Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (679 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 Air Boss Review
By Dustin, Indiana, February 15, 2011

Wonderfully well built bag. It is so refreshing that there are still products out there that are made so well and do their job so well that you don't give them a second thought. That's the Air Boss. No frills and tough-as-nails, just as it should be. There are way cheaper bags out there, but if you want the last bag you will need or want to buy, EVER, this is it.
 
 Three weeks across China
By Fabian, Switzerland, February 15, 2011

I bought the Red Oxx AirBoss for my travel to China, where I was invited to celebrate the Chinese New Year with my friend Xia. The trip led me from Europe at first to Peking, Tianjin, Suzhou, Shanghai and back to Europe.

Before leaving, I checked the weather forecast and packed my bag accordingly to cope with the -15°C announced Peking for onion style clothing.

The bag was big enough to carry one spare trouser, two shirts, three sets of undergarments plus long johns, three pairs of thick wool socks, one microfiber towel, two fleece pullovers, one lamb wool pullover and one big over pullover. Liquids, a clothesline, some presents and other small stuff were put in the middle pocket. The remaining vacancies were filled with chocolate amounting to approximately 10 kg total weight. The lady at the check-in counter did accept the 2 kg overweight, since I did only travel with this carry-on luggage.

At the beginning of my travel I was a little upset because I had to carry all the weight of the AirBoss on my shoulders along endless airport terminals and the other people were rolling their luggage conveniently around on wheels. However, once I left the flat airport environment and entered the urban areas, I realised the advantages of the reliable shoulder claw, for instance, when hasting through the dense crowd at Peking rush hour, or when switching metro lines. My Chinese friend and his rolling bag suffered quite a lot.

With one exception, the AirBoss did manage train, bus, airplane, taxi, motor rickshaw, metro, rowboat, bicycle and walk with ease. Only the Maglev in Shanghai would not fit the bag in the top compartment, but since this train is only sparsely visited nobody cared when I put it on a seat.

In several episodes the small apparent frame of the AirBoss helped me to politely reject many voluminous presents that I felt were unnecessary and that I otherwise would have to carry around until the end of my travel.

All in all, quite a nice bag, although I would like to see some additional straps that could help the AirBoss keeping shape and prevent it from getting too round. Also, perhaps some external fixation for easy access to a bottle etc. would be useful. One thing I regret though is not to have bought an Aviator Duffel Bag for importing some nice stuff I have encountered in China.
 
 Great Gear!
By Eric S, Nebraska, February 13, 2011

I love my Air Boss! Not long after I bought it, I relied on it to take me all the way to India and back, and it never let me down. It easily fit into any space, had no problem with airline restrictions, and was a lot of fun to have and use.
 
 All the thought behind the design pays off
By Simon, Cambridge, MA, February 13, 2011

I received this bag as a gift from my family. They know how much I love thoughtfully-designed functional products, and the Air Boss is a prime example.

I was wary of the uncomfortable weight of hanging everything on my shoulder instead of rolling it around. Yes, it's true, stuffing this thing to the gills with a lot of stuff will make it heavy. The bag does not defy gravity. But because of the strap, it does not feel heavy on my shoulder. The rubber strap grips and doesn't budge; I don't have to lean to the side to keep it from slipping as I would with other shoulder bags. This means my core muscles aren't uncomfortably strained in one direction and tiring me out. Wearing the strap across my body is also comfortable.

The bag holds a lot of stuff. It is less than half full with a weekend's worth of clothing plus laptop and work stuff. I'll be using it for a week-long trip in a few weeks and I'm pretty sure it'll hold everything I need.

I took public transit to the airport and immediately noticed how much easier it is to move around without rolling luggage; it is much easier to negotiate stairs, subways, buses, and crowds of people. I am able to dart around airports with ease, and I love not having to roll my bag through the nastiness that is airport restrooms.

I'm happy that Red Oxx exists and I look forward to buying more Red Oxx products in the future.
 
 Wow, simply wow!
By Ron, Kansas City, February 11, 2011

Consider this a bit of a confession of a bag-junkie. I recently bought the Air Boss and a ton of great accessories. I also ordered a Tom Bihn Aeronaut just for comparison purposes. While it's a nice duffle bag, it simply doesn't compare with the Air Boss quality of construction, reinforcement, structure, and use of space. The Air Boss makes sense and takes out all the guess work for packing. Yes, the Aeronaut is a pretty bag, but the Air Boss is built like a tank and is an organizational dream. Side-by-side, Red Oxx simply made a better product...unless you're in the market for an expensive duffle bag. Because I'm a bag-0-phile, I'll keep the Bihn bag too, but IMHO, there's no comparison with the quality and usability of the Air Boss! You have a happy customer here and I know I'll be picking up the Sky Train soon as well. Thanks guys--you make amazing gear!
 
 Sturdy bag... but...
By Barb., Norway, February 10, 2011

It's a sturdy bag, but... so big! I tried it at a recent trip (which is why I can't return it...) and even thought I didn't stuff it with clothes I could not get it into the carry-on size measurers at the check-in. The reason for this was a pair of jogging-shoes. With jogging shoes and toiletries in the middle it got too wide. =(

I don't know how you can put anything in the middle and still carry it on...
 
 BULLETPROOF
By Joe B., Portland, OR, February 3, 2011

Well, not _literally_, but nearly!

This is going to go down as the best designed bag I have ever owned. The zippers look like they should be the closures on a bomb shelter, not a carryon. The monkey's fists are great of course, and I'd challenge anyone to have the grippy rubber strap slip off their shoulder.

All in all, this is the supreme bag. Don't worry about the cost of it - as RedOxx says in their warranty for this bag, you'll need to include it in your will.

Thanks, RedOxx! You rock!

-joe
 
 red ox goes to disney
By Michael Niesar, Ontario Canada, January 27, 2011

Our bags flew west jet to orlando and fit nicely above our seats. Our family of three, two adults and an eleven year old got everything we needed for a week in them comfortably.

Thanks so much.
 
 AIR BOSS...AWESOME!!!
By T. Udall, Mesa, AZ, January 27, 2011

No hype.....this is simply the best carry-on travel bag, period!
 
 Best Bag - EVER
By Mark Hames, Lincolnton, NC, January 26, 2011

I have now been making the trip between Charlotte, NC, and Miami, FL, for about six months using this bag. And for as long as 10 days.It is unbelievable what it can carry, even my laptop in the middle. And I have been flying commuter jets - yes, it fits in the overhead. Thanks.
 
 All Purpose Carry-ON
By MN, PA, January 20, 2011

Great carry-on bag. I normally check my bags but with the cost of checking, I had been looking for a good carry-on. The Air Boss is easy to pack, holds a weeks worth of clothes and fits anywhere- it is expertly crafted and sturdy and is now my travel bag for all purposes- definitely worth the $$!!
 
 People keep asking...
By Fred Cook, Dorr, MI, January 17, 2011

I travel some, and I always have people ask me about the bag. You should be selling lots of them - I want a commission!
 
 Fantastic Travel Companion
By h2bourne, Port Coquitlam, BC, January 13, 2011

I bought this bag as a gift for my husband who travels for business. We also like to travel visiting family and friends in far-flung places. My husband is very impressed with the top-notch quality of the bag's construction. It's virtually indestructible! As he says, this bag is over-engineered. His only complaint is that it's easy to overpack so it can get heavy but he acknowledges where the blame lies for that - not with the bag! Overall, we feel it's worth every penny. I think, though, the Skytrain bag may have been more convenient due to the backpack straps but my husband realizes he just won't overpack next time. Thanks, Red Oxx, for a fantastic carry-on! We are very satisfied customers.:-)
 
 Excellent Bag
By Greg Wheatley, Perth, Australia, January 12, 2011

I had held off buying the Air Boss (thinking it was overpriced) until I had to make a series of international trips last year. After the second trip, I ordered the Air Boss and haven't looked back.
 
 One trip and I am hooked!
By Todd W., Niceville, FL, January 6, 2011

I have only used this bag once and I am already hooked. I took a trip over Christmas 2010 and got stuck in the Christmas snowstorm along the east coast of the US. Once rebooked and traveling again, I was so glad to have one bag - one that fit in the overhead bin or could be easily gate checked. While others struggled with bags of various sizes, shapes, etc., this bag fit where it needed to go.

Well worth the money spent on this bag.

I would like to see an internal clip to attach my keys so I can get them out of my pocket yet leave them easily accessible.
 
 Luggage Nirvana
By Angus, Melbourne, Australia, January 4, 2011

I've had this bag for over a year. I travel a lot for business and stay in scores of hotels each year. I'm the sort of person who really gives my gear a tough time, ie. I've got the unenviable gift of breaking stuff. This bag still looks new. No broken strap, torn zipper or anything. Not even a hint of decay. Plus it works in every way it should. I'm in luggage nirvana.
 
 4 Cities During 2010 Blizzard
By Hector, Fort Lauderdale, January 3, 2011

So this is my second review of the Airboss and it only gets better. This time I packed for 2weeks of cloths with 1 wash day in the middle of a 13day trip. The trip started in Fort Lauderdale, Tampa, Boston, NYC and Fort Lauderdale. I flew and road a bus and the Boss was awesome. It was the only part of the trip that did not leave me stranded. I took plenty of cloths for cold weather (Suite with 5 dress shirts, 4 tshirts, 2 jackets, 2 sweaters, 2 pants, shoes, 7 days of underware/stuff and tolitry kit). I used a folder, a suite roll up hanging kit, and rolllup vacumm bags. YES the bag was heavy but with strap never let go. I needed to move with my stuff quickly and effiently when I have a smooth clean floor i would drag it. I just cleaned it and I am ready for my next trip. I hope that it will not involve a cold location just to lessen the winter cloths that I need. Cheers to Red Oxx!!!!
 
 Exactly what I needed
By Steven Deployed, Westmount, Canada, December 31, 2010

After a lost luggage fiasco this summer on a trip to Spain, I vowed never to check a bag again. I read a series of reviews and settled on the Air Boss. When it arrived my only dissappointment was that I had to wait a few weeks before my first trip. I went to Las Vegas boxing day for a four night trip, my Airboss held a sport coat, sweater, dress shoes, casual slacks, two dress shirts, undergarments and toiletries, iPad, chargers for electronics. Using the wrap folding technique, it all fit with room for souvenirs to spare. I thought that it might still be too big but was never asked to check it as it was the only bag I had and even full on my return it was still smaller and looked smaller than those with the same size bag and other smaller bags. Bottom line is that it was amazing. It is a simple, sturdy, over engineered bag (a good thing) and probably the last bag I will ever buy. The price was worth it and the time saved by not waiting at a baggage carrousel was priceless.
 
 Easily Holds too much
By Mr. Big, Washington, DC, December 30, 2010

Lent it to daughter for 10 day euro travel. Loved it. Left well-packed and under the 13 lb limit for carryon - returned at 30 lbs and rolled down the belt like a little red keg. Unbelievable amount of stuff came back in it. Never any doubt that seams/zips, etc., would hold. Took abuse, still looks like new.
 
 Africa Trip
By Barry , Sarasota, Florida, December 26, 2010

My wife and I purchased two Air Boss carry on luggage for our 8 day Capetown and Thornybush Safari South Africa vacation. We were limited to 18 lbs carry on South African Air and the Air Boss delivered. We did not check the Air Boss and it saved us making our Florida connection from D.C because our flight was delayed returning from South Africa. It fit in every plane overhead compartment we took. How do I feel about Red Oxx? I just ordered the Gypsy Suit Cover and if Red Oxx ever wanted to relocate to Sarasota Florida, I would love to work for the company!
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.