Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Backpacks Daypacks  > sky-train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (219 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 The best carry-on bag ever!!
By EricL, , September 18, 2012

Purchased this bag for a trip to London, then Spain. Managed to fit a 6-day change of clothes plus accessories into it.. was definitely full and didn't want to close, but the bulky load was no match for the heavy-duty zippers.

On larger planes, this bag fit easily into the overhead bin and on smaller planes, it was compact enough to fit under the seat in front of me.

During a security check in London, a security officer that examined the contents was very impressed with the bag and wrote down the website address.

Overall, I feel I made and excellent choice in purchasing this bag and will enjoy it when travelling in the future!!
 
 No more rolls boards!
By Anonymous, Connecticut, September 13, 2012

Being a firm believer in never checking luggage, I needed to retire my 18 year old top brand roll aboard. Research indicated Red Oxx might be a good alternative, but it was tough to give up the training wheels. After my first coast to coast trip with Red Oxx Convertible Backpack I will never have wheels again!

This is without a doubt the best suitcase I've ever tried out! It fit everything I needed and had plenty of room for lots more. I could not have managed without the backpack straps, it was too bulky for my small frame. The backpack was perfect! The space and ruggedness just what I was looking for. now I'm telling everyone about Red Oxx!
 
 Awesome! Simply Awesome!
By Joe, Upstate NY, September 12, 2012

The Sky Train is great. I have had the bag (and some other Red Oxx accessories, too) for a few years now. They're all great, tough performers.

A few months ago, I was traveling alone and waiting for a taxi in a line outside of the Atlanta airport. I heard someone behind me ask, "How do you like the Red Oxx?" He had seen the logo on my carry-on and wanted to know what I thought, as he said that he was saving up to buy one. Of course, I gave it my glowing review: Great bag and great company.
 
 Great bag/Great Service
By Peter G, Melbourne, Australia, August 23, 2012

The bag is my absolute favourite, whether for aircraft carry-on or for local holidays and overnight trips. Easy to pack and easy to find clothes and gear without unpacking everything.

Last, but definitely not least, I have found Red Oxx customer service to be simply outstanding, a rare commodity in today's speedy world.
 
 Great but a little too big
By Darren J McMillan, Australia, August 22, 2012

The bag is very well constructed and looks like it will last a long time.

My only problem is that if very easily expands in the depth dimension. It easily becomes thicker than the 9 inches quoted. If you put a lot of stuff in it (easy to do) then I can imagine some airlines will have an issue with this.
 
 The only bag
By Linda Schack, Manhattan Beach, CA, August 9, 2012

I have had my Sky Train for about 3 years. It is the only bag I need for travel anywhere, including a week and a half in Europe. It is intelligently and beautifully designed. I love the backpack straps which make it easy to carry. As a woman I was concerned that it might be too heavy, but it is not; I've carried it ridiculously long distances in large airports to connecting flights. Highly recommended!
 
 Bag Full of Awesome
By Randall, Omaha, Nebraska, August 9, 2012

I haven't been on a trip involving air travel in quite some time. For all the obvious reasons, I don't care for it. I've been going out of my way for quite some time to purchase quality products made right here in the USA by folks making a living wage .

So when I finally had enough coin to buy Red Oxx, I did, and nine days later, I am extremely glad I did. My clothes and personal items have never stayed so organized, and using Doug's bundle system, everything stayed fairly wrinkle free after more than a week of being packed(I didn't have the luxury of hangers and drawers on this trip).

I overpacked: 4 shirts, 2 pants, 1 belt, 3 shorts, 1 sleep short, 1 bathing suit, 2 pairs of shoes (and I bought 2 more on the trip!), toiletries, 3 socks/underwear, 1 golf jacket, 1 magazine, and 1 book.

Getting through airport security was a snap with the outer pocket being perfectly accessible, and the different handle/strap options were all utilized at different parts of the trip. And last but not least, the bag still fit under the seat in front of me while everyone else had to "valet check" their bulky "carry ons".

This bag may be the one that will serve me to the end of my days. Well done, Red Oxx.
 
 To Germany and back...
By Bill, Texas, August 1, 2012

I just got back from 2 weeks in Germany and absolutely loved my SkyTrain. I've had a BeanosPR5 for 5 years but my wife nabbed that for an earlier departure so I ordered a Skytrain to try the different configuration for my carry-on needs. I was able to fit a week's worth of clothes with room to spare for other travel needs. This is no easy feat as I am bigger than the average bear. The front and back compartments were just the right configuration and felt like it fit my needs even better than my beloved PR5.

The cinch straps in the back compartment seemed help swallow large cloths into a tidy bundle. They day I received my shipment an office-mate saw my SkyTrain and promptly ordered one for her husband as he has thrashed every business travel bag he's ever gotten.

2 thumbs way up, Red Oxx!
 
 cross country and back
By Susan W, New York state, July 30, 2012

After reading the recommendation on onebag.com I bought this bag for my recent trip to Portland, OR. It consisted of three legs each way on USAir. Not wanting to give the airline that many opportunities to lose my luggage, I needed a good carry-on. I already have a wheeled bag I love, but have found it increasingly cumbersome for navigating airplane aisles and overhead bins. Not to mention the many spots where the bag has to be lifted for escalators, boarding buses, etc. I was ready to lighten my load.

Onebag describes the Skytrain as a good compromise between a business bag and a leisure bag, which I've found to be true. I don't want one wide open space for everything, nor do I need a large number of compartments which decreases actual packing space and increases weight. The Sky Train hits the sweet spot. I made an effort to pack lightly, and indeed the bag wasn't even full on the trip out. I was able to manage carrying it backpack style on the outbound trip, with two lengthy layovers. I am 60, short, and not particularly strong, so I thought I was doing pretty well!

Coming home though, I had accumulated a number of weighty purchases. I could fit them all in the bag- just barely- but the bag was so heavy I decided to check it. Sure enough, it had several scrapes and black marks. I was able to clean it pretty well in the shower! I got the saffron color, which is easy to spot. My only complaint is the weight. I agree with anonymous in Seoul, who said it's "overbuilt" with heavy hardware and beefy zippers in places they're not really needed. Also, I think a waist belt would be helpful. I look forward to using this bag on many more trips!
 
 Like it? I just bought a C Ruck for my daughter
By Hal Bruner, California, July 15, 2012

Lifetime guarantee, made in USA and available in a bunch of colors besides black. For my trip to Georgia, I packed 3 pairs of Levi 501's, 6 silk Hawaiian shirts, 6 sets of socks and underwear, camera, laptop, 4 DVD's, assorted cables and power supplies, and a pair of flipflops. When I got to Georgia, it was to hot and humid for anything but the Hawaiian shirts and flipflops, so I bought 6 pairs of shorts and some souvenirs. The Sky Train carried all of it easier than I did. And it easily fit in the overhead. My daughter liked it some much, it's her birthday present.
 
 Two words: worth it
By BT, Boston, July 12, 2012

I was inititally hesitant to spend >$250 on a travel bag, but my fears were unjustified. The bag is extremely well made, it is light, and I had no trouble fitting it into small overhead bin spaces. The warranty sealed the deal for me. But I agree with the other comments about how having such a bag forces you to bring less. But I am happier with a lighter load, and am 100% satisfied with this purchase.
 
 Incredible Quality
By Mike, Texas, June 30, 2012

Wow, as a gear bag junkie, I have owned and used virtually every type of backpack, travel bag, brief case out there. The quality of the Sky Train is second to none. Buying from an American manufacturer matters and this bag does not disappoint.

As for utilization, I have used it for a 10 day trip to Europe (my only bag) and it fit everything I needed. I also used for a short haul trip in an Embraer (small American Eagle aircraft - with VERY small overhead bins). I used the Sky Train for my only bag for this one (1) week trip and, WITH my computer backpack stowed inside the Sky Train, I was able to carry all of my belongings AND stow it in the overhead bin of that little plane. Wow.

The back pack straps make carrying easy and they stow away easily too. Having 2 main compartments allow for easy locking since you can gather all the zippers in one place. Note: I use the Eagle Creek double cube full size cube for my clothes and 2 of them fit - barely - side by side in the bottom compartment while fully stuffed.

My Travelpro rollaboard is officially retired now that I have this Red Oxx. Can't recommend this bag enough. Bravo to Red Oxx for representing American manufacturing so well!
 
 Extremely Well Built!
By Matt, Tennessee, June 21, 2012

I purchased this bag on a recommendation for a trip to Europe. Just feeling the bag - I know it will last me for my lifetime as it is so well built!
 
 Super Quality!
By Nicklas Bjorklund, Malmo,Sweden, June 8, 2012

I´m extremely impressed with the materials and the workmanship in the Sky Train. Only had time to try it out on one trip so far but there will be many more to come, trust me.

Only negative thing is that there is no european retailer, so the shipping and import cost added quite a bit to its price.
 
 Oh, what a bag!
By Wendy, Carlsbad, CA, March 31, 2012

I'm on my second trip in one week with my navy Red Oxx Sky Train, and it has delightfully lived up to my every expectation. It's lightweight, holds all my junk, and is easy to carry. On my first trip a few days ago, I left the backpack straps inside and just slung it over my shoulder in order to get accustomed to the size and weight of the bag. On my second trip, I pulled out the backpack straps and love the bag even more than I did after trip #1. I'm a firm believer in quality over quantity, and with the Red Oxx bags you get an amazing product that is still proudly made in the USA. Thank you, Red Oxx, and God bless America!
 
 Favorite Carry-on Bag
By JB, Colorado, March 29, 2012

I heard about this bag years ago but couldn't justify the cost. I went through several other cheaper bags that I wasn't happy with and would have saved myself money if I'd bought this in the first place.

I couldn't decide between this and the Air Boss and I'm glad I went with this. The backpack straps distribute the weight comfortably instead of contorting your back carrying it all on one shoulder. The padded straps are surprisingly comfortable even if you pack a lot.

Very well made. It'a actually more aesthetically pleasing than it looks online.
 
 Really Good
By Andrew, Las Vegas, March 22, 2012

I really wanted to love this bag. It has the typical awesome Red Oxx construction, and I expect it to last many years. Unfortunately I'm not sure how many of those years it will actually get used. My main issue is with the 20x9x13 size, if it were 21x8x13 like the Air Boss it would be perfect, but that extra inch in width makes all the difference. I know that sounds silly, but I've never overstuffed my Air Boss to the point where I could barely get it into the overhead bin, I have with my Sky Train. And I mean BARELY. For some this will mean something, I was in zone 2 boarding on a Delta flight and the zone 4 peeps were boarding by the time I was able to jam it in the overhead. At one point I had to defend against the dreaded gate check. I waited to be the last person off so I didn't risk injuring someone trying to get it out of the overhead.

On the plus side I love the handles. I have the Rail King Rucksack and I wish Red Oxx would wrap the grap loop on the top of the bag with the vinyl tubing. That would make my decade.

For now my search continues for the perfect convertable bag.
 
 As per previous comments
By Peter G, Melbourne, Australia, March 15, 2012

Same comment applies to my previous purchase of a SkyTrain
 
 best travel bag
By Bryan, NYC, March 8, 2012

What an incredible product. Very well made. Solid construction. I traveled to Chicago for 6 days, then spent a weekend in New Orleans. I needed no other luggage. It carried everything I needed and I still had room for just-in-case situations. No regrets.
 
 At Last
By Peter G, Melbourne, Australia, March 1, 2012

Well designed and finely crafted, this bag holds a deceptive amount of gear which is easily accessed in the divided compartments.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram. Note to iPad users, we are reformatting the video to be viewable on your machines, stay tuned.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Sky Train?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided woven textile bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. Better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.