Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Airborne-Carry-on-Ruck-Sack-C-Ruck

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm a history lesson carried on your back.”
Red Oxx Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack - shown in Olive. Chose from 12 Colors.

Airborne Carry-on Ruck Sack (C-Ruck) $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Paratrooper Tough!

C-Ruck: the do-it-all carry-on legal rucksack.

WHY CARRY A RUCKSACK?
Rucksacks were used by WWII paratroopers. Comfortably molded to their backs they did not add hassles to their already perilous days. Our modern version of the rucksack works just as well--without the added weight and bulk of an internal frame.

Called the "C-Ruck" for carry-on travel use, the Volara foam padded backing on the main compartment cushions your back. The deep and wide main compartment will hold more than enough belongings for a dawn to dark hike.

This rugged rucksack features an interior slip pocket that will safely stow your CamelBak, laptop notebook computer, or tablet. Underneath the C-Ruck pack, we've added Fastex straps to hold your jacket in the middle of your day hike, or your yoga mat when you're heading off to class.

EASY ON, EASY OFF.
No more squirming for the straps--soft UniSuede articulating shoulder straps provide surprising all-day comfort, rotating freely at the base of the shoulder. Far stronger than stitching into the bag. The rings provide a keen workable solution to the weakest part of a backpack, the shoulder strap seams, and are much stronger than stitching into the bag.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
Loaded with plenty of daisy chain loops on both the ruck itself and both straps, you'll never be short for hanging keys, flashlights, iPods, smartphones and anything else you may need quick access to.

Double drawstring top closures and handy external front and side zippered pockets add almost another 1,000 cubic inches of carrying capacity making it easy to organize your belongings. All external pockets feature our tough #10 YKK zippers that conveniently zip halfway down the pocket sides so you can dig deep if you need to. These tall pockets are also the perfect size for wine, spirit or soda bottles (or a package of a dozen eggs) in case you plan to pack for a picnic.

A RUCKSACK BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around rucksacks that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a rucksack, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the ruck, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BOUND INSIDE / BOUND OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive dime a dozen rucksacks that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the shoulder straps attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport, out on the trail or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your rucksack break down?

TESTED TOUGH.
Use the C-Ruck as your vehicle bug-out bag loaded for bear and ready to ramble. Since this is a fairly large knapsack, smaller framed folks might try the Roadster Mini Ruck.

Tested across the European theater by our Red Oxx Roughneck Bag Testing Crew, the C-Ruck knapsack loaded on and off trains and intercontinental flights without a hitch (and flagged a few taxis along the way). Packing a week's worth of clothes left room for souvenirs and the external pockets kept our goods organized.

BUY IT ONCE, BUY IT FOR LIFE.
Because Red Oxx backs our bags with our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty, you won't feel guilty about filling up your local landfill with cheap imported junk every season. Buy it once, own it forever, and pass it on. Join the "pack" and buy a military inspired, combat-tough rucksack and stand out from the ordinary backpack crowd.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your Airborne C-Ruck order now to get your rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

If you're a railroader, we recommend our larger ballistic nylon Rail King Rucksack.

Exterior Dimensions: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: 1,428 cubic inches (2,400 including external raised pockets).
Weight: 3.7 pounds.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual raised side zippered pockets: 12"H x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior dual raised side zippered flat slip pockets: 7"W x 6.5"H
  • Exterior raised front pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior zippered flat slip flap pocket: 10.5"W x 9"H
  • Interior slip pocket: 14.5"H x 11.5"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Rave Reviews from the Pros: About.com's Go Europe travel advisory gives the C-Ruck Rucksack a smashing 5 stars. Check out his Rucksack review.

Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken (Ruck) refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Rucksack (or Ruck Sack) is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack. We call it the Airborne C-ruck because it's airline carry-on legal.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (88 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 The Last Back Pack You Will Ever Purchase
By WRB, Texas, January 3, 2009

I've had a Black C-Ruck for over 5 years. I carry it everyday. It has been on more hunting, fishing, and camping trips that I can count. I fully intend on using the Lifetime Warranty one day if it ever wears out.
 
 C-Ruck on duty in OZ Never Never
By David Miller, Reno,NV, November 28, 2007

The C-Ruck Was my daily partner on my three month Outback journey through OZ. While the Flying Box Car rode in the 4/4's booth the C-Ruck held all my daily gear from jumper to camera gear and reading material. The slip pocket inside was a great place to put my travel papers. However I do agree that the hanging straps were a problem during transport storage on the plane and train. The dangle was like a hanging garden to trip on or get caught in. I found that I could secure the draw opening at the top with TSA approved cable locks. Also used cable locks on all zippers as this was to keep things safe while in hostels and on the street. Perhaps two Red Oxx logo cable lock's should be added to the package when purchased. This Ruck sack is so rugged it also kept the dust and moisture out of my gear and it is comfortable to wear in all terrain. Keep up the fine work.Regards,David Miller
 
 Awesome Bag
By Anonymous, , October 4, 2007

I have been reading about Red Oxx for a long time now, and I was truly skeptical. I have been using Mountainsmith, North Face, Patagonia and the like, and they make durable, fab bags. I could not see coughing up $200 for a ruck. But I did, and now I can see why everyone is raving. The materials --mostly zippers, snaps, grommets, clasps--are what sets the pack apart. I am also really impressed with the simple, uncluttered design--what Patagonia used to be very good at doing, but no longer seem to do. Everything here has a purpose, and there is nothing un-necessary. Truly excellent.My only suggestions for some improvements: it would be handy to have loops on the front straps for excess strap to be passed thru, and to avoid dangling cords. That would be so simple to do, and prevent also flapping in the wind, and accidentally having them caught somewhere. I would also like to see a pocket inside of the top flap--where I can stash my passport and cash; a pocket right on the top flap, but inside. Should be simple to do, and make a big difference when I am traveling abroad; and do not necessarily want to keep things in my pocket. I was truly not sure about the way the pack was hung from stainless rings..but it has worked marvelously!! Wish I had known about your products earlier; would have saved my back and other products that now must go to waste!!!
 
 Outstanding product!
By Anonymous, , June 29, 2007

I bought this item to have something to use as regular luggage and as a day pack when my wife and I went to a business conference in Switzerland. It exceeded all of our expectations. As luggage it carried everything I needed for the weeklong trip, and I didn't mind carrying it through one of the swankest hotels in Switzerland. It performed equally well on our hikes through the Alps.The C-Ruck worked so well that I bought my wife the mini-Ruck and we hauled them both to the top of Mt. Elbert in Colorado a few weeks back.My only suggestion would be to add an ice ax loop on the back. (I know, it's not really a climbing pack, but I won't be using anything else.)It's rugged and well made. An excellent addition to my gear.
 
 Great choice for disaster relief work or extended safari
By Anonymous, , June 7, 2007

Ideal as an emergency go-bag, or as a personal ruck during disaster relief work--where if things break, there's no nearby store to replace them. I wish I had this with me on my last trip to Africa. Tons of pockets, the reliability of huge zippers and top-loading design. Two MRE's fit in each side pocket with room to spare for extra energy bars, binoculars or even a large camera. Or each pocket will fit TWO 1.5 liter bottles of water. Hydration bladder compatible, too. Absolutely fantastic ruck.
 
 Great Pack for any purpose
By Chris Juzda, , August 27, 2006

Great Pack for any purposeI recently purchased a c-Ruck - While I love everything about this bag, what I liked the most:Classic, timeless design. Not a bunch of useless bells and whistles that just get in the way or breakPockets right where they need to beSide pockets are huge and can hold just about anythingRed Oxx durability - the zippers, hardware and materials look to be indestructibleThe thing I like best about this bag are the unique shoulder straps - something about the way the steel rings are used to anchor the straps makes this bag extremely ergonomically comfortable - I have really nasty shoulder problems - both rotator cuffs are shot, so I find it hard to get my other arm through the second strap on most packs. With the c-Ruck, the shoulder straps hang so that I don't have any problem getting my second arm in the strap. I also like to carry my pack slung over one shoulder but this usually ends up hurting my back or shoulder if I do it for a long time. With the c-Ruck straps, the pack hangs perfectly off one shoulder. Finally the adjusting buckles on the straps are really easy and smooth to operateDo I like it? Yes, so much that I just ordered a Red Oxx Rockhopper for days when I only have a few things to carry, otherwise the c-Ruck is IT - my 4 or 5 other daypacks (which are very high quality (expensive) will be given good homes My other Red Oxx bags:GatorPadded brief caseTote bagBeano PR5 and Rockhopper (both just ordered)
 
 MISSISSIPPI GOBBLER STOPPER
By Cam Smith, , April 27, 2006

I bought my C-Ruck to use on all my hunting trips but have quickly found it to be the perfect turkey hunting bag. I've hunted turkeys all over the Mississippi Delta since I was a kid. It takes the right "stuff" to pull in these hard hunted river birds and the C-Ruck has got everything you need to be succesful. The main compartment is perfect for my crushable decoys, light jacket, gloves, facemask, etc. The two large side pockets are just right for a box call, striker, decoy stakes, and the ever necessary large can of YardGaurd that makes sittin' still in March in the riverbottoms doable. The smaller side pockets nicely hide my mouth calls and slates. The front pocket will hold my compass and a box of shells. I clip my intertube seat to the daisy chain and strap my rollup blind onto the adjustable straps on the bottom of the bag. The blacked out zippers and strap hardware pass the test for dodging the keen eye of the wary Boss Gobbler. I can't say enough good about the bag.
 
 It's My Only Ruck
By Richard Hahn, , April 8, 2006

I have owned many backpacks and worn several out. I always thought they were poorly made and designed. The C-Ruck has become my only Ruck. I've thrown all the others away or given them to Good Will. It is beautifully designed-I've lived out of it on several overseas trips. It's strong enough to take into the bush and classy enough to take into a five-star hotel. The construction is simply the best in the industry. I have traveled many places, including the Third World with my Air Boss, C-Ruck and Gator Bag. If I could only take one piece that I know would work until all conditions it would be the C-Ruck but I must also admit, the others "ain't too shabby."
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications

C-Ruck Rucksack Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • US Dimensions - Main Compartment: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 7"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 45.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 17.8cm H
  • US Capacity (total): 2,400 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 40 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.68 Kilos


Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Airborne Rucksack and the Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Airborne C-Ruck's main compartment is two inches wider and one inch taller than the Roadster Mini Ruck. These larger dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab at left for further dimension details.
 
Will the Airborne meet carry-on legal standards?
Sure, the C-Ruck Rucksack will easily fit in the overhead bins of most airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Airborne?
Since our Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets and rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding it. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
 
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Airborne?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Airborne C-Ruck. We'd estimate three to five days.
 
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Airborne? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop with up to a 17 inch diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
 
Does the Airborne Carry-on have a belly strap?
Because the C-Ruck Rucksack does not have a built in frame, therefore a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of both the C-Ruck and the Mini Ruck.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.