Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Backpacks Daypacks  > sky-train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (234 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 Next > 
 Great quality and versatility
By Francois, Pretoria, South Africa, October 12, 2010

The bag arrived at my doorstep today, pity that I was charged a whopping $170 customs duties by the South African Post Office on my side. I love the feel of the back- and shoulder straps, it screams delux quality. My dad challenged me by saying that the bag will not hold 2-weeks worth of clothing. So I filled the bag, just to prove its capacity, and just for starters it fitted 4 denims, 4 t-shirts, 1 long-sleeve shirt, 1 jacket, 1 blazer, 5 pairs of socks, underwear, a tri-fold shave kit, a 3-1-1 compliant liquid kit, and extra daypack, an umbrella, an emergency blanket, a towel and the bag still is hungry for more. I measured the dimensions of the stuffed bag, and it looks like it might just slide into the carry-on validation tray. It carries great on both my back and shoulder, it sits just right. Note that the bag does come with one of those cable-lock screw-on thingies sold by RedOxx. All-in-all a great investment.
 
 Absolutely fantastic
By Dan Hulton, Ottawa, Ontario, September 9, 2010

I packed my entire collection for PAX in this baby, and when it came time to pack it all back in AND the swag I picked up, it all fit with room to spare. Originally, I figured it wouldn't even fit my original list of stuff.

This is an excellent, excellent bag.
 
 Sky Train
By Anonymous, Brooklyn, NY, August 30, 2010

Purchased Air Boss for myself and the Sky Train for my wife (who liked the backpack style) and I can't really tell you that one is better than the other. Both are easy to pack, hold plenty for a long weekend trip, and even when fully packed are balanced enough to carry easily. My wife was worried about fitting shoes into the Sky Train but worked fine.
 
 Built tough just like you said
By Anonymous, Virginia, August 13, 2010

This bag is as well constructed as promised. Bought this for my travels to Europe and Africa along with general travel in the US. Quality built in at all the righ locations. I downsized from a large rolling duffel and questioned if all I needed could fit. I just took a short trip and found that it works well. Once I learn how to pack more efficiently this bag is perfect. Thanks again.
 
 very happy
By Taig, london, August 10, 2010

Received my bag very speedily to the UK. It has more than lived up to my expectation. Extremely well made.I was after strength and practicality so was not bothered about the look of it. But surprisingly it looks great too! ( coal colour)

Will be ordering another very shortly.

PS I did not get charged any customs duty:) Unlike some other countries in Europe from reading past reviews.
 
 It fits much more than I ever imagined...
By Matt, Vancouver, Canada, August 4, 2010

When I first opened the box, I thought "This is it? There's no way I can fit anything in this".

Several people who saw the AirTran challenged me to pack for a week, with the implication that it simply wouldn't be possible.

To my own delight, with the bundle wrapping technique I was able to go for a 7-night trip to Costa Rica, as well as a 5-night trip in Montreal without any problems. It's simply AMAZING how many pairs of pants, shirts, and sweaters one can stuff into the bag. Each time I also took along at least two pair of shoes, a toiletry kit, book, magazine and iPad.

The downside is that I've been used to a roller suitcase. When full, this bag gets heavy. Walking with it for anything more than 15 or 20 minutes gets tiring very quick, but it's generally not a problem when going from home -> airport -> taxi at destination -> hotel.
 
 Excellent
By Peter Austin, Devon, UK., July 29, 2010

Will be used in a few weeks for a two month trip around Australia. There will be a lot of planes, buses and trains to catch. I am very confident the Sky Train will perform well.

China Airways has a carry on weight limit of 7 kilos so I am working to that limit using my bathroom scales. I have found that every gramme counts, including the shoulder strap which I think weighs 200 grammes. If weight becomes an issue, I will put strap in my pocket.

Suggestions: Instead of the dangly name tag, it would be good to have a small window sewn to the bag.

Also, it would make a little more contiguous space if the internal zippered bag was sewn to the short side of the case rather than the long side.
 
 Absolutely the best!
By José Kirchner, NorCal, July 23, 2010

So, my SkyTrain arrived, I packed it and headed to Godzone (("God's own country" - AKA Australia). My roundabout route (to save money) meant regional jets, narrowbodies, a 747 in First (maybe my Red Oxx helped me get the seat courtesy op up?), an Airbus A380 in Business, more regional jets - total 7 flights, 5 airports, two cities overnighted, sprinkled liberally with some buses and taxis, packed with everything needed for a week's travel from hot summer US to cool winter and subtropics, plus one small "personal item".

The Sky Train fit even in the regional jets' (Embraer RJ145 and Bombardier CRJ700) skinny overhead compartment! The rubberized strap never slipped and was comfy on the shoulder, and easily removable for the day I may have to valet check the bag. The covered multiple handles allowed easy handling and positioning in aircraft overheads.

The pack straps were invaluable for the Sydney domestic - international terminals (across the airport from each other!) and city treks, as well as LAX Customs to departure domestic terminal.

Carrying the Sky Train allowed me to save amazing time - neither LAX nor SYD required waiting for baggage delivery and being pushed into lengthy Customs queues due to the wait, nor other queues to recheck baggage onward. 30 - 60 minutes saved!

Big pluses: "Clamshell" opening to extract jacket or jumper / sweater for climate changes; comfort and flexibility; durable materials and snap links; not hading a hard-sided case for baggage sizers. Qantas agents overlooking the "small carry-on" - though they only permit 7 kg / 15 lbs, my bag weighed 9.8 kg / 22 lbs, they never made a move to get me to check it in and it fit the sizers.

Negatives: Absolutely none I can figure - and I previously have flown with a rollaboard and have, let's say well over a half century, of worldwide travel. Great job, Red Oxx!

 
 Very good bag
By Anonymous, Germany, July 22, 2010

Very well designed, strong bag. It can take a lot of stuff although not very big .



I also own a MEI and Patagonia bag of the same size category but I think I will now use the Red Oxx as my regular travel bag.

Only "problem" for European buyers is the import tax which was around EUR 100! (outrageous!) in my case and you just cannot argue with the customs guys! Other than that I am happy with the buy.
 
 Fantastic
By Anonymous, Los Angeles, CA, July 22, 2010

The bag is fantastic. You can immediately tell how well designed it is and how good the material is. It feels very sturdy, and I feel like this bag can handle a lot of milage. I'm about to go on a three week eurotrip and this bag is enough for all my clothing. True, I am packing relatively light, but 3 weeks is a long time, and this bag fits all the necessities. Awesome bag. Great buy!
 
 Amazing....
By Jim, Portland, OR, July 8, 2010

I'm amazed. The first use was a 4-day trip for my wife. EVERYTHING she needed fit into this bag. I still can't believe it...neither can she. Next up? Two weeks in France.
 
 my son stole my bag
By Dotty, Cincinnati, Ohio, June 30, 2010

I was immediately impressed with how well-constructed this bag is. I was looking forward to taking it on my 2-week trip to Europe when my son claimed DIBS on it for the same trip. I'm hoping to get it back from him some day...
 
 Great bag
By Patricia , Indiana, June 12, 2010

I have found this to be the perfect sized bag. I usually take a long weekend a couple times a year to visit my sister in another city (by car). The main compartment tie-down keep everything in place. I have not tried to fly with this yet. I liked my first one so well, I just bought one for my husband.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, Dallas, TX, June 10, 2010

Bag is extremely well constructed and utilitarian. The backpack strap option is easy to utilize and I found the straps quite comfortable. The only room for improvement I would suggest: Compression straps on the outside of the bag. On recent travel, even though my bag was not overpacked (weighing only 11 lbs packed), I couldn't keep the contents of the secondary pocket from settling at the bottom of the bag. The clothing compartment has compression straps and kept the clothes in place and therefore evenly spaced in the compartment. In my secondary pocket, I had light, but somewhat bulky items, which made the bag fairly wide at the bottom, where the items settled. As a small female, I think this made me a target at the airport. The bag looks oversized on me, even though it is not. At the gate, I had to slide the bag into one of the baggage size boxes, and it didn't fit because it was too wide. The dimensions were well below the 45" overall, but apparently the bag still has to fit in the sizing bin, which means a maximum of 9" wide. Airline personnel would not let me maneuver the bag around to get it to fit (I understand this is a new trend--no pushing the bag down). I remedied the situation by pulling out a collapsible sack I was carrying in the outside pocket and off-loaded some items into the sack (I wasn't carrying a purse, so the collapsible sack became my "personal item"). While I avoided having to check the bag, this was somewhat stressful and counter to the ease I want in carrying one bag. BTW, my bag easily fit underneath the seat in front of me, and my travel companion was not asked to place his carry-on in the sizing bin and his bag was much larger than mine. So, I think this issue is probably particular to smaller people, but it would be nice to have a method for keeping items in the secondary pocket evenly distributed so the width is not bulked up.
 
 Great bag!
By Naomi, Redondo Beach, CA, May 30, 2010

I have several Red Oxx bags, including the Air Boss and the Sky Train. I travel quite a bit for my work as an attorney, and I must be presentable. I typically pack suits and business casual clothing for a week. I find I can hold more in the Air Boss, but the Sky Train is good when I plan on walking any distance with my luggage. I recently took at trip in a CRJ 700 on United, and I had no problem fitting my Sky Train in the overhead. It would have also fit under the seat in front of me, but I was sitting in the front row where there was no underseat storage. As many others have said, the Sky Train holds an incredible amount of stuff, and I have no concerns about damage to the ST or its contents. The colors are fantastic, and the customer service is the best! Thank you, Red Oxx!
 
 Great Bag!
By Gudrun, Vienna, Austria, May 27, 2010

First compliment: I received the bag 6 days after I had ordered it - great service!

Second: It really holds a lot of stuff - used it for an overnight train trip to Budapest with a friend (and her trolley) and I was happy about the backpack straps - there are a lot of stairs and very few escalators in Budapest! Last week I had to go to Hamburg by plane: the skytrain was the perfect companion as a hand luggage bag and sturdy enough to survive the rough treatment of the baggage handlers of the airport on the flight back. I didn`t even fill both compartments - the big one was sufficient (I used a packing cube and made "garment rolls"). I took: 2 pair of jeans, shoes, 6 polo shirts, underwear, toiletries, a book, an ipod + cables, a huge folder with 200 pages educational stuff..everything fit in the bag nicely and was easy to carry.

The only drawback: the crazy sum of taxes I had to pay - over 80 Euros :-( . I keep thinking about buying another bag but as long as there is no European subsiduary this will have to wait until I or a friend make a trip to Montana and buy it there directly. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------Red Oxx Replies: We're working with a company to reduce costs in International Shipping. We'll announce this on FaceBook when it's implemented. You'll be saving a ton o' moola! ~ Minister of Information for D.O.R.A.
 
 Best Bag Ever!
By GaylM, Canada, May 20, 2010

I bought this bag last year and it has never joined my other bags in the basement because it's too busy being reused time and again.

I even managed to make it my only my only bag for up to 4 weeks of travelling this spring. Unfortunately, I still have to usually take a computer bag for my other 'stuff'. But on my latest trip of 4 days I even managed to fit the 15" laptop & my 'Lil Roy bag packed with gadgets into it, such that I could easily take them out for security. Loved it!

Granted, using this bag can take some discipline in learning how to pack lightly but it's fun discovering new ways of travelling with less (who knew I'd learn to love travel underwear so much?). And it can help keep your souvenir budget in check because there's not a lot of extra room to pack it (still not sure if that's a pro or con for this bag - *grin*).

Last but not least, there's the 'bag envy' I get from people when they find out this is all I am taking on my trip...just how much I have fit in the bag...how long I'm going for...what a great color it is (olive)...quality material, zippers & metal bits...and the way people eye my bag - I know they wish they had one.
 
 No more checking bags!
By Sandy, Pennsylvania, April 29, 2010

Recently bought an Air Train and used on a 4-day trip. I am a 54 year old woman who was concerned about giving up my wheeled luggage when connecting flights necessitated crossing large airports. The design of the air train allowed me to carry the Air Train on one shoulder and the Gator on the other, while freeing my hands for my coffee, open doors or carry a book. Even packed full, it fit in the Southwest luggage sizing frame. I did use the backpack feature when walking from the gate all the way to the car since I had heavy binders and packed it unusually full after a conference. I am surprisingly happy with the abillity to fit everything in, the excellent design and quality of the bag. I did not miss my wheels as I thought I might and thrilled to be able to take what I want yet not check luggage. I dont recommend for anyone with shoulder or elbow issues. Otherwise it is a great purchase and very versitile. The Bordeaux is a great and classy color.
 
 Excellent quality
By Cindy O., Brookings, SD, March 26, 2010

I got the bag shortly before my trip to Italy and I packed too much into it starting out. Even with it stuffed full, it fit into the overhead compartment and was easy to handle on buses and trains. I checked it flying back and the bag held up well. I like that the bag opens fully for packing and unpacking and also that when you set it upright, you can just zip open the top and stuff more things into it. One drawback is that it could be lighter if it had plastic instead of metal for the clips and rings. I realize it's made that way for durability, but my husband has a bag he's used for years with plastic and that has held up remarkably well. Unfortunately, that bag isn't made anymore. I also left the shoulder strap at home in order to lighten the bag. For future trips, I'm going to resist the temptation to take so many clothes -- just because the bag will hold more, doesn't mean I need more!
 
 Superb quality bag
By Sally M, Racine, Wisconsin, March 23, 2010

Combining Sky Train and Gator bag reviews in both places:

I purchased the Sky Train and Gator Bag after months of reading reviews on this website. I've just returned from a 10-day guided tour of Italy where I put them to the test. I took only these two bags. It's astounding how much (too much) that I could stuff into the Sky Train. Not an atom of space left for purchases. I would advise against packing them this full. They are superb quality bags that got bashed around a lot. I had planned to carry it all on my back, but at the last minute checked the Sky Train. If I were younger, I probably could have managed it, but as a 69-year-old , 5'2", 120 pound gal, it was too much weight for me to use the backpack straps. The type of tour we were on was one of those whirlwind, different-hotel-every-night, bags unpacked and repacked every night which became tedious. Here's what I packed: 3 pairs of jeans, a sweatshirt hoodie, rain slicker jacket, hat, 1 blouse, 2 cardigans, 1 turtleneck sweater, two knit tops, seven T-shirts, 1 vest, 6 jockey camisoles, 1 bra, 10 pairs of panties, 5 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of shoes, 1 pair of flip flops, 2 inflatable hangers, extra plastic bags, envelopes and assorted flat things in the outer long pocket. I bundle-packed, using Magellan's 3 packing cubes as the core, which worked wonderfully for t-shirts and underwear. Everything else (cosmetics. Medications, paperwork, passport, camera, lumbar support cushion, umbrella, 2 pairs of glasses, 1 pair sunglasses, candy, phrasebook, scarves, iTouch, shower cap, Kleenex, expandable shopping bags, soap for clothes washing, and more) all went into the gator. The gator is a handsome bag, but I found it difficult to get into and look for items-possibly due to its stiffness. It's amazing how much you can put into it. The outside zipper pocket is very tight and not easily accessed. The two outside flap pockets are excellent and useful. In the future, I'll take these bags on shorter trips with fewer items, which will render them easier to use. All in all, the quality of these two bags is definitely as advertised. I love the zippers! They still look brand new.
 
... 9 10 11 12 Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.