Skip Navigation Linksrail-king-railroad-rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Your new home on the rails.”
Red Oxx Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack. Our largest, toughest bag.

Rail King Railroad Rucksack $325.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A Railroad Rucksack on Steroids. Ready to ride the rails.

The undisputed King of the Rails.

Our friends down at the train yard will be thrilled we've done our final testing on the new Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack and it's ready for the rails. Bigger, badder and ready to go down the longest mile in style, for quite a while. Just like our popular Railroad Grip, it's still hand built in our factory in Billings, Montana. It comes with our famous no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty. It uses the same tough Ballistic Nylon materials.

DESIGNED EXCLUSIVELY FOR LONG RANGE RAIL RIDERS.
Back in 1992, local Rail Engineers helped design our original Railroad Grip. Seems since then, they're packing more personal stuff, taking longer trips like the "xtra board" and there was also a need for a grip bag that could carry winter gear along with the typical lamp, radio and GCOR rule book.

WHY A BACKPACK STYLE RUCKSACK?
All this could be thought of as becoming pretty heavy for a Grip. Rather than convert a larger bag such as our Sherpa Jr. Outfitters Expedition Bag, the decision was made to spread the weight across your back evenly and keep the compartmentalized features railroaders like so much by creating an enlarged rucksack.

COMFORT AND STRENGTH.
Upgraded durable Uni-Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carry comfort cinch down with Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware. Every stress point is double box stitched for peace of mind. Heavy-duty compression straps on bottom of the Rail King Rucksack stores your jacket, blanket or bedroll out of the way. Beware, the Rail King is our LARGEST Rucksack Backpack. Now you can ride the Red Oxx Hi-Ball on the roll by!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Rail King Rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 9"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches - including external raised pockets.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual side zippered pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
  • Exterior dual side zippered flat slip pockets: 8"H x 7"w
  • Exterior front pocket: 15"L x 12"W x 5"D
  • Exterior zippered flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Interior slip pocket: 18"H x 12"W

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Rail King Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great rail rucksack needs Railroader accessories.

Personalize it. An embroidered Ruck is a respected Ruck.
Order an Embroidered Monogram Patch (located on top zipper panel).

  • Three initials for only $7.50
  • Up to ten characters for only $10.00

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogram Patches adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Rail King Rucksack include:

  • Riggers Rucksack Backpack - tough enough for any oil rigging job
  • Trucker cargo ruck - great for tools and travel gear
  • Roughneck backpack - If you work a big tough job, this is your bag
  • Horse tack knapsack
  • Rodeo ruck
  • Roping ruck
  • Halter rucksack
  • Trainers rucksack

UPDATED
Free Printable Railroad Rucksack PDF Brochure Download (3.7MB)
Free Printable Railroad Accessories PDF Brochure Download (3.4MB)

Write a Review

4.75 Average Rating
 (64 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Perfect road bag
By Anonymous, Alabama , April 24, 2014

I waited a while before I reviewed the bag so I can get the full use. It's the perfect bag when are a pack rat like myself. I can fit everything I'm required to have and then some. It's durable and easy to wipe clean. I wish the clips at the bottom of the straps had rings or some way where they don't bind when you sling it over your shoulders. I pair it up with the tri-fold kit and it holds everything I would need and then some for a life working the road extra boards.
 
 Grippage
By Cory Schnaufer, Amarillo, TX, April 17, 2014

This bag is a tank. I have been using it for a month and a half now and it still doesn't have a mark on it. I truly love the bags build quality. The bag design however could use a little adjustment. I find myself digging around in these massive pockets looking for my smaller items. This makes me really wish for a couple of small pockets either on the outside or on the inside of one of the bigger pockets. The other thing is the pocket for the rule book is way to tight. I can get it in there but it is a fight. I would love an extra half inch of room in that pocket. These are the only things I would do to change this bag. Other than that the bag is amazing.
 
 packing the grip
By Richard Mize, Spokane Washington, April 15, 2014

the grip is easy to pack on and off the engine, I like the idea of having my hands free climbing up and down. I used to carry a lunch box separately, now it is packed within this grip. the only change i would like to see is that the rule book carrier could be detachable, it gets in the way sometimes. I would also like to see redoxx add a lunchbox that is easy accessible, mine i have to take out, and I'm looking for a better one.
 
 Gripping
By Anonymous, Hazard, KY., March 20, 2014

Well this grip is amazing. A friend had bought the railroad grip and I went through his with a fine tooth comb. I wanted a backpack though and so he told me that there was one available. This thing is awesome. More than enough space. Well laid out, plenty of pockets, and enough room to put clothes, snacks, etc. The warranty is the best. I've been a railroader for 17 years and have put many grips in their grave from hard use. I have found the last grip I will buy. Three months in and it still as good as when I first received it. Can't say enough good about it. Buy one!!! You will not be disappointed.
 
 Great Bag
By Shane, North Platte, NE, March 16, 2014

I was very impressed with this bag as soon as I took it out of the box. It has very heavy duty material and great zippers. It is a bit big for me and will be way to big for summer use. I wish the same bag was available in a little smaller size. A small pocket on the front would be nice for keys, pens, etc. Also, some Velcro or something to hold the laptop (which I don't carry) compartment closed would help.
 
 Super Quality
By Robert Johnson, Indianapolis, March 13, 2014

This backpack is seriously of the highest quality. I find a hard time imagining that anything could wreck it. I really appreciate all the pockets that allow me to fit in all the stuff I end up needing out on the rails: spotlight, fusees, etc.

I would only warn against ONE thing, and offer one recommendation for improving the backpack. Fully packed, it is a little difficult to wear the pack on your back and fit through the door of a locomotive. The back could use losing a little bit of volume to thin it down and make it more maneuverable.

Thanks RedOxx. I think I found my last grip.
 
 Finally the perfect grip
By Sara Onsager, Great Falls, MT, March 6, 2014

My husband works for BNSF and he was always complaining that the grip bag he had just wouldn't hold all of the necessities he needed for his job. He had heard about this awesome rucksack from red oxx so I got him one for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. Everything fits and it's easy to haul around. This is by far the best grip for any rail road employee.
 
 Quality at first sight
By B Rod, Denver, March 6, 2014

Right out of the box I was impressed. Good sturdy feel to the materials and zippers. Nice and roomy. Little big for everyday use so I went ahead and ordered the C- ruck and am happy with both. Add a lifetime warranty and you have a customer for life. Thank you Red Oxx. Looking forward to more of your great products.

 
 First and Hopefully Last Grip
By JM Stark, Cumberland, Md, February 21, 2014

I'm a new hire conductor, and I heard good reviews from co-workers. I noticed that during training I just couldn't find the right grip to hold what I felt I needed to be confident when I left home. So I figured that it was worth the money if I didn't need to buy another grip for 30 years. I like the big pockets to hold my lantern and radio, With our new rulebook (A huge 3 ring binder) I'm glad that I have the extra space.

The only changes I would suggest would possibly be a small place for pens, small items inside the top compartment, and maybe a ring to hang my keys on.

I can definitely notice the attention to detail. I hope this is the last grip I ever have to buy.
 
 Best bag ever owned
By Gonzales, Clovis, NM, February 12, 2014

Bag took 30 days to receive but it was worth the wait. This is a very well made bag for my job with BNSF. As a railroader our bags take a beating and having a no bull warranty is the icing on the cake for such a quality bag! I recommend this bag over others. Looking at grabbing the shaving bag next. Thanks red Oxx and great job on the quality and cust. Service!
 
 Amazing Bag
By Michael Klotz, Seattle, February 6, 2014

This is the most durable, do anything bag I'll ever own and the last one I'll have to spend money on. I'm heading to California in just over a weeks time and will easily be able to avoid any checks or extra baggage nonsense. Will be adding another bag from the redoxx line to survive the isle of man this may/june! Thank you guys so much for having quality products, customer service and a forever no questions asked guarantee. Cheers from the pacific northwet!
 
 Couldn't be happier
By JD Fertig, Columbus, Ohio, January 23, 2014

The product sells itself, not much to say. Guaranteed forever. All there is to it. My only complaint is that it doesn't quite fit through conventional engine doors as easy as the widebodies', but that is something I am willing to live with. Fits all my gear, even in the winter time, and then some.
 
 Good but could be better
By Bill, Arkansas, November 14, 2013

I have had the Rail king now for 2 months and it is a great bag. By far the best one I have used in the 15 years working for the U.P. My only suggestion to make this the perfect bag for a railroader is to put some small pockets for pens, keys ect.. in one of the big pockets. there is lots of room and everything fits. But you have to carry all of those small items loose in the big pockets. So am always having to dig thru it to find what I'm looking for. I ended up putting a plastic pencil box in the top flap to carry every small loose item. Still have to dig thru it but at least its not in the bottom of bag. Gave it 4 stars would have been 5 if had some sort of pocket organizer like some of the computer bags do.

It is still a great Bag and recommend it to coworkers all the time.
 
 Simply Great
By Stephen, West Virginia, November 7, 2013

Best Grip out there hands down! Like most I have tried multiple grips that never last or doesn't work good enough. This grip has truly made it so simple and easy to carry everything you could want or need to carry. You will not regret investing in one of these!
 
 best grip ever
By John, Pittsburgh, August 9, 2013

I've owned this backpack for over a year & it's still like new. I use to buy 2 grips a year but not now. Plenty of room.
 
 Excellent Grip
By Sam, Missouri, June 4, 2013

I’ve had the Rail King for about 2 months now and I really enjoy this grip. It has room for everything I could possibly need working on the rails, and then some. There are so many ways to load this thing that it took me several trips to get it the way I liked it. I would suggest trying to fill the front pocket as full as possible, as this keeps the bag from wanting to tip over when the top pocket is folded open (I folded my rain jacket for a base, and then piled the rulebooks and a lunchbox over it.)

The one feature I don’t really use is the compression straps on the bottom of the bag. I guess it would be handy if I had a long hike and didn’t want to carry or wear my jacket, but normally it would just be an annoyance to have to coat rolled under the bag, causing it to tip over; plus your jacket would get filthy sitting on the floor/ground. However, since the straps don’t hinder the performance of the bag otherwise, I won’t complain about it.

How I load up the Rail King:

Main Compartment | Overnight change of clothes, Tri-Fold Shave kit,

Interior Slip Compartment | Spare jeans, rain pants, neck pillow

Front Pocket | Rain Jacket, GCOR rulebook, small soft sided lunchbox, and whatever book I’m currently reading

Left Side Pocket | Lantern, radio, safety vest, gloves

Left Slip Pocket | Small hazmat reference guide, air slip book

Right Side Pocket | Full size 40 oz. Thermos, large plastic cup for boiling water in hotels, bottled sports drink

Right Slip Pocket | Leatherman multi-tool, small flashlight, mini binoculars, 2.5 oz. hand sanitizer

Top Pocket | Safety glasses, extra gloves, wool hat for winter, small case for pens, calculator, and hot journal chalk, and the various soaps and shampoos I take from hotels. I don’t have much to put in this pocket, so all the miscellaneous stuff goes here. It’s only about half full.

To wrap things up, I will finish by saying that this is the best grip I could have hoped for. The quality is second to none and has more than enough space for anything I would possibly need or want out here. If you are looking for an excellent backpack-style grip, this is the one for you.

 
 Rail King Rucksack
By LD ESTEP, Albuquerque NM, May 9, 2013

I have wasted a ton of money on grips for the last 36 years. This bag carries enough to satisfy an overpacker like myself. I have a torn rotator cuff in my shoulder but can still carry about 50 lbs. in bag without any pain. Should have bought one years ago.
 
 Loving the Rail King!
By G Ludtke, London, ON. Canda, April 25, 2013

This bag does all I need and more. I have a number of different pack and duffle bags. I settled for a 80Lt duffle but I STILL had to carry two bags for off my work kit and personals. Sometimes finding it hard to get in the nose door of the units. Doing the math I figured this pack out to a 90Lt capacity and it a well laid out 90Lt. Everything and then some fits in this monster of a pack!! AND I can cleanly make it through the doors without getting hung up! I wish I knew about this when I first started with the railway. Would have saved me LOTS of money on other bags.
 
 Just what I wanted.
By Kim, Wisconsin, March 22, 2013

I been Railroading 15 years. I've had many grips and backpacks in that time. They all had one thing in common: They could not stand up to life on the rail. Do yourself a favor and buy a Grip from Red Oxx. The last grip you will ever need to buy. Built to last a lifetime on the Railroad. Thank you Red Oxx.
 
 Amazing grip
By Brad B, Minnesota , March 12, 2013

This grip is amazing plenty of compartments to put everything you need for the road and then some. The quality is second to none and its made in the USA. Very impressed, I was a little leery to spend that much money but now I wish I would have bought it sooner. Great product highly recommend it.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft black nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Dual set of Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell foam padding in back
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Available in Black Only
  • US Dimensions: Main Compartment 13"W x 20"H x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
    Front Pocket: 14"H x 13"W x 6"D
    Flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Metric Dimensions: Main Compartment 33cm W x 50.8H x 17.8cm H
    Side Pockets: 35.5cm H x 17.8cm W x 10.1c m D
    Front Pocket: 35.5cm H x 33cm W x 15.2cm D
    Flap Pocket: 30.5cm H x 30.5cm W x 7.6cm D
  • US Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches
  • Metric Total Capacity: 92.6 Liters

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Rail King Rucksack, the Airborne C-Ruck, or Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Rail King is made with a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. Ideal for Railroaders and the harsh rail lifestyle.
 
Can I get one in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is only available in black.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon, our strongest, and is designed for hard use. It will not tear, shred or rip.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Rail King was specifically designed to hold this exclusive railroader gear.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
The Rail King Rucksack has a special slide pocket inside the back main compartment that will accommodate Laptops up to 17 inches.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Rail King Rucksack. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each product we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull," no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a railroad rucksack that will not fail.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.