Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Gear Reviews  > Behind the Scenes  > Air-Boss

VIEW 360º

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated airline carry-on legal shoulder bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light:

  • freedom of movement -- mobility = power
  • less of your time wasted waiting in baggage and boarding lines
  • never any lost luggage
  • easy and quick access
  • overall travel simplification
  • lighter load = less fatigue
  • arrive fresh
  • no wheels to break or get you dirty
  • fits in the overhead bin
  • hands-free carry

Don't believe it? Peruse over 700 customer reviews right here from satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel lite bag for you.

Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous carry-on one bag travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of fame to develop this all-in-one inclusive mobile carry-on bag.

Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized and happier traveler. Thanks to guidance from, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss. Not into bundle packing? Now you can pack and still be organized when you build your very own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit.

Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered slip pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, and an outside sleeve pocket for magazines, files, or a tablet. Inside the Air Boss are two outer compartments that each have buckled adjustable tie-downs inside to keep your belongings, or packing cubes, held in position and wrinkle-free until you unpack at your destination.

The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

Includes detachable padded nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin from Austin Adventures shows how to best use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one.

However, please be aware that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! To accommodate the extra weight try adding a second Claw Shoulder Strap and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder). This can help offset the added load. See Photos tab for how this is done.


Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a soft sided carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched for unbreakable strength - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our experience as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings from casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your favorite carry-on travel bag bust apart and break you down?

Looking for a similar capacity carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps for hands-free carry? Try our other popular airline travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the mobile Air Boss!

U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 35.7 Liters.
Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Our bags will fit! Currently in stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

The Air Boss Carry-on bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (718 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Best bag yet
By Ron G, Norfolk, UK, February 8, 2014

It's just like Mary Poppins bag, with a shoulder strap.

Having done a 2 week trip to California with hand luggage I decided to try the Air Bosson a 4 week 'one bag' trip to Phoenix, AZ. Firstly, I was surprised at how much went in the bag without appearing to be bursting at the seams. It can be a bit of hassle taking another laptop bag but not too bad once used to carrying it by the handle. It easily passed its maiden test and due to be used on another trip to Australia in a couple of months.

Let's see how many miles we can put on this bag.
 A Super Bag!
By Cody, Red Deer, Alberta, Canada, February 4, 2014

This bag is just as advertised. I spent a great deal of time investigating carry-ons, and finally decided on the Air Boss.

I just completed a ten day Caribbean cruise, carrying only my Air Boss, and it was more than adequate. Carried formal and informal wear with no difficulty, and it all fit comfortably in airplane overhead bins.

Excellent quality is evident throughout in its manufacture.

I may even be able to convince my wife to travel using only the Air Boss, she was so impressed with the bag and its capacity.

An excellent product.
 I'm obsessed with my new bag!
By J Munro, United Kingdom, January 31, 2014

After having my small wheeled luggage put in the hold on my last 2 European trips because the overhead lockers were full, and seeing my friend waltz straight on board with her carry bag and then easily take the stairs to our apartment whilst I dragged my case up, I decided to research a flight bag as soon as I got home.

I then discovered the only bag that fitted the bill was the Air Boss which I discovered through the onebag website. But at $220 plus £40 postage then another £30 customs fee into the UK, I decided to continue looking.

Nope - turns out the Air Boss was the ONLY bag that met the restrictions needed to guarantee my bag could come on the plane with me. After a solid month of research (I'm thorough!) I decided to bit the bullet and just buy it. The lifetime guarantee was the winner as I knew I'd never need another one.

Man was I excited. I must have watched 30 videos on people packing it before I ordered it - I knew this bag inside and out before it even arrived! After much deliberation I went for the red one and it arrived within a couple of weeks.

It was bigger than I imagined but I was so pleased when I got out all the stuff I'd taken on my last trip to Verona - stuff that filled my case to capacity, to find that it comfortably fitted in the Air Boss.

I take this bag all over the place now. Any excuse to use it actually. I feel proud carrying it at the airport and it has all the pockets and space I need. This bag is perfectly designed for me and I use it for trips where I'm taking my laptop and need clothes for around 4 days. I'm female and it's not too cumbersome and doesn't slip off my shoulder either.

Just buy the bag cos you won't ever need another one!
 Nice bag
By Anonymous, , January 17, 2014

I really like this bag. The first time I used it it was like an ad for it: flew on a tiny regional jet and I was the only one that could carry my bag on. Then, had 45 minutes to connect in a big airport and ran across the airport and made the connection. I will say a few things. If you have big feet like me (13 mens), shoes will take up much of the center area. I find it's better to wear my sport coat then pack it to save space. I pack pretty light (not super light, but pretty light), but even then it bulges a little more than it should (like I said, I put my gym shoes in my carry on). When it bulges, it cannot fit in the overhead bin of a small regional jet (CRJ900). What I ended up doing is either put it under the seat in front of me or keeping a bag within this that holds my laptop, kindle, reading glasses, etc. Once this stuff is out, then it's possible to fit in CRJ900 with some pushing.

That being said, I like this bag and will continue to use it. In the center portion I put: shoes vertical on sides, 1qt clear liquids bag, Nomad shave kit (that holds glasses, cords, etc), and another small pouch (11"x6" bankers deposit pouch) for non liquid toiletries. This system works well for me. My kindle goes on the outside pouch. I think if I were a smaller person, my shoes and clothes would take up less space, and I could give this 5 stars (the 4 vs. 5 is just because for me and my bulge-y packing, it doesn't quite fit on overhead of CRJ900, and I'm a tough grader, so 4 is good on my scale).
 Lives up to it's reputation
By John McCarthy, London, England, January 9, 2014

I've travelled around the world (twice) with this bag, and can't think of any way it could be improved for my needs.

I don't use this bag for business, but I did put my faith in it to pack a suit for a wedding and was impressed when it came out at my destination in very good condition. Most of the time it's loaded up with casual shirts, tees and holiday/travelling gear.

I bundle wrap everything and have been very impressed with how much the Air Boss can hold. It can hold more than is comfortable to carry so be careful. I'm generally alright carrying bags over long distances and I found the Air Boss and Claw strap to be very comfortable, although for heavier loads I changed the strap to a popular 3rd party strap for more comfort over grip.

In Europe, even with our tighter carry on rules I've never had to gate check the bag thanks to it's smart design and have flown the strict budget airline RyanAir many times with this bag with no problems at the gate. When their overhead spaces are full the bag fits neatly under the seat in front of you too.

This bag really is as great as you hear, as long as you are prepared to carry what you pack!
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, GA, December 28, 2013

Just finished my first trip with this bag - Germany for 10 days. Carried all the clothes I needed for a variety of dress and athletic days minus a ski jacket that I carried separately, required laundering once. Walked throughout ATL and FRA for decent distances with no significant fatigue or shoulder stress.

Materials are top notch and the bag feels extremely high quality.

Also love the safari color combination - a nice outdoorsy feeling but still understated.

Couldn't be happier - great bag!
 Air Boss
By George, Honolulu,Hi, December 26, 2013

This carry on is built like a tank. Zippers are bombproof. Perfect if you are carrying a 17" laptop and clothing plus a lot more. I am ready to pull the plug on a Safari-Beanos.

Aloha from Hawaii
 Perfect for its intended use
By Matt, Johnson City, TX, December 24, 2013

I have thoroughly enjoyed my Air Boss. I travel weekly for work (usually 3-5 days to 1-3 destinations) and, once I learned the ins and outs of packing for this bag over about 2 months, I am sold long-term.

Overall, the bag's capacity is amazing compared to my prior roller. The biggest watch-out is to avoid overpacking. My trips usually consist of 2 pairs slacks, 3-4 business shirts, 1 jacket, underwear, socks, 5 t-shirts, size 13 running shoes, 1 pair shorts, toiletries, and some small miscellaneous stuff (I also carry a laptop bag separately). This load fits easily, and is compressible enough to fit in CRJ bins. This comes to about 18 lbs (compared to 27 lbs for my roller, absolutely stuffed to capacity).

I use 2 packing cubes, a shaving kit, and gallon-size Ziploc bags in the center compartment (with running shoes in the bottom). Each side compartment contains 2 or 3 days' slacks, shirts, underwear, etc (folded with hangers still in). This setup may not be perfect for all but it works well for me. When I arrive I unpack one side's clothes, then begin to fold dirty clothes and put them back in that side as they accumulate. This method keeps the load distributed evenly. The center compartment unpacks and repacks easily with the cubes.

The shoulder strap is AWESOME, as my #1 complaint with other bags has been slippage of the strap. No worries at all about this one slipping! Attach/detach is one-handed and about 5 seconds' work.

Build quality is excellent. The zippers in particular get comments from other frequent travelers. I do love the strength and ease of operation of the zippers, snaps, and latches. Internal compartments are just the right stiffness to protect and be pliable at the same time. The looks are more casual than a Tumi roller, but doesn't seem inappropriate in any management setting I've been in (I think this look fits my personality better too).

Not sure what I would do to improve the bag--maybe put another zipper on the large, open side pocket to prevent gaps, maybe? Everything else I can think of is spot-on and has been a revelation as I've lived with the bag the first few months.

This bag is very, very tough to beat if you want the lightest load possible and are willing to give up wheels. The Air Boss for me is an unqualified thumbs-up recommendation.
 Pretty sweet, but not for me
By Ernie, Denver, CO, December 16, 2013

Very well made bag and packs easily. I used it for 2 trips - a 3 day domestic and a 6 day international. On both trips, I was easily able to fit what I needed into the bag.

It's not for me because it became a pain to carry on my shoulder. It was heavy and I became jealous of my travel partners who had rolling bags.

Like the title says, it is a sweet bag and extremely well made, but it is not for me.
 Air Boss on the Paris Métro
By Gareth Hughes, Oxford, December 16, 2013

My Air Boss (safari) has just completed its maiden voyage of four days in Paris with my choir. Stuffed full of choir music and gowns, it was comfortable to carry, and it fitted the overhead racks on the Eurostar. Yet it came into its own running around Paris by Métro. With some of the older stations offering only stairs, the wheelie bags were stuck. The well-designed compartments also meant that I could unzip one and retrieve whatever was needed rather than having to open everything and rummage through it all. This bag is the best I've travelled with.
 My first non roll-aboard luggage
By Michael, New York, NY, December 12, 2013

From reading, I wanted to try traveling without a small and light roll-aboard. I still haven't decided what type of luggage that I prefer, with wheels or without, after 3 air travels.

The Air Boss definitely looks and feels high quality. I'm confident this bag may outlast me. I'm undecided about the huge zipper. It is very rugged, but I may prefer a smaller and easier to open zipper.

I think the main compartments for bundling wrap and few additional compartments are very well thought out. I can bundle a suit in one of the main compartments and it still looks nice at the destination.

My problem with traveling with the Air Boss, although it's not a problem with the product itself, is that with a 5lb work laptop plus charger in it, my shoulder carries a lot of load and may slightly exceed airlines' max weight allowed for a carry-on. This can be a disadvantage compared to a roll-aboard and a separate laptop bag perched on top of the roll-aboard. Again not an issue with the product, but should be a consideration for customers' coming from a roll-aboard and laptop bag combo.
 Works Really Well
By Kathy, PA, December 12, 2013

Bought this because my existing suitcases (bought for college 30+ years ago) do not meet any modern criteria. This was the perfect carry-on. All my clothes for a week fit in, but still wasn't too heavy. Went right into overhead compartment. Tough as nails.
 Worth every dollar
By Ryan, Boston MA, December 9, 2013

Great product. Amazing for airline travel. Nothing but ease through security and nice compliments to boot. My only negative is the strap can get real uncomfortable if the bag is packed to the max.
 Perfect Gift!
By Anonymous, Oklahoma, December 4, 2013

I bought this bag, a backpack, and a shaving kit for a gift and even after 3 months I am still hearing about how wonderful they are! I was impressed by the quality when they arrived and the color was gorgeous!! They are perfect for a quick weekend getaway or a week long vacation.

I am continually impressed by the company and the customer service I received initially and continuously. Look forward to purchasing for myself soon.
 The Air Boss is BOSS!
By Mr. Bill Travel , New England , November 29, 2013

I love the Air Boss....

As it my 12 year old son would say it is "Boss"!!

I have paid for the bag already with the bag fees I have saved with the airlines!!

Great bag for work or pleasure travel!
 My family's third AirBoss
By Mike, Maryland, November 21, 2013

I bought an AirBoss (blue) in 2010 in response to the raves on the OneBag site. My son saw it and asked for his own (navy) for Christmas 2012. Then with my daughter going abroad to study, she asked for one to complement her red rolling suitcase; the AirBoss sits nicely atop the roller, and also serves as a weekend bag.

I've used mine on many trips, as carryon and checked bag; it carries a ton of clothes and other gear (laptop, books, etc.). No real signs of wear. My only reservation is that it's not an easy bag to live out of--better if you can unpack and hang or store your stuff. But for getting to your destination--including that last mile on foot--it's hard to beat.
By mspeed, Guelph, Ontario, Canada, November 17, 2013

I needed a carry-on bag meeting international limits, but didn’t want the clunky, hard-sided wheeled variety. I was hesitant to buy on line, but I couldn’t find anything that met my criteria elsewhere. So after reading many, many luggage reviews, I ordered the Air Boss. Delivery was quick and efficient, and I was immediately impressed by the good looks and outstanding craftsmanship. It reeks of quality. After a month-long trip around Greece (including island-hopping on ferries and regional airplanes) and several subsequent weekenders, the bag has come through with flying colours. It is very easy to load into an overhead bin (one of my main requirements). The compartments are very well thought out, and the red lining makes the contents more visible than the standard black, when top-loading the centre compartment. Nice looking, too. The cinch straps in the outside compartments keep skirts and blouses from arriving wrinkled. The padding means I can slip my laptop safely into the centre compartment for trips where weight is not an issue.

The only suggestion I would make (and it is minor) would be to allow locks to hook to the zipper-pulls closer to the bag. Normally, of course, one would not use locks, but on one of my flights the plane had some cargo issues and it seemed the bag would have to be checked. Attaching TSA locks to the zippers was a little awkward; they stuck out a bit. On the other hand, this was an unusual situation, and I suspect I’m not the norm in carrying around extra TSA locks “just in case”.

The bag has travelled a lot of miles already, and still looks brand new. To paraphrase Elton John, “I think it’s gonna last a long long time.”

This is an outstanding piece of luggage, and I’m patting myself on the back for choosing it. Makes me look like a seasoned traveller—with very good taste.

By John C, New York City, November 14, 2013

Found the airboss based on the onebag website. For me it involved a whole new way of packing. I'd been rolling my stuff in a wheeling bag for decades. I've now taken 3 trips with this bag and i'm sold. it's gone to Hong Kong (six day trip), California, and Boston. My clothes fit easily, even though i'm 6'6" tall, and it's no problem to carry it on the shoulder. Super easy to fit in overhead bins. Very well made. I've already convinced one of my pals to get one as well, and i'm sure there will be more.
 More versatile than described
By Gavin, Sydney, Australia, November 2, 2013

I ordered the Air Boss for the sole purpose of business travel and adhering to the ‘one bag’ philosophy. I have used the bag twice for business trips to towns in rural New South Wales

We generally travel on smaller planes and the Air Boss performs perfectly. I wish I had discovered this bag years ago as it would have made travelling much simpler. The bag is perfect for my 3-4 day trips, but you could easily travel on extended trips with this bag.

Little did I realise, the Air Boss is also perfect for 4x4ing and outback trips. The bag is easily strong enough to handle long dusty trips and the same compartments that serve business folks so well are nicely organised for campers too.

I am heading off on a 3 week 4x4 tour of Tasmania over Christmas and I the only bag I will be taking is the Air Boss!

Thanks guys


 Travelling a lot
By Durlon, Bedford, Tx, October 31, 2013

I travel for work on average 2 to 3 times a week. Usually just an overnight trip. But I do have paperwork, my clothes and essentials that I must bring with me. These bags have simplified my travels immensely. I used to carry 4 bags, with my electronics, clothes, paperwork etc...Flying was a pain carrying all that around.

Now I've cut it all down to two bags, the Air Boss, and the CPA Briefcase and I'm good to go. I can carry everything and I don't have to check my bags anymore. I don't have to worry about a bag being lost in transit (which has happened to me several times).

It's sturdy, seems to be very well made. I think these bags are going to last me a long time. The shoulder strap could be a little wider for me, but the no-slip is amazing. Even with both bags over my shoulder I don't have to worry about them sliding off my shoulder.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers: #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most continental jet airlines. Our bags fit!
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
We recommend you build your own packing cube kit. If you're not into cube packing, the bundle packing method is handy. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download a printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book and is carried by a shoulder strap.
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
If it will fit, you can go ahead and cram your Air Boss under the seat, just be sure to slip the Claw Shoulder Strap inside the bag so it won't get caught on anything, (or anyone).
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Skip the cheap imported packing cubes and create your own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the logo patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the red patches black.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. In the interest of simplicity, there are no internal pockets.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top