Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Cool Luggage Accessories  > Market-Tote

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I blow plastic grocery bags away!”
Red Oxx Market Tote Grocery Bag - shown in Forest. Choose from 12 colors.

Market Tote $35.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Grocery Getter! Tote It.

Montana Made. Sustainable Shopping.

Our Market Tote Bag is THE contemporary reusable grocery bag. Its measurements are the same as the old classic 'Brown Paper Bag.' This is a large tote bag of outstanding quality compared to the typical cheap imported junk they hawk at the grocery store.

STRONG BOTTOM.
Our handles are stitched completely around the sides and bottom of the bag with double box stitching at all stress points. No more worries about the bottom of this grocery bag blowing out!

HANDS FREE SHOULDER CARRY.
Extra-long carry handles allow you to carry the grocery Market Tote on your shoulder. We've seen folks carry the tote like a backpack! And as spacious as this tote bag is, you can use one Red Oxx Market Tote instead of half a dozen flimsy plastic grocery bags that may end up as modern tumbleweeds! Just remember to keep it in your car so you'll have it once you get to the store. Another great way to remember your bag is hang it over the front door knob.

SHORTER HANDLE CARRY TIP.
Don't like to shoulder carry your Tote? Straps seem too long? No problem. Simply place the bag upright on the ground and drape each carry handle to your left and right. Now grasp each handle and cross them over each other. Next slip each handle under the other and pull the end loops upwards. You can now carry the Market Tote by the crossed over loops, thus shortening the straps by about a third of their length. See photos tab at left for details.

STANDS UP BY ITSELF.
The tough 1000 denier military grade cordura nylon is water-resistant and twice as strong as standard nylon. And of course, you have a dozen vibrant colors to choose from...

The heavyweight 1050 ballistic nylon on the sides helps this shopping tote to "stand up" and keep its shape so you can easily fill it, or empty it, a handy feature not seen on any reusable grocery tote we know of. Grocery clerks love this handy feature.

The Market Tote Bag has been used for potlucks (it's large enough to hold a 5 Qt crock pot), as a pool and beach bag, a utility bag and even to and from arts and crafts classes crammed with art supplies.

CARRY-ON PERSONAL ITEM? YOU BET!
The ladies love using it as a sewing tote, crochet bag or knitting bag. Yoga lovers carry their yoga mats, sweats, and other accoutrements in the Market Tote. Then there are those adventurous types who take it with them around the world and use it for more things than we could ever think of. Since they fold flat, packing several Market Totes along as "luggage extenders" means you can carry-on as a personal item and bring home extra goodies and gifts from your travels.

FOR SCHOOL, TOO.
Even students find the Market Tote useful as a college book bag. Its sturdy build and just right size easily holds a laptop, tablet, several large textbooks, writing notebooks and project files. Toss your pens and electronic gadgets such as chargers into a Nomad or Lil Roy and all your lose items are organized. Buy two or more Totes, you'll always find a use for more than one!

EASY TO CLEAN.
Bags exposed to food get dirty. Blood, dirt, vegetable matter, sticky fruit, candy, leaking jars and bottles can mess up the interior of your Market Tote. Fortunately, it's a piece of cake to clean your Tote. Simply fill a sink, bucket or tub with warm soapy water (we like Dr. Bonners), grab a nylon bristle brush and lightly scrub your bag clean. Then rinse in warm water and hang up to dry. Never use a dryer to dry any Red Oxx bag and always avoid solvents or harsh industrial cleaning agents.

"Go Green, save a tree, recycle some oil, use, reuse and well, reusable forever, the Red Oxx Market Tote Grocery Bag. Sustainable shopping indeed!"

Or as the locals at the Farmer's Market say, "If you turnip, lettuce bear your fruit..."

Dimensions: 16"H x 6"D x 12"W.
Capacity: 1,440 cubic inches.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great tote needs cool accessories.

Market Tote Trivia: Modeled straight from the measurements of the original brown paper sack from the grocery store. The Tote was birthed before stores started carrying those cheap-o imported grocery totes, the kind that start unraveling after just a few uses.

Write a Review

4.89 Average Rating
 (63 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Market Tote Update & Suggestions
By Roger J, Currently in Damascus, Syria, October 11, 2010

I've had my Forest Green Tote and my wife her Bordeaux for over a year.

Like others have said, so easy to slip into another bag as back-up for shopping on the way home.

For me this sometimes means lifting 9 kg of drinking water and 2 L/kg of Coke up 76 steps to our apartment here, no lift, good exercise for my 63 years young frame!

Suggestion: a slightly larger tote - 'Super Market Tote', with reinforcing straps on the side panels to enable Redoxx D-Rings to be fitted and use with the Claw Strap.
 
 Extremely handy
By Eric, Minneapolis, MN, September 27, 2010

This bag is a great light and thin addition to my carry-on for being able to stock up at a local convenience store before checking in at the hotel. I'm able to grab a 2L bottle of my favorite soda, some bottles of water, and a couple snacks and carry it without worrying about the bag falling apart. I also like that the darker colors look classy enough that I don't worry about carrying this into a Ritz Carlton or JW Marriott and looking out of place.

With hotel mini-bar prices being as outrageous as they are, the bag practically pays for itself the first time you use it this way!
 
 very good
By karynrae2001, Las Vegas, September 27, 2010

Very nice for travel. Only wish I had been able to close it better or keep the straps together at times. But overall, very functional, simple. Good carryon bag that worked well at the beach and for being the designated one that had to carry stuff.
 
 Great product!
By Carl , Point Pleasant, NJ, August 5, 2010

I just got back from a week in northern Michigan. I used this bag every day to carry newspapers, my appointment book & diary and a few fountain pens. It is a durable, great bag. I like the color - amethyst. The bag is sturdy and does the job well!
 
 Extremely strong bag
By TL, PA, May 21, 2010

This bag feels light and thin, but it's deceptively strong. We often get our groceries delivered, but when I go to the market I take this with me and load the heavy stuff in there since the plastic bags tend to rip and spill. I can fit six 1/2-gallons of milk/juice and still have room for eggs, a loaf of bread and other smaller items. If I just get two more of these, I can probably fit an entire week's worth of groceries for a family of 4. I agree with others that there are tons of uses for this bag other than food.
 
 Love This Bag!
By Cynthia, Katy, Tx, April 10, 2010

I bought four of these bags recently in the Amethyst color. Love the bags and love the color. They really do hold a lot and every time I use them, I get comments. I keep them in the trunk of my car so they are there when I need them and they definitely make carrying my groceries so much easier. You can't go wrong with the quality of these bags. I would highly recommend the Market Totes.
 
 bomb proof!!!
By 3b6, atlanta, February 15, 2010

so sick of plastic bags or recycled pet bags that last 6 months. absolutely the best grocery bag i have used. amazed how much it holds, though the grocery clerks have to be a little more careful packing. also great for the beach or countless other excursions. wicked good!
 
 Great Grocery Bag
By D Frisby, Ottawa, Canada, February 11, 2010

It seems everyone now has a "green" grocery bag. Most of them are cheaply made and designed primarily to promote an enterprise of some sort. The Red Oxx Market Tote is very well made with a large capacity (I like that it is the same size as our old brown grocery bags) and comes in several attractive colours. It can be cleaned which many of the others cannot and it will obviously last for years. I am realizing that it comes in handy for a variety of uses, not just groceries. Great product!
 
 handy bag
By jman, so. cal, January 3, 2010

i have several of these bags. one in each car, some in the house, some in the garage. inevitably someone sees me using it and asks about it. it is good for shopping, returns, sporting events, camping, and travel. i enjoy gifting this bag to other bag lovers who haven't yet tried a redoxx bag.
 
 Girlfriend Loves 'Em
By J. Dellinger, Mt Holly, NC, March 4, 2009

I bought my girlfriend a couple of these for Christmas and they are now her constant companions. She has one for work and another for general use. Here in the South we will often need a jacket for the morning but it will be very warm in the afternoon, so the jacket is carried instead of worn. She puts her jacket, lunch, water bottle, Chica purse, and extra shoes all in her tote bag and heads out for work having to carry only one bag and keep her hands free. She has a 5 year old daughter and usually it has a spare baby doll or two in there as well as other necessities a 5 year old requires. I have been amazed on several occasions as to what all will actually fit in these deceptively simple tote bags. The also collapse or fold flat and don't take up any closet or bag space of not needed.The Cordura material is very easy to clean if needed. On extended trips or vacations she uses it as a "shoe bag" since it is so easy to clean. We plan on buying more of these for Christmas and birthday gifts.
 
 Gosh this is well made....
By Michael W., Oakland, CA, February 26, 2009

I have Land's End heavy and light canvas totes, LLBean heavy canvas totes, Whole Foods light canvas grocery bag totes, Trader Joe light canvas grocery bags & their replacements, the polypropylene reusable grocery bags, and the latest reusable shopping bag (grocery bag sized, what a surprise) offered at REI - so I wasn't really prepared to be impressed by this RedOxx Market Tote, but based on the enthusiastic reviews here, decided to take a chance and order one, in basic black.I never thought I'd say "wow" about a stupid grocery bag, but here I am saying "wow."First of all, less is more. When you are using really strong, top of the line materials like the Cordura or similar nylon canvas used here on the wide side, and first-class ballistic nylon on the narrow sides, there's not much need to bulk up with overly thick materials.Thanks to the use of modern materials, this bag is SUPER STRONG and LIGHT and yet it's NOT bulky. That's a big plus for stowing it under a seat in a car(or even rolled up in a glove box), or for packing it in a luggage piece on a trip for destination use (as an ultra-light gym bag, shopping bag, beach bag). I'd use it to contain my "bundle-wrapped" clothing in my "one-bag," if I anticipated needing a large destination carry-all. The "pure rectangle" shape is ideal for this, and the Market Tote is sized just right for the main compartment in most "one-bags."The material is of course much more puncture resistant than a paper, plastic, or polypro reusable bag; has "just right" nylon webbing handles that are thick enough to have real shape, but pliable enough to mold to my hand and not cut in; the seams are all double stitched and bound; and there are no "hard corners" at the bottom which tend to blow out eventually in other bags made with very square bottoms - the bottom on this is the more durable, rounded "bathtub" style design. Finally, the impossibility of adequately cleaning a shrink/wrinkle-prone canvas bag is a thing of the past with modern nylon.So this bag slates ideally between a polypro re-usable shopping bag, which is very cheap but not for travel or long or heavy use, and a canvas beach tote, which is too heavy, bulky, and gets dirty way too easily. I did inside/outside with this bag, testing it against a Trader Joe's standard paper grocery bag using the rudimentary test of trying to see which bag fits inside the other. It turns out each bag fits inside the other, with minor squishing in both cases, which makes me think RedOxx pretty much nailed the grocery bag dimensions in terms of their design target - except for height.The Market Tote is 2" taller, a nod to the fact that it is robust enough to handle more groceries etc. than the typical double-bagged grocery bag. The Market Tote also departs from the TJ's standard paper grocery bag in one other parameter: the handles are long enough for shoulder carry.Shoulder carry has pluses and minuses. The minus is that if you are short like me, this bag may drag on the ground. The plus is that shoulder carry is much easier on our hands. The minus is that if you have a bag of potato chips in the top of the Market Tote, they are more prone to squashing with shoulder carry than hand carry, since your arm will tend to pressure the top of the bag closed in shoulder carry. Since this bag will have so many other uses than just grocery shopping, I think RedOxx made the right choice.I sort of wish this bag had a zipper top or that was an option. If it did, it would make a good "guerilla carry-on" for flights - innocuous like a grocery bag, packed like a small carry-on (bundle wrapped clothing in a shirt pouch, bathroom kit, the works). After all, it's almost 1,500 cubic inches of efficient space. Of course if you were to put a zipper panel on top of it, the price would probably go up a lot, while the "stealth" factor would go down. Every gate check attendant "knows" an open top bag is an acceptable (get out of jail) shopping bag, while a zip top tote is just another piece of carry-on, and may either be an acceptable "personal bag" in addition to the actual carry-on luggage, or an unacceptable (penalty bell - bzzz) second piece of carry-on luggage.Now if only I can remember to stow the Market Tote where it's handy when I go grocery shopping. I have a host of reusable grocery bags already, but they always seem to be "someplace else" when its time to shop, since I go on the spur of the moment and not usually on a regular schedule. I can assure you, though, that the Market Tote will make the rounds on my flights.
 
 Great Grocery Bag
By Salli, Indiana, December 6, 2008

I just got the market totes I ordered yesterday. Took them on their first grocery shopping trip today. Two totes held all my groceries for 2 weeks. With the handles going all the way around they were really sturdy holding all the weight. The lady behind me in line commented on how much better they were than the freebie one she was using. The best part was on the way home the hot dog package sprang a leak and the coating kept the juice from leaking through the bag onto the back seat of my car. This bag is definitely better than all the plastic bags.
 
 Amazing
By Ken S, NH, USA, September 21, 2008

For such a simple thing, it works so well. The baggers at the store are afraid to fill it, but if you do it yourself it will hold a ton of items and make you feel so much better about not using plastic!
 
 Great shopping bag, go green!
By Anonymous, Northern Ca, July 25, 2008

My wife and I love these bags, bought one for her and left one in the car for those unexpected shopping stops. These bags hold a ton! 2 of them are good for a weeks worth of groceries, and we wont be missing the accumulation of plastic grocery store bags that once kept piling up in the pantry. She also uses hers for carrying books to class, a true multi use item.
 
 Tote bag
By Mary, Virginia, July 12, 2008

I originally bought these tote bags because the description said they were the same size as the brown paper grocery bags, and I'd been looking for just such a bag for a long time. I love these bags! They really do hold a lot of groceries, and they're so sturdy that I can load them up with lots of heavy stuff and not worry about a blowout. I also take them to other, non-grocery stores, and have gotten many positive comments from the cashiers there, too. I had way too many plastic bags piling up at my house, but no more. These bags are so well-made, I expect to use them for a long time to come.
 
 World's Greatest Tote
By James, Seattle, WA, May 29, 2008

I got my order about three hours ago. I noted the rugged construction. The strapping used for the handles and bag support is one piece - wrapping beneath the bag, extending for the handles, and meeting with the other end in a secure stitch. Yes, you can swing little ones in this thing.Took it out for a trip to the grocery. Noted that the handles are long enough to put my arm through and hang the bag from my shoulder. Convenient and out-of-the-way.Coming back from the grocery, I noticed that the bag is large enough to hold a lot of stuff. The bag carries a little above the ground, which is perfect. When stopped, I can let the bag rest on the ground while still having a loose hold of the handle straps. I'm 6' tall.My order included a Sky Train bag. I see that I can store the tote flat in the zipped compartment with the backpack straps - an easy no-loss stash spot.I've only had it a few hours, but I'm already attached to it. It's well designed and well constructed. Can't go wrong here. I'm glad I got mine.
 
 The talk of the Store
By Jolene Verlanic, Colstrip, March 26, 2008

I just got my market totes yesterday and took them with me when I went to the store. The bag boy was amazed by what they could hold and wanted to know where he could get one. It was really rewarding to be able to tell them Red Oxx in Billings MT and that they are made there. All of the checkers were amazed by the quality of them as well. Thank you for another great product.
 
 Go Pick Some Other Traveler!
By M Alana Bell, , January 13, 2007

Tote arrived just this week, and I'm already raving about it. See, I was at the airport with a packed Air Boss and my Gator, which wasn't a problem until I shopped for water airside to drink on the flight! Whoops, no more room for all those bottles plus lunch. When I was at the gate I received lots of glares from the gate attendants because of that bag of water bottles. Yep, I was over the carry-on allowance. I knew I'd hear the dreaded words 'gate-check' since the flight was packed. I was the sacrificial 3-bagger, and they were staring right at my Air Boss.Wait, I thought. What about dumping the Gator's contents into the tote, and cramming the empty Gator on top? I quickly found there was no need to dump the Gator; with the end pockets empty, and the bellows pockets mostly flat, the Gator slid into place like the two bags were meant to be used together. Had enough room for the water bottles on top, and lunch too. Poor gate people had to pick on other travelers to get the gate-check items. My bags were smaller than theirs were. Thanks, Red Oxx, I'll never leave town without this tote again!Or without my Travel basket, but that's another review...
 
 Perfect tote or baby swing?
By Brad Holcomb, , November 20, 2006

I got this for my wife, and she has been raving about it. She's used it for several shopping trips, and it will pack nice and flat in our luggage to use for shopping excursions while on vacation trips. The Bordeaux color is beautiful.My personal favorite use of the bag so far: My 21-month-old son likes to sit in the bottom and have me swing him around. The bag is so extremely strong that I have zero concern about the fabric or the straps breaking. Fun times.
 
 The Toast Of Totes
By Cory Utterback, , October 30, 2006

My wife and I have purchased two totes from the folks at Red Oxx--the "older bag" with short handles and a newer model with extended handles. These babies are even handy for those who don't use totes. The reason? You can always find a use for a tote. Here are a few: eco-minded grocery visits; carrying dishes to dinner parties; and hauling gifts to the in-laws for holiday visits--just to name a few. Ballistic nylon and cordura fabric make this bag tough. Visually, this tote puts others to shame; the vibrant colors and stylish logo let people know you mean business. The extended handles are a great improvement, making the bag more..."totable." If you are in the market for a tote, do not waste your time (or money) on any other product. Period.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications

Market Tote Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • 1150 weight black Ballistic nylon on the sides
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on all stress points such as carry handles
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 16"H x 6"D x 12"W
  • Metric Dimensions: 40.6cm H x 15.2cm D x 30.5cm W
  • US Capacity: 1,440 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 18.8 Liters

Market Tote Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can the Market Tote be used for a carry-on personal item?
The Market Tote makes a wonderful carry-on personal item. Since it can be folded flat, one can also pack it into your luggage for local shopping, then bring it home as your personal item carry-on.
 
Why is there no zipper?
A prototype model zippered tote has been designed and is in the testing stage.
 
Why are the handles so long?
The Tote was designed for shoulder carry as well as a simple backpack. Shorter handles wouldn't allow these styles of carry. You can, however, easily shorten the handles by looping them over each other. See overview for a detailed description or refer to the photos tab.
 
How many groceries can the Market Tote hold?
It can hold the same amount as the classic paper grocery bag.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Market Tote contains only one main compartment.
 
Is the opening closeable?
The bag is not closeable.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.