Skip Navigation Linksrock-hopper

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Parkour por favor?”
Red Oxx Rock Hopper Shoulder Sling Bag - shown in Mariner

Rock Hopper $135.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


When a day pack is too small, and a rucksack is too big.

The Rock Hopper Crossbody Shoulder Sling Bag's "Just Right."

Featuring two spacious main compartments, you'll have plenty of room for school books, your tablet or whatever else you might need to carry. In both compartments you have flat slip pockets to keep your stuff organized. You could for example, bring your lunch in the top compartment, and your text books or work manuals in the bottom compartment and nary the two shall meet.

WHO NEEDS TWO SHOULDER STRAPS?
The exterior zippered flat pocket works great for keeping your keys, wallet or handpurse available. Soft 400 weight red lining allows you to peek in your bags inner depths. The sling shoulder strap is padded and covered with Uni-Suede for advanced comfort and durability. The single strap uses military A.L.I.C.E. style flexibility so you can comfortably carry the Rock Hopper over just one shoulder all day. Besides, when was the last time you saw someone wearing a backpack using both straps?

HYDRATE WITH YOUR CAMEL BACK.
Popular uses for the Rock Hopper Crossbody Shoulder Sling Bag include a hydration daypack to safely store your camel back in, a cross-city daypack, a messenger bag, a shoulder bag day pack, even an extra large heavy-duty padded purse! There's a belly strap attached that snaps onto the shoulder strap featuring the same heavy duty o-ring and military grade equipment as our Rucksacks.

ACCESS WHILE WEARING.
The Red Oxx Rock Hopper Crossover Shoulder Sling Bag is tight with the motorcycle, mountain biking, hiking, jogging, skiing and snowboarding crowds as you can slip it over your head and it will stay secure across your chest, out of the way, yet available for access, "at hand" in front, where and when you need it.

Dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 7"H.
Capacity: 1,000 cu. inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior flat zippered slip pocket: 10"W (at base) x 17"T
  • Twin interior slip pockets: 9"H x 10"W
  • Twin interior zippered main compartments: 10"W (at base) x 17"T x 3"D

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Rock Hopper Trivia: Named after a customer who needed a front mount bag he could access while bouldering and mountain climbing. Rock Hopper is slang for "bouldering".

Write a Review

4.49 Average Rating
 (35 Reviews)

 
1 2 Next > 
 Practically Perfect
By D L'Roy, Arlington, TX, March 24, 2011

The quality of the Rock Hopper is excellent as are all of the Red Oxx products and it was comfortable to wear. My only issue with the product was the belly strap which fit awkwardly on me. It could be a tad bit wider to accommodate 8.5"materials. All in all, an excellent product which I would recommend highly.
 
 Quite an interesting bag...
By Anonymous, Tuscaloosa, AL, March 24, 2011

After a bit of research and a lot of experience with messenger bags, I decided to take the plunge and purchase a Rock Hopper sight-unseen. I was a little worried about dropping a large amount of cash on such a small bag, but it's been worth it. Overengineered and fits like a glove on my back... no more stopping to adjust a floppy bag! My one gripe with this bag is that it won't hold an 11" by 8.5" binder without pressing up against the zipper... not a dealbreaker. Overall very happy with my purchase.
 
 Luxury on the Back
By Madawaska Dreamer, Ottawa Valley , March 11, 2011

Well, when two complete strangers in a week ask a middle aged male about his "pack" you are either in a strange place or your Rock Hopper is indeed something: I subscribe to the latter.

Good Points: Comfortable. Well constructed. Does 98 % of the job. Nice zippers. Great pockets.

Quibbles: The front chest strap could use a keeper. The bag could be a touch bigger just to hold pouches and binders just beyond 8.5 X 11.0

Overall: A Steelwool Custom Road Bike for your back
 
 Perfect for the active person
By Richard, Bishop Ga, March 3, 2011

I have been looking for a pack for all purpose, This is the perfect bag. It is very secure and w/out having two straps it allows for complete mobility of the shoulders for paddling my kayak, or shouldering a rifle, no straps across the shoulder. Plenty of room and easy to organize. well made !!!! Great job. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend its pirchase to anyone.
 
 A Great Messenger Bag!
By Michael, SF Bay Area, California, October 28, 2010

What a fantastic bag! The only negative thing I have to say is: Make sure you have a decent protective binder or equivalent when stowing paperwork, because the angle of the bag does allow he zipper to chew up soft folders and paperwork. Once past that little quirk though, I've had a fantastic experience with it. It's very comfortable to wear, looks very sporty and casual, secures excellently with the belly strap and has a surprising capacity. I use this as a day-pack everyday. I highly recommend it!
 
 Awesome
By Monty, Rock Hill, SC, October 7, 2010

All in All, this bag is awesome. It's obviously well made and durable. It does exactly what I want it to - carry just a few things. It's storage is a bit limited, which I expected when I purchased it. The strap, while comfortable takes a little getting used to. It hangs easily over one arm, but bearing weight in that fashion digs into the muscle just a little between the neck and shoulder. However, wearing the strap across the chest is far more comfortable and stable (especially if using the chest / waist strap). The bag also feels much more balanced this was and is very secure. I'm happy I purchased it.
 
 Hopper
By Don Shurr, Iowa, March 18, 2010

Jim

I am glad you chose to get into this market. I bought it due to my previous experience with your company and great products. If you redesign it, I would recommend it be a bit wider (wide enough to accomodate 8.5x11 folders without hitting the zippers. Also 2 D rings one on each side of the tapered top would help balance the bag on my back. I really like the adjustable roller on the strap to adjust the length AFTER you have it in place on your shoulder.

I wear it to work every day and thank you for adding this product to your line.

DS
 
 Excellent Quality
By Bill Scott, Oklahoma, December 3, 2009

Great bag and same excellent quality that comes with all Redoxx bags. I use this bag daily for work. It carries everything needed for 10-12 hours away from home. Great size bag and excellent for a day pack to carry cameras or needed supplies for a day at the beach or hike in the mountains. I would recommend this bag to anyone needing a smaller bag for whatever purpose. Don't let the cost prevent you from buying Redoxx bags, the Quality and Workmanship is worth every dime you pay.
 
 Great Day Bag
By Anonymous, Colorado Springs, December 1, 2009

I use this well made bag on its own as a carryon or day bag or fill it and put it inside another Redoxx duffle or my Air Boss to have a day bag when I arrive at my destination. I am running out of superlatives to describe Redoxx products. My storage room might as well be an outlet in that it is filled with many examples. I have never bought any items, anywhere, that are better made.
 
 Clarinet bag RockHopper
By Walter Sereth, Los Angeles, CA, November 28, 2009

I'm using the Rock Hopper to carry my clarinet (in its case), plus all needed clarinet 'stuff' (reeds, cleaning cloths, reed cases, etc.) Everything fits just fine, and the Rock Hopper is of Redd Oxx 's usual outstanding quality. Two suggestions: (1) -- another shoulder strap so it's easier to carry as a back-pack, and: (2) -- a handle on top to make it easier to grab and carry when 'wearing' it as a back-pack isn't necessary.
 
 Great for Urban Backpacking!
By Vince, Bucks county, PA, June 27, 2009

Used the Rock Hopper for two different weekends to New York City. Both time worked admirably and was small and versatile while on the train, then walking through the city. Only drawback and not the bags fault, at the New Yankee Stadium bags are not permitted, regardless of what the website states. The only alternative was to check the bag across the street and not miss my beloved Philadelphia Phillies play.
 
 Turning this into a Camelbak (TM)
By Sarah, Los Angeles, February 25, 2009

I've been shopping for a new Camelbak for a hiking vacation in Ireland. And I stumbled on this site from OneBag.com (yes, the two projects of mine are closely related), and found this bag. I like the idea of this bag with the one-strap (which, if you're hiking with more than 2 layers on, especially if one is waterproof, the crossbody one-strap bag is WAY easier to deal with than two straps), but I want a version that can hold a water bladder and tube like a Camelbak. So I'll probably buy one of these and try to do it myself, but what do you guys think about making your own version? The trick would be to keep the bladder somewhat upright, even if the bag rests at an angle, and then it's a matter of putting in a slit for the tube, etc. I'd buy one. Other hikers I know would buy one. You should make one. =)
 
 Great Backpack
By MHecker, Billings, MT, December 12, 2007

I received this bag a year ago as a Christmas gift. I attend MSU Billings and just love the bag. Not only do my textbooks fit in, so does a water bottle, supplies for the day, and easy access to the front for my keys. After a year, the bag looks great, and is comfortable to carry up several flights of stairs.
 
 Great small bag - very secure for strenuous activities
By Chris Juzda, , September 4, 2006

Just got this bag and have given it a trial. At first I wasn't quite sure how to wear it. It has one shoulder strap not two. While the photo shows only one strap, it doesn't specify this in the description. You can just sling it over your right shoulder for casually carrying stuff around as an "urban" bag (doesn't work well on the left shoulder this way) or for a more secure carry you can put your head through the shoulder strap and wear it on the left shoulder with the shoulder strap diagaonally across your chest. Either way there is a small strap that goes across your chest for added support and a closer, more secure fit. Carried the latter way, this bag is extremely secure, ideal for mountain biking, motorcycling or strenuous hiking/climbing. I could also see this bag being an ideal personal items bag as a substitute for my Gator bag on plane trips if there was going to be a lot of walking or hiking involved at my destination.While this is a great bag - I think it could still be improved:Water bottle pocket - For me, this is always a desirable feature and there is enough room for one on this bag on the longer side near the bottom.Small grab handle at the topStraps on the bottom like the C-ruck to tie on a jacketSmall snap pocket for cell phone, etc.For me, this would make it the perfect small bag for urban hiking as well as more active sports. Still love it though.
 
 A great bag for work and touring
By Chester Groves, , November 18, 2005

Last summer I found myself looking for a little bag to use on my motorcycle and the Rock Hopper was the perfect choice. I use it as a lunch bag, grocery bag, laptop carrier, and the perfect size bag for those weekend motorcycle trips out of town. The durability, looks, and functionality are everything a person could ask for. My hat is off to these gentleman and my appreciation for a very satisfying shopping experience. Thank You Gentleman.(I spotted Chester on I-90 with his Saffron Rock Hopper as he went past me at a high rate of speed...jim)
 
1 2 Next > 
Specifications

Rockhopper Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Two interior pockets for holding tablets, mini laptops or Kindle eReaders
  • 3/8 neoprene rubber blend padding in back
  • Fastex side release flap buckles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 3250 welded O ring, nickel plated
  • Soft red 420 denier weight nylon lining
  • Durable Uni-Suede shoulder padding
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 7"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43cm x 25.4cm x 17.8cm
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US capacity: 1000 cu. inches
  • Metric capacity: 16.4 Liters

Rock Hopper Shoulder Sling Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fit a laptop in the padded pocket of the Rock Hopper?
Your standard 15 inch or larger laptop will not fit. Netbooks and mini notebooks, Tablets, iPads and Kindle eReaders will fit.
 
What's the difference between the Rock Hopper, Roadster and Airborne?
The Rock Hopper is an over one right shoulder bag or cross body bag, whereas the Roaster and Airborne are classic military style rucksack backpacks.
 
Which shoulder does the Rock Hopper go over?
The Rock Hopper was designed as an over the right shoulder bag or worn as a cross body (front) bag.
 
Will the Rock Hopper meet personal item standards?
Yes, it will meet personal item standards.
 
Is there a pocket for holding a water bottle?
There is no special pocket for holding a water bottle. Be aware that if you load one in either pocket it might leak on your bag's contents.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.