Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried five different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle on the side.
2. Vertically using the Euro handle on the top of the bag.
3. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
4. Cross body, also like a messenger bag, again using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
5. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

The grab loop Euro handles on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK IT.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

A CONVERTIBLE CARRY-ON BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (244 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 best travel bag
By Bryan, NYC, March 8, 2012

What an incredible product. Very well made. Solid construction. I traveled to Chicago for 6 days, then spent a weekend in New Orleans. I needed no other luggage. It carried everything I needed and I still had room for just-in-case situations. No regrets.
 
 At Last
By Peter G, Melbourne, Australia, March 1, 2012

Well designed and finely crafted, this bag holds a deceptive amount of gear which is easily accessed in the divided compartments.
 
 Perfect for my intended use!
By kaliforniagal, Southern California, February 29, 2012

I have gotten myself down to just one carryon and my purse, but when I had an unexpectedly long layover (due to weather, overbooking of a flight, or whatever), I found carrying around my zippered tote bag or duffle bag to be hard on my shoulder, even if I switched the bag between shoulders. I wanted a bag I could fit what I needed into that I could put on my back so the weight was not all on one shoulder.

I have only just purchased the bag, but tested it by putting stuff into it and trying out the straps. It feels comfortable, and I like that the straps are padded. If I do want to carry the bag on one shoulder, I find the grip on the shoulder strap to be VERY helpful for keeping the bag on my shoulder (a real struggle with my other options I have tried). I think this bag will work out really well for me, and I purposely bought it to last a LONG time. It is definitely very sturdy, and the flaps over the zippers will help protect it if I find myself traveling in rainy weather.

The size of the bag is perfect for the biggest "cube" organizer that I use to pack my things in. Using the "cube" system works very well with this bag. Having open compartments is a big plus for me. The inside compression straps are very handy.

I like having the flat zipper compartment on the outside. It will be very handy for keeping my plane ticket, bag of liquids, etc. handy for when I go through security and while I wait to board the plane.

My one small negative is that I have to be a bit careful pulling the zippers around the corners, because sometimes they get a bit stuck. But that is very minor, and as I use the bag, I'm sure I'll get the hang of how to zip it up.

One very positive thing for me is that there are enough color choices that you are fairly sure to get it in a color you really like. I chose the purple one.

I just love it when a company works as hard as Red Oxx does to make a quality product. I look forward to using my new bag on my next vacation. If all works out, I hope to make it to Europe using this bag -- and it is my goal to not have any checked bags to deal with. I want to enjoy my vacation, and not spend it trying to keep up with my stuff, especially since such trips tend to find one sleeping in a new place just about every night. I think this bag will help me with that.
 
 Love the backpack, high quality
By Phil, Duarte CA, February 18, 2012

We bought the Sky Train for my wife based on how much I love my Air Boss. We were going to get another Air Boss, but my wife thought the backpack option of the Sky Train would be a better match for her, and it is. After a couple trips this has become her favorite bag. She loves the 2 large-ish (rather than the 3 medium-large-ish Air Boss) compartments, and that it has plenty of room for her clothes, shoes, makeup, etc. It suits her packing style and can easily be carried by her. Bonus is that storing our soft-side bags is easier than storing our suitcases when not in use. Like the Air Boss, the sturdy construction of this bag is pretty much bomb-proof. Also like the Air Boss, this is a deceptively large bag... you can put a lot more into it than what you would think just by looking at it.
 
 The perfect bag for me
By Scott B., SLC, UT, February 16, 2012

I had the Sky Boss for two years and really liked it, but had some difficulty with a fully loaded bag and the one shoulder strap. I broke down and got the Sky Train and am glad I did.

The backpack straps are comfortable and well made. They even the load on my back and keep my hands free while moving around. I love being able to zipper them into their own compartment when not needed, and the carry handles on two sides are a great plus.

I use my own compression strap to help with a bulky middle that is a problem with soft side luggage. It also helps with load shift. I would have love one built-in, but I can see that would be a design problem.

This bag is not for people who love wheeled luggage. You'll never enjoy this, or any full carry bag if you need to keep your weight on the ground. Even though you have to deal with leaving your wheeled bag behind on regional jets, stick with it. This bag's not for you. (Although, for the life of me, I can't see how you can, in good concious, wheel that thing through airport bathrooms, walkways, parking lots, etc. and then put it on your car seat, airplane seat, or even your bed)

If, like me, you're an aficionado of onebag.com, want the most room in a single bag, and never want to loose contact with your bag, even on regionals. Then Redoxx makes the best options in Sky Boss and Train.

I'm going for a 15-day trip this year and this will be my only bag. I will not run the risk of lost, stolen, or damaged personal items, so I insist on keeping my bag with me at all time.

Every time I get off a plane with my Redoxx in hand, and walk by everyone waiting and hoping they get their pink-tagged bag back, I am grateful I've shed the wheeled carry-on forever.

***Red Oxx replies*** The bag Scott calls a "Sky Boss" is actually called the Air Boss.
 
 Not quite for us
By MrsSquid, Virginia, February 11, 2012

The bag is very well constructed - nothing dainty or lightweight about it. It holds a lot of stuff. Even so, you need to watch the weight. My husband packed it so full, I almost fell over trying it on as a backpack. I'm sticking to wheels. He uses it some but not as much as he thought he would. He prefers his laptop and work-related stuff in a backpack and clothes in a wheeled carry-on.
 
 Good but not great
By Anonymous, Seoul, South Korea, February 9, 2012

Sky Train allows you to pack a ton of things inside. It is built to withstand hard use and abuse. But there is a price...weight. A similar loadout I have had in other bags did not strain me as much as it did when using the Sky Train. I loaded for a 7 day business trip across the Midwest and East Coast. But only on the Sky Train, did I leave with a pinched nerve in my back after wearing the backpack for a week.

Some things can be done to improve the Sky Train.

1) The two zippers the hold the backpack strap? You don't need two zippers. You can get by with one. The purpose of those zippers is to hold the backpack straps inside. Well when the straps are deployed, the zipper is open. Don't need the extra zipper because it becomes redundant. Plus the tooth gauge is way too beefy for the purpose. Zipper just holds the backpack straps inside. No need for monster size zipper teeth. One zipper pull and smaller teeth. Maybe save a few ounces there.

2) The small pouch inside the front compartment where you can hold a pen or coins? Don't need two zippers there also. Plus the zippers used are the beefy YKK ones. Maybe use one zipper and a smaller zipper design.

3) Metal buckles? Bomb-proof but heavy. Consider a similar strength buckle but made of plastic?

4) The strap adjusters are also bomb-proof metal. Save a few ounces by changing to a lighter weight, possibly plastic?

5) The large front pouch or pocket. Great place to put your personal items when going through airport security but once you put your cell phone, wallet, watch etc. in there, the items swim around and disappear to the bottom. Maybe some sort of divided pocket would be easier to retrieve items instead of having to open the bag all the way after going past security.

Aside from that, the bag works good for travel. Fits nicely into the overhead bins on airplanes. The Sky Train is over built for the purpose. But take that as a positive. It most likely will never let you down, but you pay the price in terms of weight.

If Red Oxx could take a pound out of the bag then I think it would be much more enjoyable to carry/wear.
 
 Excellent
By Steven, NY,USA, February 9, 2012

Skytrain is a great combination for travel. You get the maximum possible volume to use as carry-on and the shoulder carrying capability. Bag is made from very sturdy heavy duty materials. Zippers feel very confident and those hard plastic side handles are a great idea. Don't feel afraid to give it an extra push to make it fit into that overhead compartment. It can take it. I have seen many people with hard-case carry-on wheels struggle to make them fit into those overhead compartments. No such problems with this type of bag. Sometimes plane runs out of overhead space before everyone boards. Those with wheeled carry-on are forced to check them in, but with Skytrain, I was able to fit it into the space under the seat in front of me.

If the bag is loaded to the max with heavy things, it can be difficult to carry for a long time. Difficult in a sense that your back will let you know about it. There's no ergonomic problems with the bag itself. I did that once and almost wished I had taken an extra wheeled bag to check in instead. Depends on one's level of fitness I suppose.

Only one compartment has tightening belts to compress contents. It would've been nice to have those for the second compartment as well.
 
 Why did I wait so long?
By Scott C., Minneapolis, January 19, 2012

I am a late-comer to the carry-on game, but am now sold. I often travel for a week at a time and combine a convention with biking or other outdoor sports, so I thought I needed to bring lots of stuff. One other obstacle was the limits on liquids when you don't have a checked bag (I wear contact lenses and bring bottles of solution when I travel).

My first trip with the SkyTrain was a disappointment, after which I put it away for nearly two years. Then the airline fees inspired me to re-examine my luggage needs. I'm sure glad I did. As I write this, I'm on a six day trip with only the SkyTrain and a Gator for my "personal item." It is working out great. This is my third trip in four months with the bag.

That first trip I used the bag in a way it wasn't intended to be used, and I don't recommend it. I loaded it like a briefcase on steroids - books, files, computer, chargers, phones, raincoats, etc. Plus a couple of water bottles and apples. It was way too heavy, although everything fit. It was a chore to lug through the airports and heave in and out of cars.

When I decided it was time to get serious and save a few bucks on airline fees, I loaded the bag with clothes as recommended by the One Bag site. I've started rolling and stacking clothes, which works just fine. By eliminating unnecessary stuff, I have room to spare. I don't have clothes for every possible occasion, but traveling is so much easier now.

I've tried the shoulder straps and find them not too comfortable - have not been inclined to use them again, but will try a some point. It does't sit as well as a real back pack. Plus, the nuclear bomb-proof hardware is pretty heavy. It would make the bag lighter to eliminate some of those items, but then it would be pretty similar to the Airboss. I mostly use the handles and sometimes the Claw strap.
 
 Worth Every Penny
By David Omre, St. Louis, January 5, 2012

This thing is impressive. Excellent workmanship and built to last. I love it.
 
 great bag
By b mathis, Georgia, December 13, 2011

Great bag. read about it and after many bags bought for my travels I have found the one. I travel often and internationally to fish etc. only complaint if it is one is that zipper on main compartment does not unzip fully. I would reccomend this bag highly to regular travelers. My new favorite !
 
 The ultimate travel bag!
By Joe WIvoda, Hibbing, MN, November 28, 2011

I love this bag! I can easily carry it by the handles when going through security or boarding, it stores very nicely in the overhead or under the seat, and the backpack straps are awesome! I was able to get fast food with it on my back, not having to drag around anything on wheels. Extremely rugged, just the right size, and feature-rich, this is the best bag I have ever seen!
 
 BRILLIANT!
By Rebecca, Australia, November 25, 2011

This is the first time I've travelled with just carry on. The other reviews sum up its features perfectly. I can't believe all the holidays I've taken lugging an enormous, ungainly suitcase. Never again. I have spent a HUGE amount on suitcases that were badly damaged after a few trips. This bag is well worth the money. Excellent quality. It carried enough for 3 weeks around France (dress and casual clothes - I did not Rough It), and made travelling a breeze. The straps made it easy to pop on my back when walking any distance (I'm nearly 50, and easily carried the 9kgs I'd packed into this bag), and the quality and construction meant I could put my feet up on it when reading whilst waiting at the airport. Being only 5'2" it also comes in handy to put my feet on when sitting in the plane. Now that I'm back home, I tuck the straps away inside it, and use it for weekends away strapped to a motorcycle. (Be prepared for bemused airline check-in staff who cannot understand that you only have hand luggage when flying from Australia to Europe - there are double-takes looking over the counter to check that there really is No Suitcase)
 
 Best Carryon ever
By A J Wolf US Army ret., Santa Cruz, Ca, November 7, 2011

I travel a lot and have been all over the Earth. I try to never check bags unless on a military hop. This is by far the best product I have ever used and I have tried many from..Patagonia, Swiss army, Eagle creek, Tumi, Filson and North face. Your Carryon is well engineered and worth the price. I have always been willing to pay for quality items that out last the cheaper stuff.
 
 Great bag for multi-night trips
By Dan Hirst, York, UK, November 7, 2011

I bought this bag for frequent 1 / 2 night business trips - too long for just a laptop bag & too short for a big wheelie case. I am constantly on & off trains, tubes and taxis so a bag I can carry is vital as are separate compartments for #1 computer / business and #2 clothing / personal - I can't open up a one-section bag in client offices ...

The SkyTrain may be a little too big for my needs, I now realise how people say they can live for a week out of it! However the quality is superb, the fit & finish and materials used are superb. The danger is in over-packing it, there is a lot of capacity relative to the outside dimensions.

It is quite unstructured & soft-sided, I guess to aid with the practicality, but looks very smart too - I chose green panels to avoid joining the endless lines of boring black bags.

Only just got it, but feels like it'll last forever. Very pleased.
 
 Plain and Simple
By Pluto, Boulder, Colorado, November 3, 2011

I am really enjoying the bag; I like simple and rugged equipment. The hardware is the best. I had a fancier bag but could never figure out how best to use all the pockets and compartments, and would misplace things. Now I use some packing cubes and the Sky Train. My only gripe would be the handles, I would prefer some padded and sewn up types.
 
 One Bag to Rule them All
By George, Maine, October 31, 2011

I purchased the Sky Train in time for a 3-week trip to Switzerland, Croatia, and Italy. This trip posed a challenge for one-bag packing, since we needed clothing and gear for high-elevation hiking, tropical weather and beaches, and nicer attire for evenings in Rome. With careful selection, I managed to fit a complete range of clothes, technical gear, maps, and books in the bag, about 18 pounds in all. We traveled entirely on foot or via public transportation, including trains, buses, planes, ferries, and water taxis.

The Sky Train performed well in terms of holding everything I needed and in ease of transport. I was amazed at the volume capacity, rugged design, and comfort when carrying it. Since then, I've used it for extensive business travel and found it perfect for week-long trips, accomodating business professional attire and laptop and charging gear. A few suggestions for improvement would be: 1) adding an attached leash w/a snap clip inside the zipper pouch, to securely hold a set of keys; and 2) reducing the weight of the stainless steel shoulder strap snaps.
 
 Extremely impressed so far
By SRT, Boston area, October 31, 2011

I've only used this bag once so far - on a 2 week trip to visit family. The hardware construction is (as everyone else indicated previously) insanely high quality. Even the shoulder straps (which looked a little skinny in the photo) have a nice surface texturing and padding that allowed me to carry a lot of mass without pain.

The small number of compartments was not a barrier to logically arranging the contents of the bag, either.

I used the shoulder strap part of the time and the rubber pad acts like it is welded to your shoulder. It simply will not slip off.

Looking forward to using it on my next trip and (based on the construction) a very long time to come.
 
 2weeks in Italy
By Vicki Munn, Indiana, October 31, 2011

I am a 61 year old female. I packed for 2 weeks and weighed in at 20#. This was fine until I made the long treks through airports in London and Madrid. The sky train holds everything so I took everything. I love my bag and plan more trips with less weight. At my age I like to buy the best so I don't have to replace it later. Thank you red oxx for manufacturing here at home and making a quality product on top of it....now my son wants one.
 
 Almost perfect
By Anonymous, Alaska, October 30, 2011

I rated this bag only 4 stars since my wife did not feel completely comfortable using it with the back pack straps. Like other comments, she really wished it had the hip strap to help support the load. She is 5'4" and it was loaded pretty full. I'm 6'4" and had no problem using it, although I did not carry it long.

The quality is outstanding and it did its job. I bought the Air-Boss since I travel more for business. We did a 2 week vacation all with carry on. Thanks to the onebag website for the recommendations.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Sky Train under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.