Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Safari Travel Luggage  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse the nearly 700 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY!
Due to high demand, you're encouraged to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (700 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Excellent Bag
By Colin, Continental US travelling, February 3, 2013

I bought this bag as a classical musician who travels often for gigs and auditions. Since my instrument is always my "personal item" I wanted the largest possible carry-on with no wasted space. This bag managed to carry my clothing for a week PLUS white tie attire, a suit, two extra pairs of shoes (formal and running), and my laptop/charger. While packed THAT full it didn't quite fit in an overhead, but honestly attempting to fit that much in a carry-on was folly to begin with. Nonetheless, it all fit and was easy to carry through the airport. I'm confident that when I only need ONE set of formal attire I'll easily be able to go a few weeks out of this bag. Great design, great feel, great service.
 
 This bag made me a convert...
By Richard, New York, NY, January 31, 2013

I found out about the Air Boss via OneBag.com. After extensively checking reviews, I decided to give the Air Boss a chance. I have a bad back, so this was really a leap of faith.

Un-bee-liev-able.

The Air Boss has more room than I expected - so much so that I actually overpacked. Despite that, and even though I dreaded picking it up each time, I was pleasantly surprised every time that the bag was so well balanced that it wasn't a problem to carry.

Construction is as good as they say. And it was a revelation to have everything in one carryon that was smaller than most rollers. I couldn't be more pleased with this bag and I couldn't recommend this more highly to anyone. You'll be shocked at how much it accommodates.

FYI: I deducted one star (would have preferred if I could take away 1/2 star) because the strap was a bit of a letdown. But I had followed recommendations to buy an Op/Tech strap as a replacement -- perfect.
 
 Perfect
By Scott, Tennessee, January 31, 2013

Excellent bag

Excellent construction

Exactly what I needed
 
 Good bag that could be a great bag
By Christopher, Modesto, CA, January 25, 2013

There have been many reviews extolling the positive virtues of this bag, and I agree that the quality, overall design, and workmanship of the bag is outstanding. There are several imrovements I would suggest in order to make the bag even better.

First, the strap does indeed become uncomfortable when the bag is fully loaded. As many people on various forums have recommended, I purchased a different strap from another manufacturer, and the problem was solved. I use the RedOxx strap on my gym bag, and it is perfect for that.

Second, the hand grip is not padded in any way. I bought an aftermarket grip wrap that makes the bag much more comfortable to carry.

Third, I had inquired about buying a bag without the logo, and was politely declined. As I was seeking a bag in "business black" I removed the bright red logo and sewed on a different patch. Many business travelers prefer black luggage that is understated in appearance. The red logo is the opposite of this. I suspect this is a deterrant for many potential RedOxx customers.
 
 It's like magic!
By Jeff, York, PA, January 25, 2013

I'm not sure how this bag swallows all of my XXL clothing and other necessities for a 4-5 day business trip while still fitting into the tiny overhead on a regional jet, but it does just that. It must be some sort of magic! Viva Red Oxx!
 
 Air Boss
By Larry, San Antonio, TX, January 24, 2013

I really like this bag it is very much like one I used for years and had to look long and hard to find a replacement.

The only thing that would make it better for me is to loose the snap pocket and add a zipper as I don't care for the open pocket.

I got more than one comment on how good the bag looked while waiting to board an airplane.
 
 Truly Amazing
By Anonymous, Connecticut, January 24, 2013

I needed a carry-on bag for my trip to Europe that could actually hold a good amount of clothing and one that I could live out of comfortably. I also needed it the next day. I am happy to say that this bag and the service from Red Oxx far exceeded my expectations, which were pretty high. I also required that the bag could easily pack a suit, and this bag succeeded with minimal wrinkling in a fraction of the space other bags required. I will continue purchasing product from Red Oxx and I am happy that they make it here, in the good ole' USA.
 
 Top Notch!
By George, Fairfield, CA, January 24, 2013

After quite a bit of researching the options, I opted to take the plunge and buy the Air Boss. The product arrived quickly and I am most impressed with the quality of the material; it exemplifies the adage, "You get what you pay for." I've already gone on one trip and am impressed. The bag took all my clothes, running shoes, toiletries, paperwork, etc and still fit easily in the overhead bin on a full flight. I sense that this bad boy is going to last me a long time! Thanks, Red Oxx!
 
 Thankfully... NO WHEELS
By Philip, North Sea, January 23, 2013

I see a lot of negative comments about there being no wheels or the bag being too heavy.

Bottom line - there are hundreds of bags on the market with wheels and how much do you expect a bag to weigh when you carry everything you need to live out of.

I work offshore for a month or 6 weeks at a time. I have no access to shops to get anything else I need. This bag is perfect for me.

Wheels add an extra kilogram to a bag and I have a weight allowance of 12kg all in. That's less than 30lbs to take everything I need to live for a month: toiletries, loads of clothes (including suitable for arctic conditions), a computer and peripherals, kindle, etc.

So, I needed a bag that could cope with it all, be robust, this is the one.
 
 Solid Performer
By Anonymous, Vancouver, BC, January 22, 2013

I bought this bag after just 1 hr of online searching... After 2 years of living out of it, I am qualified to say it does a fine job. I was moving, on average, every 4 days so I packed and unpacked over 360 times without any visible signs of wear. Minimal shoulder strap use but comfortable when the occasion arose. Laptop fit in center pocket with shorts rolled up under it for added protection. My life's possessions fit in this Air Boss, Nomad Shave Kit tucked vertically in center pocket, and the Gypsy Suit Cover. This was 90% car travel, 10% plane/bus. Worth every penny.
 
 "AAA" AIRBOSS
By MGP , CAPE COD, MA, January 22, 2013

The Air Boss carry-on is perfect, big enough, not bulky. Made in the USA.
 
 air boss
By Larry, Amador County, CA, January 17, 2013

Haven't taken bag on air trip yet - but found it holds more than I thought. Strapped pockets keep pants and shirts from wrinkling. Could use an outside elastic pocket for water bottle.
 
 My wife wants mine
By Larry Hills, Memphis, TN, January 7, 2013

I've had mine for about 8 months, been on the road with it and found it to be exceptional. Just went on a 9 day vacation where my wife had the opportunity to observe firsthand this particular bag's utility and compactness--and now she wants one for herself. Good thing I have my name on mine.

If you are considering buying, believe me that this bag truly has the perquisite value for the money.
 
 Real travel room
By Dr. Neal Seymour, Virginia, January 3, 2013

Holds so much more than any rolling case! Was able to fit everything for a 7 day business trip to Europe including shoe shine gear. Carry-on luggage all the way. There is much more room than I had originally thought -- two pair of dress slacks, 6 dress shirts, leisure clothes, sandals - all toiletries.

Normally I would use a mid-size (not carry-on size) rolling case but the Air Boss made this a dream. It fit in the smaller trunks of European cars with ease. I wish I had one years ago. The quality is exquisite and the zippers a dream. Well thought-out and intelligently designed. Have just ordered a CPA case to go with it.
 
 WONDERFUL
By Mark , Ontario, Canada, January 3, 2013

What an unbelievable product you have created. Upon arrival, I must add after the unbelievably quick processing and delivery process (even at Christmas time) we opened up our order which was packaged with such care we were not left with the concern that anything would be wrong. We started pulling out our order and it was flawless. The quality far succeeded our expectations. The colours were pure and crisp and exact the quality of craftsmanship was outstanding and the product was outstanding. Thank you so much for creating something you should be so proud to put your name on.
 
 Look no further
By Jeremy, South Africa, January 3, 2013

This bag was relatively expensive for me due to the exchange rate and shipping to South Africa. The service I received was exceptional and the product is of the highest quality. I travel extensively in Africa and the Middle East and this bag has replaced all others. I'm not too fussed about the premium as I see myself using this bag for quite a while.
 
 Looking back
By Bart , the Netherlands, December 28, 2012

Looking back and i'm thinking:

"Why did i ever, bought those other bags".
 
 Simple and exceptional
By John, Memphis, December 27, 2012

I took the Air Boss on its maiden voyage for holiday travel in late December and it made the air travel portion of the trip a pleasure. The construction and simplicity of this bag are second to none. If it hadn't been packed to near full on my return with acquired items, it might have gone in the overhead bins of a CRJ-200 but even so, it still fit easily under the seat in front of me.

Red Oxx makes a superior product, and I'm glad to support and travel with a Montana-made bag that performs as advertised and meets or exceeds expectations. I'm ready for the next trip with the Air Boss. Love the claw shoulder strap. Pack light and it's a joy to carry.

I still think a sewn-in interior key loop would make the Air Boss perfect. I'm hesitant to screw the offered key clip through the fabric or webbing anywhere on my bag. If that were to result in a fabric tear, would it still be included under warranty?
 
 The BAG!
By Blake Barthelmess, Live: Moses Lake, WA ... Travel? You name it., December 26, 2012

For years, I searched for a single bag alternative. I played with BrandX... impossible to deal with during security check-in. I played with BrandY... poor execution of design (hard to pack).

And then, a few years ago I stumbled on Red Oxx. And oh the places we have been together.

Why is this bag special? Easy access, magnificent design, tough and tolerant. Enough juice to handle three weeks at at time in China, complete with clothes, laptop, heck even dress shoes and a tie.

Why has it taken me so long to write a review... well this bag had to prove itself to me. And it did.
 
 Ditto
By Eric, Arkansas, December 26, 2012

I echo all the hundreds of positive reviews on this bad *ss bag.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.