Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Briefcases & Garment Bags  > metro-briefcase

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I outlast PCs 100 to one.”
Red Oxx Metro Nylon Computer Briefcase - shown in Black. Choose from 12 colors.

Metro Briefcase $155.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Adventure Worthy!
Bring your business along with you.

Carry your laptop, portfolio... you name it.

The Red Oxx Metro Laptop Briefcase, a business briefcase with the heart of a rugged adventurer. This rugged Cordura nylon padded briefcase can take a beating and still look great at your next meeting. Want proof? Read about the Million Mile Metro.

DESIGNED TO PROTECT.
Volara closed cell foam padding on front, bottom, and back, keeps it standing tall while protecting your belongings. Our Metro Briefcase features internal mesh file separators on the front and back sides inside the bag. On one side the separator is sewn down to the bottom to keep your files, brochures or magazines in place, while the other side is left open at the bottom so you can secure your laptop notebook out of the way. The separators have eight pockets total for discs, CDs, a smart phone, and slots for up to five pens, pencils or pointing devices. Each inside mesh flap uses Fastex clips at the top to hold everything in place.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
There are six pockets on the exterior of the bag, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx finger loop snap closures.' These clever looped snaps allow one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the Mil-Spec cap in place--a genius solution to prevent crushing items under the snaps.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a flat slip pocket for papers, boarding passes, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for documents or magazines. Also, there are dual water bottle pockets on each end to keep you hydrated during your journey. Confidently carry the Metro using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

OTHER RED OXX BRIEFCASE OPTIONS?
If all this makes the Metro sound too big, try our Chica Tablet Bag. Too small? Move up to the Metro's big brother, the CPA Briefcase, which is twice as wide.

JUST HOW GOOD IS OUR WARRANTY?
Check out this tale of a Metro Briefcase that traveleda million miles.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Metro Briefcase on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

The Red Oxx Metro Laptop Briefcase, a business briefcase with the heart of a rugged Adventurer.

Dimensions: 17"L x 3.5"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 654 cubic Inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • Five interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 3.5"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.75 Average Rating
 (77 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 PERFECT BRIEFCASE
By AOM, HALIFAX, April 8, 2014

I bought the Metro briefcase with some hesitation, as I tend stuff my briefcases with all sorts of "just in case" items. I thought it might not be big enough (I was wavering between it and the CPA).

Well, I couldn't be happier with it. It's got loads of room, "stuff pockets" enough, flat zippered pockets for papers/folders, and those wonderful spaces behind the outboard pockets--perfect for boarding passes, folded up list sheets, etc., that you want immediate access to.

For those who wear glasses, you'll find (as I did) the end pockets with the elastic at the top perfect for your big sunglasses or regular glasses cases.

I thought it might be a bit rough/outdoorsy for meetings; but I only got admiring comments for its "utility with panache" look.

All in all, for me, the perfect briefcase.
 
 Not just a briefcase
By Jim Hatch, United States, April 3, 2014

Great bag - built like my Air Boss and Skytrain. Seems just as bulletproof as those bags which I've been using for several years. I got the briefcase to operate as my 2nd carry on (personal item). Rather than squeeze things into the bigger bag I'm carrying I'd rather have a smaller one I can use without needing to worry about it being pulled to gate check it at the airport. I have a tablet PC so I don't need it for holding a big machine but it's great for all the extra stuff - power charger, earphones/headphones, pocket projector, cables, remote presentation clicker/pointer and other miscellaneous electronics.

That still leaves plenty of room for a complete salty, sweet, healthy snack set for munching on the road - no more paying 3 or 4 times the supermarket price for snacks I would like on a trip, I just bring them with me. If I lighten the snack load, I can get a change of clothes and my personal hygiene gear into it along with my PC using a combination of Eagle Creek quarter cube and a clothing Folder (the medium or 15" size). That turns it into an overnight bag with enough style to be business meeting appropriate. Perfect size and same great Red Oxx quality.
 
 Excellent!
By Steve, Upstate NY, February 20, 2014

I have been looking for the perfect on the road business briefcase for a long time. What an amazing bag... turns out this is what I was looking for all along but didn't know it. I thought the 3.5" depth would limit the Metro's usefulness, but I couldn't have been more wrong.

I use the Metro as a personal item on business trips to hold everything except clothing. In my Metro I have an 11" MacBook Air, laptop charger, ethernet cable, iPhone charger, Amazon Kindle Paperwhite, AC power adapters, travel size CPAP (Transcend 2) along with hose and mask, medications and grooming kit, first aid kit, small office supply kit, spare eyeglasses, a few folders of paperwork and 4 Kind bars for somewhat healthy food in event of a delay while in transit. In the Metro there is plenty of room for more papers, a book or some other items including a bottle of water. The Metro is also padded which provides some impact protection for its contents. The Metro will also easily hold a 15" Eagle Creek folder for overflow clothing (not in mine which is pretty packed).

The build quality is amazing, even by Red Oxx's usual very high standards. If you are on the fence, do yourself a favor and check out the Metro... it might be the bag you've been always looking for.
 
 Top Shelf
By Steve, Maryland, February 20, 2014

This bag was a present and it has been in use every day. Every detail of the bag shows the quality and workmanship that is a Hallmark of RED OXX. The pockets are just the right size for all of the daily items that make the briefcase a portable office. Well Done to the folks in Montana!
 
 As good as I expected
By mspeed, Guelph, Ontario, Canada, February 4, 2014

I ordered the Metro Briefcase with confidence as I already have the Air Boss and consider it one of my smartest purchases. The Metro Briefcase is very handsome in “coal” and black (to match my Air Boss, of course) and just reeks of high quality workmanship. I especially like the colour coordinated logos. The bag is very well thought out, and the finger loop snap closures are a touch of genius. They stop you from putting pressure on the contents, as often happens with snap closure pockets. Some have mentioned lack of padding, but I feel it is sufficient for everyday use. If I am looking at an international flight where rougher handling is a possibility, then I add a padded sleeve. I would rather do this than have a bag overly padded for most occasions.

 
 Bag it
By JB, Jacksonville fla, January 30, 2014

What can I say to add to what others have said. This is the best briefcase bag I have ever carried, period. I should enjoy this bag for years to come, thanks.
 
 Wow! Glad I switched to this bag
By David, Missoula, MT, January 10, 2014

I am super hard on bags and I have torn apart leather and fabric bags in months. So I was hesitant to buy the bag but wow I am glad I did. The reviews I read said it was not well padded and was too heavy. I have to disagree, I have never found it to be too heavy unless I put too much stuff in it. The strap does not slip down when walking home from the office. However the padding is great in it as my computer was protected when I was a pedestrian and hit by a SUV and launched about 15 feet. No damage to the computer at all and only a small 1 cm tear in the bag which they fixed! I am positive my other bags would have destroyed the computer and would have had more damage. I am a true convert now!
 
 Unbeatable
By Mike, Chicago, October 14, 2013

This briefcase is exactly what I was looking for: rugged, durable, tougher than your straightforward black nylon office bag that every guy carries. For the price and probably for 3-4x the price, you will not find better workmanship or more durable materials. This isn't gonna be the most suave, fashionable bag around, nor is it "tactical." It's somewhere in the middle and in my mind perfect. If there's one or two small things I'd improve upon, I guess you could ding the bag for no internal key lanyard, though there is one for sale on the website, and no dedicated padded sleeve for laptop/ipad, but I preferred to add my own anyway.
 
 Great Bag
By Jim, Toronto, September 26, 2013

The bag is great quality, and it fits everything I need and use on a regular basis in a compact and usable style. It looks great, and is easy to carry. Perfect for me.
 
 Functional, durable case.
By Anonymous, , September 12, 2013

 
 Super Bag
By Pete K, Central PA, April 20, 2013

Bought a Metro Briefcase as a new computer bag for work. This was a perfect choice. Roomy carrying all work stuff and fits great under plane seats. Very well made!
 
 Best Bag!
By SH, CA, April 11, 2013

This is the best bag I have ever owned...bar none! Awesome layout, super quality, and looks like it will last for many, many years. Bought it for a gear bag for work, and it works like a charm. Great job Red Oxx!
 
 just right size; still, hacking needed
By Anonymous, Wasatch Front, March 28, 2013

Finding the right briefcase is surprisingly hard. I need something big enough to hold all the daily stuff, and all the "absolutely can't check it" stuff on airplanes...yet small enough to fit under any airline seat, even little planes, and not cause hassles on the subway. I've spent way too much money over the years trying to find that perfect one.

Thanks to extensive reviews by others, I found the Metro, which after a month of hard use is feeling just right. Neither looks nor is bulky, yet still holds my Macbook Pro 17" and just enough other stuff. The outside pocket scheme works well (enough organization, yet not so many pockets that I can't remember what is where, and also not so many pockets that it looks cluttered. I also love that it mainly will sit upright by itself. VERY practical. And it mainly looks great, less hipster and zipper-y than Bihn, more solid and practical than most stylish bags, and you can tell it's not a generic black bag.

That said, there are improvements needed--some noted more than once in previous reviews. Hacking helps.

1. to my taste, there is way too much shiny, heavy-looking hardware on the bag, especially around the strap. (Part of the appeal of this bag is that it is rugged, and can go from a suit-and-tie setting to much more outdoorsy trips. All that chromed metal just said "rugged" a little too loudly for my world.) My solution was to cut off the chrome rings from the bag AND the strap. (bolt cutters) Replaced them with one black carabiner at each end of the bag. Careful selection of carabiner and some work required to slip it into those nice strong webbing loops. Big visual improvement, bag looks better, is literally quieter, and if anything I'm happier with the way it hangs on my shoulder now. BTW, they're not kidding, this shoulder strap is the best. I prefer it to the fanciest Bihn strap, and to the Domke post-office-pad, and to the zillions of other should straps I've had on luggage of all kinds.

2. As others have said, the 2-handle, snap&wrap thing is a little clunky. You can't get into the bag easily with the handles wrapped, and snap/unsnap is a little slow. So far I find myself just leaving the handles loose. I may just cut/seam-rip off the wrapping flap, which would get me the bonus of losing two more of those shiny chrome snaps. I mainly use the handles for about 30 seconds at a time to pick the thing up, then carry with strap. So no complaint, but I bet Red Oxx could come up with a better solution. (I seem to remember that Tom Bihn has some web handles with just a bit of foam or something inside that are more useful for long carries but I think would work OK w/o wrapping.)

3. For my use, the internal dividers tend to catch on things a bit--the corner of my laptop snags sometimes on the pockets or the webbing construction. Not a big deal, but I may end up putting some thin foam or bubble pack in there to protect the computer and make sliding easier.

I've concentrated on possible improvements, but I want to be clear: this bag is proving more practical and flexible than anything I've ever tried. If you're looking at it, you probably agree with me that the stuff you carry your work tools around in is a pretty personal thing. So the hacking and tweaks are not a sign of failure.

I'm planning to buy an Air Boss next, that ability to slip the Metro inside is tempting. And I'm about to ebay some nice briefcases that just don't work as well as this one.

Love what Red Oxx has done, hope they will continue to evolve this.

 
 Simply the Best
By Anonymous, Venice, CA, February 14, 2013

I own some VERY expensive briefcases from well-known companies. Red Oxx beats them all, hands down. I wish the other companies had spent more time thinking about design and function and less about branding and image. Then they could compete with Red Oxx. Simply the best.
 
 terrific briefcase
By Lee, Nova Scotia, February 14, 2013

This is my second Red Oxx bag. It's no mystery why people own two or more Red Oxx bags. They're well made, tough as nails and look good. A far superior bag to anything I could find in local stores or online somewhere like REI.
 
 The previous reviews are all correct
By Dean, , September 13, 2012

There isn't much that I can say about the Metro that hasn't already been said; it is, without exaggeration, an ideal briefcase.

It is roomy without wasting space or being bulky. The internal compartmentalization is highly functional without being fussy or overloaded with zippers, Velcro and things that just get in the way.

The only change I could suggest for the Metro would be to change the clips that hold the internal pockets closed to a lighter colour (yellow would be my choice) to make it easier to see them in low light. This is such a minor nitpick that I hesitated to even mention it here.

If you want a well-thought out, superbly constructed briefcase bag, buy this one. Trust the previous reviewers, you will not be disappointed.

 
 Another Great Bag
By Maggie J, PA, September 5, 2012

This is my 3rd Red Oxx bag. Love it, same as the others. I am now looking at getting one of the larger Carry On Bags, perhaps the Air Boss or Sun Chaser.

I am sure either one would be just as excellent as the bags I currently have!
 
 Good case
By RKC, Tucson, August 16, 2012

It is a good case I just wish it had more padding for my laptop.
 
 Exactly what I need
By Eric Adams, Austin, TX, August 2, 2012

As a software engineer, I bought this bag to haul a 17 inch laptop around. It goes with me to work, coffee shops, and the occasional flight. For my purposes, I believe it's better to own a well constructed nylon bag than a low-end, poorly constructed leather bag at the same price point.

The good: This is a very rugged bag with amazing attention to detail. Not only are top notch materials used in the construction, the expert pattern cutting and sewing really makes for a great finished product. As an added bonus, I like that this bag is unassuming - I think a good thief would nab someones Italian leather bag before going after mine, which makes me feel a little better at airports and coffee shops. The red lining is an unexpectedly useful feature. I never lose anything in this bag.

The bad: Because of the zipper-top construction, it was necessary for the engineers at Red Oxx to put a handle that needs to be snapped to be carried properly. Also, with regards to color, I would have preferred black but didn't want such a high-contrast logo. In the "midnight" color, with a much more subtle logo, the bag is still conservative enough for the workplace.

Summary: Because I read the product description and plenty of reviews, I knew what I was getting into with this bag, and I'm happy I bought it. If I end up travelling for work or go on site with clients regularly, I'll probably end up looking for a second, more conservative "show bag." I'll still keep this is my primary. I also like the warm fuzzy feeling of buying products produced in my home country with fair wages and good working conditions.
 
 Perfect!
By Pete C., NYC, July 26, 2012

I purchased the metro briefcase after a very satisfied purchase of the Sky Train which I used on a 3 week Europe Trip.

I am in sales in NYC and move around alot, in and out of taxis and subways and the Metro Briefcase is easily perfect! It is lightweight, the compartments are well thought out for easy access and the bag itself like all Red Oxx products is extremely durable and reliable.

I purchase all black so its looks more professional, I also ordered a Red Oxx garment bag and extra small Aviator bag. No matter what my day brings in the city I am prepared, with the three pieces I can bring workout clothes, or enough for a quick over night business trip.

Every product Red Oxx makes is 5 stars!
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications
Metro Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 3.5"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 8.9cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 654 cubic inches
  • Metric Dimensions: 10.7 Liters

Metro Travel Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Metro and CPA?
The CPA Briefcase is two inches wider (thicker) than the Metro.
 
Will the Metro hold a laptop? What size?
The Metro was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17 inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the Metro Briefcase meet personal item/carry on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and under most any airline seat.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Metro is a hair too narrow to fit your C-pap. We recommend using our Gator for your C-pap machine or moving up to the larger CPA Briefcase which will easily hold a C-pap.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.