Skip Navigation Linkscpa-briefcase

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm for CPA's who like tattoos and firearms.”
Red Oxx CPA Nylon Business Briefcase - pictured in Black. Choose from 12 Colors.

CPA Briefcase $175.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A durable Nylon Briefcase for when you need more room.

Double the volume of our Metro Briefcase.

Carry-on the CPA Business Briefcase on your next flight and you'll have everything you need securely at your side. Plenty of room for files, a tablet or laptop, a snack, and even a change of clothes-- just in case your checked luggage goes to Barbados, while you're heading to Brooklyn. Volara closed cell foam padding in front, bottom and back keeps your laptop notebook safe and as a nice added touch, it also keeps your briefcase upright.

DOUBLE THE CARRY CAPACITY.
The CPA briefcase has the same features as our popular Metro briefcase, except double the volume capacity. The inside includes internal mesh file separators on each wall of the briefcase. One separator is sewn down to keep your files or magazines in place, while the other is left open to the bottom so you can secure your laptop out of the way. The separators have pockets for discs, business cards, and writing utensils. Carry your Nalgene bottle in one of the twin gathered-elastic end pockets.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
On the exterior of the briefcase you have access to six pockets, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive Red Oxx finger loop snap closures. These clever looped snaps allow easy one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the Mil-Spec cap in place. A simple solution that prevents crushing items located under the snaps. Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a secret flat "slip pocket" for papers, boarding passes, sunglasses, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for tablets, documents or magazines. Confidently carry the CPA Briefcase using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

The primary advantage of the CPA over the Metro is space. Doubling the volume in the main compartment (width) gives you flexibility to carry more with you. The Red Oxx CPA Briefcase keeps you moving, organized, even clothed, and your office goods protected.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your CPA Briefcase on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 1,309 cu. inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three Interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • 5 interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 7"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your CPA Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (115 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 What a piece of craftsmanship
By Rod, Ohio, August 29, 2013

What a magnificent piece of work this briefcase is! Strong, light, cavernous space and a pocket for absolutely everything. If you can't get your stuff in here, you don't need to be carrying it.

Bravo to Redoxx for their craftsmanship, design, quick delivery and for making life just a bit easier!
 
 Fits EVERYTHING you'll need for a day at the office
By Benjamin, Boston, MA, July 29, 2013

Here's what I can fit comfortably in this briefcase, which should sum up how amazing this thing is:

1) laptop w/ wires

2) notepads

3) book

4) lunch bag

5) one RedOxx Market Tote bag

6) one RedOxx travel basket

7) pens and pencils

8) mp3 player with headphones

9) tissues

10) keys

11) lip balm and hand sanitizer

12) water bottle and umbrella in the end pockets

This is a better, more spacious, and more indestructible briefcase than any leather briefcase I've ever seen or used. I could not recommend this any more highly.
 
 All around bag
By Jpg in miami, Miami, July 25, 2013

It serves every purpose. Took it on a hunting trip to argentina as a carry on for ipad, headphones and other necessities. Use it for work when traveling out of town for depos and need to carry files home etc. looks great. Holds a ton and wont wear out. A little tight under the seat on some budget airlines but who cares. Would buy again bc its so roomy!!
 
 Great Briefcase
By Miata, Chelmsford MA, July 25, 2013

After struggling to find the perfect briefcase, I finally gave this a try. I've used various computer bags and backpacks and none seemed to meet my needs. I found backpacks awkward and other briefcases generally lacking in durability. Having purchased and used an Airboss bag for about 3 years, I have no doubt about the durability of this bag. It is extremely well made, with a lot of thoughtful touches. Believe it or not, one of the best things is it's relative light weight.

I have a i7 processor laptop that is very heavy and having light bag allows you to carry more stuff (such as notebooks) with relative ease. The only downside that I see is my "power brick" is relatively heavy and sticks out of the end pocket more than I'd like. I probably carry too much, because this large bag is pretty much full all the time.

I carry a laptop, powerbrick, mouse, various cables, pocket camera & charger, 2-3 notebooks, misc business papers, portable hard drive, pens, CDroms, phone chargers and misc other stuff. While it all fits, and more importantly is easier to access than other bags, I don't have a lot of "spare room"!! All in all it is a great looking, durable, large bag that does what is promised with no fuss or muss. An added bonus is it is Made in the USA!!
 
 Righteous Bag
By Josh N., Mississippi, May 10, 2013

This is one RIGHTEOUS bag. It is cavernous, with no detail of a need or imperfection overlooked. This thing feels as sturdy as a well-designed leather bag! Being a Pipe-Organist, I could not see a better bag for holding all of the Bach, Brahms, Buxtehude, and Vierne, and every conceivable pair of "man-heels" (a.k.a. organ shoes), metronomes, and writing devices. I highly recommend this bag not just for CPA, but the hardcore organist, too.
 
 Everything Proof!
By Steve, Herndon VA, March 28, 2013

This bag is a fantastic business/laptop bag with plenty of room to hold all of my gear. It built they way I expect all red oxx products to be made; durable, and of the highest USA! quality.

This bag feels so tough and durable, dragging it behind a truck would make it laugh at you at say "Is that all you got?"

I am a loyal Red Oxx Customer, and with superior quality like this I plan on continuing to be one for my entire life!
 
 Excellent with one concern.
By Anonymous, Athens, GA, March 12, 2013

As most other reviewers have stated--the product *is* excellent. Still, the CPA does not have adequate padding in the bottom to protect a laptop to my standards.

Here is what I did:

I cut out a piece of (probably intended for yoga) exercise mat (slightly less than 1/2") for the bottom of the CPA. Inside the CPA I place my laptop in an oversized zip case that I have supplemented with thick, soft foam padding. Those two add-ons have increased the laptop protection substantially. I have already ordered and am awaiting a Gator carry-on bag.
 
 More than a Briefcase
By Rich, Southeast, February 28, 2013

I fly a lot and find a truly legal size rollerboard is not big enough for all the clothing I carry for a trip of 5 days or more. I have been looking for a bag to fit easily underseat that will carry my Macbook air in a small case with handles, my Kindle, and associated chargers, cables, and connnectors and still have room for some additional items that will not fit in my rollerboard. My CPA Briefcase does this perfectly. I usually carry a second pair of shoes, 3 pair of socks, a sweater and light jacket, toiletries, medicine and small folding umbrella. I still have a little room left over. It has been perfect for such useage.
 
 Practical and unique
By Aaron , Toronto, February 17, 2013

My wife bought me this bag for my birthday to replace my damaged bag that I had used primarily for work. I had heard of Red Oxx from a friend who owns the Air Boss and had traveled worldwide with it. I've only used it so far as a work bag but it's proven utility has already become evident. I was deciding between the Metro and CPA but I'm glad I went with the CPA as it easily fits my work material and my overcoat / gym clothes when I'm heading home on the subway. Being made in the USA was a major selling point. Looking forward to using it often.
 
 Very Roomy!
By Sergio, Miami, February 14, 2013

I was in between the CPA case and the Metro case. (Coincidentally, I happen to be a CPA with a tattoos and am also a gun-nut. My wife thought that I had Red-Oxx write that! LOL!) The solution was easy - I just got both. While I know this review is for the CPA, I found that the Metro is ample for daily "home-to-office" use and fits my laptop, Moleskin notebook, Ipad, a TUMI "tube-like" case (about 3" round and about 8" tall that I insert in an upright position) for my gadget chargers and about and 1 t0 2 inches worth of files. Aside from the width, the two cases are identical both in the interior and exterior. I have already used the CPA case in addition to the Metro to take a few big notebooks and files to client office visits. I've also used the CPA for an overnight business trip in which I carried my "home-to-office" stuff in addition to a shirt (folded in a Eagle-Creek folder), underwear and a light toiletry kit. It was perfect in that capacity. A huge plus for either case is that they are both very light. I was hauling Tumi leather briefcases which, alone, are fairly heavy. If you are in between the two cases, I would offer that unless you need the case for a overnight trips OR unless you plan to take thick notebooks or 3-5" worth of files and a laptop, I would go for the Metro. Despite the "as adverstised" 3" width, it does fit quite a bit.

On the "negatives" (not really so bad but would definately be nice), I would say that the strap needs to be a bit thicker - not so much for weight bearing purposes but visually, it looks too thin. Also the button-wrap on the hand-straps seem a bit awkward to snap and a bit uncomfortable to carry. It's not a huge issue for me as I tend to sling it on my shoulder. I'd also like to see the exterior two pockets a bit "cleaner". I put an eyeglass case and sunglasses in one, and put my wallet and checkbook in the other and when the lid/cover is snapped on, it looks a bit sloppy in that the cover seems to be a bit open and the contents seem to be able to fall out.

I'm very happy that I purchased both the CPA and the Metro and already found great uses for both.
 
 Tons of room and stylish
By Dr. Neal Seymour, Virginia, January 19, 2013

Purchased the CPA in black to go with my Air Boss and I am certainly glad I did. It is the perfect companion for travel. The CPA is so much roomier than I had imagined and it is so very intelligently designed and well constructed. I put a very large screen computer in a neoprene case (recommended) and this slips effortlessly into the inside mesh divider. Then go in every electronic accessory one can imagine (plug adapters, chargers, cables - the lot). Then go in tons of files plus highlighters, pens, etc. This then leaves room (for those overseas trips) to even put in an extra pair of underwear and socks plus toiletries. The roominess was a really big surprise.

The side snap pockets are brilliant. When going through security checkpoints they hold wallets, keys, smartphones, coins, etc. The very novel design of the snap closure makes fastening effortless (thanks for this). The zippers are as robust as they come. The bottle holders at the end are great - you never have to worry about leakage within the case. The zippered side pockets are convenient for itineraries, boarding passes, etc. - for quick access. A word of warning, though: there is so much room that you will be tempted to take more business stuff than you would ever need.

This is a briefcase for the 21st century - stylish and conservative - it is so much more professional than a backpack - yet it retains all the key attributes and practicality of a backpack. People are always stopping me and asking about this case (it definitely turns heads). I do not work for Red Oxx - I am a professional who is a heavy business traveler. It is just that, in the CPA, I have found a fantastic briefcase which has now replaced all my others.
 
 CPA Briefcase
By John, Ft Lauderdale Florida, January 10, 2013

Great Briefcase - Light and easy to organize. Great workmanship all around. Its my everyday bag and even in the boardroom it is very stylish.

Love it!
 
 A Small Railroad Grip
By Chris O., Seattle, WA, January 9, 2013

If your a railroader looking for a smaller "day" grip, this may be your answer.

I found the CPA Briefcase to be the perfect solution to my need for a smaller railroad grip. My big Red Oxx grip worked great for the road trips working out of town, but I needed something smaller for working roadswitchers, locals and yard jobs. Thats when I returned to Red Oxx and found the CPA Briefcase.



I've been using it several weeks now, and it works great! The interior pouches work great for carrying all the blank form booklets, and the comparment holds my clipboard with my train lists. The exterior pockets have all my smaller items like my bottle of soda, radio, hose gaskets, temp crayons, bad order tags, etc. And of course, much like my Railroaders Grip, it's built to last.

If your Railroaders Grip is too big for your daily needs when not working out of town, take a look at the CPA Briefcase.
 
 House Calls
By Stan, Boise, January 2, 2013

I was looking for a bag to use while making house calls. I had considered a leather bag, but chose this one because: I can wash it; it has a very professional appearance; it can carry quite a bit of stuff.

Currently I carry 3 assorted blood pressure cuffs; a stethoscope; an otoscope/ophthalmoscope set, a clipboard, a computer, an oximeter, gloves, booties, a couple of isolation gowns, some masks, hand wipes, and whatever else I need.

It is easy to carry, is very handsome, and always receives comliments.

If I were king for a day at Red Oxx, I would make the same size bag with a flap closure--rather than the top zipper closure, for when it rains--and some means of keeping the mouth of the bag open when it is sitting on a firm surface. Would also consider using light-colored inside material to improve visibility.

That being said, I bought the smaller version for my wife to replace her very careworn briefcase from another premium manufacturer, and she is very satisfied.
 
 Fantastic
By Forrest, Park forest, December 27, 2012

fantastic bag works g4reat for carrying my laptop and accessories matches my Red Oxx railroad grip only wish it was made of the same thicker material as my railroad grip
 
 Exceptional
By CP, Nova Scotia, Canada, November 25, 2012

I've owned the CPA briefcase for about a month and use it to carry my Thinkpad Edge E520 15.6" laptop [(14.76"x9.64"x1.10"]. Plenty of room for it and whatever else I need to carry...lunch, files, rain gear.

Since I walk to work, and the weather can be rain/snow some days, I use an MEC daypack raincover [size small 30-50 litres] on the CPA brifcase in bad weather and it keeps the bag and my laptop dry [http://www.mec.ca/AST/ShopMEC/Packs/RainCovers/PRD~0609-131/mec-rain-cover.jsp].

I have had many briefcases over the years and none have lasted very long under daily use because the straps or zippers invariably fail. I expect the CPA case to last a very long time as its zippers and strap construction are vastly superior to anything I have previously owned. The handle straps extend under the CPA briefcase and up the other side, so they bear the full weight when the bag is picked up, unlike lesser bags which have the strap attached to the side of the bag...and if the fabric rips where the strap is attached...the bag and contents will fall to the ground.

The CPA shoulder strap is also excellent. And I like the external water bottle pockets...safer than putting a water bottle (or sunscreen bottle, etc.) inside the bag where it can leak and damage electronic devices.

Two suggestions:

1. A strap on the back side which fits over a rolling suitcase handle.

2. An padded insert that can be used to store/easily remove camera gear. I would then be able to easily convert the CPA bag for my DSLR camera gear [see http://www.tamrac.com/5784shuttle_lrg.htm for example...but have the handle straps run under the insert for better weight-bearing purposes].
 
 Well worth the money!!
By Doug, Columbus, OH, November 22, 2012

Love this bag!! It's great for all the stuff you have to carry on the railroad.
 
 Great Breifcase
By Eric Richards, New York, NY, November 21, 2012

First and foremost I would like to thank Red Oxx Customer Service . Every CSR encounter was extremely professional , informative and exceeded even my over critical expectations.

I have bought bags that are much more expensive than this one, but they don't have anywhere near the common sense straight forwardness this bag embodies. Simply put the engineering is elegantly practical and proudly all American.
 
 This is an awesome bag.
By Dave Sellens, Independence, MO, November 9, 2012

I bought this bag after my previous laptop bag started falling apart. Needless to say, I'm very impressed with it. It holds my laptop, Ipad, all the cords for both, plus blank discs and other miscellaneous stuff I need to carry with them. All around, an excellent bag for me.
 
 You asked me what I thought!
By DC, Australia, November 1, 2012

You asked me what I thought! I just placed an order for a Duffel Bag in the same colour.

Enough said!

DC. Australia.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications

CPA Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.5 Liters

CPA Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the CPA and the Metro?
The CPA Briefcase is twice as wide as the Metro.
 
Will the CPA hold a laptop? What size?
The CPA was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17-inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the CPA Briefcase meet personal item/carry-on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and even under most airline seats.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
Yes, the CPA will fit your C-pap. We also recommend using our Gator Compact Carry-on to carry your C-pap machine.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.