Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Expedition Duffel Bags  > CPA-Briefcase

VIEW 360º

“I'm for CPA's who like tattoos and firearms.”
Red Oxx CPA Nylon Business Briefcase - pictured in Black. Choose from 12 Colors.

CPA Briefcase $175.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

A durable Nylon Briefcase for when you need more room.

Double the volume of our Metro Briefcase.

Carry-on the CPA Business Briefcase on your next flight and you'll have everything you need securely at your side. Plenty of room for files, a tablet or laptop, a snack, and even a change of clothes-- just in case your checked luggage goes to Barbados, while you're heading to Brooklyn. Volara closed cell foam padding in front, bottom and back keeps your laptop notebook safe and as a nice added touch, it also keeps your briefcase upright.

The CPA briefcase has the same features as our popular Metro briefcase, except double the volume capacity. The inside includes two internal mesh dividers on each side of the briefcase. One file divider is sewn down on the bottom to keep your files or magazines fixed in place, while the other is left open to the bottom so you can secure your laptop out of the way using the snap buckle. Both dividers have pockets for CDs, business cards, and writing instruments. Carry your Nalgene bottle in one of the twin gathered-elastic end pockets.

On the exterior of the briefcase you have access to six pockets, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx finger loop snap' closures. 'Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap' closures. These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are secret hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a secret flat "slip pocket" for papers, boarding passes, sunglasses, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for tablets, documents or magazines. Confidently carry your CPA Briefcase using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.


Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around briefcases that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a briefcase, the CPAs are built tough. Starting with ione of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the case, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors breifcases that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the CPA, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious documents and electronics all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

The primary advantage of the CPA over the Metro is space. Doubling the volume in the main compartment (width) gives you flexibility to carry more with you.

The Red Oxx CPA Briefcase keeps you moving, organized, even clothed, and your office goods protected.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.25 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 28cm H
Capacity: 21.5 Liters
Weight: 1.47 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three Interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • 5 interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 7"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your CPA Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 14 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

CPA Briefcase is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (128 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 Getting used to no backpack
By Sam, Kentucky, February 4, 2014

I have been using a backpack the past 15 years for laptop, etc. both for daily commute and international travel. With an almost OCD system, was worried about having a place for everything with the CPA. Well, no issue on that, plenty of places inside and out for me. NOTE THAT THE HANDLES SLIDE OVER MY ROLLER SUITCASE HANDLE - YEA! Plenty of room - was wondering if to go with the Metro. I found the volume of my backpack and matched it to the CPA. The only issue for me is carrying with the handle or strap versus backpack straps, if packed heavily. The claw works well but a bit difficult with a big winter jacket. Should learn to pack a little lighter anyway. The construction is very good, expect it to last a long time.
By DUANE, WESTERN NEW YORK, January 16, 2014

As a train engineer who is frequently on the road this is a great bag. Extremely durable and excellent quality. I'm sure it will last for years to come ~ like my other, larger Red Oxx bag I purchased two years ago. Great stuff!
 Good, but not "Red Oxx Great"
By WFF, Texas, January 14, 2014

I love my Air Boss. I had a canvas brief from LL Bean but it kept coming apart at the seams due to the weight of my 17" laptop so I got a CPA brief. The positives: it is built Red Oxx tough, just like my Air Boss. Love the sturdy seams, strong zippers, and the workmanship. It easily holds my laptop, brick, mouse, notebooks, travel documents, pens, and similar travel items. The negative: the design is not fully thought-out.

The bag needs 3 items to make me say that it is great. First, I need a secure INSIDE pocket to hold my passport. The outside ones are not secure enough, and the inside ones are only pouches, without a flap. A solution would be to add a velco keeper or snap like on the handle, to keep the passport in the pouch. Second, it needs a zippered pocket to hold coins. (All of the inside pockets are merely pouches with nothing to secure the contents if it should turn upside-down.) Lastly, it needs a hook or clasp inside that I can hang a keyring on. When I leave the airpot to catch my flight, I won't be using my keys for a few weeks. I don't want to carry unneeded keys, but I also don't want them to be flopping around inside. Outside is a security risk. If the brief had these 3 improvements, it would be a great design. Until then, it's pretty good, but not great.

----------Red Oxx Replies: Thanks for the great review and ideas WFF! We sell a Pin Mount Key Clip that allows you to mount it anywhere you like in or on your CPA.
 World's Best
By John, New Zealand, January 9, 2014

I have searched the world looking for a briefcase that is capable of carrying everything the modern day business traveller needs in an organised, and easily accessible manner and that does not weigh a ton. I have spent a small fortune along the way trying a range of different products. The CPA rocks.
 Great Briefcase
By BW, Albuquerque NM, January 5, 2014

I really like the CPA Briefcase. It is the best bag I have ever had for carrying my daily work files and my laptop. I use it as a portable mini-file cabinet. Even though it is great, I would make two design changes to make it better. First, I would make the top opening open more so I can see files inside better. Maybe have a U shaped zipper along the top that allows a "tongue" to be folded back so the top is wide open and I could see inside and pull individual files out. Second, make the grab handles shorter on the top so it would be easier to grab one handle to move the case. Also it would be easier to get ahold of both handles. They are so long that if you try to lift by one handle it is off balance. It's also hard to grab both handles with one hand because the are so long the are too far apart.
 Railroad Tested
By Bob, Allentown, PA, November 25, 2013

Wish I would've bought this years ago. I have the duffle bag a few years now and with the addition of this CPA bag my career should be covered. Fantastic quality, durable and looks great. It's worth every penny..then some. I recommend this company to all my fellow railroaders out there.
 Best Bag I have ever owned!
By Troy, Iowa, November 14, 2013

I am a technical account manager / IT contractor and carry a lot of IT related gear around with me every day (heavy 17" laptop, tablet, chargers, writing tablets and document folders, small network switch, network cables, wireless ap, etc). I typically would have shredded an ordinary laptop bag in 8mo-1yr. The space inside this bag is cavernous and easy to keep things organized in. The red interior helps with item recognition in low light situations. Exterior snap close pockets are great, easy to close with one hand. I store a wireless mouse and cellular wifi hotspot in one and cellphone gear(chargers, battery extender, headset, etc) in the other. Shoulder strap absolutely does not slip on my shoulder, even when the bag is very heavy. Best laptop bag I have ever owned, hands-down!
By Mark, Chicagoland, November 8, 2013

Perfect for traveling. I do a lot of international travel, this bag serves as my office. The bag is very durable.
 Light and Spacious
By Kim Ko, Melbourne, VIC, AU, November 1, 2013

Very spacious but very light.

Fits everything I would ever need for work.

Only four stars because it needs a sturdy veritcal divider to help organise the storage and keep the bag sit upright. An internal zip compartment will be nice too.

Very stylish. Everyone in office noticed. Love it!
 Travelling a lot
By Durlon, Bedford, Tx, October 31, 2013

This review is pretty much identical to my review of the Air Boss.

I travel for work on average 2 to 3 times a week. Usually just an overnight trip. But I do have paperwork, my clothes and essentials that I must bring with me. These bags have simplified my travels immensely. I used to carry 4 bags, with my electronics, clothes, paperwork etc...Flying was a pain carrying all that around.

Now I've cut it all down to two bags, the Air Boss, and the CPA Briefcase and I'm good to go. I can carry everything and I don't have to check my bags anymore. I don't have to worry about a bag being lost in transit (which has happened to me several times). It's sturdy, seems to be very well made. I think these bags are going to last me a long time.
 Very Nice Bag
By Laura B., Cocoa, FL, October 24, 2013

I am loving this bag. I am very needy when it comes to bags and this one holds it all. I can just fit a large, pop-up umbrella for those months we get bombarded in Florida. Although I don't normally take my laptop to work I did once and it fit! It is a 17" laptop so it was a little bit snug but it fit. I have a separate lunch bag but many times I opt to bag my lunch and include it in my bag. I like that it's lightweight until I weigh it down, and the amethyst I chose is very nice. I hope to use this bag for years to come.
 Exceeds expectations
By Andrew, Dearborn, MI, October 10, 2013

This bag is the best I own. Domestic or import. I have owned Timbuk2, Chrome, Maxpedition, etc... This bag is way better. The strap is a stoke of genius.

Thank you Red Oxx, I love my bag.
 What a piece of craftsmanship
By Rod, Ohio, August 29, 2013

What a magnificent piece of work this briefcase is! Strong, light, cavernous space and a pocket for absolutely everything. If you can't get your stuff in here, you don't need to be carrying it.

Bravo to Redoxx for their craftsmanship, design, quick delivery and for making life just a bit easier!
 Fits EVERYTHING you'll need for a day at the office
By Benjamin, Boston, MA, July 29, 2013

Here's what I can fit comfortably in this briefcase, which should sum up how amazing this thing is:

1) laptop w/ wires

2) notepads

3) book

4) lunch bag

5) one RedOxx Market Tote bag

6) one RedOxx travel basket

7) pens and pencils

8) mp3 player with headphones

9) tissues

10) keys

11) lip balm and hand sanitizer

12) water bottle and umbrella in the end pockets

This is a better, more spacious, and more indestructible briefcase than any leather briefcase I've ever seen or used. I could not recommend this any more highly.
 All around bag
By Jpg in miami, Miami, July 25, 2013

It serves every purpose. Took it on a hunting trip to argentina as a carry on for ipad, headphones and other necessities. Use it for work when traveling out of town for depos and need to carry files home etc. looks great. Holds a ton and wont wear out. A little tight under the seat on some budget airlines but who cares. Would buy again bc its so roomy!!
 Great Briefcase
By Miata, Chelmsford MA, July 25, 2013

After struggling to find the perfect briefcase, I finally gave this a try. I've used various computer bags and backpacks and none seemed to meet my needs. I found backpacks awkward and other briefcases generally lacking in durability. Having purchased and used an Airboss bag for about 3 years, I have no doubt about the durability of this bag. It is extremely well made, with a lot of thoughtful touches. Believe it or not, one of the best things is it's relative light weight.

I have a i7 processor laptop that is very heavy and having light bag allows you to carry more stuff (such as notebooks) with relative ease. The only downside that I see is my "power brick" is relatively heavy and sticks out of the end pocket more than I'd like. I probably carry too much, because this large bag is pretty much full all the time.

I carry a laptop, powerbrick, mouse, various cables, pocket camera & charger, 2-3 notebooks, misc business papers, portable hard drive, pens, CDroms, phone chargers and misc other stuff. While it all fits, and more importantly is easier to access than other bags, I don't have a lot of "spare room"!! All in all it is a great looking, durable, large bag that does what is promised with no fuss or muss. An added bonus is it is Made in the USA!!
 Righteous Bag
By Josh N., Mississippi, May 10, 2013

This is one RIGHTEOUS bag. It is cavernous, with no detail of a need or imperfection overlooked. This thing feels as sturdy as a well-designed leather bag! Being a Pipe-Organist, I could not see a better bag for holding all of the Bach, Brahms, Buxtehude, and Vierne, and every conceivable pair of "man-heels" (a.k.a. organ shoes), metronomes, and writing devices. I highly recommend this bag not just for CPA, but the hardcore organist, too.
 Everything Proof!
By Steve, Herndon VA, March 28, 2013

This bag is a fantastic business/laptop bag with plenty of room to hold all of my gear. It built they way I expect all red oxx products to be made; durable, and of the highest USA! quality.

This bag feels so tough and durable, dragging it behind a truck would make it laugh at you at say "Is that all you got?"

I am a loyal Red Oxx Customer, and with superior quality like this I plan on continuing to be one for my entire life!
 Excellent with one concern.
By Anonymous, Athens, GA, March 12, 2013

As most other reviewers have stated--the product *is* excellent. Still, the CPA does not have adequate padding in the bottom to protect a laptop to my standards.

Here is what I did:

I cut out a piece of (probably intended for yoga) exercise mat (slightly less than 1/2") for the bottom of the CPA. Inside the CPA I place my laptop in an oversized zip case that I have supplemented with thick, soft foam padding. Those two add-ons have increased the laptop protection substantially. I have already ordered and am awaiting a Gator carry-on bag.
 More than a Briefcase
By Rich, Southeast, February 28, 2013

I fly a lot and find a truly legal size rollerboard is not big enough for all the clothing I carry for a trip of 5 days or more. I have been looking for a bag to fit easily underseat that will carry my Macbook air in a small case with handles, my Kindle, and associated chargers, cables, and connnectors and still have room for some additional items that will not fit in my rollerboard. My CPA Briefcase does this perfectly. I usually carry a second pair of shoes, 3 pair of socks, a sweater and light jacket, toiletries, medicine and small folding umbrella. I still have a little room left over. It has been perfect for such useage.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 

CPA Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.5 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.25 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.47 Kilos

CPA Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the CPA and the Metro?
The CPA Briefcase is twice as wide as the Metro.
Will the CPA hold a laptop? What size?
The CPA was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17-inch screen and three inches thick.
Will the CPA Briefcase meet personal item/carry-on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and even under most airline seats.
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two CORDURA® slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
Yes, the CPA will fit your C-pap. We also recommend using our Gator Compact Carry-on to carry your C-pap machine.
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top