Skip Navigation LinksGator-Carry-On-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I have a big appetite for adventure.”
Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

You can read up on how others have used this multi-purpose carry-on bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry animal namesake, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a personal item, a shooting bag for the range, SLR camera bag, diaper bag in disguise, C-pap bag, or take it to work with a packed lunch; you get the picture.

WHAT ABOUT POCKETS?
Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets that will hold small to medium water bottles (taller ones tend to not be as secure and may fall out!). The expandable gusseted side pockets help you to keep track of your gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, and more.

These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are secret hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

GET ORGANIZED.
Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length stiff mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. This divider is sewn down to snugly secure your iPad or Tablet when the pocket is snapped shut. Located on the back exterior is another full-length zippered pocket. Our 4lb. Volara closed cell firm foam padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from damage.

A COMPACT CARRY-ON BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a personal item bag, Gators are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on the Gator pocket flaps, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the Gator, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Gator break down?

A HANDY MULTI-PURPOSE BAG.
The famous fully adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry it with the wraparound handle handclasp. Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Travel Bags are durable companions for many uses: SLR camera bags, diaper bags, NetBook or Tablets, C-pap bags, pistol range, you name it, the Gator will eat it. Consider it your "bag of all trades."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Gator on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Gator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches
Weight: 2.35 lbs

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarassed to appear like he was carrying a diaper bag. After the kids grew out of their diapers, he wanted a decent range bag to take with him. The Gator held his pistols, magazines, ammo, ear muffs, safety glasses, gloves and targets. When Jim went to Africa, he brought along a Gator as his personal item. The name Gator was selected because a Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Write a Review

4.69 Average Rating
 (153 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 Red Oxx = Fantastic, UPS = Poor
By Ian, Lincolnshire, UK, November 13, 2012

The bag itself is 100% great. So glad I got it in red. I'm using it as hand luggage / DSLR bag. A Mountainsmith padded Kit Cube fits really well to keep my photography kit protected.

Beware UK buyers !

UPS "demand" payment of import taxes on delivery. They don't accept anything apart from cash and don't carry change. I was out when this was delivered and my parents were visting. The driver made it clear to them that it would cause a lot of problems if the duty was not paid there and then. In the past I have paid using an on-line system before the carrier finalises delivery to the end destination. Much easier and simpler.

I will order again from Red Oxx as the products are so good, but next time I will ensure I am in for delivery and will pay their driver with a large bag of 1p coins !

Is a Red Oxx UK distributor planned ?
 
 Good, but not great...
By Patrick, Vallejo, CA, October 28, 2012

Most reviews of this product are very complementary. and although I am happy with my purchase, I must say that the Gator Carry On Bag fell short of my expectations.

I bought this product because I needed a new shoulder bag in this size range, and since I was so totally happy with my Sky Train, I figured the Gator would be a safe bet.

As with all Red Oxx products, the materials and craftsmanship are suburb, so no problem there. Plus, I appreciate the fact that it is made in the USA by people who really care about what they do. I like the size, the fact that it is padded, the heavy-duty zippers, and the well-designed strap.

Here's what I don't like: The design of the interior sleeve/divider needs a little work. It will hold my iPad (in its cover) but just barely, and it doesn't really allow it to seat very well. Maybe replace the heavy mesh fabric with a lighter-weight, smoother fabric. Also, the sewn in slots for pens and whatever else, really miss the mark, at least for me. I fill the main internal area with my Bose headphones, camera, accessory zipper bag (which stands in for the lack of any internal pocket), iPad/iPhone charger cables, reading material and a baseball cap. With all of that, it is nearly impossible to get to the pen sleeves (which actually get in the way).

The zippered pocket on one side is very flat, and only deep enough for your boarding pass (which is fine). The two snap pockets on the other side, however, are a bit odd. For most travel these days (and especially international travel) security and protection from pick-pockets is really a big deal. For this reason I can never see keeping anything of value in these pockets. They are a nice size for a phone or small camera, but I would never use them for that. I've used them for snacks or other low value items, but it is really a waste to have storage space that you can't use any way you wish. I'd much rather see a single zipped bellows pocket that could be secured. Maybe this would be a better place for the pen and accessory pockets.

The water bottle pockets also could have been executed better. They are heavier that they need to be, are a bit too shallow and wide, and without a flat bottom, they just don't work very well. I see many complaints in other reviews about these pockets, so I am somewhat perplexed that a small "light on their feet" company like Red Oxx hasn't made a change already. I'd also rather see just one, with a zippered multipurpose pocket on the other side.

All in all, I will continue to carry and enjoy this bag, even with these foibles, and will accept them. Haven't seen a bag that I would rather have. but if Red Oxx did some evolutionary changes, I'd be quick to purchase the upgrade.

 
 Love it!
By JF, Minnesota, October 4, 2012

The Gator in Safari colors is just amazing. Lighter in weight than I expected. Nicely organized. The best shoulder strap I have ever had on any bag. Great detailing. Just what I wanted in a funky, non-corporate-briefcase travel bag.

Minor suggestions: Add a few inches to the length of the strap for us tall guys. Add a bit of a gusset to that the internal organization panel has a little depth to it. But these are minor!
 
 Perfect for 13" Macboook Air
By Anonymous, Arizona, August 31, 2012

Great Addition to our Air Boss. Perfect carry on for our trip to Europe. 13" Macbook Air, iPhones, camera, passports, adapters and room to spare. Love the Gator!
 
 Great all-purpose bag
By Jeff, Washington, DC, August 23, 2012

For what it's built to do, it does well. Easily the best carry-on bag I've ever used. Fits everything I could possibly need, and it still easily fits under the seat. If you're an avid tablet user, the specs are perfect (an iPad or other small form-factor electronics can get lost in a larger messenger bag) - more than I needed for international travel.

I was a little worried about the purchase based on some reviews saying that 8.5x11 paper is a tough fit for the bag. For the record, the paper fits - but oversized folders do not. If you intend to put some work papers and the like in the bag, invest in a small portfolio (I'd suggest no more than 9x11.5), and you're golden. Some of the reviews also say that the side pouches don't hold a bottle in well enough - I haven't had this problem.

Two minor gripes. First, the internal mesh divider seems 'loose'. It would have been better if it were largely snug against one side, but that's not how it turned out. It sort of 'bows out' in the middle. Second, the 'hidden' pouches behind the external pockets are a bit too small - would have preferred a single wider pouch than two smaller ones. All things considered, great product.
 
 Gator Bag
By Anonymous, Green Bay WI, August 4, 2012

Very Good Product Love the grippy shoulder strap..
 
 LOVE IT!
By Luisa G, Menomonie, Wisconsin, July 19, 2012

Took this along on a forced march type of trip to Cuba last week. 14 hour days, on and off an ancient unairconditioned bus. It was super hot and humid - I needed those water bottle pockets. Held up very well. The outer magazine or paper pocket is a tad small but I think I will use this for many years to come. Fit great in the seat ahead of me leaving room for my feet and it was easy to grab stuff out of it since it slid right out.
 
 Bag for the day
By Ron, Dekalb, July 12, 2012

The gator does eat everything, in fact I have a smaller bag in it. I bought it in 2002 and use it most every day.

It still looks great and not even one loose seam.

I keep thinking I should get another one someday but I just keep using this one over and over.

It has replaced my backpack.

I would suggest a more squared base, it seems to tip over easy. Sure holds a LOT.
 
 Another great product
By Greg, Carlsbad, NM, June 14, 2012

Great bag, plenty of pockets and stash locations. Holds my shower bag, meds, full sized head phones, chargers, cell phone, and clean chonies. Edit: sorry failed to mention why I dropped a star. I would like the bag to be just a hair larger for my use, maybe 3" wider (largest dimension).
 
 Great carry on bag!!
By Larry Davidson, Irving, Texas, June 3, 2012

My wife and I just came back from a 12 day trip to Europe where we went to London, Wales and Paris. I had the Gator and Air Boss as my "carry on" luggage and both worked perfectly. I had the Gator packed with Camera gear, cords and all kind of electronic stuff and carried it with me every day. I especially like the water bottle pockets on the end, the large zipper pocket on the side for papers etc., and the 2 pockets on the other side for cameras. OK, I really just like the entire bag!!

The bag worked great and is of the highest quality materials. I highly recommend it to anyone for this type of carry on luggage.
 
 Best Boarding Bag
By PL, California, May 28, 2012

Best boarding bag / small briefcase I have found to date. Good fit for commuter airliner seats. I carry a netbook, iPad, camera, and there is room to spare. Padding is perfect; just enough protection / rigidity without giving up too much volume. Like the fact it stands on its own. Fits upright under most plane seats.
 
 Great for iPad / Small Laptop
By MWebb, San Francisco, CA, May 24, 2012

I have purchased 2 Gators so far; one in all black, and one in dark gray with black accents (the one usually pictured on the landing page on this website). I gave away the first to my niece who wanted it as a make-up bag/overnight bag; I bought the gray one to replace it.

I only have one regret: I wish I had stuck to all black!

The Gator is NOT an ultralight bag - it is about a pound heavier than some travel bags. BUT it organizes much better, and the "U" foam wrap-around which forms the main compartment (bottom and both of the wide sides) adds a LOT of protection for your contents. It is high density foam, similar to the foam used in sleeping pads for camping, and protects cameras and iPads and laptops from bumps and potential damage. This high density foam also gives the basic shape to the Gator, so that unlike other "flight bags," this one won't sag out of shape when loaded.

In fact, it is just this important foam padding that brought me back to my Gator after side-lining it for a while in favor of a lighter, un-lined bag. I noticed that my iPad (and netbook, when needing a keyboard) were not as well-protected from set-down shocks and accidental kicks and slams against counters and door edges as I wanted, even when they were in their own padded slip cases.

So I pulled out the Gator and liked the carry-around experience better. Plus, the Gator doesn't shout out that it has electronics inside - unlike some iPad specific solutions.

I also rediscovered that I really like the outside snap pockets. Perfect for easy access to my cellphone and reading glasses!

I'm still not keen on the low-height water bottle pockets on the ends. The elastic at the top of the pockets is good at keeping small items in the pocket, if the small items are shorter than the pocket itself, but not so good at keeping a taller water bottle in place. I just duck the issue by using a Platypus 1 pint plastic film water bottle on the inside. Many other water bottles will fit inside too, just make sure to double check the cap to avoid spills!

I made one modification to the Gator since converting it to an iPad bag: I VERY carefully cut the bottom seam away from the inside organizing panel. Now my iPad (and 10.1" netbook) will fit that slot perfectly! Before, my iPad (in Rickshaw Bags slipcase) stood too tall in that slot. Now, the height is matched up perfectly, and the organizing panel keeps the iPad from tilting over within the bad. (Please note that if you use your iPad with only a thin-shell back cover that snaps on, and an Apple Smart Cover on the front, you won't need to make this "surgical alteration" - it will fit in the panel slot just fine without modifications.)

I'll make one other confession: I'm not a big fan of the "Claw" strap that comes with the Gator. At first I loved it, because it really, truly is "non slip," and that can be really important. Unfortunately, it has two downsides: The strap is heavy, due to the dense, thick rubber on the shoulder portion and due to the heavier (than average) chromed steel snaps that connect to the big o-rings on the Gator; and the dense, thick rubber on the shoulder portion doesn't "mold" to your shoulder so much as - lol - claw it's way down. After a while, if you have a bony shoulder, you get tired of that "bite." So I searched around for a strap from another bag that I could use on the Gator (it was a little hard, since the fat "o" ring on the Gator precludes the use of straps with narrower snaps) and finally found a simple flat webbing strap with an anti-slip patch over the shoulder. It doesn't look as cool as the Gator's wonderful Claw Strap, but it's just a little easier on my shoulder (I wish RedOxx would "down size" the o-rings on the Gator slightly - they are repurposed from RedOxx's larger bags and are a little out of proportion on this smaller Gator, plus preclude the use of many substitute straps.)

The absolutely BEST NEWS I got from reading the other reviews is that a Macbook Air 13" will fit this "modest" looking little flight bag! Wow, that takes care of any future growth in my electronics collection, because I certainly have been eyeing the 13" Air for myself!

Finally, while I often "trade out" my EDC (every day carry) bags, without a doubt this is HANDS DOWN the best "flight bag" for keeping at your seat on an airflight. I never get scowls from gate agents when I carry this Gator along with a daypack for my emergency stay-over-night items (toiletries, shirt change, etc.).

The daypack always goes overhead, and the Gator goes down by my feet. It is perfectly sized to fit under the seat in front of me and if I shove it under length-wise, I have plenty of room to stretch a leg on either side of the bag. If I land a bulkhead seat, I'm in even better shape.

As my "seat side" bag on airflights, I keep the Gator filled with reading glasses, water bottle, iPad, cellphone, neck pillow, watchcap to roll down over my eyes for sleeping, and even a puff vest (I recommend the ones from REI and Patagonia for their compressibility) in case the flight is running cold. At my destination, the Gator makes a fine EDC bag, and I have even used it in lieu of a regular attache bag for business meetings.

One caution about all black: to some eyes, the all black edition looks a lot like a range bag. If you want to look less "tactical," choose a colored edition.
 
 I could not believe it!!
By Melinda, Maryland, May 2, 2012

I purchased this bag early to try out as a "small" carry on bag for my trip to Paris. Boy did it exceed my expectations. I got my Nikon DSLR with kit lens, a 55-300 lens, iPad, Kindle, wallet and tickets, and I STILL HAD ROOM. Simply amazing. Great job guy, and great product.
 
 Great Little Travel Case
By Scott, Danville, CA, April 30, 2012

Just as advertized -- well made and pretty-much right sized. My iPad fits perfectly inside the inner, padded pocket. It was just a bit short to fit a writing portfolio inside it, but otherwise it's great. The two outer pockets are easy to fill and close. I'll definitely take onboard on my upcoming flights to keep all my important stuff handy.
 
 Nice Choice for a Day Bag
By Shelley, anaheimFullerton ca, April 22, 2012

Nice, compact, fits well on my shoulder, on my lap, next to me. I read a review denoting its great features when commuting on public transport, i.e., fitting easily under the seat, and not being cumbersome. Yes, to all of those things. So far I've used it as a day trip bag, albeit a more heavy duty one than say, a work day. I carried a digital book reader, wallet, foldable headset, and a folded up light weight jacket in the main compartment. In the back pocket I snuggly fit a pack of wipes. No documents yet, but I can see that this is a useful spot for them when my gator becomes a carry on bag. The snap pockets in front held my two phones, a small cosmetic bag I use for money and credit cards, and a larger cosmetic bag I use for writing paper, and a couple of pens. The thing that I was interested in when receiving the bag was the gussetted pockets on the sides of the bag. Some reviews point out that items fell out of the pockets. It must be the way they were packed, I had no trouble with these pockets. One pocket holds a small water bottle, it may be that the bottle sits lower in the pocket, evenly distributing its' weight. It's probably a twelve ounce bottle, stainless steel, well weighted with a full supply of water. The other pocket held a stainless steel travel mug, approximately sixteen ounces. I also, forgot to say, put an extra folding cane in the main compartment since I use one to walk with and have trouble finding bags to hold foldable canes. All my Redoxx bags fit them nicely. Guess the military influence is just what I need!

I've used many bags over the last twenty or so years and have found these to be the best built and functional, and colorful.

I will be running errands on my days off work and will be bringing the gator along with me. I need a compact bag that I can easily fit in small places. This wil do the trick, nicely.

And, oh yeah, I really do love the d-rings, and the shoulder straps. My biggest complaint about other bags is the hardware used to secure them. No problems here. Love the d-rings, or small clips, and the zippers, of course.

Looking forward to many more uses for my gator.
 
 Amazing bag for every occasion
By Anonymous, London, UK, April 5, 2012

I got the Gator to fulfil the role of the smallest bag I could get that would still fit a 13" laptop plus video equipment and various peripherals. I was not disappointed. I had thought that I might need the Metro bag, but hoped that a Macbook Air 13" would fit in the Gator, although I expected I'd have to forgo a padded sleeve to get it to fit. I was happy to be proved completely wrong. The Gator comfortably holds a Macbook Air 13" (2010 edition) in a thick padded sleeve.

Not only does the Gator hold a Macbook Air 13", but it also holds a digital camcorder, a digital compact camera, a digital audio recorder, a Contour helmetcam / bulletcam, a Gorillapod Zoom SLR tripod, an external WiFi range extender, an external WiFi large antenna, a Minigorilla external power pack, a camera bracket along with various chargers, spare batteries, cables and adaptors. It also accommodates useful bits and pieces such as a large Moleskine notebook, various pens, mirror, toothbrush and case, travel towel, and with careful packing, 2 pairs of lightweight travel underwear, 2 lightweight travel T-shirts and a lightweight travel shirt.

Even with this equipment, it was not uncomfortable to carry.

Whilst that is the fully loaded configuration I have used for inter continental air travel, on a day to day basis when away, I normally don't need to carry all the cables and chargers, so that frees up some space, and makes the Gator seem deceptively more roomy. Also, for general walking around, negotiating public transport etc whilst commuting or traveling around, the Gator is a perfectly sized bag for carrying a laptop and A/V equipment without drawing attention, and without being large enough to be cumbersome.

The Gator can fit papers, documents and magazines. Some of the previous reviews mention that ideally they should be in some form of file, and that's my experience too. Like with anything, if you fit things in carefully rather than just force them in, you won't have many problems with papers.

The Gator is like the Dr Who's TARDIS of bags. It hits the sweet spot of being sufficiently small to easily be a personal carry on item, yet positively cavernous in terms of what can be fitted in it. It is a very compact yet useful size. Smaller than the average messenger bag or laptop bag, but generously sized for a camera gadget bag, and a snug fit for using as a combination camera bag and a laptop bag.

I thoroughly recommend the Gator, not only as general shoulder travel bag, but as an inconspicuous laptop bag (for laptops up to around 13"), and as a camera bag.
 
 Great gear bag.
By Dan King, Nekoosa, WI., March 30, 2012

I use the Gator Bag for my gear when I compete in trapshooting. It holds everything I need for a 100 round shooting event. I can fit 4 boxes of shotgun shells,shell box holder,shooting glasses,spare trigger and trigger tool kit in the bag. In one of the water bottle holders I keep spare ear plugs. The rubber strap works great for carrying over your shoulder. Much more compact then what I previously used.
 
 Outstanding style and function
By Rob, Sturgis, MI, March 23, 2012

I've tried a number of different briefcases and shoulder bags but have yet to find one that just fits... Until now! This may sound funny, but the best feature, other than overall functionality, is the shoulder strap! Made from a rubber material that grips my shoulder. No more constantly slipping around as I traverse the airport or out on the visit! A great "everything" bag.
 
 This bag is AWESOME!!!
By Nicholas, Salt Lake City, March 22, 2012

I bought this bag for use as an all around carry on for my nerd gear. Initially I wanted something that I could put my 13" MacBook Air in with a little room to spare. This thing is so bad ass that I can fit my MacBook Air, my Canon 5d body and one or two lenses!

It's the perfect size -- not too big -- not too small!

Plus the bag is unique, yet humble. Allowing for a resourceful way to keep a low profile.

Pure awesomeness!!!
 
 Perfect 'personal bag' for travel
By Don P., Toronto, October 21, 2011

I was holding off on this review until I was able to put the bag to the test (same for my Sky Train review); I just got back from 20 days of travel in mainland China which, besides the round trip flight, included 2 more flights and a train ride.

This bag was brilliant as my personal carry-on....holds a lot of gear and does it in stride and style. Contents included: 11" mac air in sleeve, ipad, 2 books, headphone case (main compartment); phone, wallet, wires, gum, first-aid (side pockets); travel documents (back compartment).

This bag is very well built, and I've been recommending it to everyone I know. Thanks, Redoxx and your friendly staff.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Specifications

Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 2.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.07 Kilos

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
 
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
 
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
 
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
 
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose day bag.
 
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag. Tablets will tuck nicely into the interior flat panel pocket and are protected by the bag's padding.
 
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment?
We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.