Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > railroad-grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red Oxx.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
We encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 14 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are so many Grips now with personalized embroidery, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example, think about a favorite nickname, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 14 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (305 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 made for railroading
By Anonymous, winnipeg, August 28, 2014

Best bag ive had ever, very strong against all elements.
 
 should've bought one sooner!
By Joe , Fargo, ND, August 22, 2014

Great product, lots of room. I use to carry two bags but it all fits in this one! don't be hesitant just buy it!!!
 
 I wish I could say it's the last bag I'll ever buy
By Randy J, Missouri, August 21, 2014

like the title says I wish I could say its the last bag I'll ever buy but,,,,, I want to get the shave kit bag and the CPA bag. If you don't know anyone who has one of these bags you can look at and you are on the fence about buying one,,,,do it! You don't always get quality with a high price. Some places are a rip-off but this is not one of them. If I can put in a shameless plug for Whites boots I'd like to say they are another american made company that charges a premium price for a superior product. If you buy one of these bags or a pair of whites boots you will not be disappointed. the boots might not last forever and I'm ok with buying another pair but I will have to decide which of my sons to leave this bag to. #QualityMadeInUSA!!!!

 
 Awesome bag!
By Bill, Ohio, August 21, 2014

This is by far the best grip I have ever owned. Well thought out design and durable materials and build. I can see it lasting the remainder of my career. Thanks for the wonderful product and craftsmanship!
 
 Best grip ever
By Anonymous, Toledo, Ohio, August 20, 2014

I'm a Toledo west conductor and I have had this bag for going on 5 years now that makes five hard winters and summers on the railroad and this grip still looks just as good as the day I got it. The bottom of the bag bearly shows any sign of age. One day in the distant future when the bag finally does fall apart it's guaranteed I'll buy another.
 
 The best bag
By Don Karon, Huntington Beach, CA, August 17, 2014

This has become my go-to bag. Its shape and numerous pockets make it simple to live out of without unpacking. It's a big volume, easily carrying a week's worth of clothing. Ballistic nylon can withstand anything. Although officially a smidgen larger than carry-on dimensions I have had no squawks from the airlines. Get one.
 
 Almost Perfect
By Andrew, Las Vegas, August 7, 2014

This bag would be 5 star perfect if it were the same size as the PR6. My only other complaint is the gap left by the dual zipper opening. I work in the desert and sand storms can make their way into the bag.
 
 Perfect size grip
By Anonymous, Missouri, August 7, 2014

Perfect size grip. I'm an extra board employee and I have room for all the things I need.
 
 railroad grip
By rene villagomez, san antonio,tx, July 27, 2014

The railroad grip it's awesome!!I can fit all my rule books,radio,lantern and a whole lot of other stuff that I need to have with me when I go out on the rails,it's tough made and the zipper's are heavy duty,well worth the money!!no more cheep grips!thank you red ox!!!!!!!!!!
 
 Lifelong customer now
By Tim, OHIO, July 17, 2014

Well constructed with extra room after all necessities are in place and arrived in a timely manner. Looking into purchasing another product for my wife to use when going to the gym.

 
 Durable grate product
By Michael, Texas, July 13, 2014

Strong and durable awesome for any one that need a durable grip for any occasion.
 
 Best grip ever
By travis s., Missouri, July 4, 2014

 
 Railroad Grip
By Jimmy Knight, Little Rock, AR., July 3, 2014

Best bag I have owned!
 
 buy 1 and be done
By Josh S./csx, ny, June 27, 2014

this is a great bag, It is a little pricy but well worth it. the heavy material really lasts while your climbing on and off engines, dragging it around on the floor, in and out of the yard jeeps, so on and so forth. The heavy duty zipper never binds and theres plenty of side pockets to keep all your rule books, bulletins, notebooks, air gauge, radio, batteries, you name it. In love with this bag and would deffinatly recommend to any coworker, friend, or anyone in the market to buy the last bag they'll ever have to buy.

REDOXX OR DIE!
 
 railroad grip
By George G., Chicago, June 19, 2014

I went thru at least 3 grips before I purchased my red oxx, money well spent!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Mike D, Cleveland, Ohio, June 13, 2014

Excellent / VERY HAPPY !
 
 Great Grip
By g weber, Cumberland Md, June 12, 2014

Great grip well worth the price seams to hold up well
 
 Great Grip!!
By Dave, Saskatoon, Sk Canada, June 12, 2014

 
 Railroad Frio
By Eric, Vacaville, Ca, June 6, 2014

Really like this grip. Looks like it will hold up. Should have done this 10 years ago
 
 Great grip!
By Anonymous, Ohio, May 22, 2014

What a great grip! I should have bought this years ago. I would have saved money by now by not purchasing other bags!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.