Skip Navigation LinksFlying-Boxcar

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make many friends in high places.”
Red Oxx Flying Boxcar Carry On Bag - in Mariner. Choose from 12 colors.

Flying Boxcar $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Travel by Boxcar. Transport your cargo safely!

Go ahead, pack the zoom lens or portable fishing reels, you'll have the room.

HOW IS THIS BAG DIFFERENT?
The Expedition series duffel bags have been redesigned to meet your packing and traveling preferences. With the same exterior dimensions and capacity as the PR5 Safari Beano, the Boxcar sports bag differs by featuring an extra-long central main compartment so you can carry your scuba fins or camera tripod or hyper zoom lens on the plane when you fly out for your safari.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
This compartment features a Volara foam padded bottom, which allows the Boxcar bag to maintain shape when you don't have it filled to the top (should you want to shop and return home with some souvenirs). And the extra peace of mind regarding protecting expensive and fragile bulky items you may pick up on your adventure doesn't hurt. Secure your goods with the double zippered lid and steel twin turn locks.

You'll thank us a thousand times over for the grab loops on both ends while yanking the bag from an overhead bin, or pulling it easily in-and-out of a vehicle during an overlanding adventure. Ballistic nylon skid plate on the bottom gives years of worry-free use while sliding around loading docks.

JUST ROLL WITH IT.
Want to stack it on your wheeled bag? No problem, the back pass-through pocket docking sleeve lets you slip it over the handle bars on your wheeled bag... or just use it as an extra-long flat side pocket.

ORGANIZE YOUR BELONGINGS.
Twin raised side pockets keep necessities quickly accessible. Both pockets zip halfway down their sides for easy access to buried equipment like data storage, adapters, manuals, etc. Monkey Fist Zip Knots and heavy-duty #10 YKK Zippers make opening the compartments a yankin' cinch, yet the self-locking zipper design prevents accidental openings. The detachable nonslip padded Claw Shoulder Strap allows for easy nonslip carrying-- or carry by hand with the nylon webbing handles.

The Red Oxx Flying Boxcar Duffel Bag pushes maximum legal carry-on size restrictions yet still offers generous flexibility and ease of use. Just so you know, if you over-stuff your bag it won’t be carry-on legal.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Flying Boxcar on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H.
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches (2,680 including raised side pockets).

Pocket measurements:

  • Small raised zippered side pocket: 6"W x 8"H x 2"D
  • Large raised zippered side pocket: 11 1/2"L x 8"H x 2"D
  • Main compartment: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Side pass-through zippered flat pocket: 4.5"H x 23"L

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Flying Boxcar trivia: the Flying Boxcar was named after the post-WW II transport aircraft, the Fairchild C-119 Flying Boxcar. The distinctive design of the Flying Boxcar featured a fuselage that was separate from the engines and the dual tail ailerons located on the wings, leaving the area behind the cockpit to accommodate larger loads. The design allowed more powerful engines and a cargo area uncluttered by landing gear and control cables.

Write a Review

4.92 Average Rating
 (38 Reviews)

 
1 2 Next > 
 Great weekend bag
By Michael, San Diego, CA, February 11, 2014

I got this bag because I other bag was finally worn down. This was able to fit everything I needed for the weekend. 2 changes of clothes, PJs, a fully loaded shave kit, a suit, and all my small electronics. The bag is bigger inside than it looks. The teeth on the zippers are huge and won't break or get caught like the small cheap zippers on other bags. This bag was stuffed into my trunk along with luggage for 4 other people. It was tossed around and abused and it came out in great shape. The build quality on this bag is great is great. And the two side pouches are great smaller items. I used the bigger on for the shave kit, and the smaller one for small misc items (cables, charger, playing cards, etc.)

After my experience with Red Oxx I won't go anywhere else for my travel luggage. As far as this bag is concerned, I would highly recommend it for the weekend (even week long) traveler.
 
 Best for men
By Leigh, New Hampshire, January 2, 2014

I like this bag. Took it on my first trip for five days. It held all that I needed but must admit that it was a bit heavy to carry around the airport. I am a 60 year old woman and couldn't move as quickly as I used to through the terminal. Hope to take it on a trip to Mexico this year for two weeks. The bag is very well constructed and I have no worries about durability.
 
 Great Bag!
By Kyle, Iowa, October 18, 2013

I really like this bag! It is very durable and has a nice rugged look. I love that it is made in the USA. One major plus about its construction is that there is very little space wasted with bag material. The bag is as big on the inside as it looks. Works as a carry on, and also is great for riding the Megabus!
 
 Good enough for a German, good enough for Me
By Dave, Northern California, October 18, 2013

I had originally purchased this product for myself but when on a trip in Germany to visit friends it was gifted away to a German buddy during a night of over enthusiastic beer consumption. So, several years and multiple positive reviews from my German buddy later finally decided needed to get another for myself and is as good as I recall after several road trips.
 
 Wowsome !!
By Dobby Dobbs, Atlanta, GA, May 2, 2013

This is an awesome product !! I've had it about two months now. I travel five days s week for business, every week and it does a fantastic job for me.
 
 perfect for what i need
By rob, bronx ny , March 21, 2013

this bag was exactly what i wanted. love the hardware and construction of this bag. what i like the most is that they are made in USA and built to withstand the toughest of owners. i am a customer for life and will eventually buy another bag. thank you for a great product.
 
 loved it
By Anonymous, la, ca, January 10, 2013

I used this along with the small rucksack for a 16 day trip to Europe. Loved them both and didn't need to check any baggage!! These are good looking and sturdy pieces of luggage. I would (and have) recommend to anyone. Thanks Red Oxx
 
 Little bigger than I thought
By Rex, SW Florida, January 10, 2013

This bag is impressive. We bought two one for my wife and one for myself. We also bought two PR6's because we plan on taking a road trip this summer but we wanted something we could take as carry-ons if needed. Well the Flying Boxcars are great but are still fairly big. We are very pleased and may yet purchase a couple more bags just smaller.
 
 Amazingly Held all my wife's clothes
By Col Jackson, TN, December 25, 2012

I have the safari 4.5 myself and decided to buy the Boxcar for my wife. We were heading out on a 22 day driving trip towards the west coast and this bag swallowed everything she could throw its way. Awesome
 
 Queried at the gate at LAX about my Flying Boxcar
By Kenn Martin, Perth, Australia, September 27, 2012

I needed an extra carryon to manage the swag I'd accumulated for my return to Perth so I ordered the Boxcar in addition to the PR5 and PR6 that I'd checked at Orlando. The gate attendant invited me to test it in the Qantas carryon contraption and while the dimensions were spot on, the weight was "excessive". My fault/not the bag's.They gate checked the Boxcar at the plane door and it arrived unscathed with the contents intact at Sydney with my other checked gear. I continue to be a happy customer.
 
 Flying Boxcar
By Jonathan, New Hampshire, August 2, 2012

I ordered the flying boxcar in anticipation of a flight to Hawaii with my 2 year old. It is a superb piece of work. It is roomy, durable, and as well and thoughtfully designed as all of their luggage. Useful side pockets, grab handles and slot for sliding over a roller bag should you be travelling with a philistine. I was able to pack all of the items we'll need for a week in it, including 20 diapers! I am also using the briefcase as a carry-on/diaperbag/multi media tote. Keep up the goood work Redoxx! I recommend you to all my travelling friends when they're looking for a bag!
 
 Quality
By Todd B., Las Vegas, NV, July 12, 2012

A family member told me about Red Oxx products. I did my research and decided to purchase the Flying Boxcar. I couldn't be happier with this product. The quality and craftsmanship are incredible. I'll never have to worry about this product falling apart. I'd recommend this company to anyone!
 
 Worked Great
By Laurie, Renton, WA, April 11, 2012

Bought this bag to take on an African Safari because my camera monopod would fit into it. The bag was great. I also have the Sky Train, which also went to Africa. I would say that the Boxcar worked better for the Safari, it was easier to fit it in the cargo holds of the small planes we flew on. Overall, great quality bag!
 
 Just what I've been looking for.
By James Howard, Midland, TX, April 1, 2012

The Flying Boxcar is great. More than enough room for a two day trip, yet works well as an everyday gym bag. The quality and construction is excellent.

Thanks guys!
 
 great value, performance
By Ken K, Tempe AZ, March 29, 2012

Perfect size, high quality. All the usual suspects from Red Oxx. Super easy to load with the dual zippers. I even checked it on a flight. Buy a couple extra locks and it's as secure as another bag. The flexible bottom makes it extra versatile.
 
 Business Trips to San Jaun
By Chris, Philadelphia, March 11, 2012

I purchased this bag for my week to two week trips to San Juan for work. I recently used it for three one week trips and it worked perfectly. This trip, I was extremely impressed when I was able to back two weeks' worth of clothes in the bag. As I am not a little guy either. I used two lit Roy and a nomad as packing cubes. Here is the list of clothing I was able to pack with in the bag

Twos of under wear

1 pair of dress shoes since 10.5

2 pairs of kakis

1 pair of jeans

5 polo's

2 dress shirts

Work out clothing

And there is still a little room. I also use a Metro briefcase.
 
 Perfect gear bag
By Matthew, Modesto, California, January 26, 2012

I've been looking for a new gear bag and this one fits the bill.

I have been able to get a few Nomex coveralls, jackets, hardhat, boots, raingear and personal safety gear stowed and still have room available if needed.

When I'm not traveling, the bag stays in the truck, ready to go when I'm called. No more scrambling around trying to locate my gear. It's all in one place.

Traveling, this bag has taken all the punishment that the TSA and airline baggage personnel can give it without any failure. There's nothing like watching your hardhat and safety gear drop down on the baggage carousel to make you realize that you need a tougher bag.

The folks at Red Oxx know how to build a bag to last for the long haul. I'm a sold customer.
 
 Fast Service
By Anonymous, , January 3, 2012

Fast delivery at Christmas time. Spouse loves the bag and so pleased it is American made.
 
 A Pleasure to Use
By Steve Curry, ON, Canada, October 6, 2011

Wow, this bag holds a lot! The boxcar is a very well designed carry-all bag. It's easy to load with a wide opening - you can jam just about anything into this bag.

Extremely well made, great zippers and very flexible. Makes a perfect weekend bag.
 
 FLYING HIGH !!
By Peter T, DENVER CO, September 22, 2011

Another great product from RED OXX....I already own a Boxcar , it has travelled with me to several countries and three continents , out into the field , into the city. Still as good as new ! A friend raved about it so much on a recent Bolivian bird-hunting trip that I bought him one to keep him quiet !! And he loves it too....

What a pleasure to buy AMERICAN QUALITY !!
 
1 2 Next > 
Specifications

 Box Car Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padded bottom
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 1050 Ballistic nylon skid plate
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 stainless V rings
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • End grab loops
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.4 Liters

Flying Boxcar Sports Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Flying Boxcar and the PR5 Duffel Bag?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR5 has a shorter and smaller main compartment with pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom reinforced with ballistic nylon, our toughest. Overall, the Boxcar will actually carry slightly more gear.
 
What's the difference between the Sun Chaser and the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar is a full five inches longer and one inch wider.
 
Will this bag meet personal item sizing?
You can use it as one but we don't market it as such. So long as it wasn't fully packed you might be able to sneak one by.
 
Why is the bottom padded?
The padding was requested by photography enthusiasts to protect their camera gear from impacts.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back of the bag?
They are for a pass-through panel so that the bag can be mounted over the handles of a wheeled bag.
 
Can you lock the Flying Boxcar?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive cable locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. Better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
What's the best way to pack the Flying Boxcar?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab on the Flying Boxcar product page.
 
How many days worth of clothes will fit in the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar was designed to easily hold a weekend's worth of your clothes, like for a beach trip... thus the product name.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Flying Boxcar has two raised side pockets and one flat side pocket.
There is only the one large main compartment without interior pockets.
 
Is this the same bag as the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip was designed by railroaders for railroaders and will fit the typical engineers lamp, rulebook and so on. For the harsh environment of the railroad, the Grip is also a superior choice due to it's ballistic weighted heavy-duty fabric.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.