Skip Navigation Linkssky-train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (219 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 Next > 
 Awesome Bag
By James C, Houston, Texas, October 27, 2009

I started flying a lot recently, and decided to get a good bag. I picked the Sky Train after a lot of research, and I couldn't be happier.

It works great on airplanes, especially the little ones. Never even been glanced at for gate check. The backpack mode is invaluable for long hikes between terminals, especially when connecting time is short. (It's not for hiking, but it is a great alternate way to carry the bag.)

It's also good for road trips and all other various sorts of travel due to the storage options. And man, does it hold a lot! I once packed several days worth of autumn clothes and a rather large wedding dress. The built-in compression straps really helped with that.

The extra strapped compartment of the Air Boss seems nice (though I've not tried it), especially since it provides the middle compartment for a computer, but the backpack mode on the Air Train is invaluable.

Do be aware that the bright colors (I got the yellow) will tend to get scuffed a bit with travel. But it's worth it to stand out in a sea of black luggage.
 
 Congratulations Red Oxx
By Robyn Johnson, Qld, Australia, October 7, 2009

Thank you Amanda and the team at Red Oxx. The Sky Train arrived on my doorstep today after placing the order just over a week ago. Already I have ordered the Gator and Air Boss. The quality of this bag is exceptional, will definitely provide feedback so that future customers will have the same benefits that I gained from reading all past reviews. Once again thank you Red Oxx :-)
 
 HANDLED THE AUSTRALIAN OUTBACK
By Michael, Grand Haven, MI, July 14, 2009

Wow, where to start. I just retunred from two weeks in Australia...and I did it with this bag alone. With a little planning, this is all you need. The internal straps make all the difference. From Sydney to Lightning Ridge this bag was tossed and stuffed, beaten and rained on...and came home like new. The only challenge was I had to buy a duffle "down under" to bring home gifts...small worry.Off to New York next week and Germany in three weeks, and this will handle it.Due solely to the performance of this bag, I just ordered the Metro briefcase.Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 FABULOUS QUALITY
By Kim, NC, July 8, 2009

I received the Sky Train exactly on time and couldn't wait to tear into the box! I ordered Amethyst and it is a beautiful deep purple. I cannot believe how well constructed this bag is. Quality construction all the way. Plan to use on upcoming 10 day trip to Europe. I had mine monogrammed and the person who did it even told me it was the nicest luggage they had ever seen. I also got the CPA Briefcase to use in conjunction with the Sky Train. I can't wait to use them both. LOVE REDOXX!!!
 
 Love it!
By Sunny, Yukon, Canada, June 23, 2009

I love this bag! My first use was a weekend trip at Easter, and it easily took my extra winter clothing for skiing. For my next trip the bag held everything I needed to last me 2 weeks, and I knew that if I was gone longer it would work for that too. I've had the bag in my tent for a two night trip with my son's Cub Scout troup, and it held my personal stuff plus my camping dishes and the supplies for a group activity. Most recently it came with me for a two night trip for a bike relay race. It held everything I needed - including my spare tools, bike helmet etc. - everything except my bike! It was like Mary Poppins' bag - everything was there to make the trip a success.I am really pleased with how the two main zippers open all the way around so it is easy to get into the bag from any direction. On the plane I had my book and headset packed near the top end and positioned the zippers there, so that when the bag was under the seat I could get the stuff out without any fuss.I've gotten several compliments on how the bag looks. I do like the backpack straps and was very pleased to use them going through a busy airport. It was wonderful not to have to check it! I would have liked to have been able to cinch the straps just a bit shorter to fit on my back better, however at that time the bag was very loaded. For most of the trips, I have used the grab handles or the shoulder strap.I bought the Sky Train on the recommendation from Onebag.com. I was apprehensive because I knew that a duffel bag wasn't my style, and I wondered if having two compartments was really the answer. The simple design overall is what makes it work, and I am looking forward to many more trips!
 
 Three weeks in Thailand
By Crystal Eakle, Beaufort South Carolina, June 18, 2009

I bought a skytrain and a gator bag for my husband and a skytrain and a gator bag for myself to travel to Thailand for 3 weeks. My husband wasn't convinced that all of our things would fit in the bags when they arrived but we packed them using the bundle method and our things not only fit but arrived in Thailand with us (carryon) with our clothes looking great with very little wrinkles. I told my dad about the bags and he ordered a skytrain and a gator bag for the upcoming family vacation. All three of us did carryon with the bags for 2 weeks traveling to Orlando, LA, and then cruising for a week. The bags fit in the overhead storage on planes and the gator goes under the seat. I can't say enough nice things about the bags. Great quality, stylish, and best of all - really roomy inside. Thanks for such great bags. I'll never check a bag again thanks to Red Oxx.
 
 Remarkable
By Jon, Alabama, June 15, 2009

OMG!!!!! I was unaware that a simple design could hold so much! As a frequent over nighter, I pack a days worth of things into my Syktrain and if I wanted to bring the kitchen sink, there's room for that as well. The ONLY downside to this bag is that if you're not careful, you'll have packed everything you own in it and not realize it until you lift it. Great Bag...
 
 One Year Later
By Dave, Pennsylvania, June 11, 2009

I was tempted to write a review shortly after my first trip, but I'm glad I waited. This bag has been with me on Amtrak in the States and high-speed rail in Taiwan, as well as numerous flights.+ When I begin packing this thing, I always worry that I'm running out of room and won't be able to pack everything. By the time I'm done, I've usually packed more than I need! This bag just keeps accommodating everything I want to stuff into it.+ When I was in my twenties, my dad gave me one of his old travel bags to take to Asia. While I love the PanAm insignia, the damn zipper broke on the luggage conveyor belt sending my clothes and toiletries every which way for all of the Bangkok airport visitors to see. With the Sky Train, this is not a concern, nor will it ever be. These zippers are solid.* Sometimes I miss the wheels, but only because I'm not that strong. I love the backpack straps when I fill the bag with heavy clothing. I love making those straps vanish into the rear compartment even more -- it makes stowing the Sky Train into the overhead compartment even smoother.- The backpack straps & the claw shoulder strip (which I don't use as often) both include heavy metal hardware. You really don't want to stow the bag with any of these straps dangling, b/c the metal could knock someone in the head. I don't really mind, b/c I love tucking the straps away when they're not in use.+ I've never had a problem squeezing this bag into any space. It's very squashable+ It's easy to clean.+ It's made in the U.S.+ I've considered buying a second Sky Train to use as a checked bag, although I will probably check out the Air Boss as a carry-on first. Thanks for making such a wonderful, reliable product.
 
 Think before you "backpack"
By QueenB, Mississippi, June 5, 2009

I really wanted to love this bag..... Especially after what I paid for it! I do think it is quite expensive. Yes, the quality is great, particularly the zippers. I always pack light and carry my bag on so I thought this would make my load even lighter. I travel to Italy a lot and in the past have used a carry-on rolling bag. I had a hard time getting the Sky Train in the overhead on some flights, and also underneath the seat on others. Because it has no "structure", items tended to shift and make it too bulky in spots to easily put in tight spaces. Since it is not rollers, you never get any relief while trudging through airports, paved areas, etc. which means you are constantly having it on your back, over your shoulder, or carrying it by the handle. This takes a toll on my 50 year old body! Since returning from my trip to Italy 3 weeks ago, I have been nursing a sprained wrist from hoisting this bag around.... As I said, it is very good quality but I will never take is as a carry on - only if I check it through (which I did the return part of my trip because I was so worn out with this thing.) For my next trip, I will go back to my good-old rolling carry-on.
 
 Skytrain to Urumqi
By Lisa, Venice, March 1, 2009

I can't believe how much this bag holds! I packed all kinds of winter gear between it and my much-loved Mini Ruck - including a huge pair of Sorrel boots. I've mostly been using it as a shoulder bag due to bringing along my Mini Ruck (I've already got a Gator in my shopping cart and wish I'd had it on this trip), and it really is easy to manage (I'm an average-sized, sorta middle-aged female). On and off Chinese trains, up and down stairs, in all kinds of dirt and muck - and it looks great too, so if my next trip is business, I wouldn't hesitate to use it. I'll try and take a photo of the bags when I get to Yining. Highly recommended.
 
 Won't fit in overhead of CRJ700
By Mike Utecht, Indiana, February 27, 2009

This will not fit in the overhead bin of a CRJ700. I own an Air Boss and quit using it because it is too big for this space. The sky train is another inch thicker and would be even worse.I fly Northwest and Delta every week, and unfortunately I have to take CRJ700's and ERJ135's, neither of which accommodate your product.I use an Osprey Circuit back pack, which will fit in the overhead bin of every airplane I have ever been on.I would love to use a Red Oxx bag because the quality is better than anything on the market. But you need to make a bag that will fit all airplanes.Note: It will fit under the seat in front.
 
 Great Carry-On for Shorter Trips
By BT, Maryland, February 24, 2009

In preparing for a one-month trip to Hong Kong, I became convinced that I wanted to try out the whole "one bag" concept from onebag.com. It was an aggressive move, and an ambitious trial run. After all, one month is a long time! I bought the Sky Train bag, which I love, and the matching Chica as my day bag. And although I'm a "chica" myself, I also bought the matching Red Oxx shaving bag and decided to use it as a cosmetic case. What a great idea! It's soft and shapeless, so it gave me more flexibility than a regular cosmetic case.The Sky Train turned out to be wonderful, and I've since taken it on another trip (one week) where I drove instead of flying. I will use this bag as my primary bag from now on.I will say this to the light-packing women out there: the bag can get heavy. Sure it can hold a lot, and be packed to the gills. But once you do that, it's hard to lift it, carry it, and be cute at the same time! One month is a stretch for carrying one, easy-to-carry, carry-on bag. But for one- or two-week trips, this bag is absolutely perfect. I love it and would recommend it to anyone. Especially for car trips: no contest.
 
 Think carefully about backpack option
By Kubor13, Toronto, Canada, January 16, 2009

Great bag and exceeded my expectations. Holds a lot more than it appears it will. Used it for trip to Orkey Islands, Edinburgh, Ireland and London, (and other less exotic trips more recently) but found it easier to carry by the handle and have never used the backpack straps. I backpacked a lot when I was younger, but now that I have grey hair, it proved to be an unnecessary option that added extra weight and reduced the bag's capacity. Next time I'd just get the Air Boss, which has an extra compartment. (Also, re pricing, I was hit with customs/duty charges of an extra $35 or so for shipment to Canada, making the bag extra expensive.)
 
 Excellent carry on bag
By Robert, Massachusetts, January 12, 2009

If you haven't used a Red Oxx bag before, you are in for a surprise. The quality of the product is exceptional, I can't imagine a more sturdy or well-constructed travel bag. I'm already adding a matching laptop briefcase to my collection. I use the Sky Train as a shoulder bag mostly, but I like having the backpack straps there in case I want to throw it on my back for a longer walk through a terminal or across a few city blocks. The bag seems to be set up for the "bundling" method of packing, although I suppose it would accommodate folded clothing as well. A minor complaint: I wish the hardware on the bags was black instead of shiny metal.
 
 Better than a S.T.O.M.P II
By Hiroshi, Kansas, January 10, 2009

I love this bag! Plenty of space, very comfortable, and easy to get in and out of places with. A whole lot easier than using the old STOMP medical backpacks from the military and it's almost exactly the same size! Win-win situation here.
 
 Very Pleased
By Anonymous, Florida, December 20, 2008

Found bag very useful and fit easily in overhead compartment despite having bag loaded with items. One issue, using as backpack, can straps be rigged with some sort of harness going across the front so that that straps don't slide off the shoulders?Very pleased with purchase.
 
 The Best way to travel
By Herbie P, Cary, NC USA, December 5, 2008

Excellent product, visionary design - the simplicity keeps my goodies well organized and traveling light. A friend told me about the Sky Train's durability and the one bag travel concept. After a two week trip to China with "old fashioned luggage" I knew I was in need of a change - lugging "rollable" heavy luggage up and down train/subway/apartment stairs and scurrying for a bus/taxi/train was intolerable (even though I'm a very strong 200 lb. male). I needed something that could go on my back, hold all my gear, and fit in the overhead. This is it. My first trip using the sky-train was a 3-day business trip in the US, the bag held my business clothes, workout gear, electronics accessories and fit nicely in the overhead even on the small commuter jet. Then I got to return to China for 10 days and the experience was much more enjoyable. The Sky Train held all my goodies, quickly switched from shoulder bag to backpack as needed, and all the airlines and airport staff were completely impressed that I wasn't checking baggage and only carrying "that small bag". I let my 9 and 12 year old sons borrow it for summer camp, it held all their stuff and was easy for them to carry. My only regret is that I now have to buy them for my wife and kids as they've become believers as well.
 
 Wonderful bag but...
By Katherine, Maryland, November 12, 2008

After dragging (and checking) a 22" roller bag on several recent trips, I got a Sky Train because I wanted to be able to fly carryon only. And I didn't need to take my computer and it's attendant goodies. The good news: I felt liberated. The bag packed like a dream, I put my clothes in a medium sized Eagle Creek folder and it fit perfectly. I didn't really pack the small compartment because with my clothes, etc., in the main compartment, there wasn't much room left. I used my Gator Bag as my "personal item" and had the coolest luggage on the plane. Bad news: On the way home I must have put more in the Sky Train, because the Gator Bag had practically nothing in it except my purse. When I got home I weighed the bag. 20#. This didn't seem like it was that heavy, but my back really suffered. I now have a mini-ruck which I wanted to use for my computer, but my 15" MacBookPro is too large for the compartment. I love these bags. I just have to figure out how to use them properly.
 
 I had my doubts at first but now I'm convinced
By Anonymous, California, October 28, 2008

I travel often for work and even sometimes for pleasure and am always looking for the perfect luggage. As a woman in my 60s, I was concerned about being able to lug a bag around without the rolling wheels, and I got the Sky Train rather than the Air Boss mostly because of the backpack feature. Well, so far, I haven't had any need to put it on my back and it's very easy to carry around with the claw strap. I knew I was on the right track on my first trip with the Sky Train, when I was waiting for the airport shuttle and chatting to a couple there. The man looked at my bag and said incredulously "You mean you traveled all the way from California with just that little bag!" I then took it on a longer trip and was again very happy with it. It held plenty of clothing and accoutrement's for a week, along with my laptop and accessories, and I could easily have packed a lot more into it. It was easy to manage and to carry, and it was very convenient to be able to have everything with me at the airport and on the plane - it made life much simpler not to have to wait for a checked bag, plus the airline couldn't lose my luggage! I got an Air Boss for my son and he is very happy with it as well. These bags are well made and high quality. I am a very satisfied customer so far.
 
 The best bag I've owned
By Mary, Virginia, September 17, 2008

I just returned from a two-week vacation to Scotland. I used this bag as my primary carry-on, and a Gator as my personal bag; after packing, I had room left over for souvenirs! Our tour guide was grateful for my only having one suitcase, too. I am amazed at how much I can fit into the Sky Train, and the backpack straps were extremely helpful while walking through Newark Airport. And when our flight was delayed, the Sky Train, on end, makes a very good footrest.I was also happy that the bag kept out the wet. I worried when it was set onto the wet pavement, but my clothes inside stayed nice and dry.Thanks Mary,You can also spray the bag with a water proofing product like Camp Dry to increase the water repelling ability of the fabric.Red Oxx
 
... 9 10 11 Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram. Note to iPad users, we are reformatting the video to be viewable on your machines, stay tuned.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Sky Train?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided woven textile bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. Better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.