Skip Navigation LinksSky-Train

VIEW 360º

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Carry-on! On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a convertible hybrid backpack and carry-on travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for late or lost luggage--it's with you all the way. A bag built for mobility. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Doug called it the "quintessential dual-purpose bag". Think flexible-- this mobile carry-on bag can be carried five different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle on the side.
2. Vertically using the Euro handle on the top of the bag.
3. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
4. Cross body, carried like a messenger bag, again using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
5. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

The grab loop Euro handles on the sides also help stowing the bag in the overhead bin. Fits continental airline luggage boarding size restriction box. Includes an adjustable sternum chest strap.

The Sky Train Carry-on features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") and is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag. Or watch the packing video in the videos tab where professional travel guide Kasey Austin of Austin Adventures demonstrates some of her awesome packing tips. Don't like bundle wrapping? Build you own custom Red Oxx Packing Cubes Kit. Our made in Montana cubes are designed to work in conjunction with the Sky Train. Ladies, check out the Meerkat Packing Tube, a tube cube sized just right for hair care products.


Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for all the world to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Traveling with a Sky Train Convertible Backpack bag, you'll know it won't bust apart and break you down.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 38 Liters
Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Our bags will fit! In stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Sky Train is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


Write a Review

4.81 Average Rating
 (252 Reviews)

... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
 First Impressions
By Brix, Nomadic, February 28, 2010

Much heavier than i thought it would be, and after seeing other bags torn on latches and other hardware, it was a pleasant note. I have used it once so far, and have not figured how i will configure my gear in it, The Bag is part of a three bag system that will be used every day, i live on the road all year. My luggage is my home. I plan on taking it to India, and found it will handily carry my 17 inch snake boots in it without distortion. My computer fits in the top compartment, with accessories, and for dashing through airports the back straps are fine. THANK YOU for not putting sternum straps or a waist strap on it. If I want those I can buy some after market ones and modify it myself. It shows you really have thought about what is necessary and what is not. Someone mentioned a key strap would be nice, I just took the dog tag that came with the bag and threaded it through the zipper pull on the little inner pouch.
 favorite bag
By Rick Sheets, , February 17, 2010

Sorry for delaying my review, I've been traveling with my new favorite bag.

I love the ruggedness of my Sky Train. It takes what I give it and asks for more. I feel, however, there are two areas that could use some improvement.

First, the compression straps are generous in length but seem too far apart. When I use bundle-packing, the bundle isn't long enough to be secured by both straps. I have to compromise and place the bundle in the middle, leaving space at the top and bottom of the bag. Perhaps three

evenly-space straps would provide more flexibility. Maybe changing the buckle design to allow for crossing of the straps if needed. I can avoid the issue with Packing Folders, which fit quite snugly between the straps, but I like options.

Inclusion of backpack straps is the main reason I chose the Sky Train over the Air Boss. Whether hoofing from Concourse A to Terminal Z or

hiking 12 blocks to the train station, they are a God-send. Unlike others, I find neither the strap size nor lack of sternum strap a hindrance. But when the bag is fully packed, deploying and stowing the straps can be frustrating. I think a three-side zippered flap, like the main compartments, would allow for easier and quicker conversions. The straps would pull through reinforced slots above the zipper.

Thank you for enduring my mad alchemy. Keep up the good work.


Rick Sheets
 Perfect one-bag solution
By Dan, Medford, MA, February 11, 2010

This bag met all my criteria -- slightly smaller than the max carryon size for overseas airlines, durable, not black, and wheel-less -- and delivered in spades. I got the khaki color, which seems to hide any dirt; it's somewhat darker than the photo. The "bundle" packing strategy works great here, too.
 sky train-almost perfect
By mitch wolf, san diego, ca , January 30, 2010

Let me state that I truly despise having to check luggage. That being said, I believe you are doing yourselves a great disservice by promoting the Sky Train as a "geared to women" alternative to the Air Boss. I have traveled extensively and was in the market for a "carry-on" bag (w/backpack straps!) for an upcoming trip to SE Asia/Indonesia. I purchased your product, took a quick trip to the Caribbean, and found it to be more than adequate and a truly ideal way to pack comfortably and avoid having to check any luggage (my #1 goal.) I put a smaller nylon backpack inside for day trips to some other islands and left the "Sky Train" back in my room. Perfect. My only suggestions would be the incorporation of a chest strap (sliding, like on Patagonia's MLC) which does an amazing job of distributing the stress of the pack weight. Putting a key clip inside the bag so at the outset of your trip you can secure your keys with confidence. And most importantly, to me anyway, add a couple low profile loops to permit strapping something additional to the top of the bag while in 'backpack mode' (ie: a tent, a bag with wet clothes etc.) Otherwise, I am truly pleased with my purchase and would not hesitate to recommend your products to all. Thanks so much. Stay well and travel.
 The Best Travel Bag!
By Bob Landis, Roswell, GA, January 7, 2010

I purchased an Air Boss almost 4 years ago to replace a Swiss Army roll aboard bag that was stolen from a rental car. I read the review on and it made total sense to me. Many of my business colleagues are still wedded to their roll aboards and their extra weight and they question why I chose this type of bag for business travel because it is so atypical of road warriors. This bag has traveled more than 350,000 air miles since I bought it and it has far exceeded my expectations. There is no problem fitting in almost any overhead luggage compartment.

This year, as my Christmas present to myself, I went for the Sky Train which I have been eyeing for some time. I like the idea of a back pack style suit case that has been designed to meet my needs. What I needed was a bag that was portable and perfect for overnight or two day trips. I feel totally free when using this bag because both your arms are free to drink coffee or read the newspaper and it has even improved my posture because most roll aboard bags are awkward to pull and strain your back. I have given up carrying a computer bag in addition to my luggage and simply consolidated in just this bag. The quality is top shelf and worth every penny. I travel every week and Red Oxx is my total travel solution. I am a repeat customer and look forward to an opportunity to visit the retail store in Montana. You simply cannot find a bag of this quality and of such user friendly design in any store. It truly has been a one bag solution for me.

I still have my Air Boss for longer trips and after 4 years it is still in great condition despite heavy use. That is a testament to the quality materials that were used for its construction.

These products are awesome and should be seriously considered if you want the best! It is not surprising at all that the reviews on this site are all rave reviews for this product.
 Very pleased
By Sean Graham, Watertown, MA, December 31, 2009

I have to admit I was rather nervous spending so much money on a bag I had never even seen, but my fears were completely unfounded. Having used the Sky Train for our epic holiday travels, it really ended up being a perfect bag for me.

The main compartment with compression straps was big enough for 5 days worth of t-shirts, underwear, and socks as well as a pair of slacks and pajama pants. And even with all of that, the secondary compartment was still plenty big enough for my 15" MacBook Pro and a textbook. I truly understand how traveling with one bag is not only possible, but pleasant.

Navigating train platforms and airports was a breeze with the shoulder straps. I have always had a bag with wheels, so this was another point of concern for me, but I don't miss the wheels at all.
 Superior in all aspects
By Robyn Johnson, Qld, Australia, December 27, 2009

After travelling for 6 weeks to UK, Czech Republic, a 2 week transatlantic cruise and finally 9 days in New York the sky train along with the air boss and the gator met all our expectations after reading previous customer reviews prior to purchasing. In particular the gator was used as my sole handbag - a godsend in UK + New York as I was easlily able to carry 2 fold up umbrellas, scarves, gloves, ear muffs as well as camera and wallet etc. The space available in both the sky train and the air boss seems limitless. I was always able to pack that extra piece of clothing or any item. My congratulations and thanks go to the team at Red Oxx for the quality of your products and the service provided througout the ordering and delivery. A very satisfied and gratelful customer - Robyn Johnson.
 SkyTrain - Good Alternative to a STD Rollaboard
By Dave, Arlington VA, December 17, 2009

I used the SkyTrain / Gator for a 6-day trip to Europe last month. Both worked, well, and the Safari olive/khaki color combo is great, if not a bit distracting...(some travelers complimenting me on the 2 bags figured I was in the Army while in reality I'm a Navy officer).

Anyway, RedOxx products are a nice complement to, but don't necessarily replace my Tumi gear. The SkyTrain/Gator combo is perfect for traveling if going light, w/o a laptop but with other connectivity like a Ipaq and a mobile phone.

The SkyTrain has considerably more capacity than a Tumi 22" rollaboard suiter. And since you start with an empty bag that's about 5# lighter, a shoulder-strap or backpack carry is a big deal.

The SkyTrain, used alone would be fine for a short trip, by air or otherwise. It can be "overpacked" and still work pretty well if you are using something like the EC cubes. An overpacked SkyTrain will still fit easily in any a/c overhead. It will go under a seat if not overpacked.

Here's what my SkyTrain held: Trifold toilet kit/running shoes/EC cube with shorts and 1 ea. UnderArmour SS and LS tees, swim goggles & heart monitor/ EC cube with 2 prs extra socks and underwear/ 2 v-neck merino sweaters/2 ls buttondown cotton shirts, a pair of khakis/2 ls cotton tees/a pair of 5.11 tac shorts/ball cap/pair of jeans/gore tex windbreaker/a catch-all EC cube with vitamins, 6 Clif Bars, a small microfiber towel, a bar of soap/ another small EC cube with gloves, watch cap and sunglasses/a ls wool Pendleton Board Shirt. My 1q liquid/gel bag easily slipped into the top section of the main section, so when it was standing upright at security, all I had to do was unzip and stuff the 1q into the TSA/EU tray with my shoes and jacket and I was good to go. Two more comments

(1) It may be better to use an AirBoss if you may be overpacking. The lateral strapping that leads to the grips may help to compress the bag. The SkyTrain will bulge out a bit more when carrying it with either grip. Not a big deal unless you are standby on an overbooked leg and an aggressive flight attendant is convinced it won't go under your seat.

(2) A SkyTrain or a backpack bag isn't really a "requirement" in Europe vis-a-vis a wheeled bag. Every trip I've had on DB and ICE trains for the last 10 years, it was the LOCALS who had the huge rollaboard bags. The SkyTrain fits in the DB overheads, but there is always room for big bags on the floor behind main seats. That said, my SkyTrain made the city hiking around in Munich, Heidelburg, and Frankfurt a lot easier since I didn't have to be concerned with curbs. And in Frankfurt it was a lot easier to hop on the trams (streetcars) with a SkyTrain than a rollaboard.

----------Red Oxx replies: thanks so much for the tips. Have you tried a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Comes in 12 vibrant colors to mix and match. Your Sky Train will thank you.
 Dual life - dual bags?
By Jeff, Albuquerque, NM, December 10, 2009

The Sky Trains are great in most respects. (We bought 2 for my wife and me for a recent trip to Guatemala.) We learned of you on and your bags are in fact of superior construction and design. They served the purpose well of a one-bag carry-on and I'll definitely use it in the future. The Sky Train is advertised as a "ladys bag" but I'm a pretty fit guy and just didn't like lugging a bag on my shoulder. I used the backpack straps a lot. A hardside roller bag is still handy in my opinion unless one is truly going to a very rustic setting. The international concourse and customs in Guat City got mighty long. I do a lot of business traveling in the states and didn't find baggage toting that different in Guatemala. On the other hand, when my bag ended up in a real rustic situation (bed of truck in a rainstorm) my contents were soaked. Bottom line: the Sky Train would fill a niche for some travel for me but I can't see using it exclusively.
 SkyTrain review
By Gabriele, SF East Bay, December 6, 2009

I found out about this company through and bought 2 SkyTrains, because we wanted to avoid checking baggage.

We first used our bags for a one-week trip to New York. Initially, we were surprised to actually be able to fit a week's worth of clothing, plus an extra pair of shoes, in this bag. There was actually room to spare! We were even able to fit in a few souvenirs (mugs, T-Shirts) without a problem. And it still could have been stuffed a bit more!

We are very pleased with these bags. Not only do they save you time when flying, but the quality is superb, and I love the flexibility of carrying it either vertically, horizontally, or - most importantly! - as a backpack! It makes getting around so much easier! It's a great product!
 Delivered overseas in 82 hours!
By Glyn & Karen Gardner, Wollongong, Australia. , December 5, 2009

Dear Red Oxx Team,

Our sincere thanks for the most amazing service in getting our order of two 'Sky Train' bags, two additional Claw Shoulder Straps and assorted cable locks and Monkey Fist Zip Knots to us within 82 hours of dispatch from youar warehouse to Wollongong, 50 miles south of Sydney, Australia. Your original emailed dispatch advice indicated that the order should arrive within 10 days, so we were amazed when the courier arrived at our door early on the Tuesday morning after we had ordered them on-line on the previous Friday evening our time (Friday. 05.50am your time) - no more than 82 hours! That's incredible! Congratulations - that has to be the best service we've ever experienced!


Now to your products. We have looked at so many 'carry-on' bags for air flights and after long consideration ordered two 'Sky Trains'. I have already used mine on a four day business trip to Sydney, by train, not plane, and am delighted with the bag. It held many more clothes than I could possibly have expected, given it's compact size. During the course of the week I accumulated a lot of paperwork which, to my amazement, I was a able to stuff into my 'Sky Train' without any problem. In fact there was still room for more if I'd needed it.


The 'Sky Train' is certainly durable with very sturdy zips, whilst being easy to carry with the various straps/handles and its compact size.


My wife and I are delighted with our 'Sky Train' bags and accessories, and are sure that we made the right choice with your products. We will be putting them to good use during a three week visit to Europe at Christmas.


Thank you again for your exemplary service. We shall be passing on the good word to fellow travellers who are looking for the best possible product.
 Travel Simplified
By ES, Phoenix, AZ, December 4, 2009

I traveled for years with a cheap (but long-lived) convertible bag called a Eurotote. After wheeled bags became ubiquitous, I broke down and bought a Travelpro. That bag has its uses, but I went back to the cheap convertible so I could stuff into tight bin spaces or under the seat, and to wear it backpack style through the Paris metro.

After a flurry of trips I started to cast about for a better bag. I ordered both the Sky Train (ST) and Tom Bihn's Aeronaut so I could compare them side-by- side. Both are well-made, and I would no doubt have been happy with the Aeronaut. But the Sky Train was a better choice for my packing style (I "bundle wrap" my clothes, and the large open compartment with compression straps in the ST made this easier); and I liked the design and colors of the ST better.

I've now used the Sky Train on many short trips and one longer one, and it's fabulous, light but sturdy, easy to pack, easy to carry, and easy to find things in on the fly. The plastic handles (on the end and top of the bag) are incredibly comfortable--a big surprise--and I think add an edgy quality to the design. The zippers are first-rate and open easily (the promo video suggest that they take some "engagement" to move); and the "monkey fist" knot on the zippers makes them easy to find quickly.

I've always been able to slide the bag into overhead bins, even on ERJ-145's (with a slight push), or under the seat.

For heavier loads, I carry the Sky Train with Tom Bihn's Absolute strap for its springiness; but for lighter loads I prefer the Reddox claw strap for its slip resistance. Both are great at what they do; what's needed is a hybrid which is good at both.

I've noticed that the backpack straps can easily fold over on themselves (creating extra bulk) if you aren't careful stowing them in their zippered compartment.

The Sky Train is overall a great bag: simple timeless design, sturdy construction, and beautifully functional. It might just be the last one I ever buy (sorry Red Oxx, but I will put in a good word for anyone who asks).

 Great Purchase
By Bruce, New Zealand, December 3, 2009

This was a great purchase!

It arrived within 10 days of purchase.

It has been of great use as I have traveled from one side of the world to the other.

Very easy to carry and stores everything I need.
 Awesome Bag
By James C, Houston, Texas, October 27, 2009

I started flying a lot recently, and decided to get a good bag. I picked the Sky Train after a lot of research, and I couldn't be happier.

It works great on airplanes, especially the little ones. Never even been glanced at for gate check. The backpack mode is invaluable for long hikes between terminals, especially when connecting time is short. (It's not for hiking, but it is a great alternate way to carry the bag.)

It's also good for road trips and all other various sorts of travel due to the storage options. And man, does it hold a lot! I once packed several days worth of autumn clothes and a rather large wedding dress. The built-in compression straps really helped with that.

The extra strapped compartment of the Air Boss seems nice (though I've not tried it), especially since it provides the middle compartment for a computer, but the backpack mode on the Air Train is invaluable.

Do be aware that the bright colors (I got the yellow) will tend to get scuffed a bit with travel. But it's worth it to stand out in a sea of black luggage.
 Congratulations Red Oxx
By Robyn Johnson, Qld, Australia, October 7, 2009

Thank you Amanda and the team at Red Oxx. The Sky Train arrived on my doorstep today after placing the order just over a week ago. Already I have ordered the Gator and Air Boss. The quality of this bag is exceptional, will definitely provide feedback so that future customers will have the same benefits that I gained from reading all past reviews. Once again thank you Red Oxx :-)
By Michael, Grand Haven, MI, July 14, 2009

Wow, where to start. I just retunred from two weeks in Australia...and I did it with this bag alone. With a little planning, this is all you need. The internal straps make all the difference. From Sydney to Lightning Ridge this bag was tossed and stuffed, beaten and rained on...and came home like new. The only challenge was I had to buy a duffle "down under" to bring home gifts...small worry.Off to New York next week and Germany in three weeks, and this will handle it.Due solely to the performance of this bag, I just ordered the Metro briefcase.Thanks Red Oxx!
By Kim, NC, July 8, 2009

I received the Sky Train exactly on time and couldn't wait to tear into the box! I ordered Amethyst and it is a beautiful deep purple. I cannot believe how well constructed this bag is. Quality construction all the way. Plan to use on upcoming 10 day trip to Europe. I had mine monogrammed and the person who did it even told me it was the nicest luggage they had ever seen. I also got the CPA Briefcase to use in conjunction with the Sky Train. I can't wait to use them both. LOVE REDOXX!!!
 Love it!
By Sunny, Yukon, Canada, June 23, 2009

I love this bag! My first use was a weekend trip at Easter, and it easily took my extra winter clothing for skiing. For my next trip the bag held everything I needed to last me 2 weeks, and I knew that if I was gone longer it would work for that too. I've had the bag in my tent for a two night trip with my son's Cub Scout troup, and it held my personal stuff plus my camping dishes and the supplies for a group activity. Most recently it came with me for a two night trip for a bike relay race. It held everything I needed - including my spare tools, bike helmet etc. - everything except my bike! It was like Mary Poppins' bag - everything was there to make the trip a success.I am really pleased with how the two main zippers open all the way around so it is easy to get into the bag from any direction. On the plane I had my book and headset packed near the top end and positioned the zippers there, so that when the bag was under the seat I could get the stuff out without any fuss.I've gotten several compliments on how the bag looks. I do like the backpack straps and was very pleased to use them going through a busy airport. It was wonderful not to have to check it! I would have liked to have been able to cinch the straps just a bit shorter to fit on my back better, however at that time the bag was very loaded. For most of the trips, I have used the grab handles or the shoulder strap.I bought the Sky Train on the recommendation from I was apprehensive because I knew that a duffel bag wasn't my style, and I wondered if having two compartments was really the answer. The simple design overall is what makes it work, and I am looking forward to many more trips!
 Three weeks in Thailand
By Crystal Eakle, Beaufort South Carolina, June 18, 2009

I bought a skytrain and a gator bag for my husband and a skytrain and a gator bag for myself to travel to Thailand for 3 weeks. My husband wasn't convinced that all of our things would fit in the bags when they arrived but we packed them using the bundle method and our things not only fit but arrived in Thailand with us (carryon) with our clothes looking great with very little wrinkles. I told my dad about the bags and he ordered a skytrain and a gator bag for the upcoming family vacation. All three of us did carryon with the bags for 2 weeks traveling to Orlando, LA, and then cruising for a week. The bags fit in the overhead storage on planes and the gator goes under the seat. I can't say enough nice things about the bags. Great quality, stylish, and best of all - really roomy inside. Thanks for such great bags. I'll never check a bag again thanks to Red Oxx.
By Jon, Alabama, June 15, 2009

OMG!!!!! I was unaware that a simple design could hold so much! As a frequent over nighter, I pack a days worth of things into my Syktrain and if I wanted to bring the kitchen sink, there's room for that as well. The ONLY downside to this bag is that if you're not careful, you'll have packed everything you own in it and not realize it until you lift it. Great Bag...
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable "hidden" backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack strap swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable sternum chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: Proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal on continental flights.
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend using our Packing Cubes. They're designed to work with the dimensions of the Sky Train. You can build your own personal custom packing cube kit. Not into cubes? Try the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has two packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap. The Sky Train was also developed with smaller stature travelers in mind.
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Sky Train under the seat is not recommended.

Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
Why bother with cheap imported packing cubes when you can build your own Red Oxx Packing Cubes Custom Kit designed to work in conjunction with your Sky Trian. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit or makeup organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.

How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag. Or try a Nomad or Meerkat Packing Tube.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Why doesn't the Sky Train come with a waist strap?
The bag was not designed to operate with a waist strap. However, you can use a pair of Luggage Compression Straps to cinch down the bag from the outside. Wrap one straps around the top, about 4-6 inches down, and the second strap further down, about 4-6 inches from the bottom. The top strap, if cinched tighter than the bottom strap, will pull the pack closer to your upper body, relieving excessive weight from the pack on your hips. Another option is to take a belt, any belt will do, and thread it through the holes in the smuggler's pocket at the base of the bag where the backpack straps attach to the bag. While not a very comfortable way to travel, using a belt this way can also relieve some weight off the hips. The best solution however, is to focus on traveling light and not over pack your Sky Train. Use the internal cinch straps to hold your belongings in place and minimize wrinkles.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top