COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 680 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (686 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Excellent Build Quality
By Rich Shadrin, Walden NY, October 27, 2011

Along with the shave kit I purchased the AIRBOSS to compliment the many rollaboards I've accumulated over the many years I had traveled for business.

Though skeptical about losing my wheels, I learned 2 lessons. Firstly the claims made about the bombproof construction is true and finally resist overpacking. The latter was a good lesson as I traveled outbound using all the folding techniques and a few tricks of my own and the back was light and well within its recommended packing dimensions. On the way back, loaded with too much 'stuff' I was still able to overhead rack it, but schlepping it across terminals at O'Hare made me wish for wheels. Mea culpa.

Lesson learned is pack much lighter than you need. Learn to be agile and since the whole world has gone casual that task has bccome easier. KI just had to learn the hard way. So pack, smart, light and use the AIRBOSS - I'm a convert.
 
 Great Buy
By Chandler, Colorado, October 27, 2011

I got this bag anticipating a trip to China. And I am sure glad I decided on it. I was able to get a month of travel gear into it.

My trip was supposed to be Denver > Seattle > Tokyo > Shanghai > Zhengzhou

But it ended up being:

Denver > Seattle > San Fran > Taipei > Shanghai > Zhengzhou

So I am sure glad I didn't have to figure out checked luggage at the same time. I would of sure had a bag get lost. Also I was bumped off my flight in Shanghai and had to hit a hotel. But I had everything I needed with me.

I got great service, bag is very well made and it was a perfect buying experience.
 
 I've used it once ...
By Dave, Colorado Springs, October 25, 2011

I have tried a variety of bags for traveling. I hate most of them. The one I've kept coming back to is one that I got 20 years ago for free for answering a survey at a conference. It's 16x12x7, quite a bit smaller than the Air Boss, two zippered pockets on one side and a large open pocket on the other. There is one main compartment that unzips only about halfway. Its handles are uncomfortable on the hands and its shoulder strap is not much better. But it is convenient. It easily fits under the seat or in the overhead even of the miniature airplanes I frequently find myself on. I can pack clean business casual clothes for a week using it.

I read about the Air Boss on OneBag.com. I told my wife I wanted it and she and my daughter bought it for me for Father's Day. I haven't used it yet, but I've looked it over. It is assembled very well. It looks rugged.

I like the way it opens all the way so it won't flop closed when trying to use both hands putting clothes in. I like the tie-downs in the clothes compartments to keep my clothes tidier especially for a short trip when the bag is only lightly packed. I like the center compartment where I can stash my electronics; computer, GPS, iPod, headphones, chargers, etc. and get to them without opening the whole bag. I like the snap-wrap on the handles to give my hands some relief when carrying it. We'll see how the shoulder strap works, but it's fine when the bag is empty. :-)

It's bigger than I'm used to, so I'll need to be careful not to overpack.

OK. I've waited to post this review until I had actually used the Air Boss. I just completed a four-day business and pleasure trip. Once I had packed I weighed the bag and found that it was just under 23 pounds, but all I was taking was in one bag. This was four days worth of business casual attire (including shoes) plus netbook, GPS, camera and battery chargers for all.

My observations (YMMV):

I found the shoulder strap awkward, but it might improve with practice. I was wearing a jacket, but not zipped. The strap would start to grip lower on my shoulder than I wanted and it was difficult to get situated where it was comfortable and not pulling the jacket shoulder off of my shoulder.

Carrying the Air Boss in my hand was less comfortable than I'd hoped. I found that if I used the grippy part of the shoulder strap as a cushion my hands were happier.

I would lose things in the Air Boss's many pockets. I dropped my cell phone into a pocket before TSA and it took me ten minutes to find it again after screening. I still need to figure out where to put things so that I can easily locate them again.

Packing and unpacking are as easy as I had expected. I pack shirts, pajamas, underwear and socks in an Eagle Creek Pack-It Folder. It allows me to neatly fold and compress my clothes. I put the folder into one side and strapped it down. Then I folded pants, put then on the other side and strapped them down. The center section got shoes and the detritus of business travel plus the quart zipper bag of liquids and gels. There was still much more space ... I *was* trying to travel light. I could have packed for a week or more, but I'm not sure I would have been able to lift it. (When I got home I found that my local Costco store has a "personal hand truck" that weighs 7.5 pounds, can carry 150 pounds and folds flat for $20. Bungy cords from Lowes completes my set-up.)

Earlier I said the Air Boss is larger than the "free" bag I've used for 20+ years. It fits under the seat in front of you, but barely. All of my flights were completely full so there was no overhead compartment space. I'm a pretty big guy; 6'2", 250+ pounds. This cramps my foot room. I need to figure out how to deal with my computer and other high-value gear so that I can gate check the bag when needed.

So far I'm pleased.
 
 Nice overall; one caveat
By E.H., Minnesota, October 24, 2011

I like the "Air Boss" design, and the construction seems top-notch to me. My only area of disappointment was the strap.

I can't shorten the strap as much as I like. The bag hangs near my butt or lower, not up on my lower back.

Also, the rubbery shoulder padding is too(!) grippy. My clothes get pulled around and bunched up every time I try to adjust the position of the bag.

I've been entirely happy with the bag itself, and would still strongly recommend it (although I may replace the strap).
 
 The Best Bag!
By Dan V, Bossier City, October 22, 2011

By far the best bag I have ever owned. You can pack everything you need for a long trip and still have room for the running shoes and shaving kit.
 
 A worthwhile investment
By E. Cardinal, San Jose, CA, October 21, 2011

First off, the bag is expensive but I believe in paying for quality that will last -- and so far I think this bag will be with me for a long time to come. My wife was originally quite unhappy with the cost but is now a fan as well.

I'm trying to be a "One-Bag" traveler. The Air Boss holds a lot for its size, especially without the superstructure required for wheels and handles. It looks terrific (I got the Safari colors) and it looks and feels tough and well-made. I never had any trouble getting it into an overhead bin.

One goal this trip was to minimize the number of different individual items on the TSA conveyor belt, to prevent 'disappearing' or forgotten items. In the center section the Air Boss held my 15.6 laptop (inside a sleeve) 5 days of socks and underwear in a small bag, and a CPAP respiratory medical device, which is approximately 7x7x5". (The hose and mask went in the outside zipper pocket.) This made it a snap to pull out the laptop and the CPAP out for TSA inspection, then re-zip and drop the bag onto the conveyor.

Shirts, trousers, and sundries were distributed between the sides on the way down, but all were packed to one side on the way back to accommodate 10 Lbs. of Costa Rican coffee and other gifts :-)

Carrying the Air Boss held lengthwise in front of me down the airplane aisle was easy because of the comfortable handle. I like not being a rude passenger dragging my slightly too wide wheely-bag down the aisle smashing the arms of all the seated passengers.

Unfortunately, the bag was a bit too heavy for me to carry without wheels or shoulder straps (particularly on the way back) but that is primarily because I'm in terrible physical shape and ended up crossing the length of Houston airport 3 times to get through customs, etc. In retrospect, I probably should have gotten the Sky Train instead of the Air Boss specifically for the shoulder straps. In the future I think I may distribute some of the load (like the laptop) into a backpack. Heavy as my bag was, though, the "Claw" shoulder strap never slipped an inch and did spread the load so it wasn't cutting into my shoulder.

(On a side note, I also got a Scott-e-Vest Essential Jacket. Twenty pockets held everything I needed under the seat so I never had to get the Air Boss out of the overhead until it was time to disembark. I'm not associated wit them, just a fan.)
 
 My New Air Boss
By Pete Burres, Addison TX, October 20, 2011

My Air Boss was purchased for my first travel vacation in many years.... a nine day trip to Nova Scotia. The construction of the bag is outstanding and seems like it will be something that one of my kids will carry well into the future. Despite reading many of the reviews, I was still astounded by how well the shoulder strap held the bag on my shoulder without slipping. I used the bundling system of packing and think that I need some more practice at it as the packed clothing settled and there was space that could have been utilized. Overall, I am extremely pleased with my purchase.
 
 well thought-out and practical
By Bill Leighton, Sydney Australia, October 20, 2011

My new bag hasn't been to the front line yet, but it looks 'the one to have'. The layout of the external pockets and storage cavities has been devised by someone who travels a lot. I packed for a two-night three-day trip and it came in at just under 7 kilos, our official cabin baggage limit in Australia. I was amazed how much clothing and gear fitted into one bag.

This bag will save me a lot of time at check-in and baggage carousels. I can turn up closer to departure time, go straight through security and to the aircraft. Check-in queues can consume twenty minutes or more at peak times, I can't afford to miss planes.

Not the cheapest carry-on bag but money well-spent. It's solid, padded in all the right places and built from quality components. My new travel buddy . . .
 
 Exceeded Expectations
By Sean, Brooklyn, NY, October 9, 2011

I've owned expensive Boyt and Tumi luggage. The "Air Boss" was even more rugged and better-designed than those companies' products. Following Doug Dyment's (OneBag.com) bundle-wrapping technique my cotton dress shirts, wool jacket & wool trousers are wearable after unpacking without being pressed, so long as they are packed securely but not too tightly. Even fully-stuffed the "Air Boss" fits easily in overhead compartments. Doug Dyment's recommended 2.5 lb. luggage cart even fits in the central compartment. I'll be buying more luggage from Red Oxx and following more advice from OneBag.com.
 
 Tough
By Sam, Oxford, UK, October 7, 2011

I've had a lot of bags around this size. A lot. Without exception all of them have had a point of failure due to the strength of the materials used - either the metal clasps for the strap have broken, or the seams split or the zips failed but with the Air Boss I feel I've got a bag designed to hold whatever and however much you can put in it. In short it's a very tough bag indeed.

The shortage of pockets is a good thing as it allows you to organise your packing yourself - I usually put a laptop shoulder bag in the centre compartment for organising paperwork and office bits and pieces (including laptop) and then get a week's worth of clothes in the outer pockets. If you think ahead you'll get the best out of it.

It's not cheap, but as the saying goes you get what you pay for. I rate this bag so highly I may even buy a second one for my other half.
 
 Yep, this is the bag
By slocklin, Berkeley CA, October 6, 2011

Bought this bag for a couple of trips I had on the schedule. I had done the "one bag" thing in my younger years using a no longer manufactured MEI backpack convertible. Found I rarely used it as a backpack anymore, and wanted something more structured. The Red Oxx Air Boss is perfect. Room for street clothes, a suit, dress shoes, dress shirt and enough street clothes and toiletries to get on for a few weeks (assuming one has access to laundry). The construction is top notch; zippers and pulls seem indestructible, as does the material of the bag. The available compartments and pockets are well thought out, and pretty much all that is needed.

The only downside to this bag is the shoulder strap. While very well constructed, it's ... painful. I speak as a fairly burly fellow: figured the folks complaining about it were bonier types, but it bites into the shoulder rather painfully.
 
 My Air Boss
By Rich, Canada, October 4, 2011

I recently purchased my Air Boss after extensively browsing the website. I have started travelling quite a bit for work and needed a bag that would be able to stand up to being chucked into work vans, etc. (I work as a welder). I was going on a week long pleasure trip the day after receiving my bag and decided to use it as the test. Needless to say, the Air Boss passed with flying colors. I just kept putting more and more things into it and it took them all with no problems. I had no problems at all with the zippers regardless of how full the bag got and love how rugged it is. I'm looking forward to a lot of trips with this bag. I also purchased a Chica purse for my girlfriend and she absolutely loves it. You guys make an amazing product. Thank you!
 
 Suggestions from a long-time owner
By Anonymous, USA, October 1, 2011

I've had this bag for a couple of years now, and still love traveling with it.

Here are a few tips that I find work great.

1. I'm a guy, and typically need to pack one or two suits when I travel for work. I purchased the Eagle Creek pack it garment sleeve.

It fits perfectly in one side of the Air Boss, and can easily handle two suits, a couple of shirts, etc.

Just unpack the suits upon arrival, hang up, and if needed, steam in the shower ahead of time, and you won't have any wrinkles.

2. As great as the bag is, I personally don't want to lug the thing around everywhere. Add in a wheeled brief case, and then you just put the Air Boss on top of the wheeled brief case, and then it is great for getting through airports, etc. I've never had a problem with carrying both items on even the smallest of airplanes.

3. I use some vacuum bags for undergarments, t-shirts, etc.

With these two bags, I have traveled for more than two weeks throughout Asia. With a bit of planning, washing and laundry service along the way, this setup is perfect for me.

Even at this price, I would strongly recommend this bag - and considering the price of baggage fees these days, the bag can pay for itself in just a couple of trips.

Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 A Twelve Day Trip.
By Mark S. Russell M.D., Hot Springs, AR, September 30, 2011

On a recent trip to Europe, I found my Tumi rolling luggage too heavy for new weight restrictions. I also saw people carrying shoulder bags and navigating steps, and cobblestone streets with ease. After extensive internet searching, I bought the Air Boss.

My next trip was a problem. A combination of business, pleasure, whitewater rafting, and golf for a total of twelve days away from home.

I decided to ship my golf clubs, shoes, and golf clothes to my final destination where I would catch up with them. Next I pared down my wardrobe to the minimum I thought I could get away with, including washable underwear, socks, and t-shirts, Three no iron button down shirts, two pair of travel pants, a rain parka, long underwear, fleece and pullover sweater. I also needed an extra dress belt, iPad, C-Pap machine (for sleep apnea), and shaving kit.

When packed the Air Boss bulged at the seams, and weighed a whopping 30 lbs. Although I don't recommend overpacking to this degree, both the Air Boss and I tolerated the strain without complaint... You do what you have to do.

After the first portion of my trip, I was able to send some of my excess back with my wife, who needed to check a bag anyway.

Now down to a more normal fighting weight of 20 lbs., I blew though the airports with ease and was even able to store the Air Boss on one of the regional jets overhead bins.

I am a convert and a true believer.

I had several people on this trip ask me how I could get by without checking my luggage. I would expect to hear from them soon.
 
 From LGA to Wherever
By Anonymous, Queens, NY, September 29, 2011

Since I've purchased it three weeks ago, I've already used it twice to travel to Texas and Tennessee, and it performs marvelously. Easy to carry around and in-and-out of planes, it's made my new experiment in traveling light a reality.

My only two complaints are that I wish the middle compartment had a padded bottom (it's where I put my netbook) and the claw-gripped strap can really leave a mark on you if you're carrying too much, but I'm willing to bite the bullet and say that's probably my fault.

At first I was sort of dismayed it wouldn't fit in the seat in front of me, which is how I usually travel, but then I grew to admire the idea for the little bit of extra leg-room. It's pretty much the perfect bag for me, and I know I can fold it and store it away much more easily than a hard suitcase, because in New York City, every inch counts.

Just to give a better idea to other would-be purchasers, I easily carried five dress shirts, five t-shirts, three pairs of pants, five pairs socks and underwear, an extra pair of shoes, a netbook, a kindle, a sketchbook and a Red Oxx toiletries bag. I had no issues whatsoever getting it to fit in any overhead compartment, and could easily have carried more.
 
 Great Capacity
By Matthew, Kentucky, September 25, 2011

I recieved my airboss a couple of weeks ago. The beautiful red bag has sat on my dresser waiting to go on its first trip! Today I finally couldnt stand it anymore and decided to pack my air biss just for fun! I packed 4 pairs of long pants, 6 shirts, a complete suit, socks, underwear, an extra pair of shoes, a small pscking cube filled with electronic cables, and my red oxx shave kit and I still had space left over in my bag! I am convinced that I could comfortabley travel with is bag for a month of longer! Thank you red oxx!!!
 
 Impressive
By Nav888, TX, September 24, 2011

I was not surprised at the quality. Other Red Oxx purchases had already sold me on that. I was surprised by how efficient this is for such a compact size. Well thought out, functional, made in the USA. Hard to beat that combination.
 
 Great Gear!
By EJK, Portland, OR, September 23, 2011

Just finished a two-week stint using only the Air Boss! Two suits, five shirts, four ties, extra wool slacks, two extra pairs of shoes, workout clothes, the list goes on... Got no disapproving glances from airline staff on four flights. Grateful for this bag!
 
 Overpriced
By Bob Hanley , Brisbane - Australia, September 22, 2011

The Air Boss is overpriced for what it is. Yes, it is the correct size bus I was expecting a better product with more compartments and I agree with some of the previous comments about tablet protection. I would not recommend this product at this price.
 
 Practically Faultless
By Anthea Matley, Castlemaine, Australia, September 21, 2011

I have just returned from a three week trip to the United States travelling from LA to Boston, Williamsburg, Washington, New York, Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Black Hills. All over the place with this one bag (and I'm female!). It worked a treat. I only took two pairs of shoes though as they are the one thing that becomes too bulky for the bag. Apart from its practicality, it's a very stylish piece of equipment.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.