Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Write a Review

4.81 Average Rating
 (258 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Great all-around travel bag
By Karma, based in Texas, travel the world, September 15, 2011

I purchased this bag after much research, and am pleased with my choice. After a week-long photo shoot in Seattle, I still managed to put all my Theo's chocolate purchases, four books, my laptop, 4 furniture wheels (don't ask!), my camera equipment, and my clothing in the bag. I have found the front compartment perfect for my laptop (easy in and out for security), and I keep a small backpack in the front compartment for carrying my photo equipment during shoots. Even with this load, I was able to fit the bag into the overhead compartment with ease, and then quickly deploy the shoulder straps to exit the boarding area before most people had their luggage handles extended and personal items secured to the tops of their bags. Getting through the airports was a breeze, and my transportation could not believe it was the only bag I required! This bag reminds me of Dr. Who's spaceship: larger on the inside than on the outside. I am packed to leave for Bonaire tomorrow!
 well built
By Anonymous, Post Falls, ID, September 8, 2011

Used this bag for a seven week trip to Europe. Stores lots of items however becomes heavy. Zipper difficult at corners. Purchased because it did not have wheels however wished I had a wheeled bag for this trip
 Deceptively Roomy!
By Debbie Burton , Seattle, Washington, September 1, 2011

It is fabulous and can fit way more than I imagined possible. Built so well and easy to carry. I am a happy girl.
 Surprised & Happy
By Christiana, Vegas, August 27, 2011

I was surprised at how much I can fit in the bag! I'm a notorious over packer so when I got the bag in the mail, I nearly hyperventilated. I tried it out and was surprised how much fits! I had no problem packing a dress, dressy shoes, 2 pants, and 4 tops in plus toiletries and my netbook with plugs. It's easy to get in overhead on the plane (I'm only 5'1). Really easy to carry on your back!
 Great choice!
By MLW, Arkansas, USA, August 26, 2011

I ordered by Sky Train about a month and a half ago. I've done one week in NYC and two weeks in Hong Kong/China. Both trips were just the Sky Train and a handbag and it worked wonderfully. I did not have to gate check the bag on commuter planes and passing by baggage claim/recheck when re-entering the US was pretty amazing!

My only comment, and I won't even call it a complaint, is that the outside fabric is very pet hair. I ordered a black bag and even if the cats didn't want to sleep on it (and they do), I have to be careful or it will pull whatever hair is on the surface it is being packed on. Again, not a complaint, I just clean off the hair the night before I leave and put my packed bag out of the cats' reach and all is fine.

Overall this is a great bag, the back-pack straps are great for trekking through the airport. I don't care to carry using the shoulder strap because I am rather petite, but it is definitely comfortable for shorter distances.

I'll be back in Asia for 2+ weeks in a month and can't wait to take my Sky Train with me!
 Travel Overseas
By Jacob, El Paso, Tx, August 21, 2011

Excellent product. I was able to easily access all compartments to go through all the airport security and also to get anything out I needed. I packed everything I needed for a week trip in this bag plus one extra for my laptop. Highly Recommended.
 Simple Great Bag
By Chris R., Minneapolis, MN, August 18, 2011

Won't take up too much time here, since if you are looking at these bags, you probably have done some research or have been directed here by someone who has. I came here from, and am starting my own personal revolution of one bag travel.

This is what I didn't expect/know. It's pretty plain, but why does it need to be anything else? I really liked having the backpack straps. I used them a lot more than I thought I would traveling through the airport and too my desination. It was really good when it came to storing in the overhead due to the handles and it not being a completely solid bag.

You could get a bag cheaper, but doubt it would be made with this much care, have this kind of warrenty, and even though I know I'm paying a little more because it's American Made, sometimes it feels good to do so.
 Couldn't be happier with this bag.
By Chris R., Pennsylvania, August 18, 2011

I was a bit concerned to spend the money on the bag (after years of $50 to $100 max) but I do a fair amount of domestic travel and always carry on. Wow - what a difference it made. I packed for a week's vacation and for me packed heavy - the bag felt half full. Didn't use the backpack straps at all, just the shoulder strap and was amazed at how much easier travel was vs my rollaboards. You've got a customer for life, and I'll be recommending it to my friends and coworkers.
 Even the long haul...
By Seismic Pirate, Upper Peninsula of Michigan, August 8, 2011

An update since buying my Sky Train back in June:

Currently about 30 miles off the Nigerian Coast. Packed the Sky Train and my CPA for a 2 day stop in Houston, then 3 days traveling to my ship, off Nigeria for a 60-day hitch.

Everything for this 70+ day trip fit comfortably between the two bags, including; a week of clothes, tennis shoes, flip-flops, 8 paperback novels, laptop, Bose headphones, toiletries, electronics, etc and NO checked bags.

Total weight was 42 pounds and even though I'm getting a bit old, it sat comfortably on my back and shoulder.

I love both the backpack and shoulder straps and used both, as I moved through airports, lounges, customs, planes, jeeps, helicopters, oil rigs, etc. It's easy to switch from one to the other, stowing the shoulder strap in the big side pocket when not in use, or tucking the backpack straps away.

My travel companion was impressed and I fielded several questions from other travelers on the way here.

The bags look good, are lightweight, strong and perform like champs!

Thanks Red Oxx!! (Couple of Nomads are going in the Sky Train and a Lil Roy for the CPA, when I get back.)
 No rollers, no weight
By Ivo, Switzerland, August 1, 2011

Using rollers for quite some time, I finally took the plunge and bought a roller-free bag. The internals of the SkyTrain are very well laid out. Not too many pockets and mini pockets you have to browse to find items.

Compared to a roller this thing isn't only lighter put also is more flexible regarding different configurations.

A normal size satchel bag fits into the large front pocket easily, which is a great plus, if I travel light and want to have everything in one bag while in transit. Photographers may appreciate the Billingham Hadley Pro fits perfectly into the front pocket.

Handles, material and zips are made forever, it seems. All carrying interfaces are well made and not cut into hands or shoulders.

For longer distances and public transport in cities like London, Paris, Berlin, it is really nice to have the shoulder straps. I've been once in Paris with just a rather large bag with rollers, and the Métro almost killed me while changing trains. Paris has different terminal stations for all different cardinal points and between them, a Métro ride is usually the best option, as Taxis get stuck often.

Looks like I found a new travel companion :)
 Sky Train, no hassle travel
By David, Indiana, July 25, 2011

A great travel suitcase. Plenty of room easy to manage. I took a week trip and had no problems fitting it into the overhead of the 50 passenger commuter jet. I can fit more into this suitcase and have fewer airline problems than I have ever had. And for those long hikes between terminals or other walking, the backstraps work great.
 Exceeded Expectations!
By Ben, DC Metro, July 15, 2011

I bought the Sky Train to replace a Skyways tri-fold 2-suiter that had finally met its demise. The objective was in finding a carry-on bag that could hold at least 7 days of business casual attire, including an extra pair of shoes.

To round-out this package, I've paired the Sky Train with an 18" Eagle Creek Pack-It Folder, a Pack-It Cube, a Half Cube (may replace this with a Shoe Cube), a Half Cube Tube, and an older model Pack-It Wallaby (toiletries kit).

In the main compartment I was able to fit the fully-loaded Folder, strapped-in, along with the Cube and Half Cube Tube. There was still some room around the edges, which accommodate a few other random bits of clothing, maybe a towel, or possible even a pair sandals. In the secondary compartment I was able to fit the Half Cube (and likely would fit the shoe cube) and Wallaby.

In this configuration, I was easily able to carry clothing for a full week+ with room to spare. Winter clothes (being bulkier) would probably make packing a bit trickier. For Summer attire, I used the half cube for miscellaneous items (packable rain jacket, etc.).

This bag is very well made. I expect it will last me at least 10 years of constant travel (which is likely to be at least a couple trips/month for the foreseeable future).

There are two minor negatives that cause me to rate this as 4 stars rather than 5: weight and strap comfort. The bag itself is fairly hefty. Much more so than I'm used to with the featherweight Skyways products I've used in the past. However, this weight translates to high quality, durable materials that are going to last a very, very, very long time.

The other minor negative is the comfort of the backpack straps. The straps are well-padded, but they're a bit too narrow for the size and heft of the bag, causing them to cut into the shoulders a bit when the bag is fully loaded. Add a shoulder strap for a laptop bag over the top and you can quickly start feeling a bit uncomfortable hoofing it across an airport. I think a slightly wider design would have distributed the weight better across the shoulders and not made it feel like it was cutting-in quite so much. I agree with other comments that a waist belt is *not* needed. The bag sits well on the back when fully loaded, it just needs slightly wider straps so as to not cut into the shoulders.

Otherwise, everything about this bag is awesome - I look forward to using it for years to come! :)
 Great Bag, Great Service
By AJ Anderson, Columbus IN, July 12, 2011

I recently purchased the Sky Train for my husband for a family trip to California. He likes the rugged good looks of it. This bag also has the best zippers with the monkey knot pulls, it was the easiest to open out of all our bags.

When I ordered the bag I was concerned that I might not get it in time for our trip. I called the company spoke with a very nice fellow on the phone and was assured that it would be here in time. As it turned out, even though it was a special order color, we got it the very next week. Awesome Guys, Great Job.
 Around the world
By Dewey, Denver, CO, July 7, 2011

I bought the Sky Train for a 3 week trip around the world. I wanted a carry on bag that basically was a miracle bag. Well this was it! My trip went to Australia, Africa, and Argentina so I had to bring a wide variety of thing. Like snorkel and mask, dress clothes, safari hat, running shoes, and all the regular stuff. This bag held it all and I was able to shove a few trinkets in there from my travels as well! I have used this bag every weekend since for just regular travel. I also used it for a bike tour from San Francisco to LA! I must say I was packed the best of the 3000 other participants! I have such a love for this bag that it is now my gift of choice! My bag and I have logged over 45000 miles in 3 months and I wouldn't dream of taking any other bag!
 Very well made
By Janet, Sydney, Australia, June 30, 2011

Recently purchased and used once already. Initial reaction was to admire the sky train's excellent quality. Easily packed everything for a weekend. My big challenge is to use it for my 5 week European trip. Excellent service from Red Oxx too.
 Sky Train to France
By Anonymous, NY, June 23, 2011

Used as a carry-on for a trip to France to attend a wedding & then a side trip to Lisbon. Able to fit everything into the bag and it worked well as a carry-on, easily fitting into overhead bins. Backpack straps were comfortable & made it easier to rush through the airport terminals. Tough enough to check as well, as I did on the return through Lisbon. Only enhancements I'd suggest are additional, small zipped pockets, maybe simple mesh ones to hold small items. There seems to be "open" space for these along sides of the main compartment, especially after cinching clothes down with the internal tie-downs.
 First time user of the Sky Train
By Helen t Walker, Hawai'i, June 23, 2011

Mahalo for sending the Sky Train in time for my trip to the Northwest. I made the mistake of using another backpack(much lighter and smaller as my purse) and hand carried the Sky Train, which after a while got cumbersome. I think the only way to use the Sky Train, for me, is as a backpack. I also packed the shoulder strap in my check in luggage and that could have helped me alleviate the weight problem at times in my walking in the airport. I'm still learning how to use it to my advantage. Another trip is coming up in October. Any suggestions are welcome. I read the comments about the Sky Train before the trip, I will read them again to gain more knowledge as a user now. I do not regret buying this beautifully made travel luggage!
 Great bag, great service
By Seismic Pirate, Upper Michigan, June 16, 2011

When I was finally ready to pull the trigger on the Sky Train (and a CPA), I noted the Sky Train was back-ordered and was worried that it wouldn't arrive in time for me to use it on my next trip abroad-Nigeria.

I called, talked to Amanda (very nice to be able to put a face to name these days!) and she made a note on my order. It arrived with plenty of time to spare and without repeating all the praise this bag has already received, I'll just say it's built like a tank, super-light and the black looks great.

I also fly helicopters as well as internationally on a regular basis and am limited to 33 pounds for a 5-week trip. The CPA and Sky Train are going to make this a LOT easier for me! (to be honest, so is, which I found on Red Oxx here-thanks guys :)

I've loaded the Sky Train and I agree with MF below, there is little need for a waist strap.
 Sky Train. Superior in all aspects
By MF, Sweden, June 5, 2011

I agree with all the positive reviews about this bag. Many great colors but I chose a black one to keep future travel-stains "invisible". And in order not to attract thieves

Some people suggest a waist belt but I do not think it would be a good idea. My first MLC (maximum legal carriage) made of ballistic material had it but it took time to stuff it back and to sort it out. If this feature is added I suggest Red Oxx makes it removable for us who would prefer to leave it behind. The bag is stable enough without waist belt.

For those who hesitate to buy the bag immediatly I suggest that You start with buying the Red Oxx Claw shoulder strap for Your old bag. Through the years I have tried several different shoulder straps from Eagle Creek, Patagonia and others. But this one that comes with the Sky Train is the only one I tried that comfortably protects my shoulder even when the bag is heavily overloaded.

Next trip without overpacking goes to south of France

"Celui qui veut voyager heureux doit voyager léger"Antoine de Saint Exupéry
 Great Company, Great Bag
By Jamie, Winston-Salem, NC, June 1, 2011

First, a quick word about the company: When I called to ask a question about this bag, the phone was answered by the CEO, Jim. After discussing the SkyTrain, we spent another half hour talking about Jim's philosophy on business and philanthropy and Red Oxx's work in Guatemala and down town Billings. Needless to say, I quickly realized this was not your typical big box store. I've never had a customer service call before or since after which I felt like I'd love to sit down over beers with the call-taker to keep the conversation going.

On to the SkyTrain.

After reading every internet review available on this bag and several others, I purchased the SkyTrain for a 10 day trip to Europe. It was perfect. Though Red Oxx suggests this as a good pack for women, rest assured even the biggest and manliest of men will find the SkyTrain similarly useful. I'm about 6'3", 190 lbs, and the bag was great for me. It had more than enough room for 4 bundle-wrapped button-down shirts, a pair of jeans, a sweater, 4 undershirts, gym shorts, towel, hostel sheet, enough underwear for the trip, and a lot of my wife's clothes on the return trip once she ran out of space in her own bag. Even with all that stuff inside, though, the bag retained its shape nicely and was comfortable to carry thanks to the foam padding on the back and between the two large pockets.

As many previous reviewers have noted, the build quality of these bags is very impressive. I am blind and the first thing I do whenever I get any new piece of gear is feel every inch of it, inside and out. I can honestly say this is the first bag of any type I've owned that was literally flawless. There were no loose threads or strings, no stitches out of place. Moreover, the fabric, seems, and hardware seem indestructible. When preparing for my trip, I ordered a similarly sized bag from another made in the USA travel bag maker and, though that bag was also well built and stylish, the SkyTrain was undoubtedly superior in durability. Thus, the Red Oxx went to Europe, the other bag went back to its manufacturer.

As for comfort, my pack probably had between 25 and 30 pounds of gear in it by the end of our trip. I carried it all day in back-packing mode while doing some sight-seeing between train rides in Paris, and the comfort level was good. Obviously it was not like carrying a true backpack with a frame and waist belt. However, the SkyTrain was as good as if not better than most daypacks I've carried, and it handled the overloading with ease. Perhaps most importantly, neither the straps nor the zippers seemed stressed by the heavy load.

I cannot say enough good things about the SkyTrain's versatility. The backpack straps made movement through tight airplane aisles and crowded subways very easy. In fact, because I could carry the bag on my back, I was able to go through security in a few places that clearly did not allow "luggage," such as the Eiffel Tower. Similarly, the ability to carry the bag using a shoulder strap made life easier when I had to check it on the return flight in order to get some Lemoncella through security. The shoulder strap is also convenient for giving the bag a little more of a professional look for business trips and the like. I am an attorney, and I will not hesitate to make this my first-choice travel bag for both work and leisure.

In sum, I have been very impressed with Red Oxx and with my SkyTrain, in particular. I highly recommend both to anyone who wants a versatile, no-frills, high quality bag.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal on continental flights and most international ones as well.
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend using our Red Oxx Packing Cubes. They're designed to work with the dimensions of the Sky Train. You can build your own personal custom packing cube kit. Not into cubes? Try the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has two packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap. The Sky Train was also developed with smaller stature travelers in mind.
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Sky Train under the seat is not recommended.

Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
Why bother with cheap imported packing cubes when you can build your own Red Oxx Packing Cubes Custom Kit designed to work in conjunction with your Sky Trian. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit or makeup organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.

How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag. Or try a Nomad or Meerkat Packing Tube.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Why doesn't the Sky Train come with a waist strap?
The bag was not designed to operate with a waist strap. However, you can use a pair of Luggage Compression Straps to cinch down the bag from the outside. Wrap one strap around the top, about 4-6 inches down, and the second strap further down, about 4-6 inches from the bottom. The top strap, if cinched tighter than the bottom strap, will pull the pack closer to your upper body, relieving excessive weight from the pack on your hips.

Another option is to take a belt, any belt will do, and thread it through the holes in the smuggler's pocket at the base of the bag where the backpack straps attach to the bag. While not a very comfortable way to travel, using a belt this way can also relieve some weight off the hips. The best solution however, is to focus on traveling light and not over pack your Sky Train. Use the internal cinch straps to hold your belongings in place and minimize wrinkles.

Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I just say no to checked bag fees.”

Sky Train $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Carry-on! On your back.

Our Red Oxx travelers it awesome! Imagine, a convertible hybrid backpack and carry-on travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for late or lost luggage--it's with you all the way. A bag built for mobility. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Doug called it the "quintessential dual-purpose bag". Think flexible-- this mobile carry-on bag can be carried five different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle on the side.
2. Vertically using the Euro handle on the top of the bag.
3. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
4. Cross body, carried like a messenger bag, again using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
5. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

The grab loop Euro handles on the sides also help stowing the bag in the overhead bin. Fits continental airline luggage boarding size restriction box and most international ones, too. Includes an adjustable and removeable sternum chest strap.

The Sky Train Carry-on features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") and is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag. Or watch the packing video in the videos tab where professional travel guide Kasey Austin of Austin Adventures demonstrates some of her awesome packing tips.

Don't like bundle wrapping? Build you own custom Red Oxx Packing Cubes Kit. Our made in Montana cubes are designed to work in conjunction with the Sky Train. Ladies, check out the Meerkat Packing Tube, a tube cube sized just right for hair care products.


Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for all the world to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Traveling with a Sky Train Convertible Backpack bag, you'll know it won't bust apart and break you down.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 38 Liters
Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Our bags will fit! In stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Because Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Sky Train is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable "hidden" backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack strap swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable sternum chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: Proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top