Skip Navigation Linksrailroad-grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 21 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 3-5 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (286 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 Love My Grip, Still!
By Shelley, Fullerton/Anaheim, February 5, 2012

Loved this bag the moment I got it the first time. I'm not a railroader but I have friends who are and I keep sixteen hour days so this bag is perfect for me, I've had a lot of bags and this one is great because I still have room after I put all my stuff in it. Now if I can get my hands on a rule book :): I've got to try it in these pockets, they're awesome!

The bag had some unravelling threads and since everyone else said there's was fine I decided four months after using it that I really needed to send it in. It was performing with excellence.

The company said they would replace it because of faulty material, i said wow if that was faulty what's the new one like? It is awesome! I don't know how else to describe it! Everyone else has pointed out its features and I agree one hundred percent. I don't think the bag needs a key clip or inside zipper pockets. I use my front pocket for keys and things I need right away. Has lots of room for putting things that I don't need right away but need quick access to. Of course I pack bags inside my bags that are all organized. I really like the side and front pockets. I'm showing it to the rr crews I meet. Thanks for such great customer service, prompt, friendly, and right on. They sent back a Disney key and a rr crossing gate trinket I had forgotten about. Can't wait to make my next purchase. Happy Grip Owner and Very Happy!
 
 UPs and downs
By Matt, UPR St. Louis service unit, January 29, 2012

Saw ad for bag in crew room. Purchased grip despite high price. Blew out seam in bag and tweaked one of the zippers inside 4 months. Company wanted me to mail bag back to them for repairs despite being informed that I use my grip on a daily basis. Company finally sent new grip so that I can continue to have all of my gear in one place and will send broken bag back for inspection or whatever. Customer service did finally come through after several misteps, but for a bag that claims to be built lifetime tough and the CIT manages to break it inside four months? Perhaps an improvement in QA?

Also bag could afford to be slightly bigger in all dimensions especially side pockets for having to carry traction overshoes in winter and shoulder strap could use some inprovement as if you have to sling the bag to avoid getting snagged when getting on/off engines, adjustment buckles bite your shoulders up pretty badly.
 
 Awesome!
By Benj Beulen, S. St. Paul, Mn, January 26, 2012

I was using a traditional duffle for my grip, thought I'd look online and see if there was something else out there that was made for rough duty and will last. I stumbled upon RedOxx and saw the railroad grip and read the reviews along with description of the item etc. I ordered it right away. I received it a few days ago and like it a lot. It fits my GCOR, SSI, timetables, foreign RR DOCUMENTS, along with radio, lantern, change of clothes etc. everything I need for an over night trip and back. I strongly suggest this product for any railroader. The embroidery was spot on as well. All around VERY satisfied.
 
 Red Oxx Rocks!!!
By Mike Caldwell, Berkeley Srings Wv., January 19, 2012

great product, excellent craftsmanship, made in the USA....
 
 Christmas Gift
By Melinda, San Antonio, Tx, January 9, 2012

Bought this Grip bag for my nephew working in Denver Co. and all I've heard from him is great reviews. This was something he really needed to fulfill his job. He said the monogram and the grip bag are "Awesome"!
 
 Best value for your money
By Jimmy Adams Jr, Shallowater, TX, January 5, 2012

Looking at the bag you know immediately that it was built for a lifetime. It may still be in service well into my retirement. The zippers are so tough and sturdy that it is almost unbelievable. The weight of the bag tells you that it was made to last. The large side pockets are perfect and the interior has much more room than you can imagine. The bag is the best and worth every penny and the customer service is amazing.
 
 awesome
By aaron, kansas, January 4, 2012

great bag. i have no doubt it will last me the rest of my railroad life. only wish it had an inside zipper pocket or two.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Dave Davidson, Swindon UK, December 29, 2011

I had been contemplating purchasing a Red Oxx railroad grip for a while after deciding that my well-worn & battered Delsey duffel bag needed to be retired from front line service. Since puchasing the grip it's been used on a four day trip back home to Scotland & I'm very pleased with it. As per the instructions on the inside of the box it came in I will be arranging to leave it to my grandson in my will. I also believe I'm the only railwayman in the UK with a Red Oxx bag. My next purchase will be a CPA briefcase then all my UK & Europe travel/work requirements are met.
 
 the best
By ja lindsey, GA Division, December 29, 2011

This is the best grip out there. I did my research before buy. A lot of guys at my job had the bag. So i decided to get it even with such a high price. Well worth it
 
 Awesome Grip
By Kevin Stouffer, Regina,Saskatchewan,Canada., December 29, 2011

Finally, a grip that looks like it will last the test of time. Iam so glad i stumbled across redoxx. Also a special thanks to Lisa Miller who pointed me in the right direction, thanks again.
 
 Wonderful
By Sandra, Virginia, December 22, 2011

Very impressive bag that remind us of the old RR bag my husband's father carried when when worked for the C&O first as a Fireman then as an Engineer. As my hubby said..."no wonder they last a life time... so well made and sturdy and US made at that!" I know my Engineer son-in-law and Conductor son-in-law will be so pleased with these bags.
 
 Best Railroad Bag for this industry
By Randy HandleySpring, Spring, Texas, December 22, 2011

I have gone through a lot of different travel bag for our industry. We are very hard on out luggage. Lots of them just fall apart on the first trip. This bag is so well made that I will probable have it as a travel bag well after I retire. Thank you.
 
 Premium grip
By Steve Matheny, Macon Ga, December 16, 2011

Ive had all the others and they didnt make it a year.Finally found RedOxx and Im a believer now.Real tuff stuff they make it out of.
 
 !st thing a new hire should buy
By Joe Johnson, Peoria IL, December 15, 2011

I have been getting some student conductors and one of my first recommendations to them to save money and aggravation is to order a grip from Red Oxx. I spent a lot of $$ on several grips that just did not hold up well on road travel and needed replacing after just a few years. Get this one and be DONE.
 
 Stop looking, buy it.
By D. Foster, Michigan, December 13, 2011

There's no question, it's worth the money... after seeing trainman after trainman toting these around, I decided to ditch my old backpack and get one... No regrets.

Big enough to hold whatever you could possibly need, and the last time I saw something this tough, it came out of my mom.

Good work, RedOxx.
 
 First Class Grip
By Scott Wiesemann, Stockton, CA, December 12, 2011

I have over 31 years of service as a locomotive engineer on the BNSF Railway. Needless to say I've gone through my share of grips in a variety of designs. When I opened my birthday present and pulled this grip out of the box I turned to my wife and asked " do you want me to go back on chain gang?"

This bag huge! It is well made of quality materials. The workmanship is perfect. It looks, feels,and is a first class grip. Well worth the price.
 
 Quality Gear
By Roger, Spokane,Wa, December 10, 2011

Have been using my grip for only a few months now, but have already figured how to store too much stuff in it! As the ad says, all of my safety gear and rule book fit perfectly in the roomy compartments leaving plenty of room for cold weather gear and personal items-well worth the money!
 
 Railroad Grip Bag
By Becky Wittig, Minnesota, December 8, 2011

Bought this as a gift for my son-in-law who's a conductor and has been wishing for one for years. Bag is awesome and can't wait to give it to him for Christmas. Think it will make packing for his road trips much easier with large main garment area and numerous, sizable zippered pockets for rule and reg manuals.
 
 Better than expected
By Justin, KC, MO, December 2, 2011

I didn't realize how incredibly spacious this bag would be until it showed up at my house (way earlier than expected I might add) and I started to load it up.

Best grip I could have ever dreamt of owning.
 
 Outstanding Service
By Tristan, Wisconsin, November 10, 2011

Ordered the Redoxx bag after my old grip started to tear on the shoulder strap I decided it was time to order a new grip, after seeing so many other co workers use this grip I asked what they thought and all the answers I got were very positive.

I can't be more happier with the Redoxx rr grip , it holds everything for out of town trips.

Defiantly best grip I have ever bought
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.