Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Safari Travel Luggage  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (236 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Great Bag!
By Kay Schmidt, Walton, Kansas, February 27, 2014

I have used this bag (so far!) for long weekend trips, and am amazed at how much I can pack! I use eBag packing cubes and have no trouble getting everything packed in.

I have yet not tried the back pack feature, but expect this will come in handy for international travel where bags with wheels cannot be successfully used. I love the soft sides and the two compartment design.

Trying harder to pack "smart" - Hope to use this bag as my sole bag for a two week trip to Guatemala this summer! Wish me luck!
 
 Savvy Travelers Must Have This Bag!
By Jason, San Francisco Bay Area, January 16, 2014

After becoming a one bag convert, I decided Sky Train was the right bag for me, bought it and practiced packing & unpacking it via the bundle technique along with packing cubes. My next trip was a 10 day vacation to the east coast. I tested Sky Train by deliberately over packing and it passed with fantastic marks. It amazes me to this day how many travelers skirt the carry on rules. My overhead bin was almost full (in first class no less!) by the time I boarded. Sky Train's soft shell material allowed me to wiggle it into the overhead with no worries.

During my trip I efficiently unpacked & packed in 2 hotels and a friend's house. Traveling with one bag allowed me some souvenir liberties that I was able to carry home in a separate plastic bag. Sky Train's backpack flexibility came in super handy when my flight home was delayed for several hours. I comfortably navigated the airport terminals with minimal hassle. Some minor suggestions: like other reviewers mentioned, a removable waist strap and wider & slightly better padded backpack straps would enhance carrying comfort and stability. Other than that, Red Oxx has themselves a fantastic mainstay for their bag line up. I've already donated all of my other luggage pieces and am a staunch net promoter of Sky Train. Cheers!
 
 A Superb Bag
By Corey, Calgary, AB, January 16, 2014

I've only used the Skytrain on a few trips, but it is surprisingly capacious. The outward appearance belies the overall capacity of this well-constructed, highly durable bag. As a long time Tumi customer, I can attest that the quality of the Skytrain is on par, if not better, for half the price. As long as you're okay with luggage sans wheels, I would highly recommend this bag for both business and leisure travel. The only caution is that the bag is easily over-packed, and even with the optional backpack straps, can prove to be a heavy load. However, if you're willing to pack smart, this bag is a must have.
 
 must have for international travel
By Justin , Weatherford tx, January 6, 2014

I purchased this bag for a month long trip in Europe that consisted of 10 flights. This bag saved me many times. The size is just perfect for the budget airlines restrictions. It was small enough to met requirements but large enough to fit a weeks worth of clothes. My other friends had to check their bags. This bag is worth the money just to save on checked bags.
 
 The best Carry On Bag Ever Made!
By BW, Albuquerque, January 6, 2014

This is the best carry on bag ever made. It is great for air travel. It's so well designed that I can forgo checking a bag in instances when I used check one. It saves time and checked bag fees and I don't have to worry about the airlines losing my luggage. One of the best pieces of luggage I have ever owned. I love it.
 
 Red Ox Sky Train
By Alistair Nolan, Paris, France, December 27, 2013

I recently purchased a Sky Train for my brother after reading the recommendation made by Doug Dyment at OneBag.com. My brother is a musician who travels continuously, and has found the Sky Train exceedingly useful. So I then purchased one for myself. I rarely write product reviews, but this is an exceptionally well made and well-thought-through product which is a pleasure and a great help to travel with. Congratulations and thank you.
 
 The most well-constructed travel bag I own!
By Brad, Brisbane, Australia, December 12, 2013

Having completed hours of research online, I purchased the Sky Train with the confidence that it would be my ultimate travel bag. I was not disappointed whatsoever! This has to be the most well-constructed travel bag that I've ever purchased!

It has already served me well on trips of up to 4 days and I'm hoping to use it as my primary bag for a 2 week trip to Europe in February.

Am looking forward to adding more Red Oxx products to my collection in the near future.
 
 Research paid off -- the sky train delivered
By Victoria, Canada, November 28, 2013

After going overboard on research into the perfect 'one bag', I'm glad I chose the sky train. As per other reviews, it fulfills all potential travel needs.

It's pulled me through the first leg of our one-year round-the-world trip, and constantly amazed me that there's still room in it once fully packed. Despite downpours during bag loading on the Tarmac, everything still arrives dry and as I packed it. It's a marvel!
 
 Great for air or train
By Robert Keefer, Omaha, November 12, 2013

I love the versatility - backpack, handles (upright or sideways), or shoulder strap. Inside space perfect for bundled clothes, outer one for shoes, toiletries, etc. I've carried it on my back walking to and from Philadelphia's 30th street station, by handle on and off regional jets: I also have an Air Boss that I've used happily for years and I like the Sky Train even better.

The only thing I don't like is the chest straps can slide off when undoing the backpack straps for stowing. I wish there were a way to secure them; I nearly lost them once.
 
 Born in the USA used worldwide
By Bernie, England, October 22, 2013

Just love my Sky Train. It was quite expensive especially when you add the cost to deliver to the UK and the customs duty that has to be paid but it has been great value. It is so versatile - I can use it on short or long haul flights and I can store enough clothing for a week and take all my electronics too. Best of all it is always stored away as cabin luggage which means I can get in and out of airports far more quickly than I used to able to.

The versatility of the different carry options is unsurpassed - carry by hand or by shoulder or best of all as a backpack. Best of all though is the sheer pleasure and satisfaction I get from owning such a great piece of quality workmanship - it never lets me done. Only wish there was a distributor of Red Oxx in the UK
 
 Love It!
By Irene, Boulder, CO, September 26, 2013

Have owned this backpack in a different color and order a second because everyone in the family loves it. It works great for around the world travel when you don't want to check backs or roll heavy suitcases. Makes travel much easier and enjoyable.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, Houston, September 26, 2013

Great carry on bag! I took it to Budapest for 10 days. Lufthansa has a strict one bag carry on policy and 8 kg (18 Lbs) max. Because I was carrying it on my shoulder they didn't check weight. The fabric construction also let me cram it into an overhead bin around other bags.
 
 Fantastic Product and Customer Service
By Emile Daigle, Boston, MA, September 26, 2013

I wanted this bag for a multi-leg trip I had coming up in three weeks. The lead time on this popular product would have put the delivery date too close to my departure, so I contacted their customer service. They were very accommodating and set aside one from a sooner production run so I could travel in the pinnacle of functional style.

The bag itself is great. I love the shoulder strap's grip for throwing it on while sprinting from the security gate through the airport, and the backpack straps for the long haul after I land. Construction is rock-solid.
 
 Sky Train - great item
By Don C, Arizona, September 26, 2013

Great product. Purchased two for my wife and my trip to Europe. Almost everything was perfect. Would recommend that you consider adding a caribiner clip in the inside of the outer zip pocket to allow you to clip your keys and travel flashlite - instead of having them tumble around in the pocket - with the potential of them getting lost over the trip. Otherwise, simply a great product
 
 Happy with the Sky Train
By Christy P., , September 16, 2013

Used this as my primary bag for a 2-week trip through 4 European countries that involved both work and recreation. Easily carried everything I needed with the backpack straps and no struggling to wheel a bag over cobbled streets or on stairways. I would prefer smaller backpack straps as an option. For my size of a person (5'5" woman) I had to cinch them all the way in and then daisy-chain up the extra so that it didn't catch on things.
 
 Awesome bags
By Anonymous, San Francisco, California, September 5, 2013

These are awesome bags. We have five, one for each family member and each in a different color. We took them on family trips over the summer on safari to Africa and in the USA for river rafting. They are sturdy, easy to use, come in many colors to keep separate, are comfortable holding via either of the handles or as backpack. I would bias more towards the darker colors because when checked as luggage the lighter colors get a bit dirty. I would also suggest the option of smaller backpack straps so younger kids can use them more easily. Overall, these bags are strong, easy to use, well organized, elicited many compliments from other travelers. We look forward to many years of use. We also got a bunch of the nomad shave kits which was a great way to keep organized. What an awesome company. Way to go!
 
 A "surprise lightening strike"
By R. Shaffer, Florida Panhandle, September 1, 2013

Used my "SkyTrain" on two one-week trips; it largely lived up to suggested expectations. However, "bundling method" of packing on one occasion was a drawback when a waitstaff member dumped a plate of food on me (before my destination and before my "SkyTrain was unpacked, un-bundled and hung on closet hangers). UN-"bundling" to expeditiously retrieve an entire change of clothing (and then re-packing) was an unfortunate and difficult restroom process to say the least. Having learned the "roll method" of packing while in the military, I suspect I will lean more towards including that method to make expeditious emergency clothing retrieval a more simple process (and include 'packing cubes' where possible) in the event "lightening strikes twice"...
 
 Awesome
By Anonymous, Kansas, August 28, 2013

great backpack for travel; easy to organize; pack and it holds a lot of stuff easily. There are

only a couple things could have made it better for me: the chest strap was way too big--would have been perfect had there been more adjustability. and wheels--there were times it just would have been great to have been able to roll it. It held up great all over Greece--happy I had it!
 
 Japan Adventure
By Gearóid Ó Chaomhánach, Ireland, August 23, 2013

Well, here we go;

myself and the boss had Japlanned the trip of a lifetime; just over three weeks traveling the length and breadth of Japan. After considerable research (helped by Doug Dyment) we arrived at Red Oxx. I was stunned by the level of craftsmanship. I was also impressed by the design factors taken into account for each bag but most of all I loved the company ethos and the confidence they had in their product (life guarantee!!!). I dillyed and dallyed over the Air Boss but eventually decided on the Sky Train (for the back straps).

The trip was going to involve some hiking (on Hokkaido), a lot of city time (Tokyo, Osaka) and most of all an awful lot of train travel - think Sapporo to Tokyo in one night (1200km), multiple shinkansen trips, lots of buses, cable cars (we stayed in a monastery on top of Koya-san), and plenty of different hotels/guesthouses/hostels.

We also wanted to buy as much Japanese stuff as we could (we had to send our hiking gear home by post to make room).

This bag is a thing of beauty, a work of art, a labour of craft.

Every tiny thing that would annoy me about another bag was fixed here.

The zips are heavy duty, the stitching is heavy duty, the fabric, the straps, the carabiners.

Things that seem small, like the ease with which the straps can be tucked away or removed, the pouch that's perfect for passports, the thickness of the padding on the straps, were life-savers on busy subway trains.

The claw strap is sensational and has no drift - my only negative is that my shoulder became slightly bruised from using this side carry - but bear in mind I had 3 weeks of gear in my bag, including hiking boots.

The compartments are so useful and brilliantly designed.

Stats - I'm 6ft tall and weigh 180lbs - the bag was adjustable within my range.

Colours - I bought the silver/grey bag and it's super in real life - not as nice as the yellow my partner bought but still great.

Customer service - we were ordering a bit closer to the trip than we should've been and considering the bags had to ship to Ireland we were slightly worried. We called the company who assured us that they'd ship the next day (even though the yellow was out of stock - they even reallocated us a yellow bag) and we had our Sky Trains with a week to spare.

For people with a backpacking mindset - this bag isn't expensive - it's a large purchase but pays for itself every minute of your trip.

If you are into traveling without hassle - staying in hostels, catching trains, making snap decisions to take overnight buses, getting caught in typhoons, never stressing that your bag will bust open - this is the bag for you.

 
 Perfect travel companion
By Anonymous, Australia, July 30, 2013

I have owned the Sky Train for about a year now. I prefer backpacks for travel but was frustrated with always having to unpack and repack to access stuff at the bottom and I also didn't really like looking like a 'backpacker'. I did a lot of research looking for a backpack-style bag that opened like a suitcase, and decided on the Sky Train.

I have used it as a carry on for domestic flights and it was also my main bag for a 2 month trip overseas. In that journey, the Sky Train took a real beating - pulling it on and off an adventure bus storage bay countless times onto gravel roadsides; shoved around long airport queues; used as a seat in stations, etc. I was able to pack enough clothes (using a rolling method) for 2 months away, in radically different climates, though part of that trick is packing clothes that can be worn wear in layers, and mixed around, rather than bulky jackets, etc. The Sky Train was filled to the brim by the end of my trip but held up through all the abuse and still looks new and the seams and zippers and fabric are still perfect. (apart from minor scuffing from aforementioned gravel roads).

It is surprisingly comfortable most of the time when worn as a backpack but, being a short female, I did start to ache when it was over packed. I left the claw strap behind but I will take it with me next time, just to give my back a rest. The handles are very comfortable too for carrying the bag short distances.

This is an extremely tough bag and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any one looking for a rugged bag that fits a ridiculous amount of stuff and allows versatility in carrying .
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.