Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Briefcases & Garment Bags  > metro-briefcase

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I outlast PCs 100 to one.”
Red Oxx Metro Nylon Computer Briefcase - shown in Black. Choose from 12 colors.

Metro Briefcase $155.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Adventure Worthy!
Bring your business along with you.

Carry your laptop, portfolio... you name it.

The Red Oxx Metro Laptop Briefcase, a business briefcase with the heart of a rugged adventurer. This rugged Cordura nylon padded briefcase can take a beating and still look great at your next meeting. Want proof? Read about the Million Mile Metro.

DESIGNED TO PROTECT.
Volara closed cell foam padding on front, bottom, and back, keeps it standing tall while protecting your belongings. Our Metro Briefcase features internal mesh file separators on the front and back sides inside the bag. On one side the separator is sewn down to the bottom to keep your files, brochures or magazines in place, while the other side is left open at the bottom so you can secure your laptop notebook out of the way. The separators have eight pockets total for discs, CDs, a smart phone, and slots for up to five pens, pencils or pointing devices. Each inside mesh flap uses Fastex clips at the top to hold everything in place.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
There are six pockets on the exterior of the bag, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx finger loop snap closures.' These clever looped snaps allow one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the Mil-Spec cap in place--a genius solution to prevent crushing items under the snaps.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a flat slip pocket for papers, boarding passes, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for documents or magazines. Also, there are dual water bottle pockets on each end to keep you hydrated during your journey. Confidently carry the Metro using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

OTHER RED OXX BRIEFCASE OPTIONS?
If all this makes the Metro sound too big, try our Chica Tablet Bag. Too small? Move up to the Metro's big brother, the CPA Briefcase, which is twice as wide.

JUST HOW GOOD IS OUR WARRANTY?
Check out this tale of a Metro Briefcase that traveleda million miles.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Metro Briefcase on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

The Red Oxx Metro Laptop Briefcase, a business briefcase with the heart of a rugged Adventurer.

Dimensions: 17"L x 3.5"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 654 cubic Inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • Five interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 3.5"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.75 Average Rating
 (77 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 A great daily work and business travel bag
By Dave Brown, Ottawa, ON, Canada, May 25, 2012

In my opinion the Metro is the best looking functional bag out there. As a military officer, I am most concerned with the durability and functionality of my gear than the aesthetics. As with the other RO gear I own, this Metro is extremely well made and the design just makes sense. The Metro also looks great (as compared to a something like a flight bag). I can easily use this bag when I am wearing either my combat or dress uniform.

As previous owners have commented, this bag can carry much more than you would expect. I was considering purchasing the CPA but the Metro has lots of room for what I need. On a regular basis my Metro holds a MacBook Air, iPad, lots of work papers, notebooks, stationary, sunglasses w/ case, headphones, all the required cords/adaptors, and even a snack. I still have room left over.

The Metro is also the perfect partner to my Sky Train. Between the two bags, I now believe that I have the perfect business travel set-up. I never have to worry about checking my luggage while still keeping my clothes separated from my business gear.
 
 An excellent purchase
By Brad Bourne, Denver CO, April 21, 2012

I purchased this bag to replace a Red Oxx bag I bought 10-15 years ago (I still have both of my duffel bags). The Metro Briefcase is perfect for carrying my laptop, office files, tools and whatever else I put in it. Very sturdy and great looking. I grew up in Billings and am totally pleased to support a local firm. I have received compliments already and would recommend this product. The rubber shoulder strap is a big improvement. Thanks Red Oxx.
 
 Nice Case
By John Donohue, Hamden, CT, April 19, 2012

Nice case...well designed with the usual top quality material. Just the right size and it goes really nicely with my air boss.
 
 Metro Briefcase
By Anonymous, Boston, March 3, 2012

Beautifully made bag. Great size. Wonderful customer service. But bright red logo on both sides was the deal breaker. Would have absolutely considered keeping the bag with a more subtle logo option.
 
 Practical
By Pluto, Boulder, Co, February 18, 2012

A great bag, just the right size and certainly made to last a lifetime. The hardware is superb. The layout is practical, a good number of pockets and storage area without overkill. The stiff foam panels are a nice feature and give the bag more structure than competing products. My only dislike are the carry handles, I would rather have 2 padded ones as opposed to the two you need to snap together, it's not comfortable unless you take that extra step.
 
 Best bag I've ever owned
By Greg, Waltham, MA, February 17, 2012

I've looked for the perfect laptop bag for years. Typically, I would choose big bags thinking that I needed all the space - and then I would end up carrying more than I really needed. This bag is ideal. Not too big, so I'm forced to think about what to bring, yet big enough to hold everything I actually need and then some. Stylish without being fancy, rugged, well-designed, and versatile. I would only suggest two changes in a future model. One would be to include a pin mount key clip, or to build in a key clip. The other would be to replace one of the webbing dividers on the inside with a solid, less flexible divider; it would make it easier to slip the laptop in and out.
 
 At last...
By Bill Roach, Iowa, January 19, 2012

Finally, a brief case that can hold my laptop and books; close securely, and look good. Rugged look but not unbusinesslike. I am very happy.
 
 Just what I was looking for!
By Nelson, Tampa, FL, January 19, 2012

This bag holds my laptop, a leather portfolio, portable hard drive, charging cord, cables and a couple of files as well. Great padding, and love the fact that it stands up even when it's empty. I was looking for something more substantial than a sleeve that would protect my laptop - this is that bag. This is my 4th Red Oxx bag- Airboss, Sunchaser, Lil Roy and now the Metro. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with anything Red Oxx makes.
 
 Great bag, great company
By Paul L., Orange County, CA, January 4, 2012

Received my 1st Metro and carried it for a couple of weeks. I thought it was the way I was packing it but it tended to lean to one side and tip over at times. Then I realized that it did this even when empty. I contacted customer service, they immediately got back to me and had me ship the bag back. Within a week I had a new bag minus the leaning issue.

Like others have said this bag does hold quite a bit of stuff for its size. More importantly, it makes you think about packing lighter and more efficiently. It doesn't have a mess of flaps and pockets for things to get lost in, or for you to cram extras that you don't need.

Everyday I carry a 13" Macbook Air in a sleeve, an iPad 2, a Red Oxx Lil' Roy (love that little bag) full of cables, adapters and jump drives, and a slimline lunch container. I never have any problem making it all fit easily.

The claw strap is a huge bonus and it really does stay locked onto your shoulder comfortably. the bag carries very well on the shoulder, and it's plenty long enough (I'm 6'4").

My only small gripe is I don't like the carrying handles. I feel that they are just a bit too long and I don't like carrying the bag by hand. The way they snap together can be somewhat cumbersome at times. This is typically a non-issue since I almost always have it slung over my shoulder. I rarely even notice the handles.

I also have an Airboss and tried packing the metro in the center compartment. With some creative packing, it really did work. Very cool if you have to get down to one bag.

Red Oxx rules. I've become a big fan of the products and a bigger fan of their customer service.
 
 Even better than expected
By Josh, Garland, TX, November 4, 2011

The Air Boss I've had for the last couple of years set my expectations for the Metro: rugged, comfortable to carry, and a surprising amount of storage in all the right places. I'm pleased to say that the Metro exceeded those expectations. If anything, the Metro is even more rugged, even more comfortable to carry, and holds considerably more than you might guess by looking at it.

If you're reading these reviews and wondering whether the Metro is worth the money, my answer is an unqualified yes.
 
 Metro Breeze
By Consort, Cleveland, OH, October 25, 2011

Pressed this puppy into service on a business trip just hours after receiving it. Made the journey a breeze keeping all my essentials organized and accessible. Glad I learned about Red Oxx on Youtube !!
 
 Finally: The Right Combination
By Weylan Deaver, Texas, October 13, 2011

I've had a hard-shell briefcase, which you could not carry on your shoulder. And I've tried a messenger-style bag which had a shoulder strap, but which was so floppy as to be formless unless something was in it. I finally tried the Red Oxx Metro Briefcase and found perfection. It is soft-sided, but firm enough to stand up on its own--even empty. And it can be carried either by hand or on shoulder. The khaki and black pattern looks rugged and fits well with the antlers and bearskin rug in my office. I look forward to using this for years to come.
 
 What a great briefcase!
By Janet, WV, September 24, 2011

This is a wonderfully well made briefcase. The workmanship is excellent. High quality fabric and stitching. I have the dark blue. It gives some color without being unprofessional. There is plenty of room for the materials I carry without the bag being too big and heavy. The shoulder strap works great. I put it on my shoulder and it stays there! No sliding off whatsoever. This briefcase will give many years of use. Thanks RedOxx!!
 
 Solid, effective
By Thom, Melbourne, Australia, September 24, 2011

Good size, fits laptop & accessories, papers & books in an organized way. Obviously built to last. Only improvement would be if it opened a little wider to make it a bit easier to access the contents, but it's not too narrow as it is. The stainless hardware is kind of overkill, but I don't mind that.

Only taken it on 2 trips but it suits me perfectly, very happy with it.
 
 Nice bag!
By Jay L Sperl, Prosser, WA, September 9, 2011

I travel 2-3 weeks each month. I never check bags and had used a roller bag for a number of years. I wanted to go lighter, so purchased my Air Boss along with a Metro Briefcase. The Metro is smaller than my previous briefcase, but holds everything I need in an organized fashion. I think I would prefer the two outside pockets were instead one larger pocket. I think the bag would look more professional with a larger single pocket and would provide more packing options. I also wish the center zipper extended down each side further. This would allow my 15" laptop to slide into the bag easier.
 
 Nice Bag
By Clyde Miller, St. Louis, September 8, 2011

This a great bag! My one complaint and why I didn't give it the full 5 points is because I do have some trouble sliding my laptop in and out of the bag if I don't completely open the zippers due to the way the opening is made. This is more a function of my being lazy, but I still find it a little annoying.

People will make jokes about the bag (I have the red one to match my red Air Boss). I had one client that thought it was a defibrillator.

I am an Systems Engineer and I carry my laptop, iPad 2, external hard drive, charging cables for the laptop, iPad, iPhone, as well as a VGA adapter and Targus Travel power strip. So I have a fair amount of stuff.

When I go out of town I can also fit a gps, notebook and magazine in there.

I didn't get the larger bag because I am the kind of person who will pack extra stuff I don't need. So I like that this bag isn't giant.

This bag is perfect for my needs. I use it everyday back and forth to the office, and it is a great companion for my Air Boss when I fly. I have never had to check a bag and always have enough room to get both bags in the overhead compartment if I desire. However, I have been keeping it on the floor with me since I have my iPad in there. It is small enough that it doesn't take up to much of your leg room.

The sides and bottom of the bag are padded and the bag its self has a nice rigid frame so that it protects the contents of the bag.

The inside of the bag has two dividers making three basic compartments. The middle one has little pockets that hold all of my cables. When everything is in there it is a little snug. One of the dividers is not attached to the bottom and gives you a little more space. This is were I put my laptop. The other one is stitched to the bottom and a little smaller and securely holds my iPad, which I really like because it is so thin.

I highly recommend this bag.
 
 Great Laptop Bag
By Brian DeShazer, Indianapolis, IN, June 24, 2011

PERFECT size for my work laptop and the massive amount of additional things that go with it and my job - charger, mouse, hard drives, cables, notebook, pens, etc.

Love the extra pockets on front, where I store my phone, keys, etc when I'm in meetings. The one handed closure is very nice.

Good number of pockets inside, for all the loose items. I also put my cables, etc. into eagle creek quarter cubes to organize the interior a little more.

Whether travelling by plane, car, or just at the office, this bag transports my portable office around very protected, stylish, well organized. I recommend it to everyone that needs to carry their office with them.

Some suggestions. The mesh fabric for the laptop sleeve catches on the corners of the laptop everytime I put it in. I forsee ripping soon in the future. Maybe a solid piece of fabric? Also, the hardware for the strap is way overkill. I'm sure I could tow a car with the rings. Past bags I've used for many years had much thinner rings and hooks and never broke, I'm sure a little weight could be saved on my shoulder by downsizing these by maybe 30%.

I also hate the strap. I've read many praises for your strap, but I personally found it very uncomfortable, actually painful. I replaced with a strap I bought for my previous bag.
 
 Perfect!!
By Judy, Michigan, June 7, 2011

Love this briefcase! I already own a Gator, so knew what great quality it would be. I ordered mine in "Midnight" because I'm a little sick of plain black but still wanted something business-like and it definitely is. I have other cases, but none are padded for a laptop. I had the Metro sitting on my credenza with laptop in it and moved a couple of things around and the Metro took a nosedive to the floor. Laptop didn't even notice! I really like the organization with the two zippered flat pockets outside and all of the mesh pockets inside. The red lining with the blue exterior looks really sharp, too. Once again, Red Oxx comes through with a fantastic product!
 
 Soft sides but stands up
By Anonymous, Arlington, Virginia, June 6, 2011

My second RO--the first a Gator. Got this for times when I need to carry files and it meets the airline requirements of a briefcase. Really like the outside pockets. Agree that a second (bottom) zipper on the back side of the bag so that you could slip it over the handle of your rolling carry-on would be useful. A little big for my frame, but all briefcases are if they can actually carry anything. Purchased the bag recently, so I'm not sure yet about the design of the inside compartments/dividers.
 
 Perfect travel bag!!
By Lowell Billings, Coronado California, June 3, 2011

I bought this travel brief case to compliment my safari backpack. Both traveled across Zimbabwe and Botswana for a month. Great travel gear for the serious hunter/traveler.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications
Metro Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 3.5"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 8.9cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 654 cubic inches
  • Metric Dimensions: 10.7 Liters

Metro Travel Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Metro and CPA?
The CPA Briefcase is two inches wider (thicker) than the Metro.
 
Will the Metro hold a laptop? What size?
The Metro was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17 inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the Metro Briefcase meet personal item/carry on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and under most any airline seat.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Metro is a hair too narrow to fit your C-pap. We recommend using our Gator for your C-pap machine or moving up to the larger CPA Briefcase which will easily hold a C-pap.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.