Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Briefcases & Garment Bags  > metro-briefcase

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I outlast PCs 100 to one.”
Red Oxx Metro Nylon Computer Briefcase - shown in Black. Choose from 12 colors.

Metro Briefcase $165.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Adventure Worthy!
Bring your business along with you.

Carry your laptop, portfolio... you name it.

The Red Oxx Metro Laptop Briefcase, a business briefcase with the heart of a rugged adventurer. This rugged CORDURA® nylon padded briefcase can take a beating and still look great at your next meeting.

DESIGNED TO PROTECT.
Volara closed cell foam padding on front, bottom, and back, keeps it standing tall while protecting your belongings. Our Metro Briefcase features internal mesh file dividers on the front and back sides inside the bag. On one side the divider is sewn down to the bottom to keep your files, brochures or magazines in place, while the other side is left open at the bottom so you can secure your laptop notebook out of the way using the Fastex snap buckle. The dividers have eight pockets total for CDs, a smart phone, and slots for up to five pens, pencils or pointing devices. Each inside mesh flap uses Fastex snap buckles at the top to hold everything in place.

PLENTY OF POCKETS.
There are six pockets on the exterior of the bag, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap' closures. These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a flat slip pocket for papers, boarding passes, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for documents or magazines. Also, there are dual water bottle pockets on each end to keep you hydrated during your journey. Confidently carry the Metro using our nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.

A BRIEFCASE BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around a briefcase that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a breifcase, the Metro is built tough. Starting with one of the most durable textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the briefcase, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside like with the Metro pockets.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors briefcases that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the case, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious documents or electronics all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your briefcase break down?

ANY OTHER RED OXX BRIEFCASE OPTIONS?
If all this makes the Metro sound too big, try our Chica Tablet Bag. Too small? Move up to the Metro's big brother, the CPA Briefcase, which is twice as wide.

JUST HOW GOOD IS OUR WARRANTY?
Check out this tale of a Metro Briefcase that traveled a million miles.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Metro Briefcase on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

The Red Oxx Metro Laptop Briefcase, a business briefcase with the heart of a rugged Adventurer.

Dimensions: 17"L x 3.5"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 654 cubic Inches.
Weight: 3.15 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • Five interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 3.5"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Metro Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

Write a Review

4.74 Average Rating
 (82 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 The previous reviews are all correct
By Dean, , September 13, 2012

There isn't much that I can say about the Metro that hasn't already been said; it is, without exaggeration, an ideal briefcase.

It is roomy without wasting space or being bulky. The internal compartmentalization is highly functional without being fussy or overloaded with zippers, Velcro and things that just get in the way.

The only change I could suggest for the Metro would be to change the clips that hold the internal pockets closed to a lighter colour (yellow would be my choice) to make it easier to see them in low light. This is such a minor nitpick that I hesitated to even mention it here.

If you want a well-thought out, superbly constructed briefcase bag, buy this one. Trust the previous reviewers, you will not be disappointed.

 
 Another Great Bag
By Maggie J, PA, September 5, 2012

This is my 3rd Red Oxx bag. Love it, same as the others. I am now looking at getting one of the larger Carry On Bags, perhaps the Air Boss or Sun Chaser.

I am sure either one would be just as excellent as the bags I currently have!
 
 Good case
By RKC, Tucson, August 16, 2012

It is a good case I just wish it had more padding for my laptop.
 
 Exactly what I need
By Eric Adams, Austin, TX, August 2, 2012

As a software engineer, I bought this bag to haul a 17 inch laptop around. It goes with me to work, coffee shops, and the occasional flight. For my purposes, I believe it's better to own a well constructed nylon bag than a low-end, poorly constructed leather bag at the same price point.

The good: This is a very rugged bag with amazing attention to detail. Not only are top notch materials used in the construction, the expert pattern cutting and sewing really makes for a great finished product. As an added bonus, I like that this bag is unassuming - I think a good thief would nab someones Italian leather bag before going after mine, which makes me feel a little better at airports and coffee shops. The red lining is an unexpectedly useful feature. I never lose anything in this bag.

The bad: Because of the zipper-top construction, it was necessary for the engineers at Red Oxx to put a handle that needs to be snapped to be carried properly. Also, with regards to color, I would have preferred black but didn't want such a high-contrast logo. In the "midnight" color, with a much more subtle logo, the bag is still conservative enough for the workplace.

Summary: Because I read the product description and plenty of reviews, I knew what I was getting into with this bag, and I'm happy I bought it. If I end up travelling for work or go on site with clients regularly, I'll probably end up looking for a second, more conservative "show bag." I'll still keep this is my primary. I also like the warm fuzzy feeling of buying products produced in my home country with fair wages and good working conditions.
 
 Perfect!
By Pete C., NYC, July 26, 2012

I purchased the metro briefcase after a very satisfied purchase of the Sky Train which I used on a 3 week Europe Trip.

I am in sales in NYC and move around alot, in and out of taxis and subways and the Metro Briefcase is easily perfect! It is lightweight, the compartments are well thought out for easy access and the bag itself like all Red Oxx products is extremely durable and reliable.

I purchase all black so its looks more professional, I also ordered a Red Oxx garment bag and extra small Aviator bag. No matter what my day brings in the city I am prepared, with the three pieces I can bring workout clothes, or enough for a quick over night business trip.

Every product Red Oxx makes is 5 stars!
 
 A great daily work and business travel bag
By Dave Brown, Ottawa, ON, Canada, May 25, 2012

In my opinion the Metro is the best looking functional bag out there. As a military officer, I am most concerned with the durability and functionality of my gear than the aesthetics. As with the other RO gear I own, this Metro is extremely well made and the design just makes sense. The Metro also looks great (as compared to a something like a flight bag). I can easily use this bag when I am wearing either my combat or dress uniform.

As previous owners have commented, this bag can carry much more than you would expect. I was considering purchasing the CPA but the Metro has lots of room for what I need. On a regular basis my Metro holds a MacBook Air, iPad, lots of work papers, notebooks, stationary, sunglasses w/ case, headphones, all the required cords/adaptors, and even a snack. I still have room left over.

The Metro is also the perfect partner to my Sky Train. Between the two bags, I now believe that I have the perfect business travel set-up. I never have to worry about checking my luggage while still keeping my clothes separated from my business gear.
 
 An excellent purchase
By Brad Bourne, Denver CO, April 21, 2012

I purchased this bag to replace a Red Oxx bag I bought 10-15 years ago (I still have both of my duffel bags). The Metro Briefcase is perfect for carrying my laptop, office files, tools and whatever else I put in it. Very sturdy and great looking. I grew up in Billings and am totally pleased to support a local firm. I have received compliments already and would recommend this product. The rubber shoulder strap is a big improvement. Thanks Red Oxx.
 
 Nice Case
By John Donohue, Hamden, CT, April 19, 2012

Nice case...well designed with the usual top quality material. Just the right size and it goes really nicely with my air boss.
 
 Metro Briefcase
By Anonymous, Boston, March 3, 2012

Beautifully made bag. Great size. Wonderful customer service. But bright red logo on both sides was the deal breaker. Would have absolutely considered keeping the bag with a more subtle logo option.
 
 Practical
By Pluto, Boulder, Co, February 18, 2012

A great bag, just the right size and certainly made to last a lifetime. The hardware is superb. The layout is practical, a good number of pockets and storage area without overkill. The stiff foam panels are a nice feature and give the bag more structure than competing products. My only dislike are the carry handles, I would rather have 2 padded ones as opposed to the two you need to snap together, it's not comfortable unless you take that extra step.
 
 Best bag I've ever owned
By Greg, Waltham, MA, February 17, 2012

I've looked for the perfect laptop bag for years. Typically, I would choose big bags thinking that I needed all the space - and then I would end up carrying more than I really needed. This bag is ideal. Not too big, so I'm forced to think about what to bring, yet big enough to hold everything I actually need and then some. Stylish without being fancy, rugged, well-designed, and versatile. I would only suggest two changes in a future model. One would be to include a pin mount key clip, or to build in a key clip. The other would be to replace one of the webbing dividers on the inside with a solid, less flexible divider; it would make it easier to slip the laptop in and out.
 
 At last...
By Bill Roach, Iowa, January 19, 2012

Finally, a brief case that can hold my laptop and books; close securely, and look good. Rugged look but not unbusinesslike. I am very happy.
 
 Just what I was looking for!
By Nelson, Tampa, FL, January 19, 2012

This bag holds my laptop, a leather portfolio, portable hard drive, charging cord, cables and a couple of files as well. Great padding, and love the fact that it stands up even when it's empty. I was looking for something more substantial than a sleeve that would protect my laptop - this is that bag. This is my 4th Red Oxx bag- Airboss, Sunchaser, Lil Roy and now the Metro. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with anything Red Oxx makes.
 
 Great bag, great company
By Paul L., Orange County, CA, January 4, 2012

Received my 1st Metro and carried it for a couple of weeks. I thought it was the way I was packing it but it tended to lean to one side and tip over at times. Then I realized that it did this even when empty. I contacted customer service, they immediately got back to me and had me ship the bag back. Within a week I had a new bag minus the leaning issue.

Like others have said this bag does hold quite a bit of stuff for its size. More importantly, it makes you think about packing lighter and more efficiently. It doesn't have a mess of flaps and pockets for things to get lost in, or for you to cram extras that you don't need.

Everyday I carry a 13" Macbook Air in a sleeve, an iPad 2, a Red Oxx Lil' Roy (love that little bag) full of cables, adapters and jump drives, and a slimline lunch container. I never have any problem making it all fit easily.

The claw strap is a huge bonus and it really does stay locked onto your shoulder comfortably. the bag carries very well on the shoulder, and it's plenty long enough (I'm 6'4").

My only small gripe is I don't like the carrying handles. I feel that they are just a bit too long and I don't like carrying the bag by hand. The way they snap together can be somewhat cumbersome at times. This is typically a non-issue since I almost always have it slung over my shoulder. I rarely even notice the handles.

I also have an Airboss and tried packing the metro in the center compartment. With some creative packing, it really did work. Very cool if you have to get down to one bag.

Red Oxx rules. I've become a big fan of the products and a bigger fan of their customer service.
 
 Even better than expected
By Josh, Garland, TX, November 4, 2011

The Air Boss I've had for the last couple of years set my expectations for the Metro: rugged, comfortable to carry, and a surprising amount of storage in all the right places. I'm pleased to say that the Metro exceeded those expectations. If anything, the Metro is even more rugged, even more comfortable to carry, and holds considerably more than you might guess by looking at it.

If you're reading these reviews and wondering whether the Metro is worth the money, my answer is an unqualified yes.
 
 Metro Breeze
By Consort, Cleveland, OH, October 25, 2011

Pressed this puppy into service on a business trip just hours after receiving it. Made the journey a breeze keeping all my essentials organized and accessible. Glad I learned about Red Oxx on Youtube !!
 
 Finally: The Right Combination
By Weylan Deaver, Texas, October 13, 2011

I've had a hard-shell briefcase, which you could not carry on your shoulder. And I've tried a messenger-style bag which had a shoulder strap, but which was so floppy as to be formless unless something was in it. I finally tried the Red Oxx Metro Briefcase and found perfection. It is soft-sided, but firm enough to stand up on its own--even empty. And it can be carried either by hand or on shoulder. The khaki and black pattern looks rugged and fits well with the antlers and bearskin rug in my office. I look forward to using this for years to come.
 
 What a great briefcase!
By Janet, WV, September 24, 2011

This is a wonderfully well made briefcase. The workmanship is excellent. High quality fabric and stitching. I have the dark blue. It gives some color without being unprofessional. There is plenty of room for the materials I carry without the bag being too big and heavy. The shoulder strap works great. I put it on my shoulder and it stays there! No sliding off whatsoever. This briefcase will give many years of use. Thanks RedOxx!!
 
 Solid, effective
By Thom, Melbourne, Australia, September 24, 2011

Good size, fits laptop & accessories, papers & books in an organized way. Obviously built to last. Only improvement would be if it opened a little wider to make it a bit easier to access the contents, but it's not too narrow as it is. The stainless hardware is kind of overkill, but I don't mind that.

Only taken it on 2 trips but it suits me perfectly, very happy with it.
 
 Nice bag!
By Jay L Sperl, Prosser, WA, September 9, 2011

I travel 2-3 weeks each month. I never check bags and had used a roller bag for a number of years. I wanted to go lighter, so purchased my Air Boss along with a Metro Briefcase. The Metro is smaller than my previous briefcase, but holds everything I need in an organized fashion. I think I would prefer the two outside pockets were instead one larger pocket. I think the bag would look more professional with a larger single pocket and would provide more packing options. I also wish the center zipper extended down each side further. This would allow my 15" laptop to slide into the bag easier.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications
Metro Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 3.5"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 8.9cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 654 cubic inches
  • Metric Dimensions: 10.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.15 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.43 Kilos

Metro Travel Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Metro and CPA?
The CPA Briefcase is two inches wider (thicker) than the Metro.
 
Will the Metro hold a laptop? What size?
The Metro was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17 inch screen and three inches thick.
 
Will the Metro Briefcase meet personal item/carry on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and under most any airline seat.
 
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two cordura slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Metro is a hair too narrow to fit your C-pap. We recommend using our Gator for your C-pap machine or moving up to the larger CPA Briefcase which will easily hold a C-pap.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.