Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Safari Travel Luggage  > CPA-Briefcase

Red Oxx CPA Nylon Business Briefcase - pictured in Black. Choose from 12 Colors.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (128 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 Practical and unique
By Aaron , Toronto, February 17, 2013

My wife bought me this bag for my birthday to replace my damaged bag that I had used primarily for work. I had heard of Red Oxx from a friend who owns the Air Boss and had traveled worldwide with it. I've only used it so far as a work bag but it's proven utility has already become evident. I was deciding between the Metro and CPA but I'm glad I went with the CPA as it easily fits my work material and my overcoat / gym clothes when I'm heading home on the subway. Being made in the USA was a major selling point. Looking forward to using it often.
 Very Roomy!
By Sergio, Miami, February 14, 2013

I was in between the CPA case and the Metro case. (Coincidentally, I happen to be a CPA with a tattoos and am also a gun-nut. My wife thought that I had Red-Oxx write that! LOL!) The solution was easy - I just got both. While I know this review is for the CPA, I found that the Metro is ample for daily "home-to-office" use and fits my laptop, Moleskin notebook, Ipad, a TUMI "tube-like" case (about 3" round and about 8" tall that I insert in an upright position) for my gadget chargers and about and 1 t0 2 inches worth of files. Aside from the width, the two cases are identical both in the interior and exterior. I have already used the CPA case in addition to the Metro to take a few big notebooks and files to client office visits. I've also used the CPA for an overnight business trip in which I carried my "home-to-office" stuff in addition to a shirt (folded in a Eagle-Creek folder), underwear and a light toiletry kit. It was perfect in that capacity. A huge plus for either case is that they are both very light. I was hauling Tumi leather briefcases which, alone, are fairly heavy. If you are in between the two cases, I would offer that unless you need the case for a overnight trips OR unless you plan to take thick notebooks or 3-5" worth of files and a laptop, I would go for the Metro. Despite the "as adverstised" 3" width, it does fit quite a bit.

On the "negatives" (not really so bad but would definately be nice), I would say that the strap needs to be a bit thicker - not so much for weight bearing purposes but visually, it looks too thin. Also the button-wrap on the hand-straps seem a bit awkward to snap and a bit uncomfortable to carry. It's not a huge issue for me as I tend to sling it on my shoulder. I'd also like to see the exterior two pockets a bit "cleaner". I put an eyeglass case and sunglasses in one, and put my wallet and checkbook in the other and when the lid/cover is snapped on, it looks a bit sloppy in that the cover seems to be a bit open and the contents seem to be able to fall out.

I'm very happy that I purchased both the CPA and the Metro and already found great uses for both.
 Tons of room and stylish
By Dr. Neal Seymour, Virginia, January 19, 2013

Purchased the CPA in black to go with my Air Boss and I am certainly glad I did. It is the perfect companion for travel. The CPA is so much roomier than I had imagined and it is so very intelligently designed and well constructed. I put a very large screen computer in a neoprene case (recommended) and this slips effortlessly into the inside mesh divider. Then go in every electronic accessory one can imagine (plug adapters, chargers, cables - the lot). Then go in tons of files plus highlighters, pens, etc. This then leaves room (for those overseas trips) to even put in an extra pair of underwear and socks plus toiletries. The roominess was a really big surprise.

The side snap pockets are brilliant. When going through security checkpoints they hold wallets, keys, smartphones, coins, etc. The very novel design of the snap closure makes fastening effortless (thanks for this). The zippers are as robust as they come. The bottle holders at the end are great - you never have to worry about leakage within the case. The zippered side pockets are convenient for itineraries, boarding passes, etc. - for quick access. A word of warning, though: there is so much room that you will be tempted to take more business stuff than you would ever need.

This is a briefcase for the 21st century - stylish and conservative - it is so much more professional than a backpack - yet it retains all the key attributes and practicality of a backpack. People are always stopping me and asking about this case (it definitely turns heads). I do not work for Red Oxx - I am a professional who is a heavy business traveler. It is just that, in the CPA, I have found a fantastic briefcase which has now replaced all my others.
 CPA Briefcase
By John, Ft Lauderdale Florida, January 10, 2013

Great Briefcase - Light and easy to organize. Great workmanship all around. Its my everyday bag and even in the boardroom it is very stylish.

Love it!
 A Small Railroad Grip
By Chris O., Seattle, WA, January 9, 2013

If your a railroader looking for a smaller "day" grip, this may be your answer.

I found the CPA Briefcase to be the perfect solution to my need for a smaller railroad grip. My big Red Oxx grip worked great for the road trips working out of town, but I needed something smaller for working roadswitchers, locals and yard jobs. Thats when I returned to Red Oxx and found the CPA Briefcase.

I've been using it several weeks now, and it works great! The interior pouches work great for carrying all the blank form booklets, and the comparment holds my clipboard with my train lists. The exterior pockets have all my smaller items like my bottle of soda, radio, hose gaskets, temp crayons, bad order tags, etc. And of course, much like my Railroaders Grip, it's built to last.

If your Railroaders Grip is too big for your daily needs when not working out of town, take a look at the CPA Briefcase.
 Great small grip for railroaders!
By Chris O., Kirkland, WA, January 3, 2013

I bought this bag to complement my big Red Oxx "Railroad Grip". Working a local, roadswitcher or yard job, I don't need the capacity the big grip offers, so the CPA Briefcase was a great solution. It has room for my c
 House Calls
By Stan, Boise, January 2, 2013

I was looking for a bag to use while making house calls. I had considered a leather bag, but chose this one because: I can wash it; it has a very professional appearance; it can carry quite a bit of stuff.

Currently I carry 3 assorted blood pressure cuffs; a stethoscope; an otoscope/ophthalmoscope set, a clipboard, a computer, an oximeter, gloves, booties, a couple of isolation gowns, some masks, hand wipes, and whatever else I need.

It is easy to carry, is very handsome, and always receives comliments.

If I were king for a day at Red Oxx, I would make the same size bag with a flap closure--rather than the top zipper closure, for when it rains--and some means of keeping the mouth of the bag open when it is sitting on a firm surface. Would also consider using light-colored inside material to improve visibility.

That being said, I bought the smaller version for my wife to replace her very careworn briefcase from another premium manufacturer, and she is very satisfied.
By Forrest, Park forest, December 27, 2012

fantastic bag works g4reat for carrying my laptop and accessories matches my Red Oxx railroad grip only wish it was made of the same thicker material as my railroad grip
By CP, Nova Scotia, Canada, November 25, 2012

I've owned the CPA briefcase for about a month and use it to carry my Thinkpad Edge E520 15.6" laptop [(14.76"x9.64"x1.10"]. Plenty of room for it and whatever else I need to carry...lunch, files, rain gear.

Since I walk to work, and the weather can be rain/snow some days, I use an MEC daypack raincover [size small 30-50 litres] on the CPA brifcase in bad weather and it keeps the bag and my laptop dry [].

I have had many briefcases over the years and none have lasted very long under daily use because the straps or zippers invariably fail. I expect the CPA case to last a very long time as its zippers and strap construction are vastly superior to anything I have previously owned. The handle straps extend under the CPA briefcase and up the other side, so they bear the full weight when the bag is picked up, unlike lesser bags which have the strap attached to the side of the bag...and if the fabric rips where the strap is attached...the bag and contents will fall to the ground.

The CPA shoulder strap is also excellent. And I like the external water bottle pockets...safer than putting a water bottle (or sunscreen bottle, etc.) inside the bag where it can leak and damage electronic devices.

Two suggestions:

1. A strap on the back side which fits over a rolling suitcase handle.

2. An padded insert that can be used to store/easily remove camera gear. I would then be able to easily convert the CPA bag for my DSLR camera gear [see for example...but have the handle straps run under the insert for better weight-bearing purposes].
 Well worth the money!!
By Doug, Columbus, OH, November 22, 2012

Love this bag!! It's great for all the stuff you have to carry on the railroad.
 Great Breifcase
By Eric Richards, New York, NY, November 21, 2012

First and foremost I would like to thank Red Oxx Customer Service . Every CSR encounter was extremely professional , informative and exceeded even my over critical expectations.

I have bought bags that are much more expensive than this one, but they don't have anywhere near the common sense straight forwardness this bag embodies. Simply put the engineering is elegantly practical and proudly all American.
 This is an awesome bag.
By Dave Sellens, Independence, MO, November 9, 2012

I bought this bag after my previous laptop bag started falling apart. Needless to say, I'm very impressed with it. It holds my laptop, Ipad, all the cords for both, plus blank discs and other miscellaneous stuff I need to carry with them. All around, an excellent bag for me.
 You asked me what I thought!
By DC, Australia, November 1, 2012

You asked me what I thought! I just placed an order for a Duffel Bag in the same colour.

Enough said!

DC. Australia.
 Best Bag.
By HBS, San Diego, CA, September 17, 2012

This bag kept my important things safe during a 20 day cross country road trip, including a mountainous hike in Zion National Park.

Perfect size for a laptop + some.

The zippers are the sturdiest I've ever seen and the pocket space is fantastic. I love the handles and straps-- they are actually comfortable. The water bottle holders definitely do their jobs.

Wonderful warranty!

The only critique I have is to perhaps have the zipper extend a little more to allow the bag to open 100%.

That's just nitpicking. It's perfect.
 For Much More Than Business
By KBLuke, New Brunswick, Canada, September 6, 2012

I purchased this bag about a year ago and have found it has quickly become my go-to bag for travel, business, and everyday use. It is big enough that I can fit my Mac- Air laptop in its own separate case and then into this one, two days clothes, ipod, smart- phone, headphones, toiletries, a light coat, hat, a snack and magazines and paperwork and still have room to spare. I also own the skytrain and the gator bag.

The gator is a great day trip bag and I have been known to sometimes pack it inside the CPA briefcase -again, with room to spare. The CPA also fits well within the larger end of the carry-on size limits for a second piece of carry on luggage so that if you don't quite have one-bag travelling down yet this bag can fit over the handles of a rolling bag quite nicely through its own handles to travel with ease.

All in all I have been very pleased with this bag - well made, well designed, and well worth the purchase.
 Last briefcase I will ever need.
By Chase, Atlanta, GA., August 12, 2012

From the moment I opened the Red Oxx box and picked up my new CPA Briefcase I knew I had made the right choice. I bought the more subdued "black" version and have already received several compliments, the highest being from my boss. I work in sales and sometimes have to carry samples with me which can put strain on other standard bags but the CPA Briefcase handles everything with ease and looks great doing it.

Also I just got back from a 2 week trip with my wife and was able to fit both of our laptops, headphones, portable speaker, wires, chargers, camera and the list goes on. Great amount of space and easy to travel with. I never have to feel like a high school kid again while lugging around a backpack just to fit everything I need on sales calls or for travel.

Thank you Red Oxx for making a truly amazing product!
 I like it.
By Larry Hills, Collierville TN, July 10, 2012

I like this bag. Durable and just the right size. It provides good protection to sensitive electronics/notebook with its thicker outer wall padding. Well designed.

My only criticism would be to gusset the inner pockets more.

Overall, well worth the money.
 Black CPA
By Nhorman Dollentas, Helena, AL, June 14, 2012

Using the CPA for at least 3 weeeks now as a Wireless Telecom PM. Lots of room, easy access, very good non-slip strap. Expect to use it for a very long time. Very nice product! I might order more products in the future.
 It holds everything and more
By David S, San Antonio, TX, May 24, 2012

I bought the CPA briefcase as I already have the Air Boss, the Flying Fortress and the Safari Beanos 5.5. I traveled 26 times out of the US last year and only had to check one time. The CPA held, Bose headphones, iPad, Kindle, 2 magazines, passport/ticket holder, ziplock of chargers, ziplock of liquids, and normal things like pens, etc. I know I pack too much, but it held everything and still had room. The only thing I would change would be to have the zippers open a little bit more for easier access.
By Anonymous, The Beltway, May 17, 2012

I have spent a long time looking for my perfect daily bag/briefcase. This is finally it. It has the space and durability of my Timbuk2 messenger but looks much more professional. It looks good both when mostly empty or carting around a laptop, thermos, change of clothes and other assorted items needed for daily work and short trips. The only change I would make is to use a brighter material for the interior of the bag and the mesh netting, making it easier to find stuff without direct light.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the CPA and the Metro?
The CPA Briefcase is nearly twice as wide as the Metro.
Will the CPA hold a laptop? What size?
The CPA was designed to carry virtually any laptop notebook up to 17-inch screen and three inches thick.
Will the CPA Briefcase meet personal item/carry-on standards?
Absolutely. It will fit any overhead bin and even under most airline seats.
How are the internal pockets configured?
The backside has a full length slip mesh pocket that is anchored to the bottom of the bag. In front of this pocket are six smaller cordura slip pockets. On the other side is a full length mesh divider not anchored to the bottom. In front of the divider are two CORDURA® slip pockets and five pen pockets. Both of the full length interior pockets include buckle closures to help keep your office items organized.
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
Yes, the CPA will fit your C-pap. We also recommend using our Gator Compact Carry-on to carry your C-pap machine.
Is there a way to securely lock my briefcase?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I'm for CPA's who like tattoos and firearms.”

CPA Briefcase $175.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

A durable Nylon Briefcase for when you need more room.

Double the volume of our Metro Briefcase.

Carry-on the CPA Business Briefcase on your next flight and you'll have everything you need securely at your side. Plenty of room for files, a tablet or laptop, a snack, and even a change of clothes-- just in case your checked luggage goes to Barbados, while you're heading to Brooklyn. Volara closed cell foam padding in front, bottom and back keeps your laptop notebook safe and as a nice added touch, it also keeps your briefcase upright.

The CPA briefcase has the same features as our popular Metro briefcase, except nearly double the volume capacity. The inside includes two internal mesh dividers on each side of the briefcase. One file divider is sewn down on the bottom to keep your files or magazines fixed in place, while the other is left open to the bottom so you can secure your laptop out of the way using the snap buckle. Both dividers have pockets for CDs, business cards, and writing instruments. Carry your Nalgene bottle in one of the twin gathered-elastic end pockets.

On the exterior of the briefcase you have access to six pockets, including two expanding bellows pockets with exclusive 'Red Oxx finger loop snap' closures. 'Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap' closures. These side pockets feature the exclusive ROFLS -- "Red Oxx Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Behind each gusseted pocket are secret hidden flat slip pockets for that little extra bit of storage.

Hidden behind each bellows pocket is a secret flat "slip pocket" for papers, boarding passes, sunglasses, etc. The bellows pockets work well for laptop batteries or power supplies. The other two pockets are full-length flat zipper pockets for tablets, documents or magazines. Confidently carry your CPA Briefcase using the nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap or by the reinforced nylon carry handles.


Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around briefcases that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a briefcase, the CPAs are built tough. Starting with ione of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the case, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors breifcases that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the CPA, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious documents and electronics all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

The primary advantage of the CPA over the Metro is space. Nearly doubling the volume in the main compartment (width) gives you flexibility to carry more with you.

The Red Oxx CPA Briefcase keeps you moving, organized, even clothed, and your office goods protected.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.25 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 28cm H
Capacity: 21.5 Liters
Weight: 1.47 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Twin exterior bellowed snap pockets: 4.5"W x 8"T x +/-2"D (measured at top of pocket)
  • Twin exterior hidden flat slot pockets: 4.5"W x 7"T
  • Dual exterior zippered flat pockets:16"L x 10"H
  • Interior closed bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 8"D
  • Three Interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 5"D
  • Three interior closed bottom canvas flat pockets: 6"W x 4"D
  • Interior open bottom mesh pocket: 16"W x 9"D
  • Two interior closed bottom canvas pockets: 7.5"W x 5.5"D
  • 5 interior pen / pencil slots: 5"D
  • Main compartment: 7"W x 11"H x 17"L

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your CPA Briefcase.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 14 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great briefcase needs cool luggage accessories.

CPA Briefcase is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


CPA Briefcase Specs Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding
  • Classified as a "personal item"
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 7"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 43.2cm L x 17.8W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,309 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 21.5 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.25 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.47 Kilos

CPA Briefcase Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan (Proprietary Red Oxx Exclusive)

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top