Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Trip Reports  > Surfing with Jim in Panama Part 1  > Roadster-Mini-Ruck-Rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I come with everything except a ripcord.”
Red Oxx Roadster Mini Paratrooper Rucksack in Safari 2-tone. Choose from 12 colors.

Roadster Mini Ruck Rucksack $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Small is Big! Small is beautiful.

Mini on the outside, wide open on the inside.

The Roadster Mini Rucksack is the scaled-down version of the classic Airborne Military Style Rucksack (like our C-Ruck). All the same great features, only smaller (narrower). Load up the Mini Ruck Rucksack for a day of shopping in Europe or hiking on the trail in Oregon.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
You want pockets? The Roadster has handy exterior zippered raised pockets (6"W x 7"H x 2"D on the front and 12"H x 6"W x 2"D on each side) to give you plenty of room and keep your belongings organized.

In the spacious main compartment you could pack your plentiful picnic, the raised side pockets holding your wine or spirits and glasses and the front pocket your cheese, appetizers or dessert and the top flap pocket your silverware. Attach your blanket with the buckled loop compression straps on the bottom.

WHAT ABOUT MY COMPUTER?
This durable Cordura Nylon Rucksack has an interior slip pocket that holds your Notebook laptop safe against the thick interior Volara back padding. After a great day at the market, tighten down the second drawstring at the top of the rucksack (10" x 6" x 4") and safely tote all your goodies home.

WHY THE BIG STRAP O-RINGS?
The Mini features upgraded durable Synergy Performer Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carrying comfort. Using articulating straps makes it easier to put on, and take off, your Mini Rucksack. Then you can easily cinch down the straps using the tough Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware.

Heavy-duty compression straps on bottom of the Mini Rucksack store your jacket, blanket or bedroll out of the way. When a full-sized Military style Rucksack is too big, or if you are lean in frame and build try the Red Oxx Roadster Mini Rucksack.

A MINI RUCKSACK BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around rucksacks that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a rucksack, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the ruck.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive rucksacks that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the shoulder straps attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport, hiking a trail or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your rucksack break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Roadster Mini Rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 6"H.
Capacity: 1,020 cubic inches (1,896 cu. Inches with exterior pockets).
Weight: 3.35 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior zippered side pockets: 12"H x 6"W x 2"D
  • Twin exterior zippered side flat pockets: 6"W x 7"T
  • Front exterior zippered pocket: 7"T x 6"W x 2"D
  • Top zippered flap pocket: 9"W x 9"H
  • Interior laptop slip pocket: 9.5"W x 13"D

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Roadster Mini Ruck.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Mini Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Ruck Sack is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack.

Write a Review

4.59 Average Rating
 (49 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Mini Ruck Meets Bag Junkie
By Lisa, Venice CA, October 30, 2008

I really love well-made travel bags and am always looking for the perfect bag (I have a small collection of Filson that I adore). I got the Mini Ruck because I live in a neighborhood where I can walk to just about anything I need, and I much prefer walking over driving. But coming back blocks or even miles with a heavy load of groceries/library books/whatever wasn't much fun. The Mini is a really nice bag to carry, comfortable, insanely sturdy and good-looking to boot. It makes a great weekend bag and can fit a backpack, a hardback and a change of clothes. I can't wait to take it on a trip (I travel to Asia a lot) - it looks like the perfect size for an all-day expedition.Now I'm trying to figure out if it would combine well with a Skytrain or if juggling two sets of backpack straps would be too awkward.And that C-Ruck tempts me too...
 
 Excellent pack!
By David Eichler, Lawrence, KS, June 25, 2008

This pack, while expensive, is the last backpack of its size I'll need to buy. Having purchased several other packs over the last few decades, it would have been a better investment to initially get a Red Oxx. I recently got this pack, as I was needing a pack to supply a day's worth of snacks, drinks, diapers, change of clothes (for two young children), and toys to our family as we spent time on vacation hiking in upstate New York. This bag is the perfect size, held everything we needed, and was always amazingly comfortable. The only addition I wish it had was a sternum strap. Aside from that, it has served me and my family perfectly. As mentioned in other reviews, it is built with such attention to detail and with such high-quality materials I seriously doubt I'll ever need it serviced. Next month we get to try it in the Rockies.
 
 Great size
By MM, Washington, DC, June 13, 2008

I think this is an ideally-sized pack. I was worried this bag would be either too big or too small, but it's just right. I'm not a big person (about 5'11" 150-160 lbs. but in good shape), so I didn't want a huge pack that would befit a lumberjack. Alternatively, something too small designed for people who can't carry much would be useless as well. You can fit a solid amount in there and, if you're smart about it, it's not that heavy thanks to the well designed (and very comfortable) straps.It's large enough to use as a travel pack (use it myself for international travel and as a carry-on), but small enough so you can put a couple things inside it and use it as a day pack.My only downside is the price - $225 is a lot for a backpack, which had me debating between 4 and 5 stars. I went with 5 because even though the price is steep, you'd be hard pressed to find a bag so well made anywhere, and the warranty backs it up. It's definitely an investment.
 
 The collection starts here!
By wiblick, Aoife O Connor, Dublin, Ireland, February 6, 2008

I wanted the C-ruck, but made myself buy the smaller mini as I am only 5ft 2 and was replacing a lowe alpine megabyte which are no longer manufactured. Glad I did, spacious and capacious describe the mini! It is perhaps a little large for my every day use (good excuse to buy the Rock Hopper!). I do like a big bag and usually use my every day bag for everything from hauling the messages (groceries) to bringing all my college books in and out of work. The olive green is a fabulous colour (I'm trying to wean myself off black bags). My BF put the bag through it's paces when I got it home, pulling and tugging at straps and zips and was very impressed. I kept saying "but it's my bag"... but he says he's the one who'll end up carrying it when it's heavy... Love it, love the sturdiness of it and the 'weight' when empty. The straps are really comfortable. Other people need badges that say "my other bag is a redoxx"
 
 Serious Hardware
By JM, Los Angeles, February 2, 2008

I spent over a month trying to find a replacement for my 15-year old black leather rucksack, which was falling apart. Couldn't find anything close. Everything looked cheap or like it was from the 18th century. So that was my choice... Go with a cheap/ugly leather rucksack or this one, which isn't leather but features some serious hardware. Kind of an apples and oranges decision. This one is a bit larger than I would like (I may also buy the Rock Hopper) but there is nothing that comes close to it in terms of build quality. It's the epitome of construction for the style of rucksack it is. One more thing- make sure you check out the dimensions. I originally ordered the C-Ruck and was surprised at how huge it was. It seems like most people would prefer the size of the Mini. It's roughly the same size as a large student backpack. Perfect size for a day hike in Yosemite.
 
 Now all I need is a BMW Mini!
By Anonymous, , October 11, 2007

I waited a long time to buy this Ruck because $225.00 seemed like a lot to shell out for a backpack of all things. I read every review online that was available to read; I went thru all the adventure journals (and quite apart from the review value, the journals are great travel stories); and I emailed Amanda several times. I am a small made person and was really hesitant because most packs don't fit me right. Anyway, I finally got it and it is awesome! It fits really well, and the shoulder straps hang well. I like the fact that the bag has nothing in it that is not there for a reason or a purpose--every stitch is thought out; every pocket measured. I am really glad I got the MINI cos even that holds a ton--in fact, far more than even the website leads you to believe! It holds more than the Mountainsmith Bugaboo, which is much larger. The outside pockets are fab! Great product; and fab customer service.Shiva
 
 Ruck Sack Roughs It
By Howard Gray, , August 9, 2007

I've had so many backpacks I can't even count them all. Zippers rip or jam, shoulder straps fall off, interior pockets rip holes. That was then, this is now. The Roadster Mini Ruck is the toughest back pack I've ever encountered. The first time I used it I was stranded in Billings, Montana after visiting the Red Oxx Store when my car broke down on the way home to Bozeman. I had to huff it around town with all my stuff in it. It kept my juice cool and my belongings secure. I LOVE the huge zippers, the "monkey's fist" and the shoulder straps are surprisingly comfortable. I recommend Red Oxx gear to anyone who likes or has, to travel. Even if it's just across town. Worth every penny, and then some. I'm saving for their other cool stuff like a cell phone holster, rifle case, Gator bag. Maybe when I'm ready for longer journeys, an Air Boss or Beano.
 
 This makes my travel package perfect
By Richard Hahn, , December 13, 2006

I ran into a problem on one flight with my C-Ruck and Air Boss. A zealous agent informed me that I'd have to check one or the other. My reply can't be printed but I've solved the problem. The Mini Ruck is, just as the ad states, the C-Ruck trimmed down. The Air Boss still fits perfectly in the overhead (I don't cram it full like the thousands of passengers who try to stuff those overpacked wheelie bags) even though I've had to shift it to accomodate those who can't comply with the regs. The Mini Ruck fits very comfortably under the seat in front of me even with my MacBook and Camcorder inside. As with all the Red Oxx products I own, the construction is perfect. I can't imagine how anything could be more durable and made with stronger and better materials. Oh, I forgot, it was made by Riggers. "All The Way," applies to everything made by Jim and his company.
 
 Mini Ruck is a Great Diaper Bag
By Anonymous, , December 1, 2006

My wife and I recently had our first child (a boy) and I didn't like the traditional diaper bags for carrying the essential items that are required for a baby. So I search for a suitable alternative. I checked online and local stores but it wasn't until I found RedOxx that I found what I was looking for. The Mini Ruck was exactly what I wanted. We are now able to pack all we need into one bag plus have extra space for other items. Either it be for travel or just shopping at the local mall, the Mini Ruck allows for hands free use and ease of carrying all those necessary items and still be able to carry the baby in our arms or in his stroller. Thank you,Greg Franks
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

Mini Ruck Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Monkey Fist Zip knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Synergy Performer Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Capacity up to 1,896 cu. inches
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 6"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 6"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 7"L x 6"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 43.2cm L x 25.4cm W x 15.2cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,896 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 31 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.52 Kilos

Roadster Mini Ruck Sack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Black
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between Roadster Mini Rucksack, K-12 Kat Pack Backpack, and the Airborne C Ruck?
The Roadster Mini Rucksack is the little brother to the Airborne C Ruck. It's two inches narrower and one inch shorter. These smaller dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab for further dimension details. The K-12 is a rectangular style school backpack that zips open down the top and sides.
 
Will the Roadster meet personal item carry-on standards?
Certainly, the Mini Ruck will easily fit into any overhead bin and even under a few airline seats.
 
What's the best way to pack the Roadster?
Since Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets and rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
 
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Roadster Rucksack?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Roadster. We'd estimate two to three days.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop or tablet with up to a 15" diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
 
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
 
Does the Mini Rucksack have a belly strap?
Because the Roadster does not have a bulky built-in frame, a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of the rucksack.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.