Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Expedition Duffel Bags  > Flying-Boxcar

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make many friends in high places.”
Red Oxx Flying Boxcar Carry On Bag - in Mariner. Choose from 12 colors.

Flying Boxcar $195.00


X
Firefox Users: Use arrow keys to select

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Travel by Boxcar. Transport your cargo safely!

Go ahead, pack the zoom lens, scuba fins or portable fishing reels, you'll have the room.

HOW IS THIS DUFFEL BAG DIFFERENT?
The Expedition series duffel bags were redesigned to meet your unique sports and recreation oriented carry-on legal packing and traveling preferences. With the same exterior dimensions and capacity as the airline approved PR5 Safari Beano, the Flying Boxcar is a bottom padded sports bag that differs by featuring an extra-long central main compartment so you can carry your scuba fins, camera tripod or hyper zoom lens on the plane with you when you fly out for your safari holiday.

A LARGE PADDED STORAGE COMPARTMENT FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
This main compartment features a Volara foam padded bottom, which allows the Flying Boxcar bag to maintain shape when you don't have it filled to the top (should you want to shop and return home with some souvenirs). And the extra peace of mind regarding protecting expensive and fragile bulky items you may pick up or take along on your adventure doesn't hurt. Secure your goods with the double zippered lid and steel twin turn locks.

You'll thank us a thousand times over for the grab loops on both ends while yanking the bag from an overhead bin, or pulling it easily in-and-out of a vehicle during an overlanding or roadtrip adventure. Ballistic nylon skid plate on the bottom gives years of worry-free use while sliding around loading docks, pickup beds or dirty car trunks.

JUST ROLL WITH IT.
Want to stack it on your wheeled bag? No problem, the back pass-through pocket docking sleeve lets you slip it over the handle bars on your wheeled bag (see additional photos tab) ... or just use it as an extra-long flat side pocket.

ORGANIZE YOUR BELONGINGS.
Twin raised side pockets keep necessities quickly accessible. Both raised pockets zip halfway down their sides for easy access to buried equipment like data storage, adapters, manuals, etc. Monkey Fist Zip Knots and heavy-duty #10 YKK Zippers make opening the compartments a yankin' cinch, yet the self-locking zipper design prevents accidental openings. The detachable and adjustable padded Claw Shoulder Strap allows for easy nonslip shoulder or cross body carrying-- or carry by hand with the nylon webbing handles.

Watch the packing video in the videos tab for more great tips on packing your Flying Boxcar Duffel Bag with Austin Adventures Professional Travel Guide Kasey Austin.

5 REASONS TO OWN RED OXX GEAR

1. A SPORTS DUFFEL BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a duffel bag, the Flying Boxcar's built tough. Starting with one of the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, we use super strong proprietary UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

2. BOUND AND BAGGED TO NEVER FRAY.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the duffel, or gives it a clean finished look on the outside of the Boxcar.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

3. STRESS POINT RIGGER CHECK.
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

4. MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

5. PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Flying Boxcar Sports Duffel break down?

The Red Oxx Flying Boxcar Sports Duffel pushes maximum legal carry-on size restrictions yet still offers generous flexibility and ease of use. Just so you know, if you over-stuff your Boxcar it won't be carry-on legal.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H.
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches (2,680 including raised side pockets).
Weight: 4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
Capacity: 39.4 Liters
Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Small raised zippered side pocket: 6"W x 8"H x 2"D
  • Large raised zippered side pocket: 11 1/2"L x 8"H x 2"D
  • Main compartment: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Side pass-through zippered flat pocket: 4.5"H x 23"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Flying Boxcar.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Flying Boxcar trivia: the Flying Boxcar was named after the post-WW II transport aircraft, the Fairchild C-119 Flying Boxcar. The distinctive design of the Flying Boxcar featured a fuselage that was separate from the engines and the dual tail ailerons located on the wings, leaving the area behind the cockpit to accommodate larger loads. The design allowed more powerful engines and a cargo area uncluttered by landing gear and control cables.

Write a Review

4.89 Average Rating
 (45 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Just what I've been looking for.
By James Howard, Midland, TX, April 1, 2012

The Flying Boxcar is great. More than enough room for a two day trip, yet works well as an everyday gym bag. The quality and construction is excellent.

Thanks guys!
 
 great value, performance
By Ken K, Tempe AZ, March 29, 2012

Perfect size, high quality. All the usual suspects from Red Oxx. Super easy to load with the dual zippers. I even checked it on a flight. Buy a couple extra locks and it's as secure as another bag. The flexible bottom makes it extra versatile.
 
 Business Trips to San Jaun
By Chris, Philadelphia, March 11, 2012

I purchased this bag for my week to two week trips to San Juan for work. I recently used it for three one week trips and it worked perfectly. This trip, I was extremely impressed when I was able to back two weeks' worth of clothes in the bag. As I am not a little guy either. I used two lit Roy and a nomad as packing cubes. Here is the list of clothing I was able to pack with in the bag

Twos of under wear

1 pair of dress shoes since 10.5

2 pairs of kakis

1 pair of jeans

5 polo's

2 dress shirts

Work out clothing

And there is still a little room. I also use a Metro briefcase.
 
 Perfect gear bag
By Matthew, Modesto, California, January 26, 2012

I've been looking for a new gear bag and this one fits the bill.

I have been able to get a few Nomex coveralls, jackets, hardhat, boots, raingear and personal safety gear stowed and still have room available if needed.

When I'm not traveling, the bag stays in the truck, ready to go when I'm called. No more scrambling around trying to locate my gear. It's all in one place.

Traveling, this bag has taken all the punishment that the TSA and airline baggage personnel can give it without any failure. There's nothing like watching your hardhat and safety gear drop down on the baggage carousel to make you realize that you need a tougher bag.

The folks at Red Oxx know how to build a bag to last for the long haul. I'm a sold customer.
 
 Fast Service
By Anonymous, , January 3, 2012

Fast delivery at Christmas time. Spouse loves the bag and so pleased it is American made.
 
 A Pleasure to Use
By Steve Curry, ON, Canada, October 6, 2011

Wow, this bag holds a lot! The boxcar is a very well designed carry-all bag. It's easy to load with a wide opening - you can jam just about anything into this bag.

Extremely well made, great zippers and very flexible. Makes a perfect weekend bag.
 
 FLYING HIGH !!
By Peter T, DENVER CO, September 22, 2011

Another great product from RED OXX....I already own a Boxcar , it has travelled with me to several countries and three continents , out into the field , into the city. Still as good as new ! A friend raved about it so much on a recent Bolivian bird-hunting trip that I bought him one to keep him quiet !! And he loves it too....

What a pleasure to buy AMERICAN QUALITY !!
 
 You want a great bag
By Gary, Chicago, IL., September 5, 2011

I looked long and hard at all kinds of bags. I was thrilled to see this and MADE IN THE USA unbelievable quality. Great customer service I had a few questions and Amanda was so very nice and helpful. I will be watching to see what great products they come out with next. I highly recommend you to check out Red Oxx gear. Once I looked at other bags and checked out Red Oxx I was sold I did not have to look any further.
 
 Roomy
By Wes, Nev, June 28, 2011

This bag is well built and roomy. I took it for a five day trip. It held a sport coat, 2 pair of pants 4 shirts and four changes of socks and underwear. I still had a little room left over. The smaller front pocket held my bag of liquids for easy access for the carry on security check. The bag gets a little heavy when full but the shoulder strap was very helpful.
 
 Railroader Bag
By Douglas , Detroit, MI, June 23, 2011

As a person who works in the railroad industry it is hard to find a good durable bag that can withstand a beating. This bag far exceeds everything I was looking for. It's built better than any bag I've ever owened, and has plenty of room to go around for all the things I must carry for work. Awesome bag! It took 12 years to find a great bag, but was worth the weight. Will never buy another bag except a Red Oxx.
 
 "Boxcar Willie" to flying Boxcar
By Tom, Kaua`i, Hawai`i, June 2, 2011

I travel a lot and believe me, I have tried every manner of luggage configuration on the planet and the Flying Boxcar is my best and final travel bag. The quality of workmanship and hardware is second to none and "MADE IN AMERICA" is a real plus. By the way using a rubberized/non slip material for the shoulder strap was a stroke of genius! Huge kudos for the 'training videos' and links, knowing how to pack efficiently is critical to getting the most out of your luggage and making life easier on the road. I did like some of the other evaluator's comments particularly adding a key-safe strap and a internal pouch for 'floating items', other than that, don't mess with perfection.
 
 Cool bag... only one improvement needed
By Anonymous, Tuscaloosa, AL, May 26, 2011

Great Red Oxx quality makes this bag a definite keeper. The walls are not structural so it collapses nicely for storage, and it's got plenty of room for all the random stuff I throw in. The only improvement I can think of would be a snap/other fastener in the center of the pass-through pocket, which would help hold the bag in place on top of rolling luggage. Other than that, love it!
 
 Buy American and you get quality
By Dave, Chichester NH, December 23, 2010

I don't believe the quality of this bag. If I could rate it 10 stars I would. This baby is built to last. I loved it so much I bought one for my girlfriend. I love the idea that the interior is open the entire length of the bag. This is perfect for the camera equipment I take along and in her case, it fits her travel didgeridoo perfectly. We use these bags when traveling to the Caribbean where we bareboat out of. Hats of to these folks who spare no expense to put out a quality product.
 
 Bag works great
By J. Davenport, Alabama, USA, December 15, 2010

This bag swallows a surprising amount of stuff. From the construction to the size and shape to the hefty metal hardware, the Boxcar oozes quality. The only thing I could suggest would be a wider strap.
 
 Awesome
By Derek , North Platte, December 11, 2010

This bag is put together very nicely and well made. Have bought a few bags for the same price elsewhere and none of them compare to the craftsmanship as this one does. Defiantly is worth the money if your a conductor on any railroad. And you cant beat the lifetime warranty!! Thanks Red Oxx for a great product!
 
 Great Bag
By Erik Dalton, Telluride, CO, July 21, 2010

The Flying Box Car is really a perfect size, small enough to bring as a carry-on or throw in your backseat, but large enough to swallow gear for at least a long weekend if not a week! Great pockets on the side keep small things organized, and the durable canvas allowed me to strap the flying box car to the top of my Defender 110 for 10 days of desert driving without a trace of abuse! The tri fold shave kit also fits nicely in one of the side pockets, and lots of webbing handles provide multiple points to either carry or secure the bag on a rack or vehicle.
 
 great camera bag
By eric, Los Altos CA, June 25, 2009

Got a Flying Boxcar to use as a bag for my DSLR. The main compartment is great for the camera and the lenses, the front pockets work well for misc "stuff" like extra batteries, chargers and cleaning supplies. Best camera bag I have ever had.
 
 Flying Boxcar
By Chris Lewis, Stanley, NC, May 18, 2009

Perfect for travel and work on the railroad!!!!
 
 My very own Tardis!
By Marcus, New Zealand, April 16, 2009

Awesome bag! Bigger inside than outside, just like the TARDIS! It arrived yesterday and has not been for a real trip yet - but I could not resist test packing it as though for a short trip.I bought this bag as a carry-on solution for short duration photo trips (I am a professional photographer and guide) so that I could take a "short" DSLR kit and clothing in one bag with no checked baggage to reduce ticket costs and airport hassles.

I packed my photo kit into a small specialist bag, and fitted that plus clothing and kit for 4 days into the Box Car with no trouble at all - and room to spare!Quality is awesome and design excellent (if I could change anything, I would add Gator-style inside storage pockets and a key clip within the smaller outside pocket for knick-knacks, tickets etc when traveling but that is all!)

Can't wait to test it on a real trip! An Adventure Journal will surely follow....! This surely won't be my last Red Oxx purchase and I will never look elsewhere for my luggage now.
 
 A New Fan of the Boxcar!
By Elizabeth, USA, September 28, 2008

This year, my husband took a new job and is traveling two weeks at a time, so I bought him a Flying Boxcar, and I have to say that it is working out well! He loads his bags to full capacity, and he never liked checking bags, even when it was free. The Flying Boxcar is roomy enough for all of his clothes, toiletries, and a couple pairs of shoes, too. This last trip, he said that there was palpable suspense felt among fellow passengers as he lifted his Flying Boxcar to load into the overhead compartment. One fellow passenger even raised a loud doubt about it fitting, and, of course, it fit. He's remarked about the comfortable shoulder strap and easy access to all compartments.I definitely scored points with this one!
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

 Box Car Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padded bottom
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 1050 Ballistic nylon skid plate
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 stainless V rings
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • End grab loops
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.4 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Flying Boxcar Sports Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Flying Boxcar and the PR5 Duffel Bag?
The Flying Boxcar Sports Duffel has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR5 has a shorter and smaller main compartment with pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom reinforced with ballistic nylon, our toughest. Overall, the Boxcar will actually carry slightly more gear.
 
What's the difference between the Sun Chaser and the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar is a full five inches longer and one inch wider.
 
Will this bag meet personal item sizing?
You can use it as one but we don't market it as such. So long as it wasn't fully packed you might be able to sneak one by.
 
Why is the bottom padded?
The padding was requested by photography enthusiasts to protect their camera gear from impacts.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back of the bag?
They are for a pass-through panel so that the bag can be mounted over the handles of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the Flying Boxcar?
Build your own Custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit, which were designed specifically to work in conjunction with Red Oxx bags. Or try the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab on the product page.
 
How many days worth of clothes will fit in the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar was designed to easily hold a weekend's worth of your clothes, like for a beach trip... thus the product name.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Flying Boxcar has two raised side pockets and one flat side pocket. There is only the one large main compartment without interior pockets.
 
Is this the same bag as the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip was designed by railroaders for railroaders and will fit the typical engineer's lamp, rulebook and so on. For the harsh environment of the railroad, the Grip is also a superior choice due to it's ballistic weighted heavy-duty fabric.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try to fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 

Take me to the top