Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Safari Travel Luggage  > Lil-Roy

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm a digital junkie fix up kit bag.”
Lil Roy Gadget Bag and Packing Cube - shown in Bordeaux

Lil Roy $40.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Keep your things organized.

How to make your travel life less cluttered.

Looking for a packing cube type bag to help you get sorted? How about holding your digital camera, iPod, DVD players, headphones, Go Pro camera, loose electronics and doo dads? Maybe you're looking for a small gadget bag to keep your electronic accessories such as power cords, battery chargers, backup drives and the like stored in?

MULTI-USE MINI BAG.
The Lil Roy is it, your favorite new gadget bag! Developed after a gentleman named Roy wanted a little bag for his tire chains, the Lil Roy is our chameleon hideout bag in the Red Oxx gear lineup. Is it a travel purse? Sure, we've had some ladies carry one out in the field as their purse or "personal item". Camera bag? We've found that our Lil Roy makes a just-right sized GoPro camera bag or digital video camera bag. Video Game case? It will fit video games as well as a variety of remote controls. Lunch bag? Sure, but do you really want to muck up the inside? Kindle and Mini iPad bag? A Kindle will nicely tuck into one of the interior side pockets (the pocket will not snap shut, however). A pack-it or packing cube? Wow, now there's a clever use for a Lil Roy. Color co-ordinate your belongings for quick ID and use the grab handles for easy retrieval. Some folks have even found the Lil Roy useful as a "Ditty Bag" (also known as a "sailors housewife" - ie: an emergency sewing kit). For more great ideas for the multi-use mini bag of the century, check out some of our Lil Roy product reviews in the reviews tab at left.

That's right, hundreds of our satisfied customers have used it for all of the above and many new uses keep cropping up daily. Moms tell us their kids use it to pack their toys and games in for car trips, keeping the amount of "extras" organized and clutter down to a minimum. Tell us what YOU use your Lil Roy for in a product review and if it's pretty cool, you could win a prize!*

LIL ROY AS PACKING CUBE.
As a packing cube, the handles allow you to hang it on the doorknob while at your hotel for easy access. The handles also make it quick to pull out of your packed travel bag. Since you have 12 vibrant colors to choose from, you can "color code" your Lil Roy Packing Cubes. Then it's a snap to find your stuff and since it has handles, it's easy to pull out of your suitcase.

SATISFY YOUR INNER ORGANIZER.
The Lil Roy features twin Leno "stiff mesh" pockets on each inside wall with Red Oxx Mil-Spec snaps to keep things contained. Our "stiff mesh" is made to take a beating and not tear or wear out unlike "soft mesh" pocket linings. Stiff mesh features smaller holes and a tighter weave, this makes it "stiff" and hold up better under durese. The Lil Roy's pockets are sewn down on the bottoms and sides so your stuff stays contained once it's snapped in. Each webbed handle is double cross stitched to the bag and wraps all the way around. Massive #10 YKK heavy-duty nylon self-locking zippers open when you need them to and stay locked when you don't. Our proprietary Fair Trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots provide bag opening and closing assistance so easy you'll wonder how you used zippers without them.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is box stitched.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

COLOR COORDINATE YOUR ORGANIZATION.
With so many vibrant colors to choose from, you should have a Lil Roy in every color for storing around the house or garage and still find you'd like to have a few more for the car, perhaps as a first aid kit, portable DVD player bag or to store emergency travel supplies like tire chains, flares and flashlights. Consider buying two or more Lil Roys, you'll always find a use for more than one! Thanks Lil Roy! You are versatility in a mini bag redefined!

Whatever your needs, chances are the Lil Roy, a handy little multi-use bag, will do the trick.

Dimensions: 9"L x 3"W x 6"H
Capacity: 162 cubic inches.
Weight: 0.5 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual interior mesh flat snap pockets: 5.5"H x 9"W
  • Main compartment: 9"L x 3"W x 6"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Lil Roy.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Lil Roy Trivia: Named after a Red Oxx friend, Roy, who needed a bag to carry tire chains.

*Prizes valued at $25. To be determined by Red Oxx at time of giveaway.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (92 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 The EVERY Person Bag
By John O'Malley, Kings Mountain, NC, December 30, 2010

I needed a bag that would do two things:

1. It had to carry all I needed while in an airline seat without having to get up and get something.

2. It had to replace two different Eagle Creek packers I used for similar purposes.

What I got were those things and more. Besides meeting my flight needs:

1 I got a bag the could carry 3 lenses for my Canon DSLR and my Pro series Nikon Point and Shoot.

2. I got a bag that could could carry all my wires for all my potable tech needs.

3. I got a bag that tags along on my CPA briefcase strap for a "third" carryon. (Air Boss, CPA, and lil roy.)

4. I got a bag that carries six portable hard drives, cables, and adaptors.

This is a wonderful bag. I ordered two of them. One for me and one for my son! Your Red Oxx ensemble is not complete until you own lil Roy.
 
 Good Stuff!
By Ann Kathyrn, California, December 12, 2010

First and foremost: This company is TERRIFIC in sending out the product QUICKLY! YEA!

About the Lil Roy; I've only had it a couple of weeks, but have used it for golfing. I use it to load my Sky Caddie, sunscreen, hair brush, wallet, snacks and everything else I don't want to leave in the car. Small, yet big enough for odds and ends to keep with me.

Well constructed.

Try it, you'll like it!
 
 Lil Roy
By Bob, Dartmouth, MA, October 14, 2010

I bought this really as an experiment. I've been using my Air Boss bag for almost a year and love it, and came back to the Red Oxx site to see what other "toys" I could find. It turns out that the Lil Roy is a great solution for carrying my noise canceling headphones, some cables, and a paperpack. I can easily transfer this bag between my laptop case and my overnighter. The build on this is as solid as my Air Boss and I expect to have both for a very long time.
 
 Great for air travel
By Bruce, Rochester, NY, October 11, 2010

It's a fantastic bag for a road warrior. I use it to carry my electronics (Kindle, RSA headphone amp, IEMs, iPod Touch, chargers). When I reach security, I pull it out of my bag (Gator or Sky Train) to make it easy for TSA and to minimize the chance of having my bag opened up. I keep the Lil Roy in the seat pocket.
 
 Nice Product
By Kenneth, Madison, Wisconsin, September 16, 2010

Works as advertised. BE AWARE though, a MacBook Pro will not fit in this bag.
 
 Useful
By Dufus, Gilbert, AZ, August 8, 2010

When shopping for bags made in the USA I stumbled upon Red Ox. I purchased Lil Roy with no partiucular use in mind but rather to see the quality of the construction. The bag is made well and the large color choice is very nice. I recently took a two week trip and found a good use for this bag inside my luggage. Better yet (for Red Ox) my wife really likes it and I'm sure I'll have to buy her one.
 
 Sweet!
By Keith, NC, August 1, 2010

Just received my Lil Roy in red. The bag is awesome, I can see allot of uses for this bag. It's bigger then I expected and I really love it. I thing it would be awesome as a packing cube or even better as an accessory organizer for cords, adapters, chargers etc. Build quality is amazing, stitching perfect, color red is great. I think my wife could use one of these to carry some of her stuff. More Red Oxx bags in my future.
 
 Organized
By TL, PA, May 21, 2010

This bag added a nice amount of organization to my travels. I use one inside pocket for all my iPod and iPhone gear, the other inside pocket for computer-related stuff (USB drive, etc.) and my Bluetooth and charger. The large middle compartment stays empty, allowing the Lil Roy to fold nice and flat in my laptop bag. Or I put my GPS, charger, cradle and mount in there for longer trips. It will still fit in my laptop bag. I can think of tons of uses for this, and for $25 for a bag of this quality, I'll buy more. My only gripe is there is a small defect in one of my snaps causing the snap to be a little tighter than normal. It still works, and when I called Red Oxx they offered to give me an RMA if it bothers me. Truth be told, I use this bag every week and didn't want to go without it for the time to send it back and get a replacement. With the great warranty, I suppose I can send it in anytime though.
 
 Great Organizer!
By Doug, Saline, MI, May 1, 2010

I read all the reviews on Little Roy and wasn't keen on the "purse" bit but everyone was so positive and the price is right, so I wanted to give it a try. I travel every week and put two old "amenity kits" from past international flights in my bag; I fill one with personal items (extra toothbrush, band-aids, an extra contact lens case, etc.) for when I'm in the office without my suitcase. The other has the electronics, such as a flash drive, chargers for my phone, iPod, etc. I was able to dump the contents of both those cases into Little Roy and still had room for sunglasses in a bulky case and even my Kindle. This bag holds so much miscellaneous stuff that it started to be a game to see how much stuff I could get in there! Lots of room + the excellent RedOxx construction make this a really great organizer!
 
 I Can Only Second
By Dick Hahn, On The Road, April 29, 2010

It's all been said and I second the reviews. I now own three and will probably end up buying a few more.

They are great alone or as packing "cubes" in other RedOxx (the only brand I use) products. Top quality, rugged and functional-that says it all.
 
 Just the thing.
By K. David, California / France / East Europe, April 8, 2010

I bought one as an experiment, to see if Red Oxx gear was really as well made as everyone says. I figured if the quality isn't up where I want it, I've only thrown away $25. Based on this purchase, and the quality of the Lil Roy, I'll be buying at least another, bag later this week, this time full-size; maybe a couple... So, the Lil Roy is well-made; solid, all the reinforcements necessary - you could load this guy up with anything, even very heavy stuff, and the handles, zippers, etc would hold! The size, as others have mentioned is good for packing along games, books, or something else small that deserves its own bag. I could see taking it to the range, or ?
 
 Perfect size
By Chip Jarvis, Tucson, AZ, February 27, 2010

I was reluctant to buy based on the dimensions, but figured "what the hell". And I was pleasantly surprised to find that it holds exactly what I needed it to:

- Bose headset

- Kindle

- slim Suduku book

- pen and pencil

(I'd measured the above items with a tape measure before buying, and it seemed "iffy".)

It is a very handy bag -- I load it with the above items, and put it in my Air Boss. Then I pull it out before stowing the Air Boss in the aircraft overhead bin. Then Lil' Roy hangs out in the pocket of the seat in front, or under the seat, for the flight.

Construction is of course, great. For me, the size is perfect.
 
 Nice little bag
By JohnSu, Taiwan, December 3, 2009

It's a cute, strong, little bag.

Convenient for storing odd bits and pieces (my dive computer, MP3 player, PSP, S90 etc.).

I will need to get another one for my many different USB connectors and power cords.

There are much cheaper alternatives available, but heck,I'm buying RedOxx because I want quality (plus it's nice to have a matching color with my other RedOxx luggage.
 
 really handy
By David Sinclair, Kazakhstan, December 3, 2009

The usual from RedOxx: lovely materials, great colours, great quality. A really handy multi-purpose little bag.

I use mine to put inside my CPA briefcase to keep camera and things separate.
 
 THE PERFECT "MANS PURSE"
By JB, Chicago, IL., December 3, 2009

About the closest thing to a man's purse without going Coach or Gucci!

No more sitting on a thick wallet while driving...it goes in the bag.

No more lost cell phones, loose change, packs of gum, pens, knife, tools, ID badge, handcuffs, MP3 player, or other small items bouncing around the vehicle...THEY ALL FIT WITHIN THIS BAG!

This is one tough bag! I've traveled all over the World under tough conditions with this bag, and have experienced no problems. The bag is made of heavy duty material (Mil-Spec type) with quality zippers.

Frequently, fellow co-workers inquire as to where I got this high-speed bag. Some guys buy these bags as range bags for their pistols and shooting supplies, and others prepare them as "Go Bags" for when the poop hits the fan.

The only complaint my co-workers and I have are that we would like to see the inner mesh pockets have a stitch down the middle to create 2 seperate pockets on each side of the case. This would isolate smaller items better.

It would also be nice to have a version available without the patch on the side.

Great Job Guys!
 
 Great Lil Bag
By Warren, Chicago, December 1, 2009

It's the best bag I've found for carrying small things when I'm traveling, like a GPS or small digital camera with a mini tripod. The internal side pockets let you organize your stuff. GREAT BAG!!!
 
 Great Idea
By Gary Banker, , August 11, 2009

This is an extremely versatile bag limited only by your imagination. I found it to be perfect for carrying computer accessories on the road.

 
 Netbook bag
By David Tellet, Alexandria, Va, June 27, 2009

These bags are great for keeping electronic accessories organized, as others have said here, but my last trip I used one as a case for my Asus netbook computer. Fit perfectly, and made it easy to get through security - kept it in the center compartment of my Air Boss until security, pulled it out and put it on the conveyor without having to open it up or show them (they did ask if there were any cables in there). Only thing is that it doesn't have any padding so no tossing it around with the computer in it. Great little bag.
 
 Good for airline travel!
By Jim W., Asheville, NC, February 4, 2009

I used this bag as a detachable accessory bag. It was externally snap-linked to a PR5, used for an airline carry-on. Once onboard the aircraft, the larger bag went into the overhead bin and the Lil Roy went to my seat. It is small, but still large enough to hold paper, pens, iPod, headphones, snack, deflated neck pillow, paperback book, keys, and tickets, with a little room to spare. I probably could have also stuffed a small drink bottle inside. The internal mesh pockets kept things organized. Same high quality as other Red Oxx products. Small exterior, large interior. How did they do that? Neat bag!
 
 Great For Portable Gaming!!!
By J. Dellinger, Mount Holly, NC, January 26, 2009

I use the Lil Roy as a carry bag for my portable gaming system. I keep the device in a padded sleeve in one of the side pockets and the charger, cables, and spare battery in the other side pocket. There is plenty of room in the center for games and headphone storage. The rounded corners make it easy to get out of another bag or backpack. The simplicity of the design means that I can use this bag for other things when I'm not gaming or if I get another system since it is not manufacturer or model specific. Don't buy over priced imported junk when you can get this American made high-quality bag for the same money!
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 

Photos
Specifications
Lil Roy Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on all stress points
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Embroidered patch circular logo
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 9"L x 3"W x 6"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 22.9cm L x 7.6cm W x 15.2cm H
  • US Capacity: 162 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 2.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 0.5 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.22 Kilos

Lil Roy Gadget Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fit my Kindle, iPad, Nook, Notebook in the Lil Roy?
The Mini iPad will fit, as will a Kindle, Kindle Fire or Nook, however we recommend using the Chica/Chico mini messenger bag to carry eReaders and tablets as it is padded and correctly sized and has plenty of extra room for your mouse, keyboard, and chargers.
 
What are the best uses for the Lil Roy?
Anything your imagination can devise, for its size. For example: lunch bag, electronics gadget bag for cables and battery chargers, digital camera bag, packing cube, toiletry bag, emergency bag, first aid kit bag, dope bag, tire changes, binoculars, toys, video and mini board games, and organizing your smaller gear using color coding. The list goes on...
 
What's the difference between the Lil Roy and the Nomad?
The Nomad was designed as a Toiletry bag or "dopp kit" with a large main compartment whereas the Lil Roy serves more to organize smaller items, both make great packing cubes.
 
Does the Lil Roy come with a shoulder strap?
It's designed to be carried by the carry handle. There are no d-rings for attaching a shoulder strap.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.