would be fairer) and whether your shoulders can take carrying it fully laden.
 
 Air Boss
By Norm , Nanaimo, BC Canada, February 10, 2012

Ordered the bag and received it in 3 days to vancouver island. Just used it for 10 days in Maui and it carried everything I needed. I was amazed at the amount of stuff you can get into the bag and the quality of the product. I put my bulky old laptop inside the middle compartment and checked the bag and had no trouble with damage. Good job Red Oxx!
 
 Great bag - awesome price
By Brad S., Kansas City, MO, February 9, 2012

I travel frequently on short one-to-two night business trips. I have been suspicious of any bag that claimed to "do it all." But I gave the Air Boss a shot and wow, did it come through. I can pack a suit, shirt, sundries and other gear, extra shoes, another change of clothes (jeans or whatnot) and still have room for the special Japanese bean pillow I travel with for a bad neck problem. I would buy this bag again!
 
 Air Boss can handle it but can your shoulder?
By Mondy, India, Gurgaon, India, February 3, 2012

Bag is good but...

1. First heard about Red OXX from Doug of One Bag (what a great site).

2. Excellent delivery. On a visit to USA from India and had ordered 7 items from different vendors at the same time. Red OXX delivered 1st!

3. Bag humongously large & tough. Vastly overbuilt for Air Travel. My 1st trip I was stuck carrying family's last minute airport shopping 15kg (33Lb). Still had some space leftover! Not a squeak from the bag although my shoulder shrieked.

Suggestions

1. I see a lot of non USA reviews so clearly fans are global. Except for US, the rest of the world uses metric system. How about giving dimensions / weight in Cm & Kgs please?

2. Wish I had bought the Sky Train instead for the Backpack straps. A load over 7kg (15Lb) hurts if you need to carry for more than 10 min (I'm a fit 5'10" (177cm) in my 40s).

3. The Air Boss is good but my ideal bag would be an Air Boss / Sky Train Lite - weigh a lot less (under 1kg / 2.2Lb) designed for a maximum payload of 10kg (22Lbs). In the rest of the World (Ex. USA) the median Carry on weight limit is 7Kg / 15Lbs so anything designed for greater load becomes superflous for Air Travel. Maybe lighter snaps / tags / etc. could be used considering the lighter design payload. I'd even sacrifice some durability for lighter weight. The Air Boss was designed when the airlines did not have tight carryon weight restrictions - only size. Past 5 years have seen continuously tighter weight restrictions specially non USA.

4. Still a fabulous bag. Have to be careful about loading it. The bag can take it all but can your shoulder?

5. Recently did a 10 day scuba diving trip in Thailand using only my Air Boss. It carried everything with loads of spare space for gifts.
 
 almost perfect
By Peter, USA, February 2, 2012

Bag is bombproof, no question. Just got back from a 4 day business trip where I experimented with the bundle wrap technique. Jury is still out on that, the clothes looked ok when I steamed them at the hotel. Could be operator error in my packing though.

Two main criticisms: The tie downs need to be longer and heavier. They are flimsy compared to the rest of the design. Two, and the more important is that the outside reinforcing straps should go INSIDE of at least one of the outside pockets. Currently you can't get access to stuff without undoing the handles. Also, anything large and flat is put under significant strain when carrying the bag, as the straps try to "bend" it.

If you do make that modification, let me know and I'll send that bag back to make it a perfect 5.0!
 
 As good as they say
By RP, Washington, DC, February 2, 2012

I WISH I were one of those people who was buying luggage for a life of exciting trips to faraway lands. I'm not. I travel for work. A lot.

For the last eight years, I've used a top-of-the-line rolling, carry-on garment bag for my 3-day trips. Before that, I carried a garment bag on my shoulder. I hate ironing.

So, I bought the AirBoss with more than a little nervousness when my trusty wheeled luggage died mid-trip last month. Do these guys in Montana who spend time writing about parachute rigging actually know about keeping suits, sport coats, and dress shirts from wrinkling?

The attraction was, besides the glowing reviews and apparent quality, that handles and wheels take room. I can't really fit my gym shoes in my wheeled carry-on unless I'm only doing a one-night trip.

They fit in the AirBoss, no problem. AND, those four-day trips where the old bag was really stretched even without shoes? No problem. I even crammed an extra windbreaker in this morning.

As for wrinkles, well, I like my rolling garment bag better, honestly. But I've gotten better at the bundle method, and as long as I'm not rushing, it's pretty good. After nearly a month of nonstop travel, I've avoided the hotel iron (though not the hot shower trick).

I've also been able to fit it in the smallest RJ overheads, where all the guys with the rollaboards had to leave theirs at the bottom of the stairs, which is an added benefit.

It does seem to get heavier as the gates get farther away, but at least the strap isn't falling off my shoulder. And that button on the outside is annoying as it gets caught on stuff.

But I'm not going back. The capacity and the never gate-checking is worth the weight and the minor wrinkles.
 
 Great bag - did get heavy though
By Anonymous, Des Moines, IA, February 2, 2012

Great bag - durable materials, solid stitching, intelligent design with the 2 sides and center pocket. I'm an XL guy and was able to pack everything for a 6-day trip - with a clean dress shirt daily. It fit great into all overhead bins, too. Admittedly, I didn't think carrying the bag would be a problem (fully loaded, it was only 20.6 lbs). But traveling between terminals on international flights and walking to rental car stations, it did kind of heavy. I totally recommend the bag - but be sure to fully think through the impact of carrying vs. rolling your luggage.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.