Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Airline Carry-on Luggage  > gator-carry-on-bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I have a big appetite for adventure.”
Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

We can tell you how others have used this multi-purpose carry-on bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry namesake, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a personal item, a shooting bag for the range, SLR bag, diaper bag, C-pap bag, take it to work with a packed lunch; you get the picture.

WHAT ABOUT POCKETS?
Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets. The expandable gusseted side pockets help you to keep track of gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, and more.

These side pockets feature the exclusive "Red Oxx finger loop snap closures" which are Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps with thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." This allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. A simple genius solution that prevents crushing items under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

GET ORGANIZED.
Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. Located on the back is another full-length zippered pocket. 4lb. Volara closed cell padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from damage.

A HANDY MULTI-PURPOSE BAG.
Fully adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry it with the wraparound handle handclasp. Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Travel Bags are durable companions for many uses: SLR camera bags, diaper bags, NetBook or Tablets, C-pap bags, pistol range, you name it, the Gator will eat it. Consider it your "bag of all trades."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Gator on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Gator compact carry-on.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches
Weight: 2.35 lbs

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarassed to appear like he was carrying a diaper bag. After they were out of diapers he wanted a decent range bag to take with him shooting. The name Gator was selected because a Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Write a Review

4.7 Average Rating
 (151 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 Thanks for your fantastic products
By Matalin Hatchard, New Zealand, December 30, 2009

Hi Guys,

I'm writing after my recent purchase of the Gator Bag. I came across you products purely by chance, through a full page write up on your Air Boss bag in New Zealand Urbis Design magazine. As a world traveller/nomad all my life I have been through many many many bags, with a number lasting just one world trip. The fact that no holds barred rock solid, lifetime durability was being tackled was an exciting concept, most other crap out there make stuff to a price point and expect the end user to just keep buying the same thing every year when it breaks.

-------------------------------------

Kudos to Redoxx for stepping out of that mold and building a product you can be proud of, and stand by it's quality for a lifetime.

-------------------------------------

To say I didn't REALLY need a bag would be an understatement - I have a $600.00 top of the line hiking backpack, a suitcase, a big gym style carry all, a padded lap/backpack (durable mountain designs one, but poor design concept for maximising use) and a leather briefcase/satchel. Also a brand new domke F-5XB camera bag that is being shipped as we speak.

-------------------------------------

So it took a lot for me to go ahead and purchase. I read all the reviews of all your bags, compared specs, tried to think what combination would last me a lifetime, and what the practical implications were in the choices... But what it came down to was this: your bags are the most bad-ass quality and well thought out practical designs I've ever come across. I could not say no, even when the Gator's price to ship to New Zealand increases 50% with shipping.... So my un-used Domke bag I special ordered from the states will be onsold online, and I look forward with anticipation to receiving and using the Gator to within an inch of its life and then some..

-------------------------------------

PLUS the only reason I didn't buy my main bag at the same time was making a choice between:

Air Boss, Sky Train & Sun Chaser

-------------------------------------

So hard to choose, but one of them will be my next purchase. The only hard factor is the more limiting carry on restrictions of air travel in the southern hemisphere...

-------------------------------------

Once again,

Thank you for stepping up and providing a product that is built to be loved, and used for more than a year, and for more than one generation!!

Kind Regards,

Matalin Hatchard
 
 Perfect All-Round Tote
By Dave, Arlington VA, December 7, 2009

This is great niche bag. I recently used it and a SkyTrain for a 6-day trip to Germany. For the first time in years I passed on the usual Tumi 22" rollaboard suiter and a Scott Leather flight kit bag since this was not a business trip. No laptop or files, just an iPaq210 and Blackberry.

The Gator worked well, taking all my electronics plus a book, Clif bars, Bose QCs, iPod, the 1Q (TSA) liquid/gel bag, Levenger pocket briefcase, and a few clear file folders for documents, and a lot more. The thing stands upright due to the padding and doesn't broadcast "laptop inside," a plus in some parts of Europe.

It's also great for getting to work here in DC: either driving or on the Metro - it won't handle a big leather zip folio or something similar but takes file folders and a sandwich and then some.

I use the front pockets for a Brooks Bros pocket calendar and other accessories and they are secure.

I have used it as a bike bag a couple of times with a jerry-rigged chest strap (3/4" fastex strap from REI) and rides just fine.

My tip of the day is that I use the Platypus soft water bottles on the road. They fold flat when empty - then once I'm thru security I fill up in the Admirals Club where they have free bottled water, so I'm set if in coach and its a hassle getting hydrated...
 
 Great Commuting Bag
By Anonymous, Washington, DC, December 3, 2009

A work colleague and fellow commuter with a Gator recommended the bag

and it is proving to be great for commuting via public transit. With the design of the pockets, I can get everything I need without looking, much less fumbling, and the non-slip shoulder strap means I can be hands free while walking or standing. The semi-rigid structure of the main compartment is a big plus this way as well. I think the color options are good--I went with Amethyst. I'm petite, so the bag is a really good size for my frame. I'd tried totes, briefs, messenger bags, but they

either didn't have enough structure or were too bulky or didn't have good pocket configuration or didn't have a shoulder strap. Gator is a

great bag for my commuting needs and I'm looking forward to using it for other applications.
 
 Perfect small laptop bag
By Mike, Jackson's Hole, December 3, 2009

I have a Metro which I use for trips where I have to carry both large laptop and extensive written materials. I wanted a smaller bag to limit carryon weight, but needed to fit a Dell E4300, which measures 12.2 x 8.6" - and this is the perfect fit. As others have mentioned, its measured size is deceptive and the capacity is greater than expected. I carry the laptop, power supply (which fits nicely in one of the water bottle pockets - no umbrellas in Wyoming - and I use a Li'l Roy inside the main compartment as a compressible organizer/declutter bag for chargers and other electronic stuff, with significant room to spare. The built-in foam padding on bottom and sides is just enough for peace of mind as long as you're not careless. Great bag.
 
 Excellent small bag
By Walter Sereth, Los Angeles, CA, November 28, 2009

Bought the Gator bag to carry my clarinet (in its case) and related items, but it proved too snugl to do the job. However, it's now holding 'Gertrude", our Garmin c340, for which it works beautifully.

The Gator Bag is beautifully made (as usual), and should last at least as long as we do.
 
 Best Diaper Bag Ever
By Anna G, Oklahoma, November 28, 2009

Wow! $105 is a steal for this bag. I'm currently using it as a diaper bag for my 2 month old. It fits everything: cloth diapers, diaper covers, wipes, extra clothes, pacifiers, a thick changing pad...and I can organize all of my belongings (keys, wallet, lotion, phone and other essentials) in the outer pockets for easy access. Because the Gator is padded it doesn't collapse on me when I take out items to change the baby or pack up (essential when you only have one free hand). I stash snack bars and a Klean Kanteen in the side water bottle pockets. I would never want to spend money on one of those bulky plastic diaper bags I see other moms with. This bag is going to last me forever, and will be great for travel once the little one has grown. Seriously, this bag is amazing. My husband loves using it too. We're just looking for excuses to buy more Red Oxx bags these days!
 
 
By Don Koue, Oakland CA, October 27, 2009

The Gator is a wonderful utility bag. It truly holds an amazing amount of stuff. However, therein lies a slight problem: if you don't have a lot of stuff, it can seem a bit bulky. I wish there was a built in way to compress the bottom, closed by a zipper or Velcro, so that I could slim it down when I don't need all that space. It has a fold and can compress, but doesn't want to. My own solution is to use a bungee cord to compress it, but it would better if something was built in.
 
 After one year of use in Iraq
By Vinson A., Iraq....all over, August 11, 2009

I have been using my Gator in Iraq for over a year now. This is, without a doubt, my go-to bag for everything. I have used it for travel (perfect carry on size--my macbook just barely fits inside and leaves plenty of room for my ipod, a book, wallet, and Bose earphone case), for a camera bag (again perfect) and also for an ammo bag for range time. The bag looks EXACTLY as it did one year ago and has taken these months of abuse without any sign sign of wear. I love the shoulder strap, it never slides off. I often carry a number of bags at once and wear body armor at the same time...the Gator stays on my shoulder and at my side where I can easily gain access to everything I need.

I have also had literally dozens of people comment on the bag and I direct them all to the website. This bag (like all red-oxx products) is a great fit for any civilian contractor or Embassy employee in Iraq or Afghanistan. Durable enough for the real work in the desert, but easily cleans up and dresses back up for meetings with Embassy and Military officials and the return trip back to the States.

All in all, probably the best purchase I have made in the last few years. Thanks redoxx!
 
 just a little small
By John Freiling, Georiga, June 10, 2009

I would have liked it to be just a little larger. Just an inch or two so my lap top would fit in it."The Red Oxx Metro Briefcase is designed for Laptops the Gator is more of a camera and gear bag."Team Red Oxx
 
 Holds More than Similar Messenger Bag
By Michael W., San Francisco CA, June 3, 2009

While waiting for my replacement Gator, I turned to a bike messenger bag from Timbuk2. I have this in the "small" size which is actually pretty big as a personal bag, measuring as follows:Bottom panel, left to right, 12"; top flap, left to right 14.5"; 9.75" deep (from bottom panel to "rim" of bag; 5.25" thick (front to back at BOTTOM panel, thicker at the top). //That compares to 12x6x9 for the simply rectangular Gator. //In other words, the bike messenger bag, as spec'd on their website and confirmed by me with a ruler, matches, or is larger than, the Gator in all measurements except thickness at the bottom (the "mouth" widens out, so that at the top the messenger bag is thicker). //So here I am, this morning , contemplating the seemingly impossible task of transferring the stuffed messenger bag contents to the much more modestly spec'd Gator and figuring the stuff won't fit. //Next thing I know, everything is in the Gator WITH LOTS OF ROOM LEFT OVER in the main compartment, and I haven't even begun to stuff the exterior pockets with small items (which are still at home in my luggage from my trip to Thailand, I couldn't make room for them in the messenger bag). //I am tempted to pull the ruler out to make sure Red Oxx hasn't "under" spec'd the Gator so it will hold more. But I'd rather live in happy denial, if it even is denial, since others have measured Red Oxx products before and confirmed Red Oxx's accuracy. //The Gator is simply the most efficient packaging on the market. Square (rectangular) works. //And since Red Oxx apparently doesn't count the exterior pockets towards the volume, as certain other - cough, Patagonia, cough - bag makers do, what they say you get is what you get. Plus maybe a little more. //I like underpromising and overdelivering. //Noticed one change, or variation, on this sample compared to my last Gator. //The snap pocket pouches aren't as "tight" to the wall of the bag as before, meaning it's easier to slide slim items, like boarding passes, into that slot. Also a LOT easier to retrieve things (think: fingers can be shoved down into the slot now, sort of,). While you won't mistake the tall thin slot for a cell phone pocket, it is more usable now. Albeit not as "secret" as before (before it was easy to overlook the slot). //I no longer dismiss the comments of other reviewers that the Gator is a "bottomless pit" as mere hyperbole. Hyperbole yes - but also pointing to a truth, that Red Oxx quotes conservative volumes (actual interior, pockets excluded) and efficiently configures its bags for maximum utility. //And oh yeah, while you can "overpack" a bike messenger bag, the top hand straps on the Gator ALSO allow for some creative overpacking, or convenience packing (arriving at a hot destination?), such as showing a light jacket under the handles on top of the bag top.
 
 My Best Daily/Travel Bag Ever!
By Michael W., San Francisco, CA, USA, May 28, 2009

I did a longer article/review on the Gator here: http://www.redoxx.com/articles/Gator-trains-for-jiu-jitsu-in-Bangkok-Thailand.html and wanted to add some follow-up comments.First, the Gator has become my daily carry bag in lieu of a briefcase or small daypack.Second, the Gator is my "go-to" flight and travel bag despite its possibly one "flaw" (see below!).Third, I had to order a second Gator because my wife's niece got "big eyes" when she saw my black Gator, and wanted it for herself! (So I guess the "ruggedness" of the Gator is not off-putting to an ultra-fem, "high-so" 18 y.o. Thai woman.)OK, for the Gator to become my daily carry bag is quite exceptional - not because the Gator isn't a great bag for that purpose, but because my USUAL habit on "pricey-but-nice" luxury items is to stow them in the closet where I can admire them in their pristine newness, and never take them out. Yeah, I'm that kind of shopper, with lots of new, magpie-appealing goodies tucked in my closets. Stuff that's just "too good" to subject to the wear and tear of actual daily use. "Closet queens," to use a shotgunner's term.How did I get over my OCD with respect to the Gator? Well, I was thinking of submitting a guest review on it over at Practical Hacks and, as a result, had to give it a real work out in daily use, not just for travel. And after I'd used it for a week, I just didn't want to give it up. In a few words, the darn thing just "organizes" too well, much better than a bike messenger bag, daypack, briefcase. Someone at Red Oxx must actually use these bags and has figured out how to add the right blend of pockets and flaps and compartments that actually WORK in real life situations. Even the water bottle pouches on the ends get put into use - not for water bottles, they are a little short for that, but for nail clippers, moleskin, a mouthpiece for boxing/jiu jitsu, a pocket knife, a Fisher Space Pen. (My water bottle fits nicely inside the Gator.)Now the Gator obviously works well for travel - it is the quintessential "flight bag" and easily passes as a "personal item," even on nasty transpacific flights where the ticket counter agents can be real disciplinarians (like weighing carryons to make sure they are under 15 pounds). But my one gripe about the Gator is its "empty bag weight" of 2.35 pounds. Not a lot, by bag standards, unless you are an ultralight hiker like I am, always on the hunt for sub-16 ounce solutions.So I trial packed a couple of alternative bags for use as my "peronal item" on a recent flight back to Bangkok to take my family to the beach and spend half a week doing judo and jiu jitsu over there.The first alternative was the Market Tote from Red Oxx. Just a big grocery sack, but built like a Sherman Tank. I figured a "tote" would easily pass muster as a personal item. Sure enough, the darn thing held even more than the Gator, and carried relatively well on my shoulder (the straps are long enough for shoulder carry), but provided no organization at all, plus my stuff was at risk of spilling out the open top of the tote. So stash that and use it for groceries, the gym, the beach.Next I tried using a Flash 18, a non-padded, 1,000 cubic inch or so "peak bag" or top loading knapsack from REI. This is only about 12 ounces (incredibly light, most packs with this capacity weigh more than the Gator), and a lot larger than the Gator (1,000 vs. 654 or so c.i.), but despite the better capacity specs, I had trouble fitting all the stuff from the Gator into the knapsack, and it was really frustrating trying to dig down to the bottom of the top-loading, tubular sack to find stuff I needed. I had to use a ton of small ditty bags to suborganize, something not required by the Gator, which already has pouches, and then unload stuff to find what I was looking for. Not so with the Gator.Despite the negatives, I was on the verge of giving the knapsack alternative a try, until I decided to take along my new, 2.5 pound or so netbook. The netbook fit fine into the Gator, but was much hard to squeeze into the knapsack. More telling was trying to pull the netbook out and reinsert it, as I would have to do through security - the netbook came out, and went back into, the Gator easily, while with the knapsack it was a major struggle, something I wouldn't want to deal with in a real security line. Also, the knapsack had no padding, which meant I had to come up with padding options, while the Gator is amply padded to begin with.So I decided that, yeah, while the Gator is a little heavier than a plain nylon sack, it rewards the extra investment in weight with a MUCH higher level of functionality than a featureless sack. And with the well-designed shoulder strap that comes with the Gator, the weight isn't too much to carry - even when the Gator is loaded up with water bottles refilled post-security, the netbook, and old-fashioned printed books (hint: take the heavy items out of the carryon, which will be weighed, and put them in the Gator, which looks so innocuous I have never been asked to weight it).The fact that the Gator appealed to a fashion savy Bangkok teen who wants to look smart going to the gym or on holiday to the beaches or to stay overnight at friends' houses, was just icing on the cake.And oh yeah, I had to make the return trip without the Gator, since I had given it away, so I was forced to use a tote bag on the way home, and it was so frustrating trying to find stuff on the flight, that I just gave up and shoved it in the overhead bin, and suffered the flight back home without ready access to my travel comfort items. Serves me right!BTW, in daily use, the Gator handles my mail just fine. It won't take an 8.5x11 sheet of papers without folding in half, but most of the paper I shuttle back and forth is mail, not folders.And I really love the self-locking zippers. They absolutely, positively won't open unless to tug on the zipper pull. No accidental openings here, unlike one day pack whose maker I won't mention.
 
 Nice Roomy Laptop Bag ... IF
By Ron Jeffries, Michigan, April 25, 2009

Purchased this as bag for carrying laptop plus lots of junk for courses and similar outings. My laptop, a Toshiba M-400, just /barely/ fits, so it is a perfect little bag for me. The next size up would be needed for a larger laptop ... and that looks to be way too big.I like this one ... and would really like to see something a bit more focused on the laptop user's needs.Thanks for the great review, This is not a "laptop bag" The Gator was designed for miscellaneous electronic equipment,DSLR cameras and shooting accessories. Changing dimensions of this product will totally skew its design make it less suitable for "personal item carry on" Red Oxx seeks to build items that fit a broad range of uses. The Metro Briefcase is designed for laptops.CheersRed Oxx
 
 Gator Rocks!
By Kimberly, Arlington, VA, April 15, 2009

I have never posted a review for a product I've purchased, but this bag warrants the kudos. I bought the Gator about two months ago, and use it every day as my primary gear bag for work. This bag has an amazing amount of space inside. I typically carry pens, a flashlight, books, a wallet, and my lunch and there is tons of extra space. I love the dual elastic pouches on either end; I bring a coffee container and water bottle every day. The bag is extremely durable, and the strap is very comfortable. The exterior zipper pouch is excellent for documents that need to be safeguarded. I love the two matching pockets on the exterior; I have two cell phones that fit perfectly. I recently traveled internationally with this bag and it completely fulfilled my expectations. I was able to pack all my essential travel items, with plenty of room, and the bag fit perfectly in both the overhead compartment on the plane and under the seat. This is not my first purchase from Red Oxx, and definitely won't be my last. The Gator is consistent with my other purchases with regard to durability, form and utility. I highly recommend this product.
 
 Versatile and Seemingly Bottomless!
By Barbara, Milton, Delaware, April 8, 2009

The Gator is so versatile. Take it to the beach with your full-size camera, towel, sandals, wallet, keys, hat, cellphone, book, and lunch, etc. inside. Put your water bottle in an end pocket and your suntan lotion in a side pocket along with a hairbrush in the other. Pop your sunglass case in the other end pocket. No more lugging a big hand held beach tote or a heavy backpack or sling pack bulging at the seams.If you're a photographer, this bag held my full size DSLR camera, filters, telephoto conversion lens, wide angle lens, battery charger, and more. And, it also allows me to travel with my camera gear "at the ready" with my wallet, cosmetics, keys, cellphone, sunglasses, hat and other "must haves" in the same bag at the same time. It's got ample padding, great support and easy access. Allows me to take it to places where people don't view it as a camera bag so they are not inquisitive about anything except where I found such a stunning Amethyst bag!Wherever I take my Gator, people simply cannot believe their eyes when they see how much gear I pull out of this seemingly bottomless bag! I think they are waiting to see if the last item I remove is a RABBIT! And, come to think of it, I believe it would make a great magician's bag, too!
 
 Working well
By Barrett Green, Connecticut and Texas, March 8, 2009

I am now using it as my primary bag and the current configuration works well for the size laptop I carry and amount of paper I typically need to get while on the plane, etc. I have a couple of thoughts from other bags about some changes that might improve it. Mainly this relates to the design having only the small pockets behind the two front flap pockets to "drop" stuff into on the go and I have those pockets so full I don't have space in the open pockets. It does have the water bottle pockets on the side and the elastic is holding up well, but I find them a little short. I have a bag (the main competitor to the gator) that has large pockets on both sides with a d ring on both the interior and exterior wall of the compartment. If there is nothing in it, it pulls flat when you put the sling over your shoulder. But you can drop all kinds of stuff in it (a stainless steel travel coffee mug, a sigg water bottle, a big diameter water bottle at the airport) and it doesn't fall out.I'm not complaining, but you asked. And if your really curious, I'll be happy to sketch it if this is unclear.
 
 Gator swallows it up...
By Anonymous, NJ, February 3, 2009

I have just packed my safari Gator bag for a trip to India as my sole carry-on. I thought some might be interested what it could haul: jeans, tee shirt, briefs (2), a large 36 pack of batteries (gift), an over sized paperback and a regular sized one, a sleeping mask, a pack of ear plugs, 3 cliff bars, passport and ticket holder, note book, pens, three inhalers - two of them still in their box (i.e. asthma meds for the diesel and dust), two bottles of prescription meds, tooth brush, moisturizer, toothpaste, deodorant, purell hand lotion, a travel alarm, an inflatable travel pillow, a razors and some other assorted otc meds, 16oz water bottle, small digital camera, cell phone and cell phone charger. And that's about it though I am sure I forgot to mention something. AND I still have at least enough room to fit another paperback and some snacks on top! A lot of the design features were not apparent to me originally when I used it half empty as a camera bag. First, when you stuff it, it maintains its nice compact rigid shape. Easy to stow at your feet or in a really small space in the inevitable full overhead compartment.Second, the outer pockets are really essential to the design. The long flat on one side is perfect for tickets/passport. The two more bulbous matching pockets on the other side are perfect for material you need to access in a hurry like cell phone, glasses, cell phone, headphones etc. And as a bonus both have slip pockets behind them to extend their capacity further for long relative narrow items like pens, razors, toothbrushes. I never thought I would use the slip pockets but they are super useful when you're stuffing the bag to the max.And finally, the two expanding outer pockets on the ends are good for water bottles, snacks and items that you need in a hurry but aren't so valuable you worry about them being exposed or unzipped or uncovered. A very, very good design - arguably one of the best for a smaller carry-on which now makes me very interested in buying one of the larger duffel bags!
 
 Simply amazing!
By E. Clark, Ohio, January 19, 2009

I love this bag! I have had it for just under a year and can't picture ever traveling without it. It holds my DSLR camera and all the things I like to take with me on a day in any city or small town I travel to. It has held up to all the abuse I have thrown at it; and believe me that is a lot of abuse. Because of the Gator's high performance I have bought a Safari Beano and was given a C-Ruck for Christmas. I can't wait to try them out on my next trip. Keep up the great work.
 
 Powerful Gator Snaps Into Action
By Mel, Brooklyn, January 3, 2009

First for the unadulterated praise. The Gator is an awesome, very sturdy bag that's at its best when you need to haul a lot of stuff. A change of clothes, boots, various toiletries, notebooks, regular books, winter hats and gloves-- the Gator can handle all these things and more. I managed to fit all of the above PLUS a really heavy rum cake in my Gator for a trip to Grandmother's house, and the wonderful claw strap made the load bearable on my small shoulders. I passed lots of people trying to haul huge wheeled suitcases down flights of stairs in Penn Station, and felt nothing but pity as I scampered down like a mountain goat with my Gator. The large zippers and monkey's fist ties make opening the bag a breeze, even while wearing mittens. The inner mesh pockets fit your cell phones and ipods beautifully, and the red interior makes things easy to find. The outside gusseted pockets are perfect for holding small stuff that would otherwise get lost (e.g., glasses, advil, scrunchies, etc.). And best of all, the Gator is every bit as sturdy as advertised. It's lasted me almost six months so far, and survived Amtrak, Europe, and the New York City subway system with flying colors. The bag looks like new after months of constant daily use-- not something I can say for my old messenger bags, which fell apart after only a month or two of service.As amazing as this bag is, however, there are a few caveats for using this bag in the urban environment: 1)The Gator's width (so awesome for carrying books, shoes and other non-flat items) is also a small weakness-- when empty, it can bounce off of your hips and into nearby people and furniture. Lots of people have run into my Gator in the subway. (Then again, that might just be rush hour.) 2) The zippers aren't waterproof-- if it rains, put your notebooks on the sides of the bag, not the middle. 3) You're supposed to be able to fit a book in the outside pocket. A Dr. Seuss book, maybe. The pocket is really tight and the zipper teeth have 'bitten' me a few times when I tried to grab a train schedule. 4) Open the Gator slowly in crowded areas; the zipper to the main compartment is loud. I opened my bag on the subway once and all heads turned to me. 5) The 'Safari' color appears to be a mixture of Olive and Khaki in the pictures, but is in fact a combination of Olive and a color I can only describe as 'mustard yellow.' It's more 'That 70's show' than 'Nature.' Had I known, I would probably have chosen another color.These are minor quibbles, however, and are far overshadowed by the sheer sturdiness and solid design of this deceptively small-looking bag. I've been rough on my Gator, and look forward to using it everyday for years to come. I can think of no better vote of confidence than that.
 
 Now I Understand
By Roger J, Hereford, UK, December 26, 2008

It's December and I'm in the US, so I must be buying Redoxx again, like Idid for the first time in December 2007! Getting my latest Redoxx purchasesin 2008 by having them shipped to my US client last week is better thanpaying international shipping plus VAT and customs charges etc in the UK.Last year I bought my Olive Skytrain which has done me well, except I had arow with the KLM agent in Dulles Airport last night who insisted on one bagonly, even though KLM has been letting me take two (Skytrain plus computerbag) all year including my flights from the UK and Holland to DC last week.;The Skytrain had to be checked in while I boarded with my new CPA bag, oneof several purchases on this trip. It survived. The Skytrain and latestpurchases (see relevant pages for my views on the CPA, Gator, Lil Roy andaccessories) are testament not only to the design and quality ofmanufacture, but also to the excellent customer service, thanks to Jim,Amanda and the rest of the Redoxx crew. What I marvel at it that therealways seems to be room for one more item in a Redoxx bag. I'll report backduring 2009 on using my Redoxx gear in Zambia, the Caribbean, Iran and??????Now I understand what all the previous reviewers have been ravingabout! My Safari Gator has been purchased for at least two uses: (1) as a general cabin bag and tote for travel when not on business, or even onbusiness; (2) as a small computer bag when I don't have to take along muchstuff (see my review on the CPA, my main business bag, so I don't need theMetro). I have also been considering getting a Netbook (eg Acer, Asusmodels) as a backup and/or use during travel, so the Gator would be ideal.So I have been pleasantly surprised to find that my main notebook also fitsinto the Gator, despite what some previous reviewers have stated. Mynotebook is a Toshiba M700 (12 " screen) WITH the protective folio cover,yet there is room for power cables, mouse, and other stuff, especially ifyou use the elastic drinks bottle sleeves. I've been trying out the Gatorround my home town, plenty of room for "stuff".
 
 Unique Bag
By A Kittur, , December 9, 2008

Think of this bag as the modern descendant of those iconic Pan Am carry-on bags from the 60s and 70s. It is NOT a replacement for a messenger bag, but its perfect complement. A messenger bag, with its roots in transporting files, packages and small parcels on the backs of cyclist, is a bag designed always to be in motion. Flat against your back, not carrying anything particularly fragile, and almost never set down. The Gator is really for all those other situations where you need to haul something but you are not cycling down an avenue at breakneck speed. Situations where you want to sit your bag down and have it maintain its shape (like at the foot of your airplane seat or next to you in a passenger seat of your car or below the restaurant table) for easy access to the contents. Or those situations where you're carrying something more fragile: it's supremely well designed to carry relatively fragile things like a camera. What struck me most about the back is the very dense foam shaped U formed by the bottom and the large side panels that maintains the rigidity of the bag and, of course, protects your SLR or ipod or your portable electronics. I have seen bags that look superficially similar but none that really form that have that sort of protective rigidity. The other notable thing is that the bag is bigger than I imagined (but well within the personal carry-on category for air travel). I can put a pair of jeans, several tee shirts, undergarments, my d-slr, my phone, my socks, a paperback, pens, paper, my chargers, etc so that it approaches the capacity of a 'weekend' bag but with much more compact dimensions. And to extend the messenger bag comparison one last time, it keeps clothes much neater due to its rigid box shape than the same materials packed into a messenger bag.Anyway, I hope you found this review helpful.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Specifications

Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 2.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.07 Kilos

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
 
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
 
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
 
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
 
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose day bag.
 
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag.
 
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment?
We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.