Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 4 months, 5 countries, 1 happy customer
By Lynn H, BC, Canada, September 19, 2011

This bag made it through a 4 month trip to Demark, Malawi, Germany, the Netherlands, and back to Canada (where it soon hit the road again on a weekend road trip). The bag is smart (you can pack a whole lot in a "carry-on"), sturdy (wiped down the outside upon my return and the dust slid right off), and very smart looking. I felt great strolling past the checked luggage lines and traveling with "1 Bag" ease. If you are looking to take a minimalist approach to travel, this is the bag for you. This was a birthday present for my dad and I highly recommend it to any students who are looking to put a business spin on a practical and efficient idea (the duffel bag).
 
 Wheels?
By Ed, LA, September 15, 2011

Like it so far. Would prefer it to have wheels and some sort of removeable divider. Might also be good to include some suggestions on how to pack in the package. Seems a little pricy for what you get.
 
 Room for Improvement
By Larry Hills, Memphis TN, September 15, 2011

I travel a fair amount for business and recently purchased the Air Boss and asked to give a review: Although a good product design as a carry on, the Red Oxx Air Boss could do a few design improvements to make it of more value for the premium price tag it demands.

First, it lacks a car key(s) snap holder. They should sew one in inside either the center compartment or one of the outer compartments. Where ever located, it would preferable inside a zippered compartment for physical security and it should be detachable or a ready snap link design.

Second, the center compartment's bottom, and only that compartment, should have a thin layer sewn in of computer notebook neoprene protection pad. As delivered, it does not. Simply picking up and setting down the bag with a notebook or similar electronic device in it can render surface damage. The only thing cushioning is nothing more than the bag's one layer of outer fabric. You can expect dings on your notebooks unless you sleeve it yourself, which sort of defeats my idea of extraneous travel items and thickness; or having to carrying on another bag.

Third, I bought the black color, I was rather surprised that it quickly picked up dirt and dust markings on the material after just one trip. Remember, this is a carryon item, and does not get the "nasty airline baggage handling treatment." Anyways, I had to clean it up after the bags first trip, then Scotchguarded it. I have not had any issues after the Scotchguard application, but for this price, it should come pre-treated.

My last comment concerns the shoulder strap. I like the rubberized claw's gripping effect, however the strap's actual width is not commensurate with the bag's size. The strap's web should be 1.75 inches in with as a minimum. Two inches is preferred. There also needs to be better positive locks on the straps adjustment. Thank you for the opportunity to comment.
 
 Magic bag!
By Kim Larsen, Western Wisconsin, September 15, 2011

I don't travel that much. Consequently, I'm not an efficient packer. This bag practically packs itself. It was so easy to see what I had and the clothes fit the space so well. I followed the onebag.com recommendations and it just worked.

My first trip with it was 9 days to the cabin. So, truth be told, I used a second bag for shoes: hiking boots, riding boots, running shoes, water shoes and sandals take room. But my clothes fit easily in this one and I didn't miss anything or discover any tucked in items that I forgot I'd packed! It's so easy to organize and SEE.

Plus, the construction is tough. Great zippers.
 
 Great Bag
By Richard, Waco, TX, September 15, 2011

I have used my Air Boss yet, but I will be traveling in a few weeks. Everything about the bag is exactly as advertised. Very stylish and well constructed. I am looking forward to my trip with my new Air Boss. I may write another review when I get back from my trip.
 
 The Air Boss is Perfect!
By Glenn M., Ohio, September 13, 2011

The Air Boss is the last carry-on I will ever own! I'll spare everyone the details of the bag's features; everything is exactly as advertised. I packed more than I'd ever actually carry on my most recent trip to test the bag. It accommodated everything and slipped effortlessly into the overhead compartment. The design and construction of the bag is simply perfect for a lifetime of carefree travel!
 
 The Air Boss is Perfect!
By Glenn M., Ohio, September 13, 2011

The Air Boss is the last carry-on I will ever own! I'll spare everyone the details of the bag's features; everything is exactly as advertised. I packed more than I'd ever actually carry on my most recent trip to test the bag. It accommodated everything and slipped effortlessly into the overhead compartment. The design and construction of the bag is simply perfect for a lifetime of carefree travel!
 
 Wow!
By Tito, Miami, Fl, September 12, 2011

I recently purchased my Air Boss for a trip to Europe. One of my friends suggested I check out RedOxx since I wanted to avoid any checking bags for this trip. This thing was great. I was on the road for twelve days and also came back with gifts for friends and family and had no trouble managing with only my AirBoss! I have also used it in place of my typical roller carry-on bag for business travel. I have had this for less than seven weeks, and it has already paid for itself. This was a great purchase and I will reccomend this and all of your products to my friends and family!
 
 The best bag, the best warranty
By Gary, Mississippi, September 9, 2011

This bag is magic. I've traveled heavily for 27 years and the Air Boss has been my exclusive partner for the past 8 years. The design is incredibly effective. I've comfortably done multiple 2 weeks trips to Europe and Oceania with only this bag and a briefcase. Its all you need. Plus...the warranty is the real deal. Damaged? Send it in and you'll have it back in a week or so, good as new. (only had to do this once...as the bag is very durable).
 
 Quite Pleased!
By Jay L Sperl, Prosser, WA, September 9, 2011

I travel 2-3 weeks each month. I never check bags and had used a roller bag for a number of years. I wanted to go lighter, so purchased my Air Boss along with a Metro Briefcase. I am quite pleased with both. The Air Boss holds everything I need--even allowing me to leave my Metro Briefcase home on many trips--and still fits in the overhead bin on smaller commuter planes. My greatest compliment so far regarding the Air Boss was having a colleague ask me where I left my other suitcase. Two wishes: Padding at bottom of center section (an insert perhaps) and that Red Oxx made an organizer for the Air Boss similar to the Tom Bihn Horizontal Freudian Slip.
 
 Testing Air Boss
By Anonymous, Europe, August 30, 2011

I have Air Boss and SkyTrain bags. No doubt, great bags!

I have 2 personal comments on Air Boss.



1. Main compartments--- After 5 (five)overseas trips i found that having only 2 BIG main compartments would be PERFECT. The one main compartment was ALWAYS empty (not the central). No need for so many zips on the top,i think.Using 3 full main compartments the bag became very BULKY.

2.Shoulder strap---The Sky Train shoulder strap is the BEST as it is more SOFT for the shoulder.

If i found these two details i mentioned above, in an upgraded Air Boss , i would buy it again!

Highly recommended bags !
 
 The Air Boss is terrific!
By Susan, Carmel, IN, August 28, 2011

This is one terrific piece of luggage! I highly recomment it and would definitely buy it again. It's surprising how much can fit in this item. There is no room for improvement here as it's perfect just as it is.
 
 Beyond expectations
By Q, Washington DC, August 25, 2011

I knew it be rugged and well-built, but I had no idea. This thing is absolutely bulletproof. I can easily imagine some future grandchild of mine using it. I love the big zipper knots, the no-pull zippers, and the mil-spec metal. And it is amazing how much more you can pack into this shoulder bag than a typical roll-aboard carry-on.

I got the Air Boss specifically because I had a 9-day trip to Montana and Utah (with 3 separate flying days) where I needed to take a bunch of DSLR camera gear, including a tripod that is 21.5" long when collapsed. The Air Boss and a small backpack let me take everything I needed without having to check luggage. No way that would have ever worked with a roll-aboard. I'm definitely looking forward to using my Air Boss for some future one-bag business trip.
 
 Awesome Bag!
By David, San Francisco, August 25, 2011

Awesome bag! In love with it! The ONLY bag you will ever need. Buy it and get it done with.
 
 36 Days on the Road in Europe with only Air Boss
By Anonymous, CLEVELAND, August 19, 2011

I traveled for 36 days straight through 4 countries and 8 cities in Europe with only the Air Boss. It worked fine, although, when packed for that long a trip, it was heavy and I would have liked a convertible-back pack option. I love that it is sturdy and Made In America!
 
 Best carry-on bag for todays Business Traveler
By Carlton, Ft.Worth, August 16, 2011

I recently transition position and I have to travel frequently. I researched a carry-on bag that would handle that variations of the type of business travel that I have to do. So I stumble on on this blog called onbag.com and he described what I was looking for. That when I was pointed out to REDOXX and I could not have been happier. On a recent triop to San Fransico for company product kick off meeting I used the bag for an extended stay. This bag made a 7 day trip for business and pleasure a breeze. I even had room to bring home a few gifts for the family. Thanks RedOxx for a great piece of essential equipment for business travel. The AirBoss is a must have for serious business travelers.
 
 It works
By David, Kalamazoo, August 15, 2011

I packed this bag with clothes for a five day conference / business trip. It held all my clothes just fine. I am a big guy, and I was able to back multiple pairs of pants and XXL shirts. The best CARRY ON that I have ever used. The two sides are great.

When my wife and I travel we are able to each have a side with toiletries and/or dirty clothes in the middle compartment.

I also found the outside pockets very functional while waiting in the airport.
 
 Best carryon bag I've ever had
By Jay, Washington, DC, August 11, 2011

Found this bag through onebag.com, the owner of which apparently consulted on its design. And it shows. It's the most effective travel bag I've ever owned. Ridiculously well-made. Smart and sensible. It's never gonna get oohs and ahs but it'll get silent appreciative nods from any veteran traveller or road warrior. Great value for the money. I can't recommend it highly enough.
 
 Best BOSS I've ever worked with!
By Renee, San Rafael, CA, August 11, 2011

Just received my "boss" and took it on a short domestic flight. I packed for a long weekend, and still didn't use all of the space provided. I was irritatingly proud, I'm sure. I kept telling the porters, and anyone who handled my bag..."It's the light one", and "Never any problem with this bag fitting". I think I will only get worse! I may start leaving it in the aisle so the airline staff have to put it away for me...so they too can marvel at what a great bag I have! LOL of course, they'll think highly of my bag, and not me! I bought a gator bag directly after receiving my "boss". Did I mention that I'm stoked about my luggage!
 
 Initial impressions
By Michael Y, Denver, CO, August 11, 2011

I've only had this bag for 3 weeks but so far it has been incredible. Three weeks, 5 cities, 9 or 10 different hotels (I lose track after awhile) made me wish I found this bag years ago.

I was having trouble believing a shoulder carried bag would be easier than a wheelie but my first trip down a stalled escalator convinced me.

It's easily roomy enough for 6 days worth of clothing (2 suits, 5 shirts, toilet bag, BVD's, extra shoes and PT gear) and I don't need to unpack everything each night, it's easier to just retrieve what I need for the next day.

Ask me again in 9 months as that seems to be the breaking point for most of my other travel gear, but this thing seems bomb-proof.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.