Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Buy your Oxx in Person  > Sky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (227 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 being a backpack had it's advantages
By Bob, canada, May 5, 2013

I was surprised by the advantages of carrying it as a backpack. When it was over my shoulder, it was not taken from me and stored out of my sight, as when I boarded boat taxis in Venice, Eurotrain, etc.

On the busy subways in Paris and London, it was nice to have both hands free to hold on.

Although I hadn't planned on it, the backpack gave me two free hands to carry the new luggage I purchased in Europe, filled with new purchases. It's a keeper.
 
 So far a wonderful work bag
By Sean, Chicago, May 2, 2013

So far this bag has been great to use on multiple work trips. The craftsmanship is incredible and you can tell it's made for a lifetime. I really enjoy the clamshell opening to reach my clothes quickly and keep things organized while minimizing dead space. I'm currently using a packing folder and haven't had any trouble with bringing enough clothes for 4 days of work and running as a solo bag.

I haven't used the shoulder straps yet aside from around the house, but they seem very well made. I do find the shoulder strap's lack of any sort of movement a bit irritating as it often sticks on my suit and pulls the suit awkwardly on my shoulders. That said, the strap is also made for a lifetime, if I can't adjust to the stick, I might just look into an alternative strap.

Great product, glad it might be the last carryon I ever buy.
 
 One well thought out and made carry on
By John Lowry, Johnson City TN, April 18, 2013

It is wonderful to find a carry-on with this much room to pack. Your company was great to deal with. My Sky Train arrived on the day you said it would, it is an extremely well built piece of luggage, very functional to use. I just wish I had found your company years ago. Another selling point for me is IT IS MADE IN THE USA. Anyone who travels would benefit greatly by having a Sky Train. The only thing that would make it better would be to include a laminated "packing / folding instruction sheet". Keep up the good work!
 
 Great bag - always great quality
By regan wright, fort worth, texas, April 4, 2013

Sky Train is a replacement for an Air Boss that recently was stolen during a home burglary. My connection to my Air Boss was pretty deep - over 300,000 miles traveled, 4 continents, countless great memories. I wasn't sure that any new bag could elicit the same types of feelings that my previous bag did - but i was wrong.

The Sky Train, in Safari colors, right out of the box was unique and wonderful.

Typical of Red Oxx - it seems totally indestructible. In just a few weeks, I've lugged it all over the country, into overhead bins, onto hotel beds, into the back of taxi cabs. Still looks brand new.

I like the Sky Train and Red Oxx in general because it's different. I'm not a typical corporate traveler and I don't want to look like one. Roll-aboards and briefcases just don't fit with me.

The Sky Train offers just the right amount of room so that you don't carry too much, but have plenty of ability to get it all there, comfortably and easily.
 
 Solid Investment
By CMP, Poughquag, NY, March 29, 2013

This is a really great American made product that has exceeded my expectations and I am proud to own. Purchased as my primary bag for two weeks travel in Italy, it performed as advertised on planes, trains and buses and transitioned easily between them; it was very comfortable carried on the shoulder as well as in backpack mode. Construction and materials are top notch and the design is simple and elegant making it suprisingly flexible for packing. I used the bundle method and two Nomads as packing cubes- also great items that multiply the utility of the bag. I will recommend the Sky Train without reservation and only one caveat that others have mentioned: It's easy to overpack this bag to the point that it would be uncomfortable to carry for long distances. Great job Red Oxx- the Sky Train is worth every penny and I look forward to being a repeat customer!
 
 Small but MIGHTY!
By Kendall, Cedar Falls, IA, March 28, 2013

When i first opened the package and seen it, my first thoughts where WOW it is small! The next thing I noticed was the construction, it is built like a TANK! Now I,m a large framed fellow, so I thought I would pack it with all the stuff I would take with me on my trips to Europe (2-3 weeks), I was AMAZED!! I could fit everything AND still had room left over! You always read the comments others leave on how much room the product has, But being a large fellow your not sure what to expect.

Thank you so much for making an EXCEPTIONAL product!
 
 Packs like a mule
By Matt, Blue bell, pa, February 24, 2013

This unassuming brief case looking bag packs like a mule. I have only had the pleasure to own this bag for about a month but I have had a chance to use it for a three day business trip as well as a weekend wedding with my wife. In both cases this bag just seems to expand to fit the occasion and was able to hold clothes for both of us for an entire weekend. I can't wait to try it out on my next adventure.
 
 med student
By mparrott, oregon, February 17, 2013

Please see my AirBoss review for details on my packing situation. This is another great bag. It looks smaller than an AirBoss but still had no issues fitting a suit plus a few days of clothes and a few other things. the bundle method does seem to work really well.

I love the ALICE straps on this bag; It is going to be a great bag for trips where I'll be walking a lot and especially if I am going on vacation rather than going on business.

One other point; I got the safari color scheme in this bag and the AirBoss and my girlfriend really likes the way they look.
 
 Size matters
By ronnieo, pendleton New york, January 17, 2013

This is my second redoxx purchase. I originally bought an airboss for my wife and my son kind of took it over so I bought him a skytrain and he dropped the airboss like yesterdays newspaper. Althought the specs say this is a bigger bag for some reason that did not seem to be the case when he started to pack. I think he may just need help in learning how to pack more efficiently. Great Bags! will for sure be buying more.
 
 Great product for 1 bag travel.
By Larry Valeriano, Chicago, IL, January 15, 2013

I love traveling, but hate checking bags. Recently, I have been spending time in Latin America, and have been traveling light.

The Skytrain is an great bag with excellent quality, looks, and durability.

This thing was able to hold 9 days of shoes, clothing, and tech (laptop, cables, etc.) with ease.

The backpack straps are extremely comfortable, and it has a great option of using the claw strap for using it as an over-the-shoulder bag.

The only thing on my wishlist was more organization, as items can shift easily if you don't use things such as packing cubes, etc.

However, that being said, it's a great bag worth the investment!
 
 Feel Good Carry On
By Dominik, Toronto, December 28, 2012

This bag is great! I was looking for a light, durable, carry-on sized bag and came across this one and ordered it.

It makes me very happy. I will also likely purchase a selection of other items from this company in the future.
 
 Travel Light? Then Travel Right!
By Michele Jasper, Westminster, MD, December 27, 2012

Decided on this bag for an upcoming (1 week) trip to Europe that involved two younger children, planes, trains, and automobiles. I wanted to travel light and keep my hands free for my 4 year old.

This bag held everything I needed for my personal belongings (and laptop) and it was easy to manage during our fast-paced trip.

The bag is well made and is worth every penny. My only logistical issue was trying to balance the handles, which are wrapped in very thick/firm plastic, on bathroom hooks in the airports. The handles are very thick and durable and didn't fit well on many of the bathroom hooks.

Overall, very happy with the investment. I hope to acquire a bag for each family member!

 
 Replaced Wheeled Carry-On Bag
By Sharon Wetherby, United States, December 13, 2012

As others testified, the materials/workmanship in the Sky Train are outstanding. I do not object to the small added weight of the heavy-duty hardware and would opt for sturdy over lightweight anytime.

After a nightmare trip on an American Eagle flight when my small, wheeled carry-on wouldn't fit into the overhead bin, I started searching for a replacement carry-on bag. I purchased the Sky Train (my first Red Oxx bag) as a Christmas present from me/to me. I have not used it on a flight yet, but I have packed it as a trial run to see if I can carry it. The empty wheeled bag is about seven pounds heavier than the Sky Train, so I think I should be able to manage. I can fit more things inside the ST than I could in the wheeled bag even though the outside depth dimensions of the ST are smaller. Have a trip planned on an American Eagle after Christmas; will know for sure then if the bag meets expectations.

Always the pessimist, I've been working out with free weights to increase my upper body strength!
 
 Well-made bag!
By Happy Traveler, San Antonio, TX, December 9, 2012

I bought the Sky Train recently for a family member and was amazed at how much stuff he crammed into it! He was still able to bring it aboard his flight as carry-on and now uses it for such mundane purposes as hauling home groceries in it, which he even does at night, happy with the extra measure of visibility the bright yellow color offers. I liked the Sky Train so much, I got one for myself in red. My travel is not just planes, but also trains, and wheeled bags are a pain when negotiating Amtrak and its stations. This is better, much much better!
 
 Very good bag, easily overpacked
By David Hines, Greensboro, NC, November 29, 2012

The Skytrain is a solidly made bag, versatile, and it's got a down-to-earth-but-respectable attractiveness. It's quality workmanship, and I've used it successfully for several overseas and domestic trips; the bag has held up very well and is worth the purchase price.

The biggest caveat with this bag is that it is very, very easy to overpack. This can become an issue for your back, and even more so when you're trying to stuff it into an airline's overhead bin and wondering why it won't fit. Also, the fact that it opens from the top (short end) takes a little getting used to, and invariably baffles security personnel when they check it out.
 
 1 bag, 1 month in Europe
By Tannia W, Wellington, New Zealand, November 28, 2012

This was the only bag I took with me on my 1 month European adventure in July-August 2012. It was absolutely fantastic!

Now I'm a five foot four inches high female.

My family & friends could not believe the Sky Train would fit everything I needed for 1 month's holiday. It did!

I also found it incredible easy to carry on buses, trains, and planes.

I love my Sky Train! Money well spent! Thanks Red Oxx!

 
 Best Travel Bag
By Marisa, Los Angeles, November 28, 2012

I've had the Sky Train for about a year now and have used it on a variety of trips - from a long weekend in Cabo, to a one week camping trip in Sequoia, to a two week trip to Europe. The Skytrain worked in every situation.

My friends are amazed I can fit two weeks worth of cloths in a carry-on bag. Just how much did I fit: 3 pairs of pants, 1 pair of shorts, 2 skirts, 2 dresses, 15 shirts, 1 sweater, 1 jacket, 1 down vest, undergarments to last the trip, toiletries, and 3 pairs of shoes (sandals, flats, and hiking shoes). Nothing wrinkled, thanks to the compression straps and the bundling method.

Ladies, if you are between the Sky Train and Air Boss as I was, I would recommend you go with the Sky Train. Having the option to carry as a backpack is priceless when you end up having to carry the bag for an extended amount of time. Your shoulders will thank you.
 
 A Good Carry-On Bag
By Nathan P, San Jose, CA, November 28, 2012

I bought Sky Trains for my wife and I prior to a trip, having tried the OneBag method using bags that didn't really help the effort. Since purchasing the bags in late 2010, I've used mine for leisure travel and business travel on numerous occasions, and the bag is really well designed.

Like anything else, there are trade-offs, though. The biggest reason I didn't give this a five-star review is that the bag is, itself, quite heavy. That makes sense since it's also virtually bullet-proof (not literally, please do not use Sky Train as a bullet-resistant item or you will be unpleasantly surprised).

It fits really well into overhead bins, and even under seats, when stuffed to the gills.

The only thing I'd like to have that isn't in mine is a THIRD compartment for storing a laptop or tablet computer, with closed cell foam lining, or a pocket in the back of the bag for same.

Overall, this is a great bag, and while it isn't the very tip-top best out there for modularity, it also looks like a travel bag and not a military ruck.

Highly recommended.
 
 Sturdy, well designed bag ideal for one-baggers
By Jeff, Georgia, November 4, 2012

I purchased this bag after reading onebag.com and before a deployment to Africa. It is VERY solidly made, with excellent zippers, a shoulder strap that does not bind and does not have a right/wrong way to use, and well padded backpack straps. If anything, you might find the extra hardware gives the bag a slightly high base weight, but it's still much lighter than traditional luggage. I managed to get some scuffing on my bag after a trip to Australia, but no rips of any sort.

I would absolutely buy this bag again in a heartbeat.
 
 Planes, Trains, cars, Trams, Buses, Cog Railways, Oh, My!
By Jim, Park City, November 3, 2012

The bag I used nearly every day for the month of September in Switzerland, Austria and Italy. Packed for trips of up to a week with no trouble. Even used it as a backpack a few times. The numerous carry options make this bag a perfect choice for short hop travel on foot or by any form of public or private transportation.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.