Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > railroad-grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red Oxx.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand for our Grips, you're encouraged to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 21 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are so many Grips now with personalized embroidery, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example, think about a favorite nickname, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (304 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next > 
 Lotsa Pockets! More rugged bottom?
By Anonymous, Superior, WI, August 16, 2012

Love all the pockets! Helps me keep everything organized. And it is a lot larger than I expected. Thought it would have a tougher/stiffer/rugged bottom. Hope its stronger than it looks.
 
 Awesome
By Brian Gammon, Saskatchewan, Canada, August 16, 2012

Hey just wanted to say that this is an awesome grip for railroading. Holds a lot of stuff and the shoulder strap is easy on the body.
 
 GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!
By JUSTIN, NORTH LITTLE ROCK AR, August 11, 2012

worked for railroad for 12 years behind my dad that now has 40 years of service. so i did not mess with cheap grips. out of the gate i purchased a TUFFBAG and got 5 years out of it day in, day out. i can not say i did not get my money out of it. after i encountered a REDOXX RAILROAD GRIP and thoroughly inspected it i had to have one. had mine 4 years now and only problem was i wore out the rubber on the shoulder strap. sent it back and warranty replaced. sent back to me in 6 days. like another review said, it is built like a tank. dad says that if he had 10-15 years left he would by one and has told me several times that it is the best bag he has encountered in his career. i believe he's little jealous
 
 Railroad Grip
By Lewis Frazer, Janesville, WI, August 9, 2012

I wish i would of ordered this bag long ago, this bag is great i love all the compartments. Now all my stuff fits in one bag that the straps wont break on. Thanks for a great product that's MADE IN THE U.S.A.
 
 One Tough Bag
By Warren, Cranbrook, BC, Canada, July 26, 2012

This is by far the toughest bag on the market! From the metal strap hardware to the heavy duty zippers it is built to last.

Besides being tough it has more than enough room for all your gear, books and equipment. Its the only bag you will ever need.

If you don't have one, get one.
 
 nice but
By ken, georgia, July 26, 2012

nice bag but kind of pricey not rubber feet on bottom no ring inside for keys ,only couple of weeks old and looks good we'll see for long term
 
 One grip for life
By Doug Smith, Northern Ontario, Canada, July 19, 2012

I am nearing the end of my career now, a mere 18 months to go. I can't even say how many bags I have gone through in the last 35 years, but most would only last a few months. If I was lucky, I got 6 months out of a bag. No one made durable bags suitable for railroad workers. Then I came across a tool bag that was gauranteed to last, and it did, for about 3 years, but it was a wreck by then. I thought of taking it to get repaired, then I met a fellow who had a red oxx bag. I was impressed with the quality and when I got home I checked it out on the internet and decided to order one.

This bag is exceptionally well built. It is light to carry andcomfortable as it has a double adjustment on the shoulder strap, so it does'nt bounce off the back of your thighs when you have to carry it for any length of time. It also has many roomy pockets.

One of my concerns with it was that I may have to sacrifice some of the things I carried in it because of the difference in size from my old bag to this one, but that was not the case. I found pockets and room for all my old things. I also found that there was a significant weight difference between my empty old bag and this new one. So now I carry all my accessories the same as before but with noticeable less strain on my shoulder and back.

Another feature that I like, is the rubber padding on the shoulder strap. It prevents the bag from slipping off your shoulder as you walk and should you have your hands full, such as detraining. This also tells me about the thought that went into the design. Overall, I highly reccomend this bag to any one working in the railway transportation trade. I wish I would have had one much sooner.
 
 Excellent Product!
By J. Knadler, Tamaqua, PA, July 12, 2012

The Red Oxx bag is EXCELLENT! It is well worth the purchase price. The bag is rugged and made to last! I would recommend Red Oxx products to anyone. Plenty of storage space for all of your rule books, radio items, rain gear, and other supplies Railroaders need while on duty. A top notch bag!

Great AMERICAN quality!
 
 Husband loves this bag!!
By Jenniffer, Rochester, MN, July 12, 2012

My husband loves this bag-his RR job has him traveling frequently and at a moments notice. This bag does it all! Go to the lobby of a hotel where RR crews are laying over and there's a sea of Red Oxx bags-there's a reason why!
 
 Engineer Grip
By Tom, North Platte, Nebraska, July 5, 2012

I recently purchased this grip and was impressed from the beginning. You can tell immediately that this is a high quality bag. I was able to consolidate two bags into the one, and even had room for my laptop!!! I look forward to many years with this grip.
 
 Dependable
By Chad, Fargo, ND, July 5, 2012

Solid, sturdy, and dependable is all I have to say. I have only had my bag for a couple of weeks and I have found myself looking at the shoulder strap a couple times already as I have filled the bag with so much gear and things that past bags would have broke by now. Then I remember that this thing was built for this kind of abuse. I have no doubt after using this bag that it will serve me well for a long, long time. Very heavy duty construction.
 
 40 riding rails
By Sam Raven, Smithers B.C., June 23, 2012

I bought this grip for my dad for his birthday, and to say he was skeptical is a understatement. He has been on the job for 40 years and after his first trip with this bag he phoned to thank me for it, twice. In his own words "If half the guys on the job were as rugged and dependable as this bag, my life would be a lot easier!" he can fit everything in and it can take the abuse of day-to-day work, two thumbs up!
 
 Love It
By Victor, New Mexico, June 17, 2012

I love this bag I currently work in the oilfield. After trying many other bags I have found that they just cannot put up with the abuse of the oilfield. I love the fact that there is plenty of room, being in the oilfield a person has to pack a lot of gear, this bag has the room for it. The craftsmanship is un matched. At first I was heasitant to buy this because of the price. It was well worth the price. I have recomended this bag to coworkers who have made purchases aftter seeing this quality product. I am looking forward to trying more of the Red Ox line.
 
 A RAILROADER'S GRIP
By Dave, Chicago, IL, June 14, 2012

Plenty of room for four sets of rulebooks, tt/si's, general orders, a change of clothes, my jacket-and lunch! Built to handle being hauled up and down from the cab. I'm very satisfied and impressed, and definitely recommend RED OXX to my coworkers.
 
 TONNAGE
By Dave, Chicago, IL, June 14, 2012

A fantastic railroader's grip. A number of my coworkers have asked where I got it...a true must-have. Now to get some of the accessories.
 
 Blown Away
By Jason Henderson, Saint Joseph, MO, May 16, 2012

Bought bag 4 years ago and didn't want to write a review until I put it through the test. It exceeded my expectations in every way (and I knew of the bag before buying). It has been tossed around in cabs, dropped in mud, rained on, kicked, dropped off the nose of engine, and had different materials spilt on it. It is tough and durable and it still looks as if I bought it last month. Everything fits with room to spare. Some may think there isn't enough room, but I say they don't know how to pack. This is a travel bag and the only thing bigger is the railroad backpack.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Dan H., Chicago,Il, May 10, 2012

Bag is perfect, very well made, good value. The initials were very well done, happy I bought it.
 
 Great
By Shaun, Spencerville, IN, May 2, 2012

Very durable and holds everything. Well worth the money
 
 Awesome bag
By Mike, Upstate, New York, April 29, 2012

Love it. Enough said.
 
 First and last grip
By eric williamson, fort madison, iowa, April 26, 2012

awesome bag.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.