Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Cool Luggage Accessories  > market-tote

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I blow plastic grocery bags away!”
Red Oxx Market Tote Grocery Bag - shown in Forest. Choose from 12 colors.

Market Tote $35.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Grocery Getter! Tote It.

Montana Made. Sustainable Shopping.

Our Market Tote Bag is THE contemporary reusable grocery bag. Its measurements are the same as the old classic 'Brown Paper Bag.' This is a large tote bag of outstanding quality compared to the typical cheap imported junk they hawk at the grocery store.

STRONG BOTTOM.
Our handles are stitched completely around the sides and bottom of the bag with double box stitching at all stress points. No more worries about the bottom of this grocery bag ever blowing out!

HANDS-FREE SHOULDER CARRY.
Extra-long carry handles allow you to carry the grocery Market Tote on your shoulder. We've seen folks carry the tote like a backpack! And as spacious as this tote bag is, you can use one Red Oxx Market Tote instead of half a dozen flimsy plastic grocery bags that may end up as modern tumbleweeds! Just remember to keep it in your car so you'll have it once you get to the store. Another great way to remember taking your bag with you is hang it over the front door knob.

SHORTER HANDLE CARRY TIP IDEA.
Don't like to shoulder carry your Tote? Straps seem too long? Drags on the ground? No problem. Simply place the bag upright on the ground and drape each carry handle to your left and right. Now grasp each handle and cross them over each other. Next slip each handle under the other and pull the end loops upwards. You can now carry the Market Tote by the crossed-over loops, thus shortening the straps by about a third of their length. See photos tab at left for details.

STANDS UP BY ITSELF.
The tough 1000 denier military grade CORDURA® nylon is water-resistant and twice as strong as standard nylon. And of course, you have a dozen vibrant colors to choose from...

The heavyweight 1050 ballistic nylon on the sides helps this shopping tote to "stand up" and keep its shape so you can easily fill it, or empty it, a handy feature not seen on any reusable grocery tote we know of. Grocery clerks love this handy feature.

The Market Tote Bag has been used for potlucks (it's large enough to hold a 5 Qt crock pot), as a pool and beach bag, a utility bag and even to and from arts and crafts classes crammed with art supplies. Great for hauling melons, pumpkins, squash and other large and awkward shaped vegetables or wrapped cuts of meat like roasts, chickens or quarters, and whole fish that would stretch a regular grocery bag to it's limits (and likely bruise your food).

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling and gives a clean finished look.
All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors grocery totes that brag of "binding" their edges.

CARRY-ON PERSONAL ITEM? YOU BET!
The ladies love using it as a sewing tote, crochet bag or knitting bag. Yoga lovers carry their yoga mats, sweats, and other accoutrements in the Market Tote. Then there are those adventurous types who take it with them around the world and use it for more things than we could ever think of. Since they fold flat, packing several Market Totes along as "luggage extenders" means you can carry-on as a personal item and bring home extra goodies and gifts from your travels.

FOR SCHOOL, TOO.
Even students find the Market Tote useful as a college book bag. Its sturdy build and just right size easily holds a laptop, tablet, several large textbooks, writing notebooks and project files. Toss your pens and electronic gadgets such as chargers into a Nomad or Lil Roy and all your lose items are organized. Buy two or more Totes, you'll always find a use for more than one!

EASY TO CLEAN.
Bags exposed to food get dirty. Blood, dirt, vegetable matter, sticky fruit, spilled juices, candy, leaking jars and bottles can gunk up the interior of your Market Tote. Fortunately, it's a piece of cake to clean your Tote. Simply fill a sink, bucket or tub with warm soapy water (we like Dr. Bonners), grab a nylon bristle brush and lightly scrub your bag clean. Simply turn it inside out to scrub out the interior. Then rinse both sides in warm water and hang up to dry on the shower head. Never use a dryer to dry any Red Oxx bag and always avoid solvents or harsh industrial cleaning agents as they will damage the lining.

"Go Green, save a tree, recycle some oil, use, reuse and well, reusable forever, the Red Oxx Market Tote Grocery Bag. Sustainable shopping indeed!"

Or as the locals at the Farmer's Market say, "If you turnip, lettuce bear your fruit..."

Dimensions: 16"H x 6"D x 12"W.
Capacity: 1,440 cubic inches.
Weight: 0.85 pounds.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Market Tote.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great tote needs cool accessories.

Market Tote Trivia: Modeled straight from the measurements of the original brown paper sack from the grocery store. The Tote was birthed before stores started carrying those cheap-o imported grocery totes, the kind that start unraveling after just a few uses.

Write a Review

4.89 Average Rating
 (63 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Multi Tote
By Scott Stenvold, Fargo, ND, October 2, 2012

This "Market Tote" should really be named the "Multi Tote". One can use it for anything! I plan to use it for overflow-- Gifts, when I go home for Christmas. & probably hauling presents received back. (Assuming I've been a good boy all year).

I've already used it for books I donate, a stack of newspapers I brought to the recycling center, and a 20 lb. bag of dog food purchased at the pet store. Sadly, I've yet to use it at the grocery store :)

 
 Surprisingly useful
By Anonymous, US, October 1, 2012

This is my second market tote as a family member stole the first one after a couple of uses. I use it as a tote and as the airline personal item carryon in addition to a Skytrain.

It came in useful on a recent trip when I had to unexpectedly transport an odd-sized, fragile, object that didn't fit into a regular bag.

I'm in love with the fact that the straps are long enough to wear over one's shoulders. I often wear it as a hands-free backback, handy when spending a day on the streets. It easily holds a day's worth of coats, food, water, and whatnot.
 
 Wonderful Product!
By JPG, Philippines, June 28, 2012

This bag is tough and I was able to carry a lot of stuff in it!

I am using it to carry my groceries when shopping but I am planning to get some more for other purposes.

Keep up the good work, guys! :)
 
 market tote review
By andrew coulter, cornwall, england, June 21, 2012

The tote is really great, totally over specced and feels like it would last forever. The only thing is that the fabric is so heavy that it takes up quite a lot of room in your travel bag. It gets daily use here. A++
 
 Awesome Tote
By ML, Florida, June 14, 2012

A wonderful and strong bag. Holds quite a lot. I'm very pleased. It puts all those others to shame. I just had to get a second one. Love all my Red Oxx bags.
 
 WOW!!
By Jason Henderson, Saint Joseph, MO, May 16, 2012

I couldn't believe the sturdiness of the bag and how much it could carry. I can't even pick up as much as you can stuff and carry with this bag! Shopping has just become a lot easier. I will also use it for picnics and bar-b-ques.
 
 Market Totes
By Kathi, San Francisco, May 10, 2012

I inadvertently left my Market Tote somewhere. I went back to various stores to see if someone did. No one did. Who would!! These bags are so great I went online & purchased two more! One red & one burgundy.

I get sooo many compliments on the design, style & how much they can hold.

I'm going to order one more just to have an extra!
 
 Market Tote
By Shelley, Minnesota, May 3, 2012

This bag is wonderful. I love to carry my own bags to the store, they can hold alot and are easy to carry. I always get asked where i get my bags and I alway tell them where. Thanks for the strong durable bag.
 
 Confidence Inspiring
By Scott C., Minneapolis, January 19, 2012

I have two of these bags that I use several times a week. Mainly they are used to bag the groceries and get them home in one piece. But other times I might load one up with tools to take to the office for a project. Recently I brought ten picture frames to the office - 5 in each bag.

The bags are made with the same robust quality that all RedOxx items have. I like being able to say to the baggers at the store "load it up, this bag can handle it all." And I mean it. When the co-op has a sale on chicken broth, I can load a dozen into one bag without expecting it to split open along the way. I have even put one in my carry-on for travel because there is always something to carry up from the car or from a store back to the hotel.

I plan to get a third bag at some point because sometimes one is left at home. I find them that useful.
 
 Best Reusable Bags Out There
By NW, NC, January 16, 2012

This is a great product. I bought these to replace some free reusable shopping totes I obtained from my employer. The other bags lasted a long while but were getting tiny holes here and there from the corners of boxes poking through. If I were going to buy replacements, I wanted sturdy bags that could manage heavy loads and would last a long time. I also wanted bags with long handles to go over my shoulder so I could carry many items and still have my hands free. These bags fit the bill. It wasn't until I started looking for bags that I noticed that a lot of them had short handles -- one of the things I despise about plastic grocery bags. Short handles hurt my hands with heavy loads and do not allow me to have a free hand to use my keys or open the door at the same time. These bags also hold a lot, being the same size as the old brown paper grocery bag. They stand up on their own, earning me a compliment from the Trader Joe's cashier the other day. Plus they are easy for me to pack when I go to the self-checkout at other stores. Even though they are thick and sturdy, they fold up easily for storage in my car. I bought the black bags so they would look professional in case I needed them to carry items for work -- so they are versatile and not just for shopping. The colors look nice, though, and I am tempted to get the red ones if I ever need any more. I bought three, and they carry at least a week's groceries for me. The fact that these are American made is a big plus. I feel good about helping people in my own country. Customer service is great, and the warranty is awesome (I don't think I'll ever need it -- these bags are well-constructed -- but it's nice to know it's there). These bags are well worth the front end investment and are not that much more than foreign-made bags. In fact I've seen "designer" shoppers of poorer quality for much more than these. These bags will last a long time, I can tell. I'm really happy with this purchase.
 
 Market Tote
By Debby B, Phoenix, AZ, January 12, 2012

The Red Oxx tote is fabulous. We had two and bought a third one in December. Absolutely the very best and good for groceries as well as travel. Nothing else on the market matches it.
 
 value totes
By Dave, Bozeman, Montana, January 6, 2012

Strong. Handsome. Good value. Well received by several relatives as gifts. Recommended.
 
 Superbag
By Anonymous, Marion, OH, January 6, 2012

This got "excellent" reviews from my son who rarely raves about anything. He thought it would haul a lot of stuff from shopping trips be it to the grocer or the toy store. I totally agreed with him so I got 2 more: one for my other son, and one or me!
 
 You will want more than 1
By Matt Lemons, Dallas, November 22, 2011

Holy cow! If you don't own a single Red Oxx product, and you want to find out what it's all about order 1 of these Market Totes. I put a pair of these in my second order of Red Oxx goods. The first was an Air Boss several months back and I've been hooked. I promise you will be blown away by the bang for the buck of these bags. I figured the Market Tote would be great for just that - carrying groceries. So, I ordered a pair for my girlfriend to replace the flimsy little chinese bags she carried in the trunk. When they arrived she promptly used one of them day one to carry her laptop, lunch and, other items to the office. She had the bag over her shoulder with her purse, and was stopped by a coworker she doesn't even know walking through the door. The woman wanted one on the spot and took a cell phone picture of the Red Oxx patch. I have since used the bag many times, a couple for trips to the market even (you can seriously load these up). Now, I need to order two for Mom, another for myself, and...
 
 A great carry-all bag!
By Carl , Point Pleasant, New Jersey, October 15, 2011

I first bought a purple tote bag, which I misplaced somewhere. I checked the gym, my car trunk & the 2-3 restaurants & the local Barnes & Noble! No luck. Finally I ordered another of these wonderful totes - a green one this time.

Recently I was up in our attic to clean it out, and guess what?! There was the purple tote, full of books & magazines! So now I have two of these beautiful totes!
 
 My wife stole mine!
By TL, PA, August 18, 2011

I had two of these in my truck for quick runs to the store. We joined a CSA farm share this year and my wife "borrowed" them and has been loading them up each week so I ordered a replacement for the truck. We loaded one up the other day with about 40 pounds of stuff and it didn't complain one bit. For $25 these are great to have around. We gave one as a gift last year and just saw it show up when we met the recipients on vacation this week. Buy some for you and some to spread around!
 
 Indispensible Bucket
By Patrick, Hampshire England, June 29, 2011

This sturdy grocery bag is based on the dimensions of the American brown paper bag. Europeans will find this very convenient as you don't often meet this size in shopper bags that you will get from the supermarket. Will easily take 4 reams of A4 copy paper loaded portrait style with 2 half- dozen egg boxes laid on top - and will deal with the weight as the handles are looped under the bottom and stitched solidly. Very versatile as at a pinch can be worn over both shoulders as a sort of back pack. I use this every working day. It's like having a collapsible bucket!
 
 Solid Product, Great Price
By Dave, Arlington VA, April 3, 2011

An excellent product, not just for shopping. It has the long straps so you can sling it over a shoulder if you have a few other bags to get out of the trunk.

Very useful as a general tote bag also, nice size under that of the LLBean tote. And a lot more durable. I use it for jamming in a big thermos, a shell, the GPS unit, a newspaper, and maybe a couple of Sigg water bottles and a sandwich or two for a long road trip.

Also great for a tool tote. It's durable enough to hold a cordless drill and other stuff for the home projects.
 
 Built like a tank with style!
By Ron, Kansas City, February 10, 2011

This thing is built like a tank and beautiful at the same time. My wife took one look at it and immediately confiscated it to haul her public school teacher's books and papers! She loves it, and you know how life works... "Happy wife, happy life!" Enough said.
 
 I USE THESE BAGS FOR GROCERIES & ON MY BICYCLES
By THE BICYCLE BUM, CRESCENT CITY, CA, January 1, 2011

I needed some strong grocery bag size bags for use on my bicycles. The bags had to be made from nylon or something similar, easy to roll up, not like the heavy-weight canvas cloth bags made by other famous companies, plus needed to offer some protection from the weather (like rain). These bags are relatively light-weight, made of synthetic fabric, seem to be water proof and work well being stored in the rear baskets of my bicycles. I carry mail in them as well as groceries. So, if you like quality made items, useful for both walking and with a bicycle, these bags are perfect. --gg
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications

Market Tote Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • 1150 weight black Ballistic nylon on the sides
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on all stress points such as carry handles
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 16"H x 6"D x 12"W
  • Metric Dimensions: 40.6cm H x 15.2cm D x 30.5cm W
  • US Capacity: 1,440 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 18.8 Liters
  • US Weight: 0.85 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.38 Kilos

Market Tote Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can the Market Tote be used for a carry-on personal item?
The Market Tote makes a wonderful carry-on personal item. Since it can be folded flat, one can also pack it into your luggage for local shopping, then bring it home as your personal item carry-on.
 
Why is there no zipper?
A prototype model zippered tote has been designed and is in the testing stage.
 
Why are the handles so long?
The Tote was designed for shoulder carry as well as a simple backpack. Shorter handles wouldn't allow these styles of carry. You can, however, easily shorten the handles by looping them over each other. See overview for a detailed description or refer to the photos tab.
 
How many groceries can the Market Tote hold?
It can hold the same amount as the classic paper grocery bag.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Market Tote contains only one main compartment.
 
Is the opening closeable?
The bag is not closeable.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.