COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I have a big appetite for adventure.”
Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

We can tell you how others have used this multi-purpose carry-on bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry namesake, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a personal item, a shooting bag for the range, SLR bag, diaper bag, C-pap bag, take it to work with a packed lunch; you get the picture.

WHAT ABOUT POCKETS?
Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets. The expandable gusseted side pockets help you to keep track of gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, and more.

These side pockets feature the exclusive "Red Oxx finger loop snap closures" which are Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps with thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." This allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. A simple genius solution that prevents crushing items under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

GET ORGANIZED.
Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. Located on the back is another full-length zippered pocket. 4lb. Volara closed cell padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from damage.

A HANDY MULTI-PURPOSE BAG.
Fully adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry it with the wraparound handle handclasp. Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Travel Bags are durable companions for many uses: SLR camera bags, diaper bags, NetBook or Tablets, C-pap bags, pistol range, you name it, the Gator will eat it. Consider it your "bag of all trades."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Gator on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Gator compact carry-on.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarassed to appear like he was carrying a diaper bag. After they were out of diapers he wanted a decent range bag to take with him shooting. The name Gator was selected because a Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Write a Review

4.7 Average Rating
 (148 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 Gator Bag
By Tom H, Dallas Tx, May 2, 2013

Jim, I love the Gator as all the other products I have from RO. Beano Bag, Dopp Kit, Suit carrier, Bino cases, etc. The Gator is perfect for a computer and accys or as a traveling sundries bag, (meds, creams, shave stuff) Wife kept borrowing for cosmetics so I just ordered one for her. I use as my "small carry on" and combined with the Beano, that's usually all I need for a two week trip. Have had your bags for many years and they still look new. Thanks for a great product.
 
 5 Stars but negative comments?
By Julian, Australia, April 28, 2013

Trying to decide which products if any should be purchased...I have to say it would be a lot easier if people were more accurate with their "star" ratings. I can't see why so many people rate 5 stars, then talk about the negatives such as the shape and height of the drink bottle pouches, the handles, the padding, the weight....Rating 5 stars then commenting negatively about aspects of a product is not as helpful as you might be.
 
 Great Travel Bag
By Falani, TN, April 11, 2013

Used the Gator Bag on recent trip to Europe. Held all of my electronics, accessories along with a change of clothes and shoes. Fits neatly under the seat of most airlines including smaller commuter planes. Would highly recommend this bag to anyone who likes to carry on without the hassle of finding overhead space.
 
 Perfect "2nd bag"
By B Johnson, Savannah Georgia, February 28, 2013

My wife and I are both "one bag" travellers, which means we carry the "one carry-on" and a second "personal item." She has searched for years for the perfect 2nd bag, has bought and rejected several. None were perfect. The right size, water bottle pockets, interior pockets, exterior pockets, a safe place for the Kindle, easy to get into while sitting on an airplane. After buying and using the Air Boss, I talked her into letting me get her the Gator. When it arrived, she looked it over and said, "Wow, this is it. It's perfect!" Happy seat mate, happy traveller.
 
 Perfect for Multi-Faceted Life
By S. Lewis, Garland, TX, February 20, 2013

This was the best hundred bucks I've ever spent!

The Gator Bag has become my daily essential bag. I am a chemo patient and owner of 2 retail stores located about an hour from my home. So I'm usually on the go, in my car, at the stores, or in the chemo room for a lot of time. The Gator is THE answer to keeping my essentials organized and handy.

BG (Before Gator), these essentials were spread between my rolling lap top bag and my over-sized, over-weight, carryall purse. When I needed something, seems like I was always having to go through both bags to locate my item. AG (After Gator) I know exactly where I need to go to find the item, and often only carry the Gator and leave the laptop bag & purse at home. All I need to do is transfer my wallet and cell phone from my now light-weight and smaller purse to Gator and I'm good to go.

Like the other reviewer on 2/14/13, I find it best to use small bags to organize the large inside compartment. I use my extra cosmetic bags to keep a "chemo" bag stocked: various meds for stuff I won't mention here, cough drops, life savors, hand sanitizer, mouth spray, snacks, etc. Then I use a 2nd cosmetic bag to organize ..... cosmetics (go figure). In case I can't make it home from my stores, or choose to stay over iwth my daughter, this cosmetic bag has the stash for emergency face cleaning, teeth brushing, and my makeup application.

My Kindle Fire (with its charger) also fits nicely in the center pocket, with room to spare!

A 16 0z stainless steel water bottle fits nicely in the outside expendable pocket. My sunglasses and their case go in the other expandable pocket.

In the flat zippered outside pocket, I carry cash bills to make change at the retail stores - no more emergency runs to the bank when I drop by the stores.

One snap flap pocket holds technology tools: I-phone car charger with USB cord, Blue Tooth ear piece, ear buds. The other flap pocket has a flashlight and tape measure.

Oh yeah, packed as is, even with my wallet and cell phone, the Gator weighs much less than the huge monster purse I lugged around! And the shoulder straps on the Gator keep the bag in place MUCH better than the purse straps did!

 
 Tips for Making Best Use of Your Gatorbag
By Rich, Tampa, Florida, February 14, 2013

I've taken this mighty bag all around the city and burbs and it has performed as well as other readers have described. But even the best product can be made just a little bit better:

1. The main interior storage compartment is so large at 6" of thickness that it is easy to lose things as they pile up; removing items near the bottom can drag along a string of incidental items.

Solution: The local hardware department store carries 3-packs of colored strong canvas bags,ranging from about 3" to 8" wide with a see-through panel to view the contents. Perfect for chargers/batteries, first aid items, and other small items. It really helps organize the main compartment.

2. Beverage carriers being too short to hold even medium water bottles: Check with your local fitness or camping outlet for 6 - 10 oz flask-shaped bottle flexed at the neck. They are intended for use with a running belt but you only the refill bottle itself, about $10.

3. Hit and run theft: when you set your Gator down on the next chair or any other public place where your attention might wander, thieves will be watching you, at least in some areas of the world. Solution: A very thin security cable intended for motorcycle helmets and their bikes might be the answer. I like it with a small combination lock and attached it to the handle straps and D-ring. If a nap is unavoidable while out and about (e.g. airport), I have even wrapped the cable around my belt loop or wrist to discourage lurking hit-and-run artists.

Hope these Gator (and general) tips are useful.
 
 Gator carry on bag
By Bob Ivers, Australia, January 31, 2013

I have been searching for the perfect carry on bag and have several. This is my second Redoxx purchase and I like the robustness and design. The Gator is new and I am mainly using it at work. I have 2 major overseas trips this year. I am happy with the Gator but I feel that the inside divider could be better designed. With pens and a phone in the pockets, the divider tends to fall into the bag. This makes it difficult to retrieve objects from the main compartment. I wonder if some sort of clip would prevent this. Overall, though, a champion bag. Regards Bob
 
 Gator Bag
By Colt H Powell, Star, MS, January 17, 2013

Great quality bag like always. It is a lot smaller than I had in mind, but I blame that on my self, the dimensions are listed. I work on the rail road and have a rail king rucksack. It is great for travel or road jobs. I was looking for a bag that would carry lunch and my books for local or industry jobs. It's just big enough for lunch and a decent amount of snacks.
 
 Awesome Bag
By V. Arnold, Miontana, January 11, 2013

this bag was for my son for Xmas-he had it picked out and reports it is above and beyond his expectations. Thank you for the good quality of your products.
 
 Super Quality
By MB, Pasadena, CA, January 10, 2013

Superior quality and service. Glad I found you online. I will order again.
 
 A1 Bag
By AOM, Halifax, December 23, 2012

Best bag ever. Everything bag for a city day hike, on a bike rack, a shoulder bag carry-on (besides the regular carry-on).

Cons: (close your eyes, RedOxx). The bag handle straps are unnecessary and really get in the way of the great top loading zippered main compartment. They also make some paranoid airline agents think it's a real "bag" besides your carry on. I cut them off and made the bag perfect. Never regretted it. Also, the bottom padding is a wee bit too thick. To be comfortable under the arm for hours, the bottom has to partially collapse (fold a bit) AND still be stiff enough to stand flat when on the ground. A hard order to fill. I just crushed my bag until the bottom naturally folded, when I wanted it to.

Oh, yes...and, you can have a leather guy put a snap along the ribboned top edge of the inside net pocket to hold it snug to the side of the bag so it doesn't lean out into the main compartment when full, or Red Oxx could do this ;-) .

Need no other shoulder bag but this. Just wonderful.
 
 gator
By Ricky D., Boone IA, December 6, 2012

as a train conductor i carry alot of paperwork and have a filing system for myself... this bag holds all of my paperwork and is small enough that it doesnt get tossed around everything is where i put it so i find it every time, the quality is excelent and i love everything about this bag does what i need and want for this purpose.
 
 Gator Bag
By Gary, Illinois, December 6, 2012

I purchased this bag to haul my camera gear and am very pleased with the construction and space. I can hold my DSLR camera, point and shoot comera, an extra lens, all of my supplies and will even hold my notebook computer. So far I am very pleased with this product. The Safari style also looks great.
 
 gator bag
By Anonymous, , November 25, 2012

Great bag for carrying books and reference materials! Just the right size and the zippers appear to be quite durable.
 
 AMAZING GATOR
By Sophia, Australia, November 19, 2012

I love this bag. It is so convenient. I use it as a camera bag/ gym bag (it's great to be able to fit the water bottles on the side) / day bag and of course carry-on bag, I think I could even use it as an overnight bag, it eats up everything! I chose midnight blue (it looks way better than the photo) it looks professional and goes well with my business attire.

I have given up the handbag to move over for this multi-purpose bag. I bought this from Australia which our dollar was more at this time so happy with the price and delivery cost. I have also bought the skytrain which is excellent for few day trips. On another note I found the staff here refreshingly friendly and helpful, I would definitely buy from here again. Thank you Red Oxx.
 
 Red Oxx = Fantastic, UPS = Poor
By Ian, Lincolnshire, UK, November 13, 2012

The bag itself is 100% great. So glad I got it in red. I'm using it as hand luggage / DSLR bag. A Mountainsmith padded Kit Cube fits really well to keep my photography kit protected.

Beware UK buyers !

UPS "demand" payment of import taxes on delivery. They don't accept anything apart from cash and don't carry change. I was out when this was delivered and my parents were visting. The driver made it clear to them that it would cause a lot of problems if the duty was not paid there and then. In the past I have paid using an on-line system before the carrier finalises delivery to the end destination. Much easier and simpler.

I will order again from Red Oxx as the products are so good, but next time I will ensure I am in for delivery and will pay their driver with a large bag of 1p coins !

Is a Red Oxx UK distributor planned ?
 
 Good, but not great...
By Patrick, Vallejo, CA, October 28, 2012

Most reviews of this product are very complementary. and although I am happy with my purchase, I must say that the Gator Carry On Bag fell short of my expectations.

I bought this product because I needed a new shoulder bag in this size range, and since I was so totally happy with my Sky Train, I figured the Gator would be a safe bet.

As with all Red Oxx products, the materials and craftsmanship are suburb, so no problem there. Plus, I appreciate the fact that it is made in the USA by people who really care about what they do. I like the size, the fact that it is padded, the heavy-duty zippers, and the well-designed strap.

Here's what I don't like: The design of the interior sleeve/divider needs a little work. It will hold my iPad (in its cover) but just barely, and it doesn't really allow it to seat very well. Maybe replace the heavy mesh fabric with a lighter-weight, smoother fabric. Also, the sewn in slots for pens and whatever else, really miss the mark, at least for me. I fill the main internal area with my Bose headphones, camera, accessory zipper bag (which stands in for the lack of any internal pocket), iPad/iPhone charger cables, reading material and a baseball cap. With all of that, it is nearly impossible to get to the pen sleeves (which actually get in the way).

The zippered pocket on one side is very flat, and only deep enough for your boarding pass (which is fine). The two snap pockets on the other side, however, are a bit odd. For most travel these days (and especially international travel) security and protection from pick-pockets is really a big deal. For this reason I can never see keeping anything of value in these pockets. They are a nice size for a phone or small camera, but I would never use them for that. I've used them for snacks or other low value items, but it is really a waste to have storage space that you can't use any way you wish. I'd much rather see a single zipped bellows pocket that could be secured. Maybe this would be a better place for the pen and accessory pockets.

The water bottle pockets also could have been executed better. They are heavier that they need to be, are a bit too shallow and wide, and without a flat bottom, they just don't work very well. I see many complaints in other reviews about these pockets, so I am somewhat perplexed that a small "light on their feet" company like Red Oxx hasn't made a change already. I'd also rather see just one, with a zippered multipurpose pocket on the other side.

All in all, I will continue to carry and enjoy this bag, even with these foibles, and will accept them. Haven't seen a bag that I would rather have. but if Red Oxx did some evolutionary changes, I'd be quick to purchase the upgrade.

 
 Love it!
By JF, Minnesota, October 4, 2012

The Gator in Safari colors is just amazing. Lighter in weight than I expected. Nicely organized. The best shoulder strap I have ever had on any bag. Great detailing. Just what I wanted in a funky, non-corporate-briefcase travel bag.

Minor suggestions: Add a few inches to the length of the strap for us tall guys. Add a bit of a gusset to that the internal organization panel has a little depth to it. But these are minor!
 
 Perfect for 13" Macboook Air
By Anonymous, Arizona, August 31, 2012

Great Addition to our Air Boss. Perfect carry on for our trip to Europe. 13" Macbook Air, iPhones, camera, passports, adapters and room to spare. Love the Gator!
 
 Great all-purpose bag
By Jeff, Washington, DC, August 23, 2012

For what it's built to do, it does well. Easily the best carry-on bag I've ever used. Fits everything I could possibly need, and it still easily fits under the seat. If you're an avid tablet user, the specs are perfect (an iPad or other small form-factor electronics can get lost in a larger messenger bag) - more than I needed for international travel.

I was a little worried about the purchase based on some reviews saying that 8.5x11 paper is a tough fit for the bag. For the record, the paper fits - but oversized folders do not. If you intend to put some work papers and the like in the bag, invest in a small portfolio (I'd suggest no more than 9x11.5), and you're golden. Some of the reviews also say that the side pouches don't hold a bottle in well enough - I haven't had this problem.

Two minor gripes. First, the internal mesh divider seems 'loose'. It would have been better if it were largely snug against one side, but that's not how it turned out. It sort of 'bows out' in the middle. Second, the 'hidden' pouches behind the external pockets are a bit too small - would have preferred a single wider pouch than two smaller ones. All things considered, great product.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Specifications

Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
 
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
 
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
 
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
 
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose day bag.
 
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag.
 
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment? We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.