Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Backpacks Daypacks  > Lil-Roy

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm a digital junkie fix up kit bag.”
Lil Roy Gadget Bag and Packing Cube - shown in Bordeaux

Lil Roy $40.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Keep your things organized.

How to make your travel life less cluttered.

Looking for a packing cube type bag to help you get sorted? How about holding your digital camera, iPod, DVD players, headphones, Go Pro camera, loose electronics and doo dads? Maybe you're looking for a small gadget bag to keep your electronic accessories such as power cords, battery chargers, backup drives and the like stored in?

MULTI-USE MINI BAG.
The Lil Roy is it, your favorite new gadget bag! Developed after a gentleman named Roy who wanted a little bag for his tire chains, the Lil Roy is our chameleon hideout bag in the Red Oxx gear lineup. Is it a travel purse? Sure, we've had some ladies carry one out in the field as their purse or "personal item". Camera bag? We've found that our Lil Roy makes a just-right sized GoPro camera bag or digital video camera bag. Video Game case? It will fit video games as well as a variety of remote controls. Lunch bag? Sure, but do you really want to muck up the inside? Kindle and Mini iPad bag? A Kindle will nicely tuck into one of the interior side pockets (the pocket will not snap shut, however).

That's right, hundreds of our satisfied customers have used it for all of the above and many new uses keep cropping up daily. Moms tell us their kids use it to pack their toys and games in for car trips, keeping the amount of "extras" organized and clutter down to a minimum. Some folks have even found the Lil Roy useful as a "Ditty Bag" (also known as a "sailors housewife" - ie: an emergency sewing kit). For more great ideas for the multi-use mini bag of the century, check out some of our Lil Roy product reviews in the reviews tab at left. Tell us how YOU use your Lil Roy in a product review and if it's pretty cool, you could win a prize!*

LIL ROY AS PACKING CUBE.
A pack-it or packing cube? Wow, now there's a clever use for a Lil Roy. Color co-ordinate your belongings for quick ID and use the grab handles for easy retrieval. As a packing cube, the handles allow you to hang it on the doorknob while at your hotel for easy access. The handles also make it quick to pull out of your packed travel bag. Since you have 12 vibrant colors to choose from, you can "color code" your Lil Roy Packing Cubes. Then it's a snap to find your stuff and since it has handles, it's easy to pull out of your suitcase.

SATISFY YOUR INNER ORGANIZER.
The Lil Roy features twin Leno "stiff mesh" pockets on each inside wall with Red Oxx Mil-Spec snaps to keep things contained. Our "stiff mesh" is made to take a beating and not tear or wear out unlike "soft mesh" pocket linings. Stiff mesh features smaller holes and a tighter weave, this makes it "stiff" and hold up better under durese. It's the same mesh we use on our Aviator line of Mesh bags.

Inside, the Lil Roy's pockets are sewn down on the bottoms and sides so your stuff stays contained once it's snapped in. Each webbed handle is double cross stitched to the bag and wraps all the way around. Massive #10 YKK heavy-duty nylon self-locking zippers open when you need them to and stay locked when you don't. Our proprietary Fair Trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots provide bag opening and closing assistance so easy you'll wonder how you used zippers without them.

BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For such a small bag, Lil Roys are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread's stitched into every seam. Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is box stitched.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag. Our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors gadget bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

COLOR COORDINATE YOUR ORGANIZATION.
With so many vibrant colors to choose from, you should have a Lil Roy in every color for storing around the house or garage and still find you'd like to have a few more for the car, perhaps as a first aid kit, portable DVD player bag or to store emergency travel supplies like tire chains, flares and flashlights. Consider buying two or more Lil Roys, you'll always find a use for more than one! Thanks Lil Roy! You are versatility in a mini bag redefined!

Whatever your needs, chances are the Lil Roy, a handy little multi-use mini bag, will do the trick.

Dimensions: 9"L x 3"W x 6"H
Capacity: 162 cubic inches.
Weight: 0.5 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual interior mesh flat snap pockets: 5.5"H x 9"W
  • Main compartment: 9"L x 3"W x 6"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Lil Roy.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Lil Roy Trivia: Named after a Red Oxx friend, Roy, who needed a bag to carry tire chains.

*Prizes valued at $25. To be determined by Red Oxx at time of giveaway.

Write a Review

4.88 Average Rating
 (96 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 almost perfect
By Bob, canada, May 5, 2013

Only improvement I would ask for is more 'belly' in the side mesh pockets, similiar to those in the Tri fold shave kit. That would give me more options when filling the bag. Otherwise, it was great
 
 Great Lunch Pail
By Anonymous, Tennessee, April 25, 2013

I was looking for a bag to use in carrying my lunch to work. I discovered that the one I had been using was not US made. I wasn't sure this would work but it has been great. It isn't insulated but we have refrigerators at our office, so all I have to do is get it from home to work. It is a very well made bag and I am sure has a number of other uses. Based on this experience, I am going to check out this company's larger bags for my computer and as luggage. I encourage you to buy USA. There are a lot of companies out there; you just need to take the time to look.
 
 Lil Roy Seatback Bag
By Ben, , March 31, 2013

Purchased my Lil Roy to be my airplane seat back bag. Carry's my Kindle, earbuds, and some snacks. Does this job wonderfully. I just pull it out of my main bag as I'm putting it into the over head bin. The long handles make this very easy to find and pull out of a deep seat back pocket.
 
 A place for your "stuff"
By Donald M., Pacific NW, March 28, 2013

As everyone says, it's a great bag for holding just about everything. There are now 4 in our household, after two were "permanently borrowed" by my wife. Holds your electronic's "wires", small items, papers, keys, pills, glasses, ...you name it. Very good as a bag-in-a-bag. And super as an "in-seat" bag for the stuff you use onboard an aircraft.

One consideration...if you use it for little "stuff", get a bright color fabric. If you buy a black or navy or the like, it can be "dark" inside. With a yellow or red or coal, you have contrast to pick out items visually and not have to resort to feel. Just a thought, as my first one was in Midnight and the rest have been "brighter".
 
 Can never have enough bags
By Bill , Park City, Utah, March 28, 2013

Lil Roy is absolutely perfect for collecting all those small gadgets previously rattling about in various compartments in the Adventure Truck. Plan to add a few more - can never have too many bags.
 
 Great lil' bag
By Kyle, Cheyenne, Wy, March 28, 2013

Great lil' bag. Heavy duty, great quality. I bought this to carry my lunch in. I ride a motorcycle to work & this bag fits in my saddle bags perfectly. It is a little bigger than I thought based on the measurements given. All around great product & I expect many years of general purpose use. Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Very Functional!
By Anonymous, PA, February 28, 2013

I have several of these bags and use them for electronics and camera accessories. I not only travel with them but just have things stored so I have a ready "grab and go bag." Very happy with the quality!
 
 Great Lil Bag
By David C., Alabama, February 11, 2013

This is a great little bag. I had bought one for use in my overnight trips that I mke frequently. I have since bought two more as they are very versitile and help to keep everything organized while on the road.
 
 GPS Perfection
By Mark, Massachusetts, January 24, 2013

Was not sure exactly how I was going to utilize this bag - turns out it is perfect for use in my car, holding all the GPS gear - pad, stand, cord and device. I also use it to carry the device while traveling. Very strong and durable - could be very useful for other items as well.
 
 Perfect gift
By Theresa C, middle TN, January 6, 2013

Gave this as a Christmas gift and the recipient was very pleased. She travels for business and was excited with all the possibilities for use. She said the size was perfect for her toiletries.
 
 I Love my Lil Roy
By Swims with Fish, an island in the Caribbean, December 25, 2012

I love this sturdy little bag. I have used it on a trip to stow small loose items. Used it for a toiletry bag upon arrival. Doubles as my camera bag when needed. And have used it as my toiletry kit when showering at the marina after a day of diving.

Love the little side pockets that are secured with snaps and the sturdy zipper that opens completely. I can hang it on the hook on the back of the shower door at the marina and with a little planning, nothing falls out.

It's the right size to fit perfectly in the center compartment of my Air Boss. It's very well made. Who wouldn't love this little bag for whatever your need?

 
 Great piece of kit!
By Christian, China, December 13, 2012

I use this bag for all my smalll hunting goodies. Very well made and great quality!

It fits well into my PR5 side pockets. Great Stuff, hope for more cool gear!
 
 Versatile
By Nick, Kansas City, MO, November 29, 2012

I purchased the Lil Roy to accompany my Air Boss to keep my electronics organized (laptop charger, phone charger, headphones, Bluetooth headset, Zagg Spark, mouse, etc). Everything fit with plenty of room to spare.

I was very surprised by the amount of space it provided. I plan to order a second to carry my toiletries. The 3 inch width is perfect for the center compartment of the Air Boss and I'll be able to stack two on top of each other. The only knock would be the handles seem a little long for the size of the bag itself, but that's really personal preference.
 
 So Many Uses
By Rod, Kentucky, November 28, 2012

When my Little Roy first arrived I was surprised by how small it was. I expected something a little bit bigger. I actually thought it was too small and I wouldn't have much use for it. Then I tried it and was surprised how well it works for so many things.

I carry a RedOxx CPA daily with my laptop. And now with the Little Roy I have a great way to keep things together. I keep my Amazon Kindle, a notebook, some business cards, power cords for my ipod, kindle, and phone. Using the LR inside the CPS keeps things organized.

Recently I attended a conference and didn't really want to lug my laptop around. The Little Roy worked perfectly. It already had most of what I needed in it.

Works great inside the AirBoss too. When traveling I use it to store everything I need at my seat while the AirBoss is in the overhead compartment. It's easy to grab before stowing the AirBoss for the flight. When I land, I simple slide the LR back inside the center compartment of the AirBoss and I'm a One Bag traveler.

Plan on getting more of these bags to use a packing cubes, quick out the door bags, and one for under the seat of my pickup.
 
 Great as Doop Kit
By Anonymous, San Antonio, Texas , November 5, 2012

Works great for essentials in the end of my PR4

Great Job Red Oxx
 
 Simply the best!
By Mary, Erie, PA, October 25, 2012

Lil Roy is perfect - My first got stolen by m musician husband for all his wires and things; so I had to order another. It is the perfect size for all my 'stuff'' without being too big or bulky, and always organized - I never have to fish for my keys! The only thing that would make Roy even more perfect would be a removable shoulder strap so that I could carry Roy hands free when I use it as my handbag. Thanks, Red Oxx!
 
 Holds a 7 inch tablet and a paperback
By Anonymous, US, October 1, 2012

Bought a Lil Roy to corral electronics when using the Market Tote as a carry on.

It works well. On the last trip, it held a 7 inch tablet in a cover, a couple of paperback books, charging cords, earplugs, and several protein bars. Handles are a nice length. Works as an over the arm purse, too.

Thinking of getting a couple of more to corral other things.
 
 The Perfect little bag!
By John Henrikson, Dallas, TX, August 30, 2012

This bag is perfectly sized. It's big enough to carry lots of different things. But, it can also be squished down if you're only carrying a couple of items. It's a great extension of /addition to any packing container system.

I use it to carry my Google Nexus tablet (while it's in my Timbuk2 sleeve), my Bose QC15 headphones (including the hard case!), a fold-up stand for the tablet, a pair of extra earbuds, and a cleaning cloth. I could also fit a small notebook and a pen, if I chose. And, it zips up with no effort at all even with all this big stuff in it. Once I'm on the plane, I pull this Lil Roy out of my Air Boss, Air Boss goes in the overhead, this little bag goes under the seat or even in the magazine pouch. I couldn't believe I could fit my entire "in-flight entertainment system" in this bag.

I got one for me and one for a friend, who also loves it.

It rocks the Red Oxx quality and over-the-top build, which I love!

Highly recommended. It's perfect for me!
 
 Great for accessories
By Anonymous, Texas, August 30, 2012

I use this bag to hold all my small electronics and their chargers. So far it works very well. I use it in conjunction with the air boss.
 
 Love it!
By Rebecca, Texas, August 12, 2012

Held all my adapters, power cords, etc. Great little bag.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 

Photos
Specifications
Lil Roy Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on all stress points
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Embroidered patch circular logo
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 9"L x 3"W x 6"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 22.9cm L x 7.6cm W x 15.2cm H
  • US Capacity: 162 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 2.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 0.5 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.22 Kilos

Lil Roy Gadget Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fit my Kindle, iPad, Nook, Notebook in the Lil Roy?
The Mini iPad will fit, as will a Kindle, Kindle Fire or Nook, however we recommend using the Chica/Chico mini messenger bag to carry eReaders and tablets as it is padded and correctly sized and has plenty of extra room for your mouse, keyboard, and chargers.
 
What are the best uses for the Lil Roy?
Anything your imagination can devise, for its size. For example: lunch bag, electronics gadget bag for cables and battery chargers, digital camera bag, packing cube, toiletry bag, emergency bag, first aid kit bag, dope bag, tire changes, binoculars, toys, video and mini board games, and organizing your smaller gear using color coding. The list goes on...
 
What's the difference between the Lil Roy and the Nomad?
The Nomad was designed as a Toiletry bag or "dopp kit" with a large main compartment whereas the Lil Roy serves more to organize smaller items, both make great packing cubes.
 
Does the Lil Roy come with a shoulder strap?
It's designed to be carried by the carry handle. There are no d-rings for attaching a shoulder strap.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.