Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Backpacks Daypacks  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse the nearly 700 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY!
Due to high demand, you're encouraged to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (697 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Best travel bag I have ever used
By Jeff B, Santa Monica, September 20, 2013

Exceeds expectations. This bag is beyond tough and looks great. Zippers are strong and do not slip. Compartments hold more than seems possible. Color options are great. You will not be disappointed. Only two issues--cost us high and availability can be problem. But, this have should last ten years. Worth the wait.

 
 Fantastic gear
By JV, An airport somewhere in the US, September 5, 2013

The perfect bag for me. I have a couple of dozen domestic trips on this bag, most of them of 3-5 day duration. Carried on every time, all manner of aircraft. Plenty of space for casual business, plus some workout gear. I also have the metro briefcase for my 17" laptop, iPad, etc. I love NOT having wheels -- so fast and easy on trains, in planes, in airports, and especially getting across town in NYC. Great bag. Extremely well made and extremely well thought out.
 
 Best Luggage I've EVER or WILL EVER Own
By Benjamin, Boston, MA, July 29, 2013

I am not a tourist! I am a business traveler! I set foot on over sixty airplanes last year, so I know exactly what I want in a carry on. Never before had I found it until I did a search for "best carry on luggage" and this was at the top of the list.

I can easily fit a week's worth of clothes in here, which includes a pair of shoes, two suits, the RedOxx Tri-Fold Shave Kit, the RedOxx travel basket, and much more. If you know how to pack, this is the only bag worth having.

As far as utility goes, it easily fits in the overhead bin and doesn't take up excessive space like those idiotic "rollies" and the rude travelers who inexplicably carry them on. I've never had to gate check this bag...not even on smaller regional jets.

It's also tough and remarkably weatherproof. I personally feel that RedOxx downplays their products' water resistance. This thing has sat in the rain and been lugged through snow more times that I would have liked and nothing inside ever gets wet.
 
 Airboss is the best
By Chris Flanagan, Australia, June 22, 2013

Thank you Red Oxx. The magic of the internet means I can buy the best designed travel goods on the face of the earth, even though I live on the other side of the planet. It makes me want to come and see you in Billings (with my Air Boss in tow, of course). First class products. First class service. 5 stars. I'm recommending you to everyone who will listen. All the other major luggage brands aren't as clever or innovative as you. And thanks to onebag.com for the wisdom.
 
 POOR CHOICE
By Ken Greene, RN, Phoenix, June 10, 2013

I travel a TON, and this is probably the worst choice for a carry-on that I have ever had. Limited amount of pockets and lugging this bag around your neck is a terrible idea. Used once and now since the very restrictive return policy prohibits me from returning, I will dump it on eBay. HOW DO YOU EXPECT ANYONE TO KNOW HOW A PRODUCT PERFORMS WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO TRY IT IN THE FIELD? Perhaps that is the "plan" to force people to keep something they do not want.
 
 This Is the One.
By L, Phoenix, AZ, June 7, 2013

Air Boss (safari color) is the best piece of carry-on luggage I have ever owned. It's super lightweight (when empty), rock-solid, and built extremely well. You will not be disappointed -- no problems whatsoever.

I wanted to write a review to comment on people who have changed their bag, but not their bad travel habits... stuffing the bag full ("it's heavy and my back hurts") and are not using bundling techniques. Read Rick Steves' techniques, read onebag.com, or take a look at other sites. It's so easy and you will enjoy your trip so much more.

I've got a bad back and I'm over six feet... and I've had no issues.

I'll buy more bags from RedOxx. 100% worth every penny.
 
 successful purchase
By Michael Wardle, Northern Ontario, Canada, June 7, 2013

Just used the bag on an extended trip to France and England. It did really well on both plane and train despite being overly full. Liked the protection it gave for my laptop. Will up date in a year.
 
 SMART & FUNCTIONAL
By I.ERICSSON, SURREY, UK, June 4, 2013

I travel a lot through Europe for business and have never managed to find a bag which is big enough to carry what i need to take with me but small enough to get in as cabin baggage. I also need it to accomodate a laptop bag. The air boss does this easily - functionally it is great, design wise it is equally impressive and the customer service was brilliant. A great product supplied by a great company.
 
 A year in: Great, but with limits
By Russ, Washington, DC, May 26, 2013

I think it's been about a year since I got my Air Boss and I wanted to update my review.

First of all, after lots of planes, trains and automobiles, it still looks practically new. No frayed edges, no funky zipper problems.

Secondly, I just returned from six days of business travel (five airplanes, three rental cars) with sportcoats, ties, dress shirts, dress pants, and a spare pair of size 13s. I couldn't have done that with my roll aboard. This thing is big.

Thirdly, the wrinkles really do fall out if you hang stuff in the bathroom overnight after running the shower a while.

Fourth, I was able to fly standby on an earlier flight because I hadn't checked anything and even though the overhead bins were full, I could wiggle my AirBoss into a spare space.

The downside is that my back is now paying for bad body mechanics one time I hoisted all of that on my shoulder. Six days of clothes may fit, but there's a reason people like wheels. It also gets really old carrying it from the farthest gate.

This is probably the most versatile bag I've owned, but it isn't right for everything. Sometimes, you just need to check a bag. Or maybe the Sky Train is easier to lug, since it has backpack straps.

 
 Love the Air Boss
By Joshua Weller, Australia, May 16, 2013

I am very happy with the Air boss. It is everything I was expecting and more. The new changes are improvements that were pointed out in many Online reviews and have been corrected, Ugly Logo Badge, etc.. one thing I would like to see.

1: a D ring or Loop of kinds inside one of the Zip pockets to hang a Key clip on and also to Attach the Dog Tag /ID & Cable Lock so it inside the bag not dangling outside making noise and getting in the way.
 
 Love it, but...
By Mike, Chicago, IL, May 13, 2013

My wife bought this for me after I researched it extensively, as an alternative to being forced to gate check too many times with a roller case, and to help get around in crowded city streets, trains, subways, small taxis, etc. I have used it on several domestic and international trips, both business and recreational, and in general love the look and solid feel.

First the good: this thing is built like a truck, with super strong zippers pull ties, straps, etc. It can easily be stuffed into crowded overhead compartments and at a pinch under an airline seat. I can pack enough shirts, underwear for a Monday-Friday business trip, although shoes can be an issue if you like to run and carry a spare pair. The central compartment is great for accessing books, camera, laptop, your ziplock of liquids.

Cons: there is no organizer space for pens, computer mouse, keys etc, part from the small side pocket. The real negative I have is that you can plain overload it, and it can easily weigh 25-plus pounds with a few papers, books, magazines, laptop and power supply slipped in. That can put you over a weight limit on some small European planes, but the biggest problem I have had is, since using this bag, I have developed a shoulder pain on one side. It gets better when not traveling and flares up again when I use the bag. Now maybe I should just use the carry handles, but they are not super comfortable, and then I don't have a free hand. I am fit, but in my fifties, so maybe the problem is specific to me.

Net: great product, but I would consider the double shoulder strap/backpack Sky Train the better option for carrying when walking any distance, but then you lose the flat packing ability of the Sky Train. As it is, I will continue to use this bag, minus the shoulder strap, for family trips.

I also have the Metro briefcase, which I use daily. I have never successfully been able to fit the one into the other, but at least having both takes care of the lack of small item storage pockets in the Boss.
 
 Love this bag!
By E Cox, Boston, MA, May 6, 2013

This suitcase has been everywhere from Russia to Colombia, mainly for business travel. Packed properly, I can travel for a week without having to check a bag. I have spent so much time using and bragging about my luggage that my wife got tired of hearing me and made me get one for her.
 
 Form & Function
By Susan, Maryland, May 5, 2013

Since I had some trips coming up I decided it was time to invest in something better than the junky rolling carry-on I got years ago. I've been reading Onebag.com and following Doug's advice on packing & that obviously convinced me to order the Air Boss.

I used it on a two week business trip in April. I did laundry once, so I basically had 7 days worth of clothes, 2 pairs of shoes, plus miscellaneous stuff like chargers, a toothbrush, and some paperwork. After packing, I definitely could have put more in the bag -- although I think if I had stuffed it to capacity I would have trouble carrying it for long. As it is, I got a little tired hauling the bag around the airport on a quest for coffee, but no other problems.

The claw strap deserves all the raves it's gotten -- I wish I could get use it on the bag I take to the office every day!

And now that I'm back home I'm delighted that this will take up a lot less space in the closet than my old carry-on.
 
 As good as they get.
By CC, Bakersfield, CA, May 5, 2013

This bag probably travelled over 200,000 miles with me. It handled heat & humidity, air-conditioned cars as well as dusty public buses. And it is still in excellent shape. I am glad I spent a bit for high quality.
 
 More than I can handle
By Jill Johnson, Baton Rouge, LA, May 2, 2013

I bought this bag on the recommendation of the 'OneBag.com' guy. He was right on about all the attributes of the bag. It's great.

It has an amazing amount of space (like magic, you can keep adding stuff). I packed for a 10 day trip including my computer, make up, etc. and stuffed everything in.

MY only problem is that all that stuff is heavy, and even though the OneBag.com guy is opposed to bags with wheels, I wish I had gone for a wheeled version. Next time I will pack less or lift weights to prepare for the journey.

So my only complaint is not with the bag, but with my physical abilities. I will probably also look into another shoulder strap.
 
 Could have packed more...
By Gordon W P C, Curacao, April 25, 2013

International shipping? The bag arrived extremely quickly, I was very impressed.

I just used it for the first time, a 5 day trip, nice and easy. I laid out my usual, sparse items, packed everything up and for the first time ever, I had plenty of extra room.

This is also the lightest bag I've ever had to carry around an airport. I'm now going to be nauseatingly promotional to everyone I know about this bag.
 
 Boston/Arizona
By Steve, Oregon, April 12, 2013

I took a 5 day trip to Boston (Grandson 's school trip) and then took a 6 day trip to Arizona. Both times I carried on both bags, Airboss and the Rockhopper.

Everything I needed was contained in just those two bags. They are quality construction and can carry a bunch of stuff. I am a big guy and my clothes take up more space but I was able to take everything I wanted and then some coming home.
 
 Excellent quality and the perfect design
By Anonymous, Washington, DC, April 12, 2013

I've only had this bag for a short time but I already love it. I travel a lot for business and recently took this bag with two suits that stayed perfectly wrinkle free. Packs easy. Fits perfectly in the overhead compartments...even with full overheads I can usually squeeze it into a space. Can't do that with hard side roller bags. Comfortable to carry over my shoulder and really light weight. Material, zippers and shoulder strap are all strong and well made. Looks like they'll outlast me :-)
 
 Great bag overall
By Ryan S, Bethesda, MD, April 9, 2013

Just came back from my first trip with this bag. I love the appearance and the construction of the bag. My eagle creek cubes and folders fit perfectly. My only quip is the shoulder strap. As advertised, it will not slip off your shoulder. But it's just not comfortable, and does not do a good job distributing weight. I guess it's a trade off between slipping and weight distribution. I'll probably swap it out for the Tom Bihn and then it'll be perfect.
 
 Appropriately Named
By Sean Murphy, Phoenix, AZ, April 9, 2013

Never has a product been so appropriately named, Air Boss.

Simply put, if you are looking for the ultimate carry-on bag, this is it.

Quality construction, light weight, thoughtful design, and downright cool!

I have a hard time filling it up for a weeks worth of business travel. If you feel the urge to stuff it, beware that it will hold a lot which can get heavy. I have learned to resist the urge and take only what I need. The result is a easy breeze through any airport and stress free travel.

I cannot recommend this bag strongly enough. The only thing better than this bag is the customer service from the Red Oxx staff.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.