Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Trip Reports  > Car Crazy  > Chica

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Insert brick, swing at a bag snatcher.”
Red Oxx Chica iPad, tablet and Kindle Mini Messenger Bag - shown in Khaki. Choose from 12 colors.

Chica $85.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


iPad Tablet bag on the fly?

And yet big enough to hold the belongings you need.

A SAFE PLACE TO CARRY YOUR FAVORITE ELECTRONICS.
Get organized with our mini messenger bag. The Chica (also called the Chico) tablet bag features two interior pockets, one zips, and the other's a flat slip pocket with a padded exterior panel to protect your electronics such as:

  • Apple iPad tablet
  • Amazon Kindle, Kindle Fire HDX and Kindle Paperwhite
  • Most electronic tablet PCs such as ASUS, Acer, HP and Lenovo ThinkPad
  • Most eBook readers
  • Nexus tablets
  • Windows Surface
  • Samsung Galaxy tablets
  • Google Android tablets
  • Barnes & Noble Nook HD eReader
  • Mini laptop notebooks
  • NetBooks
  • Phablets

RIGHT AMOUNT OF POCKETS.
In addition to the main compartment, which can hold your files, a couple textbooks, and paper notebooks or magazines, there's an exterior pocket under the flap with a single snap closure.

The zippered pocket on the outside flap is big enough to hold your keys, makeup, computer power and charging supplies, cell phone, iPhone, Smartphone, iPod, Phablet, etc. There are also nylon webbing loops on the sides to clip our smart phone case, or hang emergency pepper spray, clip knife, etc. Folds flat for easy packing and storage.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing is folded over the edges of the two pieces and they are stitched together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on the Chica's main large compartment flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handle of the Chica attaches to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

The rugged Chica mini messenger tablet bag is sure to keep your tablet or iPad safe and handy and keep you organized while on the move.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Chica Tablet Bag on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Chica.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Dimensions: 13.5"L (bottom) x 3.5"W x 9"H
Capacity: 600 cu. Inches
Weight: 1.01 pounds
Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered flap flat pocket: 11"W x 5.5"D
  • Exterior snap flat pocket: 10.5"W x 6.5"D
  • Interior zippered flat pocket: 9"W x 5"D
  • Interior slip pocket for Kindle or iPad tablet: 10.5"L x 6"W
  • Main compartment: 11"L x 3.5"W x 9"D

Chica Trivia: A secretary we know wanted an everyday purse. Obviously a Chica is also Spanish slang for a beautiful teenage girl.

Write a Review

4.62 Average Rating
 (53 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Perfect bag
By Deborah, Bozeman, December 16, 2010

This is the perfect bag for what I wanted. It carries my iPad safely and has just enough room for the other things I need in a day. I love the color combination (bright blue with a red interior) and the construction.
 
 Great Compact Messenger Bag
By Howard Gray, Bozeman, November 2, 2010

I picked up this handy compact messenger bag as my "tour" bag at an outdoor Arts festival held in the desert.

Despite it's size, it held an umbrella, my water bottle, disposable camera, sunglasses, bandanna and assorted nick nacks with ease.

The padding keeps stuff in the bag from digging into your hip. And I love those monster zippers and the monkey fists. Grab, yank, zipper open, zipper shut, no arguments.

I don't know about it carrying an Ipad or Apad tablet but I can tell you it served its duty as a small messenger bag perfectly. When I got back I cleaned off the dust per Red Oxx Bag Cleaning Instructions and it ended up looking just like new. Love my Red Oxx bags!
 
 Perfect for iPad
By Steve, Kharkiv, Ukraine, September 14, 2010

In Europe, men carry bags. But this one is infinitely more useful than the typical small leather case most men are using. I can carry my iPad without another case safely, plus notes, books, and any other small items I need for the day. My only complaint is that it isn't quite wide enough for the A4 sized paper that is standard in this part of the world. Another half-inch of width would make a world of difference...
 
 Great Bag For iPad
By susan, Michigan, July 16, 2010

I bought this bag to use for a trip for my newly purchased iPad. The iPad was delivered the day after I received the bag and I was leaving 2 days later, so I really needed something to carry.

The bag is roomy, but not big. It held my charging cord, sunglasses, keys and other misc items, along with my iPad. I wore it as a cross body bag and it was very comfy.

I have the Apple cover on the iPad and it slides right into the padded pocket perfectly.

I only gave it 4 stars because of the color. I ordered khaki but the bag is closer to the olive color. I emailed customer service immediately and was offered a replacement but because of the time constraints I was kinda stuck. Oh well!

All in all, I am happy with my purchase. In time, the color will grown on me. :)
 
 Perfect for iPad! Not great for iPhone.
By Cyndi , SF Bay Area, May 4, 2010

I bought this bag as a purse/daypack replacement for an upcoming trip, and was pleasantly surprised that it had a padded compartment that fit my iPad perfectly! It is a very functional bag, and will fit my iPad, wallet, small camera, two pairs of sunglasses (mine + husband's), with plenty of room for more.

One thing that the bag does not have that I would like is a small pocket inside that I can slide my iPhone into. All of the zipper and open pockets in the bag are pretty big (the entire width of the bag), and my phone gets lost in the pockets. I don't want my phone hanging off the outside of the bag either.

It would also be nice if it was a bit prettier. The bag is very functional but kind of boring looking. I would use it every day if it were more attractive, but as it is, I'll likely only use the bag for travel.
 
 Great iPad bag
By Ellen, west of DFW airport, April 26, 2010

My new iPad fits in this bag as if the bag was custom made. Plenty of room for my other stuff including iPhone and chargers. Even a Blue Tooth key board if I want to haul one along.

Room for wallet, keys, misc stuff and some snacks.

The best part is that this bag does not scream "Expensive stuff in me."
 
 Great bag, slippery strap
By George W. Gilchrist, Arlington, VA, April 8, 2010

This is a great bag for carrying your lunch and an iPad or small computer. It does not look like a handbag, guys! The only real problem is that the strap is just a plain piece of slippery webbing. It slides around a lot when one is walking briskly. It would have been nice to spend a little on putting a non-slip patch or pad on. Otherwise, it is typical Red Oxx: superb quality and functionality.
 
 Chica Bag
By Gabriele, SF East Bay, December 6, 2009

I love this bag! It is extremely practical. I can put in everything I need for my workday, and it still hangs flat against my body. It stands up even when empty, which is really useful! High-Quality construction. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5 is because it is not very attractive-looking. Maybe RedOxx could keep the same basic color scheme, but give it a jacquard or some similar tone-on-tone pattern.
 
 This is really the one!
By Katherine, Maryland, May 20, 2009

This is a fantastic bag. It's comfortable to carry, holds everything I need for doing errands or taking day trips. I am using it to replace an expensive designer bag I've had for several years and I like the Chica much better. Tougher and cooler at the same time. After spending months trying to find something that would work for me, I thought of the Chica and it just all came together. In fact I've just ordered another one in another color. I am a dedicated Red Oxx fan, have a Sky Train, Gator Bag, Mini Ruck and Lil Roy and couldn't be more pleased. These are the best bags ever.
 
 So Much Better Than I Ever Thought
By Christine Lawrence, Carbondale Colorado, March 3, 2009

My go-to bag! After purchasing it in the summer of '07, I first began using it as an commuter purse easily slung across my body while riding my motorcycle to and from work. It has style! With winter, came ski instructing, and I was amazed at how much I could stuff into The Chica without becoming encumbered if I needed to run to catch the bus. My winter commutng essentials include: 20 oz aluminum water bottle, check book, iPod, Palm pilot, leather credit card/coin purse, cell phone, 3 pairs of glasses, 2 oz contact solution, 5x7 note pad, pens, sunscreen, chapstick, 2 energy bars, 4x5 zippered cloth bag for iPod accessories, wool glove liners, polartec hat, bandana, and 2-4 cutie clementine oranges for snacks. The Chica is amazing. I absolutely love it!
 
 Tasmanian Child Proof!
By Marge Baack, Missoula, MT, December 20, 2008

My 2 year old has dragged my bomb-proof Bordeaux Chica bag through snow, off high counters, slammed it in the car door, dumped cheerios and milk in and on the bag, and of course hit her 9 month old sister with it. AMAZINGLY, it is still going strong! I was skeptical of it's size at first, but it can fit my wallet, organizer, to-do lists, cell phone, a sippy-cup, 2 diapers and a package of wipes! All this and it is NOT bulky. I've received "where-did-you-get-that-bag" comments at the library from other moms, AND it's not too "mom/girlie" looking that my husband will also carry it as a small bag when he takes our girls out. I just can't say enough positive things and would recommend it to anyone wanting a non-bulky but spacious daily bag to carry (whether you have kids or not.) Oh, and did I mention the zipper can take quite a beating?
 
 My Chica for school and more
By Emily Salsbury, , November 18, 2006

I got my Chica in the Fall of 2006 and have been using it like crazy. I am a college student and use my bag to carry a book and notebook to class, or carry file folders for job related paperwork. I use it as a purse for all the random essentials for everyday life. The hardest decision was what color of Chica I wanted. I decided on the dark blue and it matches most anything. I love the design, but also the durability. I toss it everywhere and I don't worry about stitches coming out or buttons falling off. It is AWESOME.
 
 Can you live out of a Chica Bag? I did!
By Mandi Graham, , July 7, 2006

I love my Red Oxx Chica Bag. It saved my butt in Asia. While on a whirlwind trip of China, Japan and S. Korea my luggage was lost for 8 days. My Chica was my carry on and it held an extra change of clothes, money, passport, camera, mini first aid kit and cell phone. It was the perfect size! After a few days without my suitcase I was beginning to realize that traveling as a minimalist was rather pleasant. No big bulky luggage to have to check in and out of every international airport I hit; no worries about luggage weight limits; no lugging around huge suitcases! So now I know if I have to travel for 2 weeks with only a carry on I can definately do it! And that carry on will ALWAYS be my Red Oxx Chica!By the way, can I get another Red Oxx sticker? When my suitcase finally returned it mysteriously missing the Red Oxx sticker I had put on it!!
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

Chica Specs Sizing Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking nylon zippers
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Mil-Spec snaps
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • Adjustable 1 1/2" wide heavy nylon webbing shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding (exterior wall of pocket for Apple iPad / Tablet PC / Kindle DX storage)
  • US Dimensions: 13.5"L x 3.5"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 34.3cm L x 8.9cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 600 Cubic Inches
  • Metric capacity: 6.9 Liters
  • US Weight: 1.01 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.46 Kilos
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Chica Mini Messenger Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Chica colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fit a laptop in the Chica?
Standard laptops will not fit in the Chica. Mini laptops, tablets, iPads, eReaders, Phablets, Kindles and netbooks all will fit.
 
Will this work as a camera bag?
The Chica makes for a handy digital camera bag. If you own an SLR, we recommend the Gator.
 
Is this a purse for women?
While designed as a travel purse, we prefer to think of the Chica as a minimalist messenger bag for both men and women. Both sexes can enjoy its many useful features. See our Chica reviews tab at left for suggestions of many uses.
 
Is the shoulder strap removable?
The shoulder strap is attached to the bag via metal rings which are stitched directly onto the bag using double box stitching.
 
Is this a messenger style bag?
Sure. Albeit more compact than your typical messenger bags.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.