Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Safari Travel Luggage  > Gator-Carry-On-Bag

Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Write a Review

4.69 Average Rating
 (160 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 My Best Daily/Travel Bag Ever!
By Michael W., San Francisco, CA, USA, May 28, 2009

I did a longer article/review on the Gator here: and wanted to add some follow-up comments.

First, the Gator has become my daily carry bag in lieu of a briefcase or small daypack.

Second, the Gator is my "go-to" flight and travel bag despite its possibly one "flaw" (see below!).

Third, I had to order a second Gator because my wife's niece got "big eyes" when she saw my black Gator, and wanted it for herself! (So I guess the "ruggedness" of the Gator is not off-putting to an ultra-fem, "high-so" 18 y.o. Thai woman.)

OK, for the Gator to become my daily carry bag is quite exceptional - not because the Gator isn't a great bag for that purpose, but because my USUAL habit on "pricey-but-nice" luxury items is to stow them in the closet where I can admire them in their pristine newness, and never take them out. Yeah, I'm that kind of shopper, with lots of new, magpie-appealing goodies tucked in my closets. Stuff that's just "too good" to subject to the wear and tear of actual daily use. "Closet queens," to use a shotgunner's term.

How did I get over my OCD with respect to the Gator? Well, I was thinking of submitting a guest review on it over at Practical Hacks and, as a result, had to give it a real work out in daily use, not just for travel. And after I'd used it for a week, I just didn't want to give it up. In a few words, the darn thing just "organizes" too well, much better than a bike messenger bag, daypack, briefcase. Someone at Red Oxx must actually use these bags and has figured out how to add the right blend of pockets and flaps and compartments that actually WORK in real life situations. Even the water bottle pouches on the ends get put into use - not for water bottles, they are a little short for that, but for nail clippers, moleskin, a mouthpiece for boxing/jiu jitsu, a pocket knife, a Fisher Space Pen. (My water bottle fits nicely inside the Gator.)Now the Gator obviously works well for travel - it is the quintessential "flight bag" and easily passes as a "personal item," even on nasty transpacific flights where the ticket counter agents can be real disciplinarians (like weighing carryons to make sure they are under 15 pounds). But my one gripe about the Gator is its "empty bag weight" of 2.35 pounds. Not a lot, by bag standards, unless you are an ultralight hiker like I am, always on the hunt for sub-16 ounce solutions.

So I trial packed a couple of alternative bags for use as my "peronal item" on a recent flight back to Bangkok to take my family to the beach and spend half a week doing judo and jiu jitsu over there.

The first alternative was the Market Tote from Red Oxx. Just a big grocery sack, but built like a Sherman Tank. I figured a "tote" would easily pass muster as a personal item. Sure enough, the darn thing held even more than the Gator, and carried relatively well on my shoulder (the straps are long enough for shoulder carry), but provided no organization at all, plus my stuff was at risk of spilling out the open top of the tote. So stash that and use it for groceries, the gym, the beach.

Next I tried using a Flash 18, a non-padded, 1,000 cubic inch or so "peak bag" or top loading knapsack from REI. This is only about 12 ounces (incredibly light, most packs with this capacity weigh more than the Gator), and a lot larger than the Gator (1,000 vs. 654 or so c.i.), but despite the better capacity specs, I had trouble fitting all the stuff from the Gator into the knapsack, and it was really frustrating trying to dig down to the bottom of the top-loading, tubular sack to find stuff I needed. I had to use a ton of small ditty bags to suborganize, something not required by the Gator, which already has pouches, and then unload stuff to find what I was looking for. Not so with the Gator.

Despite the negatives, I was on the verge of giving the knapsack alternative a try, until I decided to take along my new, 2.5 pound or so netbook. The netbook fit fine into the Gator, but was much hard to squeeze into the knapsack. More telling was trying to pull the netbook out and reinsert it, as I would have to do through security - the netbook came out, and went back into, the Gator easily, while with the knapsack it was a major struggle, something I wouldn't want to deal with in a real security line. Also, the knapsack had no padding, which meant I had to come up with padding options, while the Gator is amply padded to begin with.

So I decided that, yeah, while the Gator is a little heavier than a plain nylon sack, it rewards the extra investment in weight with a MUCH higher level of functionality than a featureless sack. And with the well-designed shoulder strap that comes with the Gator, the weight isn't too much to carry - even when the Gator is loaded up with water bottles refilled post-security, the netbook, and old-fashioned printed books (hint: take the heavy items out of the carryon, which will be weighed, and put them in the Gator, which looks so innocuous I have never been asked to weight it).

The fact that the Gator appealed to a fashion savy Bangkok teen who wants to look smart going to the gym or on holiday to the beaches or to stay overnight at friends' houses, was just icing on the cake.

And oh yeah, I had to make the return trip without the Gator, since I had given it away, so I was forced to use a tote bag on the way home, and it was so frustrating trying to find stuff on the flight, that I just gave up and shoved it in the overhead bin, and suffered the flight back home without ready access to my travel comfort items. Serves me right!BTW, in daily use, the Gator handles my mail just fine. It won't take an 8.5x11 sheet of papers without folding in half, but most of the paper I shuttle back and forth is mail, not folders.

And I really love the self-locking zippers. They absolutely, positively won't open unless to tug on the zipper pull. No accidental openings here, unlike one day pack whose maker I won't mention.
 Nice Roomy Laptop Bag ... IF
By Ron Jeffries, Michigan, April 25, 2009

Purchased this as bag for carrying laptop plus lots of junk for courses and similar outings. My laptop, a Toshiba M-400, just /barely/ fits, so it is a perfect little bag for me. The next size up would be needed for a larger laptop ... and that looks to be way too big.

I like this one ... and would really like to see something a bit more focused on the laptop user's needs.

----------Red Oxx Replies: Thanks for the great review but this is not a "laptop bag". The Gator was designed for miscellaneous electronic equipment, DSLR cameras and shooting accessories. Changing dimensions of this product will totally skew its design make it less suitable for "personal item carry on". Red Oxx seeks to build items that fit a broad range of uses. The Metro Briefcase is designed for laptops. Cheers, Red Oxx
 Gator Rocks!
By Kimberly, Arlington, VA, April 15, 2009

I have never posted a review for a product I've purchased, but this bag warrants the kudos. I bought the Gator about two months ago, and use it every day as my primary gear bag for work. This bag has an amazing amount of space inside. I typically carry pens, a flashlight, books, a wallet, and my lunch and there is tons of extra space. I love the dual elastic pouches on either end; I bring a coffee container and water bottle every day. The bag is extremely durable, and the strap is very comfortable. The exterior zipper pouch is excellent for documents that need to be safeguarded. I love the two matching pockets on the exterior; I have two cell phones that fit perfectly. I recently traveled internationally with this bag and it completely fulfilled my expectations. I was able to pack all my essential travel items, with plenty of room, and the bag fit perfectly in both the overhead compartment on the plane and under the seat. This is not my first purchase from Red Oxx, and definitely won't be my last. The Gator is consistent with my other purchases with regard to durability, form and utility. I highly recommend this product.
 Versatile and Seemingly Bottomless!
By Barbara, Milton, Delaware, April 8, 2009

The Gator is so versatile. Take it to the beach with your full-size camera, towel, sandals, wallet, keys, hat, cellphone, book, and lunch, etc. inside. Put your water bottle in an end pocket and your suntan lotion in a side pocket along with a hairbrush in the other. Pop your sunglass case in the other end pocket. No more lugging a big hand held beach tote or a heavy backpack or sling pack bulging at the seams.

If you're a photographer, this bag held my full size DSLR camera, filters, telephoto conversion lens, wide angle lens, battery charger, and more. And, it also allows me to travel with my camera gear "at the ready" with my wallet, cosmetics, keys, cellphone, sunglasses, hat and other "must haves" in the same bag at the same time. It's got ample padding, great support and easy access. Allows me to take it to places where people don't view it as a camera bag so they are not inquisitive about anything except where I found such a stunning Amethyst bag!

Wherever I take my Gator, people simply cannot believe their eyes when they see how much gear I pull out of this seemingly bottomless bag! I think they are waiting to see if the last item I remove is a RABBIT! And, come to think of it, I believe it would make a great magician's bag, too!
 Working well
By Barrett Green, Connecticut and Texas, March 8, 2009

I am now using it as my primary bag and the current configuration works well for the size laptop I carry and amount of paper I typically need to get while on the plane, etc. I have a couple of thoughts from other bags about some changes that might improve it. Mainly this relates to the design having only the small pockets behind the two front flap pockets to "drop" stuff into on the go and I have those pockets so full I don't have space in the open pockets. It does have the water bottle pockets on the side and the elastic is holding up well, but I find them a little short. I have a bag (the main competitor to the gator) that has large pockets on both sides with a d ring on both the interior and exterior wall of the compartment. If there is nothing in it, it pulls flat when you put the sling over your shoulder. But you can drop all kinds of stuff in it (a stainless steel travel coffee mug, a sigg water bottle, a big diameter water bottle at the airport) and it doesn't fall out.

I'm not complaining, but you asked. And if your really curious, I'll be happy to sketch it if this is unclear.
 Gator swallows it up...
By Anonymous, NJ, February 3, 2009

I have just packed my safari Gator bag for a trip to India as my sole carry-on. I thought some might be interested what it could haul: jeans, tee shirt, briefs (2), a large 36 pack of batteries (gift), an over sized paperback and a regular sized one, a sleeping mask, a pack of ear plugs, 3 cliff bars, passport and ticket holder, note book, pens, three inhalers - two of them still in their box (i.e. asthma meds for the diesel and dust), two bottles of prescription meds, tooth brush, moisturizer, toothpaste, deodorant, purell hand lotion, a travel alarm, an inflatable travel pillow, a razors and some other assorted otc meds, 16oz water bottle, small digital camera, cell phone and cell phone charger. And that's about it though I am sure I forgot to mention something. AND I still have at least enough room to fit another paperback and some snacks on top! A lot of the design features were not apparent to me originally when I used it half empty as a camera bag. First, when you stuff it, it maintains its nice compact rigid shape. Easy to stow at your feet or in a really small space in the inevitable full overhead compartment.

Second, the outer pockets are really essential to the design. The long flat on one side is perfect for tickets/passport. The two more bulbous matching pockets on the other side are perfect for material you need to access in a hurry like cell phone, glasses, cell phone, headphones etc. And as a bonus both have slip pockets behind them to extend their capacity further for long relative narrow items like pens, razors, toothbrushes. I never thought I would use the slip pockets but they are super useful when you're stuffing the bag to the max.And finally, the two expanding outer pockets on the ends are good for water bottles, snacks and items that you need in a hurry but aren't so valuable you worry about them being exposed or unzipped or uncovered.

A very, very good design - arguably one of the best for a smaller carry-on which now makes me very interested in buying one of the larger duffel bags!
 Simply amazing!
By E. Clark, Ohio, January 19, 2009

I love this bag! I have had it for just under a year and can't picture ever traveling without it. It holds my DSLR camera and all the things I like to take with me on a day in any city or small town I travel to. It has held up to all the abuse I have thrown at it; and believe me that is a lot of abuse. Because of the Gator's high performance I have bought a Safari Beano and was given a C-Ruck for Christmas. I can't wait to try them out on my next trip. Keep up the great work.
 Powerful Gator Snaps Into Action
By Mel, Brooklyn, January 3, 2009

First for the unadulterated praise. The Gator is an awesome, very sturdy bag that's at its best when you need to haul a lot of stuff. A change of clothes, boots, various toiletries, notebooks, regular books, winter hats and gloves-- the Gator can handle all these things and more. I managed to fit all of the above PLUS a really heavy rum cake in my Gator for a trip to Grandmother's house, and the wonderful claw strap made the load bearable on my small shoulders. I passed lots of people trying to haul huge wheeled suitcases down flights of stairs in Penn Station, and felt nothing but pity as I scampered down like a mountain goat with my Gator. The large zippers and monkey's fist ties make opening the bag a breeze, even while wearing mittens. The inner mesh pockets fit your cell phones and ipods beautifully, and the red interior makes things easy to find. The outside gusseted pockets are perfect for holding small stuff that would otherwise get lost (e.g., glasses, advil, scrunchies, etc.). And best of all, the Gator is every bit as sturdy as advertised. It's lasted me almost six months so far, and survived Amtrak, Europe, and the New York City subway system with flying colors. The bag looks like new after months of constant daily use-- not something I can say for my old messenger bags, which fell apart after only a month or two of service.

As amazing as this bag is, however, there are a few caveats for using this bag in the urban environment:

1)The Gator's width (so awesome for carrying books, shoes and other non-flat items) is also a small weakness-- when empty, it can bounce off of your hips and into nearby people and furniture. Lots of people have run into my Gator in the subway. (Then again, that might just be rush hour.)

2) The zippers aren't waterproof-- if it rains, put your notebooks on the sides of the bag, not the middle.

3) You're supposed to be able to fit a book in the outside pocket. A Dr. Seuss book, maybe. The pocket is really tight and the zipper teeth have 'bitten' me a few times when I tried to grab a train schedule.

4) Open the Gator slowly in crowded areas; the zipper to the main compartment is loud. I opened my bag on the subway once and all heads turned to me.

5) The 'Safari' color appears to be a mixture of Olive and Khaki in the pictures, but is in fact a combination of Olive and a color I can only describe as 'mustard yellow.' It's more 'That 70's show' than 'Nature.' Had I known, I would probably have chosen another color.These are minor quibbles, however, and are far overshadowed by the sheer sturdiness and solid design of this deceptively small-looking bag. I've been rough on my Gator, and look forward to using it everyday for years to come. I can think of no better vote of confidence than that.
 Now I Understand
By Roger J, Hereford, UK, December 26, 2008

It's December and I'm in the US, so I must be buying Redoxx again, like I did for the first time in December 2007! Getting my latest Redoxx purchases in 2008 by having them shipped to my US client last week is better than paying international shipping plus VAT and customs charges etc in the UK.

Last year I bought my Olive Skytrain which has done me well, except I had a row with the KLM agent in Dulles Airport last night who insisted on one bag only, even though KLM has been letting me take two (Skytrain plus computer bag) all year including my flights from the UK and Holland to DC last week.

The Skytrain had to be checked in while I boarded with my new CPA bag, one of several purchases on this trip. It survived. The Skytrain and latest purchases (see relevant pages for my views on the CPA, Gator, Lil Roy and accessories) are testament not only to the design and quality of manufacture, but also to the excellent customer service, thanks to Jim,Amanda and the rest of the Redoxx crew. What I marvel at it that there always seems to be room for one more item in a Redoxx bag. I'll report back during 2009 on using my Redoxx gear in Zambia, the Caribbean, Iran and??????

Now I understand what all the previous reviewers have been raving about! My Safari Gator has been purchased for at least two uses:

(1) as a general cabin bag and tote for travel when not on business, or even on business;

(2) as a small computer bag when I don't have to take along much stuff (see my review on the CPA, my main business bag, so I don't need the Metro). I have also been considering getting a Netbook (eg Acer, Asus models) as a backup and/or use during travel, so the Gator would be ideal.

So I have been pleasantly surprised to find that my main notebook also fits into the Gator, despite what some previous reviewers have stated. My notebook is a Toshiba M700 (12 " screen) WITH the protective folio cover, yet there is room for power cables, mouse, and other stuff, especially if you use the elastic drinks bottle sleeves. I've been trying out the Gator round my home town, plenty of room for "stuff".
 Unique Bag
By A Kittur, , December 9, 2008

Think of this bag as the modern descendant of those iconic Pan Am carry-on bags from the 60s and 70s. It is NOT a replacement for a messenger bag, but its perfect complement. A messenger bag, with its roots in transporting files, packages and small parcels on the backs of cyclist, is a bag designed always to be in motion. Flat against your back, not carrying anything particularly fragile, and almost never set down.

The Gator is really for all those other situations where you need to haul something but you are not cycling down an avenue at breakneck speed. Situations where you want to sit your bag down and have it maintain its shape (like at the foot of your airplane seat or next to you in a passenger seat of your car or below the restaurant table) for easy access to the contents. Or those situations where you're carrying something more fragile: it's supremely well designed to carry relatively fragile things like a camera.

What struck me most about the back is the very dense foam shaped U formed by the bottom and the large side panels that maintains the rigidity of the bag and, of course, protects your SLR or ipod or your portable electronics. I have seen bags that look superficially similar but none that really form that have that sort of protective rigidity.

The other notable thing is that the bag is bigger than I imagined (but well within the personal carry-on category for air travel). I can put a pair of jeans, several tee shirts, undergarments, my d-slr, my phone, my socks, a paperback, pens, paper, my chargers, etc so that it approaches the capacity of a 'weekend' bag but with much more compact dimensions.

And to extend the messenger bag comparison one last time, it keeps clothes much neater due to its rigid box shape than the same materials packed into a messenger bag.Anyway, I hope you found this review helpful.
 Good briefcase, perfect complement to Air Boss
By Ben Ziff, Caracas, Venezuela, November 16, 2008

I've been using the Gator as my briefcase for over a year now, and travel frequently with it and the Air Boss. As a compact briefcase, the Gator works splendidly so long as you don't need to schlep a laptop. For business travel, the Gator is your "additional carryon item" when paired with the Air Boss, holding your book, agenda, ipod, camera, water bottle and the like - and then you put your laptop in the center compartment of the Air Boss and you are all set. The Gator fits great "under the seat in front of you" with room for your feet. I have done a 10-day business trip with the Gator/Air Boss combination, packing my day-to-day work essentials into the Gator, and 2 suits and 10 days worth of clothing into the Boss. Couldn't be happier with the build quality and service from Red Oxx. You only need to buy their products once - they are build to last a lifetime. I'm looking to purchase a few more items from them to complete my luggage needs!
 One tough mother.
By Lee, Liverpool, October 15, 2008

The Gator is excellent. Its tough, well made, and beautifully designed. Its dimensions are slightly bigger, and it will swallow up more than you think. Although its not ideal for notebooks, files or folders, its not a briefcase, its a haul bag, well suited as a carry on, gadget bag or day/overnight bag. The open design is perfect when on the move, and the gusset pockets and side pockets, for me, have become indispensable. I like the solid construction and protection, with the added benefit of it being collapsible. Its great for fragile gadgets like cameras,ipods etc, and it wont fall over. You could put eggs in this, and they would be safe. Great product, and great customer service. Thanks Amanda.
 True Quality - Tough and Versatile
By Scott, Texas, October 14, 2008

I eyed this bag for months before ordering it. I'm sorry I waited so long. I've tried it for several different uses and love it in all cases. I have no doubt I'll end up with more than one. When I trout fish, it holds my jigs, forceps, reel, line, spools, rain gear, camera, flask (did I say that.?), etc. I love it as a range bag, carrying ammo, handguns, targets, etc. - doesn't slip off my shoulder with the weight of the ammo. I've used it as an overnight and carryon bag. I started smiling when I initially inspected my Gator. From the price and reviews I read, I was expecting good quality. This is TOP quality workmanship and materials throughout. Highly exceeds my expectations. If you're comparing bags, you're not going to find better quality than Red Oxx. That's just the plain truth. If you need a carryon-size bag, you won't go wrong with a Gator.
 Not for documents or laptops
By Chris, Pa., September 23, 2008

The dimensions should state the obvious - it's not a briefcase, nor is it a laptop bag. It's a bag for all your other s**t. For example, I'm an attorney. I've always lugged a "trial box" to court, which up to now has been a cardboard storage box filled with extra paper and writing supplies, a few power bars, reference books, advil and antacid, some personal grooming basics - all the mundane stuff needed to get through all day or longer courtroom appearances. Lugging a box in and out of courthouses ties up two hands that can be used for lugging other stuff. Plus, boxes look ratty after just a few uses. So, I just bought a black Gator Bag and plan to use it as my hands free "trial box" from now on. I have no doubt that it will work splendidly for years to come, and probably outlast me.

The other observation I would make is that it's not the type of bag you sling over your shoulder and walk around with 24 hours a day while on vacation. I personally prefer a traditional messenger bag that lays flatter in the small of your back and can be ripped open quicker. In no way a criticism of the Gator, just an observation from a bag freak.
 Big Enough
By Don Koue, Bay Area, August 15, 2008

The Gator bag is bigger than its dimensions. I was already really happy with my RedOxx Safari-Beano PR5, which was great for a long trip to Spain, but I needed to replace a smaller field bag. I worried that the Gator specs, 12"w and 9'h wouldn't hold my 13"w and 10.5"h laptop, but it did. I wouldn't say it is the ideal laptop bag, but I didn't buy it for that reason, but more as an all around carry on bag. Haven't used it for that yet but have traveled enough to know it will be great, tempting me always to cram too much into it. However, it is nice to know that my laptop can find a home in it, if needed, and I think others might like to know this.
 take me out to the ballgame
By Anonymous, , August 8, 2008

I go to 40+ baseball games a year. I take a camera, a notebook, binoculars, sunscreen, hand sanitizer, sunglasses, and a whole host of other small things to make life more comfortable. i also like to be able to put my camera down for an inning. I tried other bags that were supposed to be 'sturdy' but they were flimsy and I didn't trust them sitting on the floor next to my feet. camera bags are too limiting for 'other stuff'.

I had resorted to using a tote bag with everything tossed into it... until I discovered the Gator. I was actually here to buy an Air Boss, but the gator kept tempting me... and while I waited for my Air Boss, I finally caved in and added it to my order.

I echo everyone's comments about how it's bigger than it seems. Just when I think it's full, I manage to get a few more things inside and it's still easy to get to everything. I use the water bottle pockets for my binoculars and sunglasses - one small thought is that I wish the elastic around the bottle pockets was adjustable, since the size and shape of bottles varies so much. It is also impermeable to the occasional splash of beer and peanut shells, it opens easily for inspection, fits under a seat at the park or on a plane. pen slips, slots for my extra memory cards and battery, my Nikon and two lenses - it all just fits.
 Not got it yet!
By Roger J, Hereford, UK, August 1, 2008

I've been following the various reviews for the Gator bag for some time. Once I know my upcoming assignment to Nicaragua is confirmed, I'll be ordering my Gator bag so that I can collect it in the US en route, like I did with my SkyTrain.Like the latest reviewer, I intend to use mine in conjunction with my ST, and as a general bag round town et here. If I can't fit my Toshiba notebook (M700 in neoprene bag) in, it will either be clipped (via karabiners) to the Gator or put in the the ST.I'll submit a post-purchase review as well, but this posting shows the faith I have in Redoxx products.Roger J
By Mary, Virginia, July 30, 2008

Like so many others, I initially thought the Gator bag seemed small. My first trip with this bag was a quick overnighter, and I was amazed that I could fit an extra pair of shoes, my binoculars, extra clothes, a hardcover book and all my toiletries and still had room left over. I found myself looking around for more stuff to pack, just to see how much the Gator would hold. This bag is bottomless. I am traveling to Scotland in three weeks, and can't wait to use this bag as my "personal bag" along with my brand-new Sky Train.
 Fantastic smaller bag
By Jon H, Manchester, UK, July 4, 2008

Having traveled with an Air Boss all of the last year, my expectations of this bag were high, but the Gator exceeded them.

I ordered from the UK late on Tuesday night and was astonished when it was delivered by UPS on Friday morning. Stung again by UK customs charges, but the bag is more than worth it!

It holds my laptop and all the gear I need for a day, and the number and position of pockets seems spot on. The best bag of its type I have yet seen. Can't wait to try it on a longer trip back across the Pond this summer.
 Much beefier than it looks on website
By Vinson A., Grand Junction, Co, June 6, 2008

WOW! Much better than I thought and much better than can be presented on this web page. The hardware is all top notch and the quality is superb. Seemed a little small at first, but then I took everything out of my old brief case (Sandstorm Bag bought in Kenya) and it easily fit in the Gator which was half the size of the sandstorm bag. I am EXTREMELY impressed. I will give another review after a few months of travel with it. I am outbound for a tour in Iraq and will really put it through some rigorous use. Thanks Redoxx!!
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a business briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose, multi-use everyday bag.
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag. Tablets will tuck nicely into the interior flat panel pocket and are protected by the bag's padding.
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment?
We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I have a big appetite for adventure.”

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

As seen in Men's Journal Gear Lab "Best Weekend Tote", summer 2015 issue. You can read up on how others have used this multi-purpose weekend carry-on tote bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry animal namesake the Gator, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a:

Red Oxx Gator: a multi-use, high-mobility, daily use tote bag designed for people on the go.

Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets that will hold small to medium water bottles (bottles taller than six to eight inches tend to not be as secure and may fall out!).

The expandable gusseted front pockets help you to keep track of your gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, wallet, and more. These stylish pockets feature the exclusive ROOFLS -- "Red Oxx One Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROOFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROOFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Don't tell anyone, but behind each gusseted side pocket is a secret hidden flat slip pocket for that little extra bit of storage.

Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length stiff mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. This divider is sewn down to snugly secure your iPad or Tablet. Located on the back exterior is another full-length zippered pocket. Our 4lb. Volara closed cell firm foam padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from abuse, damage and moisture.


When you read up on our customer reviews, you'll learn our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around personal items that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, for what it's worth, the comparison is valid. For a personal item bag, like their wildlife namesake, Gators are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use a proprietary super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together; this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag, such as along the gusseted pocket lids on the Gator.

These types of outside edges are bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive the thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the Gator tote, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is because they're easily repairable, even in the field; they are self-locking; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings and reducing casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather (from 20 degrees below zero to 120 degrees above zero) and they can be yanked from a variety of angles, and still work, without losing teeth or becoming separated. Since they're made of slick VISLON® vinyl, they will never rust or require lubing, unlike brass or other metal zippers.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic hardware break on your bag in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale, thereby dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for all the world to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D-ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Red Oxx tote break down?

The famous fully adjustable Red Oxx Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry your Gator one handed using the wraparound handle handclasp.

Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Multi-use Tote Bags are durable daily lifelong companions for many uses.

You name it, the Gator will eat it.

Consider it your mobile on-the-go "bag of all trades."

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Gator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is secure.

Every great tote bag needs cool luggage accessories.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches
Weight: 2.35 lbs

Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
Capacity: 10.6 Liters
1.07 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarrassed to appear as though he was carrying a diaper bag. After the kids grew out of their diapers, he wanted a decent shooting range bag. The Gator held Perry's pistols, magazines, ammo, ear muffs, safety glasses, gloves and targets. When Jim travelled to Africa, he brought along a Gator as his personal item. The name Gator was selected because an (Alli)Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Gator Tote Bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" no questions asked Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A.
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Thread: Proprietary #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 2.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.07 Kilos

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top