Skip Navigation Linkssafari-beanos-bag-pr5

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on duffel bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements).
Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR5.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.92 Average Rating
 (122 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 Great bag, we now own 5
By Joseph, Connecticut, May 3, 2011

Just got back from a eco adventure in the Galapagos Islands (international flights, hiking, small plane flights, kayaking, snorkeling, boat rides). My 11 year old girl had outgrown her pink inexpensive duffle, so I purchased our 4th PR5 Safari bag (we actually took the other three on safari in Kenya two years ago). It performed flawlessly in the Galapagos, as I have come to expect from Red Oxx gear. I also own an Air Boss for business trips when I need more compartments for organization. Constructed of rugged material, colorfast, are zippers tough and function smoothly, comfortable strap - everything you need in a travel bag!
 
 Gets the job done
By Lorenzo DeLeon, Illinois, April 30, 2011

It's a no frills, get the job done bag. For some reason, I tend to destroy my bags. I don't intend to; it just happens. I don't think that will happen to this guy.
 
 Perfect for 1 bag travel
By Anonymous, Seattle, March 21, 2011

I love this bag. I can fit a week's worth of warm weather clothes and my laptop bag inside it. If I unzip one top zipper I can access my laptop without opening the whole thing.

The extra pockets make it easy to stay organized. I pack mine so that one end pocket has everything needed for security (liquids, passport, boarding pass) and the other has everything else I'll need in transit (wallet, headphones, book). With this setup I don't have to look to find what I need.

I'm hard on luggage and I can tell this bag will take whatever I dish out. It is worth every penny.
 
 Almost Perfect
By Leroy, Madison, Dairyland, March 18, 2011

The ONLY cons are that they could have used a lighter alloy (Al or Ti) to save a ounce or so off of the metal buckles. Otherwise solid bag, I purchased it over the Air Boss ones because of NO floating baffles/compression packing. I have a larger one with that system and I wanted a normal throw and go bag.
 
 My week in a bag
By Kevin G., South Glastonbury, CT 06073, February 25, 2011

I just got back from a week in Ireland and this bag carried everything I needed without any strain. I love the dual zippers that secure the top of the bag. I usually go with rolling luggage, but wanted to try a carry-on that I could have some control over. This size bag will stuff like no other I have owned and didn't caise any doubts among airline personnel that it was indeed a carry-on. I was very happy with it and can't believe that I tried to talk my way out of keeping it. Nice job!
 
 =)
By Anonymous, , February 19, 2011

I'm in love with these beautiful bags. Top marks RedOxx. 5 stars!
 
 Well Built
By Scott, New Hampshire, February 17, 2011

The bag is really well built, and thoughtfully designed. I have had it with flimsy zippers and poor stitching - the Beano gives me confidence that it will last. I love it.
 
 Just throw things in and go!
By Peter, New York, December 30, 2010

I bought this as a new member in my arsenal of carry-on luggage bags. I find I do less traveling requiring pressed shirts and more with tee shirts.

I have the Air Boss (which I think is great), but if you have just tees, sweats and jeans, I just wanted to throw them in one large compartment. It's so much easier to pack. No strapping down well folded clothing, then unstrapping multiple compartments when you arrive.

I have the PR 5.5 as well. I think this is the perfect travel bag.. if only the Airlines will allow it on board. Ok, I have brought this on board a few domestic flights without a problem, but I feel a little guilty about it. And surprisingly, you can get a lot into the PR 5. (I just flew for a 4 day ski trip and easily packed everything in including ski clothing, hat, gloves and slippers). I just like the larger side pockets in the 5.5 that easily accommodate shoes.



As always the quality of the bag is excellent- big strong zippers and tough fabric. Personally, I think the soft bags(especially the Air Boss)looks sharper than all the hardcase carry-ons of the masses - and try stuffing that into a crowded overhead bin!
 
 Awesome bag and service
By Roger, Portland, OR, November 11, 2010

Like many others this was the first Red Oxx product I had purchased. Before I ordered I called to clarify some shipping concerns as I was traveling very soon after I ordered and wanted a color they were out of stock with. The gentlemen asking the phone was easily the most helpful phone representative I've talked with in quite some time.

After I received the bag I was amazed at how heavy the buckles and zippers were. There was no doubt this was significantly better quality then all my luggage before this. I was able to pack 6 days worth of clothing and a spare pair of shoes for a business trip all in the one bag. I did have to pack my laptop separately in a backpack, but I think for shorter trips that would have fit just fine. The bag survived the trip without a scratch.

All in all I must say that I will not buy any other product for my travel needs from now on. This bag is worth every penny and the service is second to none.
 
 Business & Leisure Travel
By David Ladori, Buffalo, NY, September 25, 2010

This was my 1st Red Oxx bag and, I was not disappointed. I travel frequently for work (1-2 nights) and this bag provides plenty of space for running shoes, gadgets, work papers, book, etc. very comfortably. All the different pouches and pockets are great. I also plan to use if for longer trips (8 nights in Italy) with some efficient packing. There is a lot of attention to detail, even the ID Card holder attached to the bag is heavy duty.

The best part of this bag is the immediate confidence that it will last a very long time. The zippers are heavy duty, so no more problems with those breaking down. My first impression was that the metal clips were too heavy and bulky, but I quickly got used to that and they make this a stronger bag.

I used to lug around a suit case or use a cheap duffel for short trips, but I'll be using this bag for a long-time. Very much worth the price.
 
 Awesome Bag!!
By Christine, Norwalk, CT, August 12, 2010

We absolutely LOVE these bags!!We ordered 2 of them to take on our 10th wedding anniversary trip to St. Barths in the French West Indies. Because you have to take an 8-seater plane from St Maarten to St Barths, we decided it best to only bring carry-on luggage. We used only 2 of these bags for the 2 of us for a week! I even had room for 6 pairs of shoes!! Fits perfectly in overhead bins of the plane and the durability of these is amazing! We are so happy with these!
 
 Awesome
By Rob, VA, August 5, 2010

This is definitely the best duffel on the market right now. Great price considering the high quality of the bag. Its basically indestructible and looks great.
 
 Nice Bag
By Anonymous, Houston, July 29, 2010

Well made but the zippers are a bit course and don't glide easily. Terrific shoulder strap, nice materials.
 
 best bag I have ever used
By Jason L, Whippany, NJ, July 14, 2010

I bought this bag to use on a one week vacation to Las Vegas. I was able to pack a weeks worth of clothes and all of my elctronic equipment including a gps, ipod, walkie talkies and the chagers for all of the items. It fit perfectly in the overhead on an American Airlines MD80 bin on four different flights. The bag is lightweight but exrtremely strong. The bag has two zippers in the back so that it can be carried by a wheelie bag. This was one of the best investments I have made in a travel bag!
 
 Almost Perfect Bag
By Justin Rudd, Seattle, WA, July 9, 2010

I travel every 2 weeks for 3 days like clockwork. After traveling with 2 bags for so long, I decided to try to get down to one bag. The PR5 is the exact dimensions that I need in the main compartment (it holds my sleeved laptop easily). And the end pockets hold my iPad, cords, etc. I've used it twice now, and I mostly love it. The problem is the heavy triangular "rings" on the ends that the shoulder strap attaches to. They tend to lay on top of the zippers of the end pockets. And with the strap attached, there is even more laying on the zipper. I have to hold them up to unzip the pockets. Not a huge deal, but it makes standing in the aisle of an airplane with the bag above me a more bothersome process than it needs be.

With that said, the bag is the Superman of bags. There was a snafu at one of the airports I travel through with the x-ray machine. The x-ray machine belt caught a hold of my strap and the strap of another traveler's bag (seems it had been doing it randomly all day but they were so busy they couldn't shut it down). The other traveler's bag was torn apart. My bag simply laughed and said "give me more".

Even with the nuisance of the triangle "rings", I heartily recommend the bag to all my traveling friends.
 
 YOU MUST BE MAD
By DAVID DUKE, AUSTRALIA, June 10, 2010

YOU MUST BE MAD IF YOU DONT OWN ONE OF THESE THAY ARE SMOKIN HOT WELL MADE GREAT LOOKING FANTASTIC BACK UP THANKS FROM OZ
 
 solid bag
By Francis, Philadelphia, May 27, 2010

Like the simple design and quality workmanship. Definitely bombproof and will probably last 20 years. My major critique is that the metal buckles that the shoulder strap attaches too is far too heavy and overkill. One ideas would be to incorporate the same workmanship but use some lighter weight materials (zippers, fabric, clips) for those who are looking for a lightweight, quality bag - understanding it may only last 10 :)
 
 Incredible bag!
By Alan Barr, Ann Arbor, Michigan USA, May 13, 2010

This is an incredible bag! Extremely well built, and very versatile. My business trips can be as long as three weeks in duration, and this bag allows me to pack enough clothes and supplies to ensure I am looking good and feeling good the entire time (with the use of hotel laundry/dry cleaning services). The bag fits into any overhead compartment, and thanks to its comfortable no-slip shoulder strap, it's a breeze to carry-on. Well done!
 
 Very Good Carry On Bag
By Mr Jersey, Stockton NJ, April 2, 2010

Used this bag to carry photographic gear on an aircraft while on the way to a photographic workshop. It worked very well, protected the gear and the shoulder strap mitigated the weight involved with all the gear I was carrying. Two suggestions to make a great bag even greater. Put a small carry handle on the end do I could be carried sideways down the narrow aircraft passageways and put a netting under the main flap for travel documents. This would make a great bag perfect.
 
 Good but not lockable
By Kees, Pasco, WA, March 16, 2010

This bag is well made. I can't yet say how well the fabric will hold up, but the quality is beyond question. The strap is also very nice.

However, there are a few things I have issues with. There should have been handles on the outside pockets for ease of handling. However, my biggest gripe is not being able to lock this bag. The zippers are good quality, but the zipper pulls don't overlap to easily lock. The main compartment though is not lockable at all. Yes, you can put two (!) locks on the zipper pulls and attache them to the D-rings, but that leaves the end of the flap, which is secured with a couple of 'turn-buttons' that can't be secured at all. So someone can open the buttons and slide their whole arm into the main compartment, and should be able to get most if not all of your items out of the bag if they so desire. I would rate this a major shortcoming.

Finally, the outside pockets are fairly useless except for very small items, as when you stuff the main compartments full, there will be no room left in the outside pockets.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.