Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Buy your Oxx in Person  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (234 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Excellent
By Steven, NY,USA, February 9, 2012

Skytrain is a great combination for travel. You get the maximum possible volume to use as carry-on and the shoulder carrying capability. Bag is made from very sturdy heavy duty materials. Zippers feel very confident and those hard plastic side handles are a great idea. Don't feel afraid to give it an extra push to make it fit into that overhead compartment. It can take it. I have seen many people with hard-case carry-on wheels struggle to make them fit into those overhead compartments. No such problems with this type of bag. Sometimes plane runs out of overhead space before everyone boards. Those with wheeled carry-on are forced to check them in, but with Skytrain, I was able to fit it into the space under the seat in front of me.

If the bag is loaded to the max with heavy things, it can be difficult to carry for a long time. Difficult in a sense that your back will let you know about it. There's no ergonomic problems with the bag itself. I did that once and almost wished I had taken an extra wheeled bag to check in instead. Depends on one's level of fitness I suppose.

Only one compartment has tightening belts to compress contents. It would've been nice to have those for the second compartment as well.
 
 Why did I wait so long?
By Scott C., Minneapolis, January 19, 2012

I am a late-comer to the carry-on game, but am now sold. I often travel for a week at a time and combine a convention with biking or other outdoor sports, so I thought I needed to bring lots of stuff. One other obstacle was the limits on liquids when you don't have a checked bag (I wear contact lenses and bring bottles of solution when I travel).

My first trip with the SkyTrain was a disappointment, after which I put it away for nearly two years. Then the airline fees inspired me to re-examine my luggage needs. I'm sure glad I did. As I write this, I'm on a six day trip with only the SkyTrain and a Gator for my "personal item." It is working out great. This is my third trip in four months with the bag.

That first trip I used the bag in a way it wasn't intended to be used, and I don't recommend it. I loaded it like a briefcase on steroids - books, files, computer, chargers, phones, raincoats, etc. Plus a couple of water bottles and apples. It was way too heavy, although everything fit. It was a chore to lug through the airports and heave in and out of cars.

When I decided it was time to get serious and save a few bucks on airline fees, I loaded the bag with clothes as recommended by the One Bag site. I've started rolling and stacking clothes, which works just fine. By eliminating unnecessary stuff, I have room to spare. I don't have clothes for every possible occasion, but traveling is so much easier now.

I've tried the shoulder straps and find them not too comfortable - have not been inclined to use them again, but will try a some point. It does't sit as well as a real back pack. Plus, the nuclear bomb-proof hardware is pretty heavy. It would make the bag lighter to eliminate some of those items, but then it would be pretty similar to the Airboss. I mostly use the handles and sometimes the Claw strap.
 
 Worth Every Penny
By David Omre, St. Louis, January 5, 2012

This thing is impressive. Excellent workmanship and built to last. I love it.
 
 The ultimate travel bag!
By Joe WIvoda, Hibbing, MN, November 28, 2011

I love this bag! I can easily carry it by the handles when going through security or boarding, it stores very nicely in the overhead or under the seat, and the backpack straps are awesome! I was able to get fast food with it on my back, not having to drag around anything on wheels. Extremely rugged, just the right size, and feature-rich, this is the best bag I have ever seen!
 
 BRILLIANT!
By Rebecca, Australia, November 25, 2011

This is the first time I've travelled with just carry on. The other reviews sum up its features perfectly. I can't believe all the holidays I've taken lugging an enormous, ungainly suitcase. Never again. I have spent a HUGE amount on suitcases that were badly damaged after a few trips. This bag is well worth the money. Excellent quality. It carried enough for 3 weeks around France (dress and casual clothes - I did not Rough It), and made travelling a breeze. The straps made it easy to pop on my back when walking any distance (I'm nearly 50, and easily carried the 9kgs I'd packed into this bag), and the quality and construction meant I could put my feet up on it when reading whilst waiting at the airport. Being only 5'2" it also comes in handy to put my feet on when sitting in the plane. Now that I'm back home, I tuck the straps away inside it, and use it for weekends away strapped to a motorcycle. (Be prepared for bemused airline check-in staff who cannot understand that you only have hand luggage when flying from Australia to Europe - there are double-takes looking over the counter to check that there really is No Suitcase)
 
 Best Carryon ever
By A J Wolf US Army ret., Santa Cruz, Ca, November 7, 2011

I travel a lot and have been all over the Earth. I try to never check bags unless on a military hop. This is by far the best product I have ever used and I have tried many from..Patagonia, Swiss army, Eagle creek, Tumi, Filson and North face. Your Carryon is well engineered and worth the price. I have always been willing to pay for quality items that out last the cheaper stuff.
 
 Great bag for multi-night trips
By Dan Hirst, York, UK, November 7, 2011

I bought this bag for frequent 1 / 2 night business trips - too long for just a laptop bag & too short for a big wheelie case. I am constantly on & off trains, tubes and taxis so a bag I can carry is vital as are separate compartments for #1 computer / business and #2 clothing / personal - I can't open up a one-section bag in client offices ...

The SkyTrain may be a little too big for my needs, I now realise how people say they can live for a week out of it! However the quality is superb, the fit & finish and materials used are superb. The danger is in over-packing it, there is a lot of capacity relative to the outside dimensions.

It is quite unstructured & soft-sided, I guess to aid with the practicality, but looks very smart too - I chose green panels to avoid joining the endless lines of boring black bags.

Only just got it, but feels like it'll last forever. Very pleased.
 
 Plain and Simple
By Pluto, Boulder, Colorado, November 3, 2011

I am really enjoying the bag; I like simple and rugged equipment. The hardware is the best. I had a fancier bag but could never figure out how best to use all the pockets and compartments, and would misplace things. Now I use some packing cubes and the Sky Train. My only gripe would be the handles, I would prefer some padded and sewn up types.
 
 One Bag to Rule them All
By George, Maine, October 31, 2011

I purchased the Sky Train in time for a 3-week trip to Switzerland, Croatia, and Italy. This trip posed a challenge for one-bag packing, since we needed clothing and gear for high-elevation hiking, tropical weather and beaches, and nicer attire for evenings in Rome. With careful selection, I managed to fit a complete range of clothes, technical gear, maps, and books in the bag, about 18 pounds in all. We traveled entirely on foot or via public transportation, including trains, buses, planes, ferries, and water taxis.

The Sky Train performed well in terms of holding everything I needed and in ease of transport. I was amazed at the volume capacity, rugged design, and comfort when carrying it. Since then, I've used it for extensive business travel and found it perfect for week-long trips, accomodating business professional attire and laptop and charging gear. A few suggestions for improvement would be: 1) adding an attached leash w/a snap clip inside the zipper pouch, to securely hold a set of keys; and 2) reducing the weight of the stainless steel shoulder strap snaps.
 
 Extremely impressed so far
By SRT, Boston area, October 31, 2011

I've only used this bag once so far - on a 2 week trip to visit family. The hardware construction is (as everyone else indicated previously) insanely high quality. Even the shoulder straps (which looked a little skinny in the photo) have a nice surface texturing and padding that allowed me to carry a lot of mass without pain.

The small number of compartments was not a barrier to logically arranging the contents of the bag, either.

I used the shoulder strap part of the time and the rubber pad acts like it is welded to your shoulder. It simply will not slip off.

Looking forward to using it on my next trip and (based on the construction) a very long time to come.
 
 2weeks in Italy
By Vicki Munn, Indiana, October 31, 2011

I am a 61 year old female. I packed for 2 weeks and weighed in at 20#. This was fine until I made the long treks through airports in London and Madrid. The sky train holds everything so I took everything. I love my bag and plan more trips with less weight. At my age I like to buy the best so I don't have to replace it later. Thank you red oxx for manufacturing here at home and making a quality product on top of it....now my son wants one.
 
 Almost perfect
By Anonymous, Alaska, October 30, 2011

I rated this bag only 4 stars since my wife did not feel completely comfortable using it with the back pack straps. Like other comments, she really wished it had the hip strap to help support the load. She is 5'4" and it was loaded pretty full. I'm 6'4" and had no problem using it, although I did not carry it long.

The quality is outstanding and it did its job. I bought the Air-Boss since I travel more for business. We did a 2 week vacation all with carry on. Thanks to the onebag website for the recommendations.
 
 Another amazing product!
By Don P., Toronto, October 21, 2011

I bought this bag after a couple recommendations from members of a watch forum I visit.

Everything I've read about this bag is accurate - built like a tank and holds loads of gear.

I employed the one-bag approach during my 20 day stay in China, and this bag (along with a Gator) performed perfectly. Highly recommended!
 
 Convenience like no other
By Anonymous, Brisbane Australia, October 12, 2011

This bag is very surprising, it swallowed my gear for a 10 day resort trip without blinking and with room for more.

Sitting on the floor of my office it drew lots of comments many scoffing that it fitted the carry on guidelines but all impressed with the design. At the airport it effortlessly fitted the size gauge without being sat on. Impressed.

The pack straps are excellent and so convenient I used them at every opportunity, unlike a large travel pack I own where the harness is such a pain to stow I struggled with rather than use it. They adjust easily and feel very solid.

Great design. Buy one
 
 Good Enough
By Nathanael H, UTAH, October 6, 2011

Straps are a little less than an OCD guy like me might hope for, but, good enough. Holds a lot of stuff. RED OXX could do better by adding a few velcro patches and some small exterior/interior pouches to accommodate some of the gear I travel with. Overall, Im glad I bought. RED OXX, like our country, has its problems, but it's the best gig in town. Thanks RED OXX. I'll keep buyin' for sure.
 
 Everything and More
By Gail, California, October 2, 2011

The Sky Train was a perfect choice for me for my recent trip to New York. Eight days with some practical packing and what a breeze. I chose to use the carry handles and not backpack it and it was quite comfortable in my hand and easy to carry long distances. I noticed a lot of glances at my pack as I walked around. It has a nice rugged, well-built look to it which is true. No need to "baby" this pack. My relatives could not believe I fit it all in that "little pack" as they called it but I sure did and I look forward to my next trip. Great product. Thanks.
 
 WOW!!
By Gerry Viator, Apex, NC, September 19, 2011

WOW! That is how I sum up the SKY TRAIN (black).

Searched and looked for a carry-on bag on or around Aug 22, 2011. Found RED OXX online and drew my attention based on the reviews, Lifetime warranty and made in America. I was down to a week before I left and wanted a bag I could carry-on, last 5 + days and, last me for a very long time.

I was worried that the bag wouldn't be sent in time so, I sent them an email asking some basic questions. Will this is where they pulled me in!!!!

The Customer Service was the best I have seen in years!!! The bag I wanted was on backorder. This meant after receiving an email from them that this bag would be finished Aug 23rd or Aug 24th (the day I email or the next!!) in there next batch from the production floor.

REDD OXX re-assured me that they would get the bag to me before, I left. Will they made that happen in plenty of time. Received it on Friday Aug 23rd. in Apex, NC. Thank You REDD OXX!!

What's funny is a previous post on the cat hair sticking on the bag!! I had the same issue. I believe, this is my problem not REDD OXX's. The bag worked out great on my trip!!
 
 Great all-around travel bag
By Karma, based in Texas, travel the world, September 15, 2011

I purchased this bag after much research, and am pleased with my choice. After a week-long photo shoot in Seattle, I still managed to put all my Theo's chocolate purchases, four books, my laptop, 4 furniture wheels (don't ask!), my camera equipment, and my clothing in the bag. I have found the front compartment perfect for my laptop (easy in and out for security), and I keep a small backpack in the front compartment for carrying my photo equipment during shoots. Even with this load, I was able to fit the bag into the overhead compartment with ease, and then quickly deploy the shoulder straps to exit the boarding area before most people had their luggage handles extended and personal items secured to the tops of their bags. Getting through the airports was a breeze, and my transportation could not believe it was the only bag I required! This bag reminds me of Dr. Who's spaceship: larger on the inside than on the outside. I am packed to leave for Bonaire tomorrow!
 
 Deceptively Roomy!
By Debbie Burton , Seattle, Washington, September 1, 2011

It is fabulous and can fit way more than I imagined possible. Built so well and easy to carry. I am a happy girl.
 
 Surprised & Happy
By Christiana, Vegas, August 27, 2011

I was surprised at how much I can fit in the bag! I'm a notorious over packer so when I got the bag in the mail, I nearly hyperventilated. I tried it out and was surprised how much fits! I had no problem packing a dress, dressy shoes, 2 pants, and 4 tops in plus toiletries and my netbook with plugs. It's easy to get in overhead on the plane (I'm only 5'1). Really easy to carry on your back!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • US Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.