Skip Navigation LinksSafari-Beanos-Bag-PR5

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements)
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.92 Average Rating
 (118 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 My week in a bag
By Kevin G., South Glastonbury, CT 06073, February 25, 2011

I just got back from a week in Ireland and this bag carried everything I needed without any strain. I love the dual zippers that secure the top of the bag. I usually go with rolling luggage, but wanted to try a carry-on that I could have some control over. This size bag will stuff like no other I have owned and didn't caise any doubts among airline personnel that it was indeed a carry-on. I was very happy with it and can't believe that I tried to talk my way out of keeping it. Nice job!
 
 =)
By Anonymous, , February 19, 2011

I'm in love with these beautiful bags. Top marks RedOxx. 5 stars!
 
 Well Built
By Scott, New Hampshire, February 17, 2011

The bag is really well built, and thoughtfully designed. I have had it with flimsy zippers and poor stitching - the Beano gives me confidence that it will last. I love it.
 
 Just throw things in and go!
By Peter, New York, December 30, 2010

I bought this as a new member in my arsenal of carry-on luggage bags. I find I do less traveling requiring pressed shirts and more with tee shirts.

I have the Air Boss (which I think is great), but if you have just tees, sweats and jeans, I just wanted to throw them in one large compartment. It's so much easier to pack. No strapping down well folded clothing, then unstrapping multiple compartments when you arrive.

I have the PR 5.5 as well. I think this is the perfect travel bag.. if only the Airlines will allow it on board. Ok, I have brought this on board a few domestic flights without a problem, but I feel a little guilty about it. And surprisingly, you can get a lot into the PR 5. (I just flew for a 4 day ski trip and easily packed everything in including ski clothing, hat, gloves and slippers). I just like the larger side pockets in the 5.5 that easily accommodate shoes.



As always the quality of the bag is excellent- big strong zippers and tough fabric. Personally, I think the soft bags(especially the Air Boss)looks sharper than all the hardcase carry-ons of the masses - and try stuffing that into a crowded overhead bin!
 
 Awesome bag and service
By Roger, Portland, OR, November 11, 2010

Like many others this was the first Red Oxx product I had purchased. Before I ordered I called to clarify some shipping concerns as I was traveling very soon after I ordered and wanted a color they were out of stock with. The gentlemen asking the phone was easily the most helpful phone representative I've talked with in quite some time.

After I received the bag I was amazed at how heavy the buckles and zippers were. There was no doubt this was significantly better quality then all my luggage before this. I was able to pack 6 days worth of clothing and a spare pair of shoes for a business trip all in the one bag. I did have to pack my laptop separately in a backpack, but I think for shorter trips that would have fit just fine. The bag survived the trip without a scratch.

All in all I must say that I will not buy any other product for my travel needs from now on. This bag is worth every penny and the service is second to none.
 
 Business & Leisure Travel
By David Ladori, Buffalo, NY, September 25, 2010

This was my 1st Red Oxx bag and, I was not disappointed. I travel frequently for work (1-2 nights) and this bag provides plenty of space for running shoes, gadgets, work papers, book, etc. very comfortably. All the different pouches and pockets are great. I also plan to use if for longer trips (8 nights in Italy) with some efficient packing. There is a lot of attention to detail, even the ID Card holder attached to the bag is heavy duty.

The best part of this bag is the immediate confidence that it will last a very long time. The zippers are heavy duty, so no more problems with those breaking down. My first impression was that the metal clips were too heavy and bulky, but I quickly got used to that and they make this a stronger bag.

I used to lug around a suit case or use a cheap duffel for short trips, but I'll be using this bag for a long-time. Very much worth the price.
 
 Awesome Bag!!
By Christine, Norwalk, CT, August 12, 2010

We absolutely LOVE these bags!!We ordered 2 of them to take on our 10th wedding anniversary trip to St. Barths in the French West Indies. Because you have to take an 8-seater plane from St Maarten to St Barths, we decided it best to only bring carry-on luggage. We used only 2 of these bags for the 2 of us for a week! I even had room for 6 pairs of shoes!! Fits perfectly in overhead bins of the plane and the durability of these is amazing! We are so happy with these!
 
 Awesome
By Rob, VA, August 5, 2010

This is definitely the best duffel on the market right now. Great price considering the high quality of the bag. Its basically indestructible and looks great.
 
 Nice Bag
By Anonymous, Houston, July 29, 2010

Well made but the zippers are a bit course and don't glide easily. Terrific shoulder strap, nice materials.
 
 best bag I have ever used
By Jason L, Whippany, NJ, July 14, 2010

I bought this bag to use on a one week vacation to Las Vegas. I was able to pack a weeks worth of clothes and all of my elctronic equipment including a gps, ipod, walkie talkies and the chagers for all of the items. It fit perfectly in the overhead on an American Airlines MD80 bin on four different flights. The bag is lightweight but exrtremely strong. The bag has two zippers in the back so that it can be carried by a wheelie bag. This was one of the best investments I have made in a travel bag!
 
 Almost Perfect Bag
By Justin Rudd, Seattle, WA, July 9, 2010

I travel every 2 weeks for 3 days like clockwork. After traveling with 2 bags for so long, I decided to try to get down to one bag. The PR5 is the exact dimensions that I need in the main compartment (it holds my sleeved laptop easily). And the end pockets hold my iPad, cords, etc. I've used it twice now, and I mostly love it. The problem is the heavy triangular "rings" on the ends that the shoulder strap attaches to. They tend to lay on top of the zippers of the end pockets. And with the strap attached, there is even more laying on the zipper. I have to hold them up to unzip the pockets. Not a huge deal, but it makes standing in the aisle of an airplane with the bag above me a more bothersome process than it needs be.

With that said, the bag is the Superman of bags. There was a snafu at one of the airports I travel through with the x-ray machine. The x-ray machine belt caught a hold of my strap and the strap of another traveler's bag (seems it had been doing it randomly all day but they were so busy they couldn't shut it down). The other traveler's bag was torn apart. My bag simply laughed and said "give me more".

Even with the nuisance of the triangle "rings", I heartily recommend the bag to all my traveling friends.
 
 YOU MUST BE MAD
By DAVID DUKE, AUSTRALIA, June 10, 2010

YOU MUST BE MAD IF YOU DONT OWN ONE OF THESE THAY ARE SMOKIN HOT WELL MADE GREAT LOOKING FANTASTIC BACK UP THANKS FROM OZ
 
 solid bag
By Francis, Philadelphia, May 27, 2010

Like the simple design and quality workmanship. Definitely bombproof and will probably last 20 years. My major critique is that the metal buckles that the shoulder strap attaches too is far too heavy and overkill. One ideas would be to incorporate the same workmanship but use some lighter weight materials (zippers, fabric, clips) for those who are looking for a lightweight, quality bag - understanding it may only last 10 :)
 
 Incredible bag!
By Alan Barr, Ann Arbor, Michigan USA, May 13, 2010

This is an incredible bag! Extremely well built, and very versatile. My business trips can be as long as three weeks in duration, and this bag allows me to pack enough clothes and supplies to ensure I am looking good and feeling good the entire time (with the use of hotel laundry/dry cleaning services). The bag fits into any overhead compartment, and thanks to its comfortable no-slip shoulder strap, it's a breeze to carry-on. Well done!
 
 Very Good Carry On Bag
By Mr Jersey, Stockton NJ, April 2, 2010

Used this bag to carry photographic gear on an aircraft while on the way to a photographic workshop. It worked very well, protected the gear and the shoulder strap mitigated the weight involved with all the gear I was carrying. Two suggestions to make a great bag even greater. Put a small carry handle on the end do I could be carried sideways down the narrow aircraft passageways and put a netting under the main flap for travel documents. This would make a great bag perfect.
 
 Good but not lockable
By Kees, Pasco, WA, March 16, 2010

This bag is well made. I can't yet say how well the fabric will hold up, but the quality is beyond question. The strap is also very nice.

However, there are a few things I have issues with. There should have been handles on the outside pockets for ease of handling. However, my biggest gripe is not being able to lock this bag. The zippers are good quality, but the zipper pulls don't overlap to easily lock. The main compartment though is not lockable at all. Yes, you can put two (!) locks on the zipper pulls and attache them to the D-rings, but that leaves the end of the flap, which is secured with a couple of 'turn-buttons' that can't be secured at all. So someone can open the buttons and slide their whole arm into the main compartment, and should be able to get most if not all of your items out of the bag if they so desire. I would rate this a major shortcoming.

Finally, the outside pockets are fairly useless except for very small items, as when you stuff the main compartments full, there will be no room left in the outside pockets.
 
 Might be the perfect carry-on travel bag
By rb, Arizona, March 12, 2010

I used this bag on its first trip this week. I wanted a bag that was carry-on sized but gave plenty of room for the things I need. See I travel about a week a month, but I'm a runner and like to keep fit, so I always take running and workout gear along with typically 5 days worth of clothing for business casual conferences and meetings. It being wintertime, I need both warm and cold gear for running and then clothes for everyday use. Here's what fit with room to spare:

1 pair running shoes

running pants

running long-sleeve shirt

hat gloves visor

running short sleeve shirt

running shorts.

1 pair of dress shoes

1 pair Khakis.

4 buttondown shirts

4 t-shirts

1 sweater

1 sweatshirt

1 jacket

5 pairs socks

5 pairs of boxers

Toiletry Kit

2 large paperback technical books

I have never fit that much in the carryon roller I use, and I could have fit enough for 2 more days. Fully loaded it was still lighter than my old roll-on packed with less gear.

Thanks for finally making my perfect bag!
 
 Amazing Bag!
By Fred Katz, Madison, WI, February 14, 2010

My wife and I purchased two of the Beanos PR5 bags for a ten day foray into Costa Rica. We were restricted to 25 lbs. due to flying into remote areas on very small planes. We were skeptical, at first, because this was basically, our first attempt at using bags w/o wheels and handles. Also, we are 65y.o., and although in good physical shape, carrying these bags around seemed like a potential problem. We had NO problems--skated thru customs, and used the carts available at the airports. I think I may have sold a couple of these bags along the way! Thank you for a great product!!
 
 Incredible Carry On Bag
By Ann, California, January 2, 2010

Between us, my husband and I now have four Red Oxx carry on bags. I originally purchased the Safari-Beanos PR5 for my husband in 2008 to take on a 14 day photo safari to Africa. For that trip I chose the Air Boss for myself and we shared the Gator Carry On for our cameras and lenses. This December we took a three week trip to Southeast Asia and this time I decided to buy a Beanos PR5 for myself as well. Here's why: Before our Africa trip, I did a lot of research on soft sided carry ons. My husband and I haven't willingly checked a bag since the early 90's and I had been using a hard sided Tumi rolling carry on for many years. But for our safari we were required to bring only soft sided carry on luggage to make them easier to fit into the holds of the small bush planes we'd be taking between camps. After much online research, I found Red Oxx and after reading all the reviews and links on this site, I decided to go with the Air Boss and not the Beanos PR5 because I determined that I was "a folder" rather than "a stuffer" as far as my packing style was concerned. I was, and still am, delighted with the Air Boss, but on that trip I discovered that while I may be "a folder" in the way that I was used to packing and repacking as I traveled, on one morning in our tented camp as we were packing to catch a pre-dawn bush flight, I encountered several environmental hurdles at once that made me reconsider my usual "folder's" packing strategy: cold temperatures, very poor light due to a generator failure, and my caffeine deprived brain. I simply couldn't manage to properly redistribute my items among the three compartments of my Air Boss under these conditions so that I could zip the center section closed. I rapidly changed my affiliation from "a folder" to "a stuffer" by removing an entire section of my things from the Air Boss and stuffing them into my husband's Beanos. This made me really love his remarkably minimalist packing style (he's also a folder, but rightly suspected that a safari might be better served by a bag that is actually named after this type of travel). It also made me rethink the Air Boss as a bag for long trips that involve several changes of location. On our recent trip to SE Asia, I would no doubt have been fine with my Air Boss. I had plenty of time at the end of a day or before our next flight to rearrange and repack my bag in the comfort of well lighted hotel rooms as we traveled, but I have to say, the Beanos's design has made this my favorite bag. Its layout is very intuitive and fit all I needed to travel among four countries for three weeks. The six outside compartments on the Beanos made it easy to stash things in a hurry after going through airport security - and the large center compartment easily accommodated my 15" laptop in its padded carrying case before boarding. I was also carrying a small day pack for essentials I wanted to keep close at hand. The Beanos also felt more comfortable to carry with just the short straps over my shoulder rather than using the longer detachable strap, which I left tucked away. I found the Beanos's one central compartment simpler to access as well opposed to the Air Boss's three compartments, but then I still use the Air Boss for business trips where wrinkling is more of a concern for me. On only one leg of this trip did we have to check our bags - on a domestic flight within Cambodia because the overhead bins were only big enough to accommodate my laptop. The layout of these bags made it very simple to access the contents when we learned they had to be checked which greatly facilitated the quick juggling and relocation of necessities and valuables into my daypack and my husband's Gator Carry On - and made our Beanos separation anxiety much less stressful. I loved my old Tumi bag and was worried about finding something I could comfortably carry. But even after my minor repacking tangle with my Air Boss, that bag sold me on Red Oxx. My husband and I both love these bags. I'm also a better packer now that I have to carry and not roll what I pack - I always had to ask for help to get the Tumi into the overhead bin - I don't need help with the Beanos or the Air Boss. And they both play nicer than hard sided bags in the overhead bin, leaving more room for the carry on items of fellow passengers.
 
 The only bag you'll ever need
By InfoDiva, Greenwich CT, December 24, 2009

I just returned from a 24 day trip to Asia and Australia with the Safari-Beanos PR5 as my only luggage. The bag exceeded my expectations in every way.

----------------------------------------

The bag's design and quality are superb. My husband took his Air Boss, and as a result, we were able to move effortlessly on and off public transport and through hotel lobbies without giving our bags a thought.

----------------------------------------

For those who think high cost necessarily equals quality, think again. My husband took along an expensive messenger bag made by another company supposedly known for its quality. That bag's strap failed within 24 hours of its first use--just as we were getting off a 14 hour flight in Asia.

----------------------------------------

Guarantees don't mean much when you have to drag along a useless, empty bag for thousands of miles so that you can return it to its place of purchase. What you really need is a bag that won't fail in the first place.

----------------------------------------

On long-haul trips, especially when you are traveling light in one bag, you need gear you can count on. Red Oxx fits the bill.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Can the zippers be locked?
Yes, you can us any TSA approved lock or our simple inexpensive Cable Locks. Be aware that soft sided bags can be cut open with any sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.