Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > What makes the perfect carry on bag?  > Safari-Beanos-Bag-PR5

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements).
Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.92 Average Rating
 (122 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 Good Bye Eagle Creek
By Dan, Rochester, Wisconsin, November 17, 2011

I have been an Eagle Creek nut for 15 years. Thought I would try this bag because of good reviews and Made in America. Good Bye Eagle Creek! Hello Red OXX! Quality is outstanding throughout. When I first looked at it I thought it would be too small. Wrong! I filled it up with my stuff and still had room for a desk and filing cabinet. You could do magic tricks with this bag. Forget pulling a rabbit out, pull a donkey out. IPAD fits perfect in an end pocket. Only recommendation would be a key ring clip inside a pocket. Shipping was fast and secure and then a Thank You note in the mail for purchasing this? Really? ONLY in America. Nice One Red Oxx
 
 DANGER...INTRIGUE...EXCITEMENT
By Tom, Dubai, UAE, November 17, 2011

This bag is built beefy strong and with plenty of space. I've been able to pack 2 weeks of normal clothes in this without going to any odd extremes, and I'm a big guy. The rumors were true - Red Oxx makes a great product!
 
 Incredible
By Albert, Boston, November 1, 2011

I took this bag to the Philippines for a 2 month project working with rural farmers. I needed something rugged, and this definitely fit the bill. I easily packed for 2-week trips with enough room to squeeze not only my clothes and gear, but a mosquito net as well. The true test of the PR5 came when I was riding in a Philippine tricycle (motorbike with sidecar) and had to put the bag on the top of the sidecar in the pouring rain for 45 minutes.

Red Oxx claims that the PR5 is weatherproof, not waterproof, but I was happy to report that while the bag was soaked, the seams and zippers were tight enough that everything in my bag was either completely dry or negligibly damp. Highly recommended!
 
 Great bag
By CO, Chicago, IL, October 30, 2011

I just took this bag to Africa where it was tossed in the dirt, on top of trucks, in tents and packed to capacity. Aside from a little dust, it looks new and it held up perfectly. It was easy to organize my gear in the bag and pockets. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a high quality, durable bag.
 
 Worth the wait
By Larry Foster, Garland, TX, October 19, 2011

First saw RedOxx bags at SCI and Dallas SC several years ago as a fellow exhibitor. The guys were super and I finally needed (just a desire really) and chose the Safari-Beanos Bab PR-5 to meet many uses.

Glad to say getting the bag proved to be as rewarding as I expected.

Good product, I can see why the warranty is as good as possible because of the quality. No other similar product appears to match my new travel friend.
 
 If they had Red Oxx back then...
By Weylan Deaver, Texas, October 13, 2011

...I'm confident the Safari-Beano PR5 is the kind of bag Lewis and Clark would have carried on their expedition.
 
 Super product!
By Christian, China, September 22, 2011

Super product, tough, good for my hunt! Fast efficient service
 
 Great General Purpose Leisure Bag
By Gromulus, NE Ohio, August 28, 2011

I am not sure I can add anything that hasn't been said already about this great duffle. I own several Red Oxx bags and have coveted the PR5 for quite some time. I gravitate toward duffle bags for most of my travel needs. I needed a large maximum carry-on size that would work for leisure trips of up to two weeks.

While the 24" length actually exceeds most airlines' 22" limit, the compact appearance and the bags' inherent tendency not to bulge make it a very safe carry-on size for nearly all types of aircraft. I love the Safari color scheme which really fits this bag's look. Like all Red Oxx bags, everything is heavy duty.

I do wish it had a ballistic nylon skid plate bottom like my Sun Chaser, but I doubt I will have any issues with durability . The relatively compact width and height dimensions enable the bag to stay close to my body when carried on the shoulder. This is important when I am hurrying to reach my gate in a crowded airport.

This is my favorite one-bag solution for leisure and casual business trips by air and land.
 
 For women too!
By Monique, Sierra Foothills, CA, August 28, 2011

I bought this bag for my last family trip to France. We were staying 3 weeks with two kids (3 years and 6 months) and wanted a tough, non-wheeled bag that we could use for weekly excursions while leaving our larger checked-bag at our home base abroad. It had to be something I could comfortably carry while also loaded down with an infant in the infant carrier or while pushing my toddler in a stroller. I'm not a large woman, 5'3" and this bag was easy for me, fit perfectly on my shoulder and was actually less strain to cart around than our 32" rolling bag at 50lbs. By the way, we packed this bag to the max, and only when it was approaching 50lbs. did I have to hand it to my husband to carry. He was also thoroughly amazed at how much I could cram in there. It really does fit everything a family of four needs for a week. I am not a light packer either.

I just can't say enough about this bag! Like other reviewers when I first received the bag in the mail I thought there would be no way I could fit everything I was planning to haul along with us in there but I kept stuffing and stuffing and stuffing and there seemed to be no end in sight. The biggest limitation is your own body strength in being able to carry on your shoulder whatever you have crammed inside!
 
 The "Camp Kitchen" bag!
By Roger, Colorado, August 25, 2011

In my never ending search to find better ways of packing my SUV with all my camping/travel gear, I have found the answer! I have tried hard sided totes/boxes but find that they become heavy and cumbersome. It never fails that the one I need is towards the front and on the bottom. Shelving/drawers would work but then the expence and loss of space when I need to haul other things when not traveling ruled them out. I decided to go the soft side bag route and wanted something extra durable. Redoxx has been my new favorite for airline travel bags so I purchased the PR 5 to see how it would work holding my camping gear, specifically all my camp kitchen stuff.

Score!! The PR 5 holds 3 propane bottles on each end (6 ea.). My camp stove fits perfectly inside lying flat with all my pots/pans/place setting for 4/utensils, etc...cooking gear. Its durable, smaller, quieter than any plastic/metal/wooden box. Its nice having all of one category in one bag versus gear stuffed haphazard throughout the truck, or buried in a tote box. This bag will also be used when traveling by air in the winter when I need to carry bulkier cold weather gear. Thanks Redoxx for a great product! With a little imagination these bags can be used for far more than just as a suitcase/carry on bag.
 
 Great Bag
By Bob, Washington, DC, August 25, 2011

This bag is the best carry on I've ever owned.
 
 Proud to Show Off this Bag
By Roger, San Francisco Bay Area, CA, August 21, 2011

The zipper teeth are the largest and strongest zippers I have ever seen. The metal clips for the carrying straps are heavy duty instead of cheap plastic. None of the materials in this bag are cheap or low quality.

I am proud to show off this bag.
 
 THIS BAG IS AMAZING
By Sean, China, August 10, 2011

I've never ever ever owned a better piece of luggage. This bag is everything you need and more for a weeklong by-plane/hotel trip. Longer even. I can't imagine a better choice.
 
 As Advertised.
By Donnie B., Indianapolis, August 1, 2011

Simply the best bag in its class. I can't beat it up and it looks better sitting next to my friends expensive designer luggage.
 
 So far So good!
By CETHEIVAGT, Illnois, July 24, 2011

Using for railroad grip along with a backpack for my laptop, paperwork, radio, and lantern. This bag has plenty of room for clothes, food, laptop accessories, toiletry bag, thermos, gcor book, and all of the extra supplies i need. Great product, well made, and with a lifetime warranty how can y0u go wrong!
 
 Safari-Beanos PR5
By Bill K., FallsChurch, VA, July 14, 2011

Bag is constructed very well and can hold more than I originally thought. One portion of the bag that I thought would be made of thicker/different material was the bottom. Time will tell how well the material holds up. My other bags wear more on the bottom then any other area of the bag.
 
 Needs Skids on its Base and Better Pass-through Pocket
By MNA, Hawaii, July 7, 2011

* Bag is versatile and fits well in overhead compartments while traveling. Never had problem while on the airplane. Quick and simple.

* The monkey knuckle zippers are great and allow for quick easy access to pockets.

** Unless the bag is full, it does not rest well on the body while being carried. It would benefit from two plastic, thin, and flexible skid plates at the base of the bag to allow for a more rigid foundation.

** The pass-thru panel on the back side that is designed for use with wheeled baggage telescoping carry handles is a great concept. However, the bag has a strong tendency to swing around and not remain atop of the wheeled baggage. If two of the monkey knuckles on the pass-thru panel were made of elastic bands one could wrap the monkey knuckles around the telescoping handle giving the bag a greater chance of remaining in place.

** Lastly, as a carry-on bag, there should be an inner pocket to store one's more expensive / important items.
 
 No fluff, just stuff!
By Gary Fischman, NJ, June 28, 2011

Just returned from a 12 day trip to Europe, traveling by sports car, so no room for traditional luggage. My PR5 held everything I needed for the trip! Casual clothes for driving on the autobahn, jeans and a warm fleece for driving through the twisty mountain passes of the Swiss alps, dressy clothes for upscale dining at the best villa in Italy. And it all somehow fit in that one bag!

Without the silly little fluffy things that add bulk, the PR5 is the ideal duffle!

My only question is: why do we need the turn-lock fasteners on the main compartment? They really don't add functionality.

Suggestion: sew on an outside window for an ID tag.
 
 First Purchase
By John, Michigan, June 24, 2011

I found Red Oxx on a "Made in America" web site, and was intrigued with the claims of durability. I have an attic filled with luggage sets that have failed in one way or another. I also wanted to start traveling lighter as it seems the effort to drag mounds of material around was diminishing the "vacation" aspect of a trip. I gambled on two pieces of luggage, the PR5 and a matching PR5.5. I have not gone on the vacation for which they were purchased, but our initial experiences with the bags is very positive. My wife was able to pack a week's worth of clothing into the PR5 carry-on for a trip to see grandchildren. With respect to the PR5.5, I can fit a pair of size 13 Lowa Zephyr hiking boots into the side compartment as was suggested but I didn't believe. The construction is sturdy and I can see why the guarantee can be kept.

What would I change? I worry about airline conveyor belts allowing snagging of loose straps and buckles, so I would have a means to velcro flaps over the handles and areas where various loops are exposed. I would also have an area on the top where the shoulder strap could stow rather than having to remove it and place it somewhere in the bag. Finally, the latches on the top flap could be replaced with velcro or the zippers extended to the middle.

Am I going to get rid of all the other bags in the attic? Yes. Will I purchase more bags for myself and as gifts? Yes.

Overall very happy with the purchase and now look forward to using these on a longer trip.
 
 My favorite RedOxx bag
By Anonymous, Honolulu,HI, June 5, 2011

Red Oxx bags are the best made bags on the planet! This is my 3rd Red Oxx bag, and my favorite size for carry on. Well made, with top quality materials and workmanship. Also, I needed this bag asap, they got back to me on this order, and I got it on time to use it on a trip. By the way, if you get your bags in your favorite colors, they're easy to spot on the baggage carousel. Thanks Jim and everyone at Red Oxx, you're the best!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.