Skip Navigation Linksrailroad-grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Grip on our production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monograms add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (253 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Excellent! None Better!
By Matt, California, April 5, 2013

This grip is fantastic and extremely well made! You will find no other grip to top this! Even after filling it with my rule book, PPE, lantern, radio, keys, etc...the large middle compartment isn't even close to being half full! Definitely a must have for any railroader!
 
 Needs a little more
By John Waddell , Kcmo, April 5, 2013

What a great grip this is! If I could suggest, maybe a stitched spot for pens and maybe some Velcro separating walls for the Deep pockets this bag would Dominate!
 
 An Excellent Product
By JDM, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, April 4, 2013

I waited a year before purchasing my grip. I watched the reviews, took measurements and wondered if it was going to be worth both the price, and buying it sight unseen. Let me assure you... There is no reason to worry!

The grip is my first RedOxx product, I found it by searching the Internet. The ordering process on-line was easy, and I also had my grip monogrammed. Although the website said it was back-ordered, UPS was at my door a week and a half later. The construction of the bag is heavy-duty. The best part is that the handle forms a continuous loop down the side and underneath the grip, so you don't have to worry about stitching letting go as the weight of the bag is supported, like a sling. The shoulder strap is also attached to the grip in a similar fashion. Out of the box, I was worried about not having enough room in the bag, but looks are deceiving. I was able to consolidate from carrying two bags down to one... with room to spare. If this bag can't do the job for you, you're likely carrying too much stuff anyhow. Yes, the bag can be awkward getting through doorways, but it's a locomotive... not a grand ballroom.

So far I'm 100% satisfied with my RedOxx grip, I should have made the purchase sooner. The grip has received numerous compliments for its design, looks and quality. Worth the investment!



 
 It Pays to Buy Good Tools
By B.H.Foster, Indiana, April 2, 2013

Quality tools, while expensive up front, ultimately pay for themselves many times over during their life. Ultimately, this makes the cost of ownership very low indeed. This holds true for Red Oxx bags. They are tough.

No major surprises upon first looking at my new Railroad Grip. I already own a CPA Briefcase and a Beanos PR-4, so I knew what to expect in terms of overall quality and attention to detail. I am impressed with stoutness of the fabric, even though I knew it would be heavier than the other bags. The sizes in the website description don't tell the whole story, though. This bag can hold a lot of stuff.

The optional monogramming was hard to reconcile from a vanity standpoint, but I am glad I splurged. It looks GREAT! I anticipate many years of trouble-free service from this bag, based on my experiences with the ones I already own. Ask me again in 5 years, and I'll provide a follow up.
 
 30 years ago
By IZZY, North Platte, NE., April 1, 2013

Finally got tired of the other bags breaking. Over the years you will be way ahead if you buy one with a lifetime warranty. Wish I would have done that (30) years ago!
 
 two improvements
By ejc, ohio, March 21, 2013

Should have rubber or plastic bottom but still a very good grip.

Center main compartment could be smaller. Grip a little too long for getting on/off engine. Should clear ladder rungs (shorten 4 inches).
 
 worth the wait
By Tim Douglas, moline,IL, March 21, 2013

I put off buying for years wish i hadn't well worth every dollar
 
 I wish I had bought this one first
By Mark D. Esparza, Tucson, AZ, March 14, 2013

I have been with the RR for over 30 years, owned a lot of grips. This one is the best, I wish I had started with this one. Yeah, they are spendy, but worth it. You won't be sorry!
 
 Best money I've spent
By Teag g, Washington, March 14, 2013

I can put everything I need for three days in this one bag. This bag is amazing.

Durable, lightweight, organized. I don't know how I lived without it for so long.
 
 Awesome
By Chris, Arkansas, March 8, 2013

Well getting the bag I was a little worried it wouldn't fit everything I needed. I travel alot. It holds my cloths for 2 days strait. Along with food. And also hold my Xbox computer and anything else I can throw it it. It's amazing if you have to travel daily
 
 **GREAT**
By Chris, Indiana, March 7, 2013

I used to carry two bags with me, but now I'm carrying this one and I'm still able to put more things in it if I need too.
 
 Great bag
By Anonymous, , March 7, 2013

Really well built bag. Would recommend to anyone who wants a really great bag for anything. Also love the lifetime warranty. Built to last if the company is willing to make an offer like that. Would recommend to family and friends. Would buy another bag from redoxx.
 
 Superior Grip
By Anonymous, St. Wendel In, March 7, 2013

Excellent grip! Made withthe railroader in mind. Fits through cab doors with no problem. Small enough to not be a hassel, yet large enough to fit all my grip inside. Excellent choice of bag if you are looking for a RR grip.
 
 Not worth $200
By Notch8, Washington DC, March 6, 2013

Very disappointed. Designed for someone who only caries one very small rulebook; not someone who carries rulebooks for 4 different railroads like myself. Wish the bag had a hard bottom and sides to stand on its own. Main compartment needs dividers for those who have to use it for books ect.
 
 What can I Say??
By Duane Taddei, Eugene Oregon, February 28, 2013

What can I say about the Red Oxx Railroad Grip that hasn't already been said about the wheel, penicillin, or the iPhone.. this is one of the greatest inventions of all time. Made in the U.S.A. and carries a lifetime, NO-BULL warranty... I wish I could hug the designer of this grip and thank them for everything they have done for railroaders across the country.... No, seriously!!
 
 Well worth the cost!!!
By Anonymous, Pennsylvania , February 28, 2013

The railroad grip is great! It made of high quality material and the quality of the zippers are amazing. It has more than enough space for all of my work supplies and more. I was hesitant to spend the money on it but it as well worth the cost and with a lifetime warranty you cannot go wrong with this railbag.
 
 AMAZING GRIP
By MRL, St Paul, MN, February 22, 2013

After hanging out in the yard for a few years, I decided it was time to spend my last 2+ years out on the road. Problem was my old grips were just flat worn out. After seeing these grips showing up all over the place and conversations with my many friends in Montana who already own these and swear by them I decided that I'd buy once, cry once and have a grip that would last me until well after retirement.

After 3 weeks of use, I'm very impressed with how much this bag can swallow. When I opened the shipping box, my first thought was "I paid 200 bucks for this?" It seemed so small and insignificant all folded up. Once I got my necessities loaded into it, I still had loads of room left over for extra clothing (I'm a big guy so my clothing takes up a lot of room), a pair of walking shoes, reading material and whatnot. This grip will expand to take in whatever you need to carry. You'll get it too heavy to handle before you exceed the capacity.

Love the heavy duty zippers and the Monkey Grip shoulder strap. This thing will pull your shirt off before it slips. Just what you need when manhandling a heavy bag up a set of steps and maneuvering through the zigzag on the new GE nose doors.

Best of all, it's made in the US of A by a company started by a veteran with a vision.

I'll try to remember to write a followup review when I retire. I don't think I'll have any complaints based on what I've seen so far...

 
 Best Railroad Grip I've Seen !
By Murray, British Columbia, Canada, February 14, 2013

With only a few years left until I pull the pin I was hoping my company-issued "Safety Award" grip would carry me through even though it was starting to show some pretty serious wear. However, I noticed a lot of our new hires were sporting these Red Oxx grips and was impressed with the degree of quality in the material, design and construction. I am now a proud owner of a Red Oxx grip and can't wait until a "Weed Weasel" climbs onto my unit for a look at my rule book and cards. The way this Red Oxx grip is built I'm sure it will still look brand new on the day I turn in my reversers and keys.
 
 All rails need this grip
By Seth thomas, Boone, Ia. , February 12, 2013

I laid off this weekend and used my work grip instead of my civilian one. My grip got stolen Fri. night by some knuckle dragging moron and I'm pissed off that whoever did it probably doesnt know that the grip is worth more to me than anything I had in it. Odds are my grip is in a river or crick or in a ditch someware. I wish I could catch the SOB who stole it. Its not what was in it, its the fact that after all the years on the railroad carring crappy grips I found my true love- the Red Oxx.

I only hope that if its in a crick that some beaver is lucky enough to find it and repair his dam or lodge. I cant say enough about how rugged and hard working these grips are! Oh, by the way. I only had mine for a few months. It was virtualy brand new and now some Jackass that probably loves "Made in China" more than this country has got it, or has thrown it out after going though my stuff. Damn!

Now I'm going to have to order another grip just as soon as I finnish my tirade. Also my shaving kit was in the grip so I know what else Im ordering from Red Oxx. The only problem I have now is I have to use my old "Brand X" grip untill the new Ox gets here.

Yeah, I better tell ya what I like about the grips. They are tough as spikes and wont let engine poop soak through. Roomy and lots of pockets. The zippers almost make you cry as they are so tough, they dont jam or break the first month. The only thing I'd add is a couple of top straps. Best railroad grip on planet Earth and I recomend it to all my Brothers and Sisters in all crafts. Buy Red Oxx for the Quality and Crafstmanship, you will not be disapointed
 
 Wish I Had Kids To Leave This Bag To.
By Anonymous, New York, January 31, 2013

I bought this for my Son-in-Law who just became a rr Engineer (after much schooling) as a gift. He LOVES it. Makes his life alot easier. Really well made. He told me he wished he had kids to leave it to because its gonna last that long. Best gift I ever bought!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking, self healing
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use that helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.