Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Gator-Carry-On-Bag

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I have a big appetite for adventure.”
Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

You can read up on how others have used this multi-purpose carry-on bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry animal namesake, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a personal item, a shooting bag for the range, SLR camera bag, diaper bag in disguise, C-pap bag, or take it to work with a packed lunch; you get the picture.

WHAT ABOUT POCKETS?
Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets that will hold small to medium water bottles (taller ones tend to not be as secure and may fall out!). The expandable gusseted side pockets help you to keep track of your gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, and more.

These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are secret hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

GET ORGANIZED.
Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length stiff mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. This divider is sewn down to snugly secure your iPad or Tablet when the pocket is snapped shut. Located on the back exterior is another full-length zippered pocket. Our 4lb. Volara closed cell firm foam padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from damage.

A COMPACT CARRY-ON BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a personal item bag, Gators are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on the Gator pocket flaps, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the Gator, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Gator break down?

A HANDY MULTI-PURPOSE BAG.
The famous fully adjustable Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry it with the wraparound handle handclasp. Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Travel Bags are durable companions for many uses: SLR camera bags, diaper bags, NetBook or Tablets, C-pap bags, pistol range, you name it, the Gator will eat it. Consider it your "bag of all trades."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Gator on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Gator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches
Weight: 2.35 lbs

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarassed to appear like he was carrying a diaper bag. After the kids grew out of their diapers, he wanted a decent range bag to take with him. The Gator held his pistols, magazines, ammo, ear muffs, safety glasses, gloves and targets. When Jim went to Africa, he brought along a Gator as his personal item. The name Gator was selected because a Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Write a Review

4.69 Average Rating
 (153 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
 Third Bag is the Charm
By John Herndon, , November 20, 2006

After trying for years and the purchase of at least 3 gadget bags, the Gator Carry-on Bag is what I was searching to find. It was my constant companion this last summer during a 3 week trip to the UK and a week museum-hopping in London. Great carry bag; well built and very useful.
 
 Great little bag which handles it all.
By Petri Niemi, , October 24, 2006

I'm from northern Finland. Here we have four seasons which are very unique. In winter we have kaamos, which is the time at midwinter when the sun won't even rise and there is just a short pale moment around midday. Temperature drops sometimes even below -50 celsius degrees (-60F) and the ground is covered a thick snowcover. In summer the sun won't go down for a weeks and it's bright daylight around clock. This time at summer is called nightless night. Autumn is often wet and temperature is very unsteady. Spring is very nice time for winter sports. There is a lot of light reflected from snow and temperature is around mild -10 celsius (15F).I love my Red Oxx Gator Carry-on Bag because it works around the year. It works at leisure and it works at work. From snowmobiling to biking to hectic work trips. It's very often with me and it wont let me down. The Gator Carry Bag covers my valuables and keep them always at my hands. The bag works good and you don't even have to think about it. The Red Oxx Gator Carry-on Bag is definitely that kind of bag!
 
 The perfect size for every day
By Chris Juzda, , August 27, 2006

This is a great small airline carry bag. Perfect for every day and airline travel. I think I'm something of an expert - I've carried a bag for my "gadgets" for years - all kinds of materials, brands and sizes. I use my Gator every day to carry my PDA, Blackberry, video ipod, Shure earphones, Canon SD 400 digital camera, Moleskin large notebook, pen, pencil, reading glasses, sun glasses, bluetooth headset, and a small GPS receiver and lots of room to spare - try getting all that in your pockets!

I use one of the water bottle pockets for my reading glasses, gives me quick access whenever I need them. After using so many bags, including some really nice hand crafted leather ones, I think the Gator Carry On is the perfect answer. I can't think of anything I would add. The shoulder strap is extremely comfortable and stays put better than anything else I've tried. While I love this Gator, it would be interesting to see if Red Oxx could develop a pretty much identical carry bag, just flip the format to a vertical bag instead of the horizontal format of the Gator - this would might result in the bag hanging a little closer to the body - less likely to hit people as you go by. It might be the only think that would make me give up my Gator!
 
 Tough bag and deceptively spacious
By Anonymous, , July 24, 2006

Just got back from two weeks in Indonesia, a research and lecture trip. Airlines lost my checked bag with some of my dress clothes and all gifts for friends. I had just my carry on bags: a Beano and a Gator. The Gator Carry On was my everywhere bag -- trial by fire in Sumatra. Camera, field medicine, phone, notebooks, plenty of stray books that I seem to collect... the bag worked as a great gadget bag and held everything. The foam gives it nice structure and protects my electronics. I only realized towards the end of the trip that there are two more slip pockets behind the front gusseted pockets. The Gator Carry On is a really great bag with none of the unnecessary length of a computer briefcase.
 
 The perfect (rare) combination
By Anonymous, , July 3, 2006

Innovative, practical/functional design, superb quality/workmanship, and handsome - the Gator Carryon Bag is ideally suited for travel of any kind e.g. an additional carry-on and as a day bag. I couldn't be more pleased with the Gator. And the Red Oxx customer service is every bit as good as their bags.
 
 Great little bag
By Anonymous, , April 27, 2006

I was really pleased with the overall quality of the Gator Carry On Bag and how much gear I could stuff into it. The only thing I did not initially care for was the heavy (my wife called it clunky) attaching hardware for the shoulder strap. After I had it loaded down I was glad that it was so sturdy. The bag held up great on my Alaskan Bear hunting trip last year and has since been doing duty as my Range bag. It easily carries a couple of pistols, ammo and eye and ear protection with space left over.It really is a verstile little bag.
 
 My daily companion
By Rick Sullivan, , April 12, 2006

This is my 3rd Red Oxx Bag...I carry the Gator Carryon back and forth everyday with my powerbook and everything I need. Love it. Better and lighter than my Hartmann. Thanks Red Oxx.....
 
 Gator Bag is best design yet
By Anonymous, , April 10, 2006

I've tried to find the ideal travel bag in terms of size, features, design and quality of construction- and its all in the Gator Carry On Bag. Has best designed outside snap pockets I've ever used. Perfect size for traveling- maps, camera, books, even roll up a light jacket. Highly recommended!
 
 They Don't Make 'Em That Way Anymore
By Richard Hahn, , April 8, 2006

We are a service family. My late father was Air Force, I'm retired Army and my son is Active Duty Coast Guard. One of my most prized possessions is my dad's WWII Mussette Bag. These bags were all purpose, highly sought after and used to carry everything. At Fort Bragg I tried to get the Riggers to make me something similar but we were always deploying, getting ready to go somewhere or they were "too busy."

The Gator Carry On Bag, although a bit smaller, is the ONLY one I've every found that replaces that old beloved bag. There is absolutely no deficiency in the construction and it holds a huge amount of gear for its size. A "disabled" person tried to pick it up in London after I had put it on the curb. Fortunately a policeman intervened before I did something that was politically incorrect. NO ONE steals my Gator Bag.
 
 Just the right size
By Fred Moseley, , April 8, 2006

I've taken the Gator Carry On Bag on trips to Egypt, Peru, and Alaska. It's the perfect size for maps, camera, film, and binoculars, with side pockets for water bottles and airline tickets. It's also the perfect size for carry-on without the bulk of most baggage. I'd highly recommend it for travel and for the field.
 
 PERFECT LITTLE CAMERA BAG +++
By WILLIAM SWEENEY, , April 8, 2006

We live 300 miles from NYC, where we like to visit as often as possible to see our son, daughter-in-law and our 2-year-old granddaughter. The Gator Carry On Bag is a beautifully made, sturdy, well-padded small bag. It is the perfect size for carrying our Nikon D-70 digital camera, an extra lens and a speedlight -- of course we like to make MANY digital images of our granddaughter, whom we don't see ofter enough -- with inside room to spare, along with extra pockets for a bottle of water, sunglasses, a cell phone, etc. We carry it on the plane (it doesn't even count as an additional carry-on bag), and we easily schlep it around the city -- walking, on the subway, etc. -- with its comfortable shoulder strap. I'd call the Gator by far the best little camera bag +++ that I've ever owned.
 
 Little Giant
By Gary Ustik, , December 13, 2005

The Gator Carry Bag is just the right size for those every day needs; daily planner, address book, palm pilot, stationary/pens, maps, catalogs. The list goes on and on but I always have what I need when I need it. That's why I call it my ballistic Gator.
 
 Best Bag Built
By Quincy Clark, , November 23, 2005

The Gator Carry Bag can do anything. From use as a shooting bag, to camera bag, to holding fishing tackle, even diaper bag, and of course my airline carry on for those needed personal items. I have personally used this bag for all of these things and more. I only own one for now but I plan on purchasing another soon.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > 
Specifications

Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in Billings, Montana USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 2.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.07 Kilos

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
 
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
 
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
 
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
 
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose day bag.
 
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag. Tablets will tuck nicely into the interior flat panel pocket and are protected by the bag's padding.
 
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment?
We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
 
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.