Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > railroad-grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my company bible”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK). Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your "Shiner" trainman lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. Speaking of clothes, check out our Laundro Bag for storing your dirty laundry. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red OXX.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over three hundred product reviews from satisfied engineers, conductors, and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND AND BAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and rip a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

OUT OF STOCK? PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
You buy it, we'll build it! You are encouraged to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is currently not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 21 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are many Grips with owners names embroidered on their bags, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example: perhaps a favorite nickname, pet name, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car or truck, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 3-5 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 10 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (330 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 TONNAGE
By Dave, Chicago, IL, June 14, 2012

A fantastic railroader's grip. A number of my coworkers have asked where I got it...a true must-have. Now to get some of the accessories.
 
 Blown Away
By Jason Henderson, Saint Joseph, MO, May 16, 2012

Bought bag 4 years ago and didn't want to write a review until I put it through the test. It exceeded my expectations in every way (and I knew of the bag before buying). It has been tossed around in cabs, dropped in mud, rained on, kicked, dropped off the nose of engine, and had different materials spilt on it. It is tough and durable and it still looks as if I bought it last month. Everything fits with room to spare. Some may think there isn't enough room, but I say they don't know how to pack. This is a travel bag and the only thing bigger is the railroad backpack.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Dan H., Chicago,Il, May 10, 2012

Bag is perfect, very well made, good value. The initials were very well done, happy I bought it.
 
 Great
By Shaun, Spencerville, IN, May 2, 2012

Very durable and holds everything. Well worth the money
 
 Awesome bag
By Mike, Upstate, New York, April 29, 2012

Love it. Enough said.
 
 First and last grip
By eric williamson, fort madison, iowa, April 26, 2012

awesome bag.
 
 Awesome!
By Kari H., Virginia, April 26, 2012

I purchased this bag for my husband for his birthday. He is a conductor, and we have had trouble finding a bag durable enough to hold all of his equipment. This bag is extremely well made, and there is enough room for everything my husband needs. I know we will not have to purchase another one for a LONG time. It is worth every penny!
 
 Best Grip Ever!!!
By Heath Brown, Ft Worth, April 23, 2012

My Red Oxx grip is by far and away, the best bag I've ever owned! From the huge #10 zipper to the double stitched seams and cargo pockets. Exceptional quality and American craftsmenship combine to make this bag the best value anywhere!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Karen Stone, Fort Wayne, In, April 19, 2012

My husband has been with the Norfolk Southern 14 years and he has gone through 7 different grips from hard shell, duffel bags, suit cases and they were hard to pack and wore out quickly. This is a great bag, so easy to keep things straight in the different pockets, his clothing packed neatly, his books that he has to carry and his lunch box fits in great. Wish we had heard about you all before now. My husband is so happy to have a grip that he can carry and it does not weigh him down as the others did. He wanted his name on the bag and it looks wonderful. Best buy I have made for him after all the others. Thank you for providing the railroad grip it is so much easier to pack and he can find everything he needs in one shot. Great bag.
 
 Only bag I need...
By Ryan, Mich., April 19, 2012

Bag is perfect. Everything I need for a layover plus all my conductor gear fits in this grip. Would recommend to anyone.
 
 Great Grip!
By Matt W., Virginia, April 18, 2012

Every railroader should have this bag. This is the best grip I have ever owned and well worth the money!
 
 Great Bag !!!
By J.A.C., Georgia, April 12, 2012

Having been a railroad conductor/engineer for almost ten years, I have tried every possible grip set up one can have. Soft suitcases, hard suitcases, book bags, back packs, all of them out there can only last a few good years at best before needing repairs or replacement. I work a job that keeps me gone a average of three days per trip. This bag can hold it all, and seems to be built well enough to with stand the abuse. Our grips come into contact with alot of steel walkways, dirty cab floors, constant handling up and down engine ladders, and in and out of road taxis. The railroad requires a tough bag. ( I do wonder how well the bottom will hold up over time though ) I think I have finally found it. I have paired it with a CPA Messenger Bag, which seems like a good set up. The weight difference alone from going from a hard shell Samsonite to this bag has made my bag shuffling so much easier on me, especially in the rain, or when having to walk a good ways to get to the parked train. The hardware is above top quality, the zippers and their pull knots are truly well thought out, and even very easy to use in the dark. The shoulder strap is excellent, and the big pockets hold all the crap we have to have to live out of a bag for a few days. I am sure it will out last any other setup I have had to date.... Red Oxx makes it very clear that they will stand behind their gear FOR LIFE. Given that they went to train crews to get advise on what we need to have, and how durable it has to be... IT SHOWS. This is a purchase I can't see ever regretting!
 
 Great Bag
By Patrick, Ft Worth Tx. KCSRR, April 12, 2012

Recent purchase, good strong zippers and lots of room. Can also double as layover bag for overnight change of clothes, ect. Well worth the price.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Anonymous, Lima Ohio, April 2, 2012

Bought this for my boyfriend as a gift. He loves it!! Is an engineer on the RR. and this works perfect. Great! Great quality!!
 
 Great Bag
By Greg, Willard, Ohio, March 29, 2012

Awesome bag. Holds everything plus some. Great purchase!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Andre, Macon, Ga., March 29, 2012

Solid work investment. Best money ever spent in a railroad grip. Arrangement of pockets are perfect.
 
 Outstanding Craftsmanship
By D.S. Hoover, Ridgeley WV, March 26, 2012

It is great to buy a product that truly shows pride in workmanship made in the USA! Highly recommended room to spare perfect size for a railroad grip.
 
 great
By Anonymous, la crosse wi, March 22, 2012

Tough bag with a lot of room. You can tell it was made very well, only wish it had back pack straps, so all of the weight isn't on one side. I know there is a backpack version but don't need it to be that big. Overall great product made in the U S A
 
 Great Grip
By J. Ogden, Glendive, MT, March 20, 2012

I bought this grip a year ago and I am glad I spent the money on it. It is extremely durable, and seems to be able to take anything. A year on the railroad has left it with some scuff marks and dirt, but it has held up remarkably well. All the zippers still work well, and I have had no problems with it. It hold more than it seems possible, including all my equipment, rule book, tools, clothes, and a spare coat in the colder months. This is a great value, and I highly recommend it.
 
 perfect
By Brian R., Clever MO, March 8, 2012

Love the bag, I was amazed at how much gear it can hold, I used to have to take two bags with me to carry everything but now all I need is one. Great bag.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • USA Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • USA Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • USA Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, backorders are typically filled within 21 days or less. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and trainman lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked Lifetime Warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Do you offer a loaner bag while my Grip is in for repair?
Sorry, we don't send out loaner bags. Imagine getting a loaner bag that had someone else's old moldy lunch in it? You get the picture. A cheap bag from the Discount store will last about as long as it takes to repair or replace your Grip. Generally turn around time is less than 72 hours.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.