Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Backpacks Daypacks  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (233 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Very good bag, easily overpacked
By David Hines, Greensboro, NC, November 29, 2012

The Skytrain is a solidly made bag, versatile, and it's got a down-to-earth-but-respectable attractiveness. It's quality workmanship, and I've used it successfully for several overseas and domestic trips; the bag has held up very well and is worth the purchase price.

The biggest caveat with this bag is that it is very, very easy to overpack. This can become an issue for your back, and even more so when you're trying to stuff it into an airline's overhead bin and wondering why it won't fit. Also, the fact that it opens from the top (short end) takes a little getting used to, and invariably baffles security personnel when they check it out.
 
 1 bag, 1 month in Europe
By Tannia W, Wellington, New Zealand, November 28, 2012

This was the only bag I took with me on my 1 month European adventure in July-August 2012. It was absolutely fantastic!

Now I'm a five foot four inches high female.

My family & friends could not believe the Sky Train would fit everything I needed for 1 month's holiday. It did!

I also found it incredible easy to carry on buses, trains, and planes.

I love my Sky Train! Money well spent! Thanks Red Oxx!

 
 Best Travel Bag
By Marisa, Los Angeles, November 28, 2012

I've had the Sky Train for about a year now and have used it on a variety of trips - from a long weekend in Cabo, to a one week camping trip in Sequoia, to a two week trip to Europe. The Skytrain worked in every situation.

My friends are amazed I can fit two weeks worth of cloths in a carry-on bag. Just how much did I fit: 3 pairs of pants, 1 pair of shorts, 2 skirts, 2 dresses, 15 shirts, 1 sweater, 1 jacket, 1 down vest, undergarments to last the trip, toiletries, and 3 pairs of shoes (sandals, flats, and hiking shoes). Nothing wrinkled, thanks to the compression straps and the bundling method.

Ladies, if you are between the Sky Train and Air Boss as I was, I would recommend you go with the Sky Train. Having the option to carry as a backpack is priceless when you end up having to carry the bag for an extended amount of time. Your shoulders will thank you.
 
 A Good Carry-On Bag
By Nathan P, San Jose, CA, November 28, 2012

I bought Sky Trains for my wife and I prior to a trip, having tried the OneBag method using bags that didn't really help the effort. Since purchasing the bags in late 2010, I've used mine for leisure travel and business travel on numerous occasions, and the bag is really well designed.

Like anything else, there are trade-offs, though. The biggest reason I didn't give this a five-star review is that the bag is, itself, quite heavy. That makes sense since it's also virtually bullet-proof (not literally, please do not use Sky Train as a bullet-resistant item or you will be unpleasantly surprised).

It fits really well into overhead bins, and even under seats, when stuffed to the gills.

The only thing I'd like to have that isn't in mine is a THIRD compartment for storing a laptop or tablet computer, with closed cell foam lining, or a pocket in the back of the bag for same.

Overall, this is a great bag, and while it isn't the very tip-top best out there for modularity, it also looks like a travel bag and not a military ruck.

Highly recommended.
 
 Sturdy, well designed bag ideal for one-baggers
By Jeff, Georgia, November 4, 2012

I purchased this bag after reading onebag.com and before a deployment to Africa. It is VERY solidly made, with excellent zippers, a shoulder strap that does not bind and does not have a right/wrong way to use, and well padded backpack straps. If anything, you might find the extra hardware gives the bag a slightly high base weight, but it's still much lighter than traditional luggage. I managed to get some scuffing on my bag after a trip to Australia, but no rips of any sort.

I would absolutely buy this bag again in a heartbeat.
 
 Planes, Trains, cars, Trams, Buses, Cog Railways, Oh, My!
By Jim, Park City, November 3, 2012

The bag I used nearly every day for the month of September in Switzerland, Austria and Italy. Packed for trips of up to a week with no trouble. Even used it as a backpack a few times. The numerous carry options make this bag a perfect choice for short hop travel on foot or by any form of public or private transportation.
 
 Two continets, two seasons, one bag
By Dean, Seattle, WA, November 2, 2012

I just returned from a three week trip that included Malawi, Africa and Amsterdam.

I was somewhat concerned that packing for the summer heat of Africa and the approaching winter in northern Europe would pose a challenge to the Sky Train, but I was wrong.

The Sky Train handled everything I needed to cram in to it and even at the end of the trip (with souvenir purchases and sloppy packing) it was perfect.

Not having wheels made it much easier not only on the cobblestones of Amsterdam but also on the unpaved "streets" of the villages I was working in.

Some people worry about the size of the Sky Train being too small to hold what you need or too large to fit as a carry-on. For me, it was perfect. I only had one gate agent look at the bag with the idea they wanted to check it, but convinced them that it wasn't worth their effort.
 
 One bag convert
By Patrick, Vallejo, CA, October 27, 2012

I discovered Red Oxx Gear via the excellent website http://www.onebag.com/ authored by Doug Dyment. His basic philosophy of durability and simplicity is quite evident in this product, and one has to enjoy a somewhat minimalist ethos to really appreciate this bag. This is something that I am gradually warming up to, but admittedly it has taken a little time.

I have long been a fan of Eagle Creek travel products, with their clever features and innovative design. More recently, however, they have started to get a bit too trendy, and now that all of their manufacturing has moved offshore, I am less likely view them as the "go to" bag provider (although I do own many bags from them and are a big fan of their "packing solutions", folders, cubes and sacs).

So the first thing that I must say I like about Red Oxx products is that they are made right here in the USA (I really do not see any evidence that the good people of Viet Nam can build a product any better than those in Montana, and the price is surprisingly about the same!). Secondly, I do appreciate the use of "bomb-proof" materials and quality construction.

Here's what else I really like: Simplicity. no, I do not need or want any extra pockets. Those featured are just right. I like the fact that the bag is designed to be slightly smaller than max carry-on dimensions (I find it plenty large). It fits easily in the overhead bin without any stress.

The handle on the short end of the bag is perfect for carrying the bag while boarding a plane to minimize your profile, and is also very handy when using the bag with the shoulder straps out. The shoulder straps, by the way, are very comfortable, and the bag carries very well for my 6' 1" frame. The adjustment buckles are super durable and very clever.

I find that I really like the detachable shoulder sling, and although it is a bit heavy, it is very comfortable to use even if carried only on one shoulder (usually I have to use shoulder straps in a cross body style, but this one stays in place super well just slung across one shoulder). This is important since I like to remove the strap while boarding, but definitely like to have it in place while visiting an airport rest room (where I certainly do not want to set my bag down on the floor near the urinal!).

I do wonder why the zippers on this bag do not have the lockable feature I have grown accustomed to on my Eagle Creek bags, but I wonder if it is because YKK does not offer that feature on these heavier zippers (if so, I vote for the heavier zippers).

All in all, I think that this bag (and Doug Dyment) have changed my travel style for good! It has been many years since I have gone "carry-on only", and now I am wondering why I haven't done it sooner!

 
 3wks Italy/Slovenia
By Dennis Hamsher, Duluth, Minnesota , October 23, 2012

Just returned from spending 3 weeks in Italy and Slovenia just me and my Sky Train - all I can say is "I Am Impressed !"

Not only did it pack up and hold clothes and shoes for the trip it provided me with more than a few laughs as I watched over packed travelers trying to wheel their jumbo roller suitcases around Venice and in Airports - while I whizzed by.

This bag was designed right and built to last.

Thank you Red-Oxx for proving that the highest quality goods are still still made right here in the USA.
 
 Good Product, but...
By Tony, Ottawa, Canada, October 18, 2012

I was very happy when I received the Sky Train carry-on bag. It was well packaged and arrived quickly in good condition. The quality and workmanship was readily evident. The purpose-built design makes it ideal as a carry-on bag. Within the 22 pound carry-on limit imposed by my airline, I easily packed everything I needed for a seven night business trip, and I'm sure I could use it for a much longer, one-bag-only excursion, by packing wisely.

The "monkey fist" zipper tabs make it too easy for someone to open your bag unnoticed so I removed them. As well, I found the zipper pulls do not lend themselves to securely locking the zippers, so I manufactured a six-inch long piece of 1/16 diameter aircraft wire with loops at each end ("aircraft wire" is extremely hard and resistance to being cut) and by positioning the all the zipper pulls in one corner, threaded the wire through the zipper pulls and padlocked both ends of the security wire to the shoulder carry strap attachment ring sewn into the bag. This provided the security I felt necessary.

The shoulder carry-on strap is made quite heavy by the rubber shoulder pad. In using this bag, I found I either carried it by the main handgrip, or wore it as a backpack, and the shoulder carry strap and the end handgrip were not needed. Every ounce counts, so I think these two items could be lightened or eliminated.

When wearing the bag as a backpack, I missed the presence of a chest strap to hold the shoulder straps together, and there is no provision of loops on the shoulder straps to add a chest strap.

In order to remain in control of the bag when it was momentarily set down, I manufactured another 48 inch length of 1/16 inch diameter aircraft wire encased in black parachute cord, with a secured one inch loop in one end, and a metal snap fastener in a similar loop at the other end. I also manufactured a belt loop from one-inch black webbing with a sewn-in "D" ring. By connecting the "D" ring to the aircraft wire tether using the snap fastener, and the loop at the other end of the tether, to the same carry strap ring using the padlock as previously mentioned, the bag was easily secured to my person whether being handcarried, used as a backpack, or when set down. If I wished, the tether was easily disconnected either by the snap fastener connected to my belt, or by unlocking the padlock attaching it to the bag. However, cutting the tether and walking off, or pulling the bag from my grip would be extremely difficult, and impossible without my noticing.

Overall, I would certainly recommend the Sky Train carry-on bag, but advise any user to take the security precautions mentioned above.

I think the bag could be improved by eliminating the end/side handgrip, lightening the shoulder strap, providing for locking all the zipper tabs together, and offering as a new, included product, the tether line as described above. Also, a few outside attachment points sewn into the seams would be handy to temporarily hold items such as a cane or jacket with additional short straps. Finally, it would be nice to have compression straps in both bag compartments.

As a personal peeve, I'd rather not have the logo badge on the outside. If I'm going to act as a billboard, I think I should be compensated for the work. And when traveling, I don't like the idea of advertising myself or any product.
 
 Good bag, could use more interior pockets
By Anonymous, Zurich, October 18, 2012

Recently ordered this bag to use for business travel. It is robust and fits most of my needs. The only thing missing is a small compartment in the front to put pens, passport, tickets etc.
 
 I just love this
By Fran Pearson, Oregon, October 11, 2012

I just love this bag. Just as others have said it seems like it should be heavy due to engineering but its not. I did a personal 10 day trip and a business trip of 5 days. My clothes stayed really secure and I grabbed my bag and sailed through the airport. That outer pocket to hold my liquids made security a dream. Nice job. I too would like to ha e the metal dog tag be customized with my name as luggage tag
 
 excellent
By Anonymous, , October 11, 2012

 
 You Better Love it
By Frank, Northern VA, September 24, 2012

You better love this bag because it looks like it will last forever. It looks like the Hummer of luggage. Everything from straps to buckles to zippers seems over-engineered to last a lifetime.

I have two overseas trips coming up and can't wait to show it off in the airports (France & India).

It would be even cooler if the dog tags that double as Model ID info were engraved with your information so you could use them as luggage tags. Order a bag and get custom luggage dog tags, that would be sweet.

I don't know what my next bag will be yet but I know where I'll be getting it.

Thanks for an awesome made in the USA product.
 
 The best carry-on bag ever!!
By EricL, , September 18, 2012

Purchased this bag for a trip to London, then Spain. Managed to fit a 6-day change of clothes plus accessories into it.. was definitely full and didn't want to close, but the bulky load was no match for the heavy-duty zippers.

On larger planes, this bag fit easily into the overhead bin and on smaller planes, it was compact enough to fit under the seat in front of me.

During a security check in London, a security officer that examined the contents was very impressed with the bag and wrote down the website address.

Overall, I feel I made and excellent choice in purchasing this bag and will enjoy it when travelling in the future!!
 
 No more rolls boards!
By Anonymous, Connecticut, September 13, 2012

Being a firm believer in never checking luggage, I needed to retire my 18 year old top brand roll aboard. Research indicated Red Oxx might be a good alternative, but it was tough to give up the training wheels. After my first coast to coast trip with Red Oxx Convertible Backpack I will never have wheels again!

This is without a doubt the best suitcase I've ever tried out! It fit everything I needed and had plenty of room for lots more. I could not have managed without the backpack straps, it was too bulky for my small frame. The backpack was perfect! The space and ruggedness just what I was looking for. now I'm telling everyone about Red Oxx!
 
 Awesome! Simply Awesome!
By Joe, Upstate NY, September 12, 2012

The Sky Train is great. I have had the bag (and some other Red Oxx accessories, too) for a few years now. They're all great, tough performers.

A few months ago, I was traveling alone and waiting for a taxi in a line outside of the Atlanta airport. I heard someone behind me ask, "How do you like the Red Oxx?" He had seen the logo on my carry-on and wanted to know what I thought, as he said that he was saving up to buy one. Of course, I gave it my glowing review: Great bag and great company.
 
 Great bag/Great Service
By Peter G, Melbourne, Australia, August 23, 2012

The bag is my absolute favourite, whether for aircraft carry-on or for local holidays and overnight trips. Easy to pack and easy to find clothes and gear without unpacking everything.

Last, but definitely not least, I have found Red Oxx customer service to be simply outstanding, a rare commodity in today's speedy world.
 
 Great but a little too big
By Darren J McMillan, Australia, August 22, 2012

The bag is very well constructed and looks like it will last a long time.

My only problem is that if very easily expands in the depth dimension. It easily becomes thicker than the 9 inches quoted. If you put a lot of stuff in it (easy to do) then I can imagine some airlines will have an issue with this.
 
 The only bag
By Linda Schack, Manhattan Beach, CA, August 9, 2012

I have had my Sky Train for about 3 years. It is the only bag I need for travel anywhere, including a week and a half in Europe. It is intelligently and beautifully designed. I love the backpack straps which make it easy to carry. As a woman I was concerned that it might be too heavy, but it is not; I've carried it ridiculously long distances in large airports to connecting flights. Highly recommended!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.