Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Behind the Scenes  > Air-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 680 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (694 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 My first non roll-aboard luggage
By Michael, New York, NY, December 12, 2013

From reading onebag.com, I wanted to try traveling without a small and light roll-aboard. I still haven't decided what type of luggage that I prefer, with wheels or without, after 3 air travels.

The Air Boss definitely looks and feels high quality. I'm confident this bag may outlast me. I'm undecided about the huge zipper. It is very rugged, but I may prefer a smaller and easier to open zipper.



I think the main compartments for bundling wrap and few additional compartments are very well thought out. I can bundle a suit in one of the main compartments and it still looks nice at the destination.

My problem with traveling with the Air Boss, although it's not a problem with the product itself, is that with a 5lb work laptop plus charger in it, my shoulder carries a lot of load and may slightly exceed airlines' max weight allowed for a carry-on. This can be a disadvantage compared to a roll-aboard and a separate laptop bag perched on top of the roll-aboard. Again not an issue with the product, but should be a consideration for customers' coming from a roll-aboard and laptop bag combo.
 
 Works Really Well
By Kathy, PA, December 12, 2013

Bought this because my existing suitcases (bought for college 30+ years ago) do not meet any modern criteria. This was the perfect carry-on. All my clothes for a week fit in, but still wasn't too heavy. Went right into overhead compartment. Tough as nails.
 
 Worth every dollar
By Ryan, Boston MA, December 9, 2013

Great product. Amazing for airline travel. Nothing but ease through security and nice compliments to boot. My only negative is the strap can get real uncomfortable if the bag is packed to the max.
 
 Perfect Gift!
By Anonymous, Oklahoma, December 4, 2013

I bought this bag, a backpack, and a shaving kit for a gift and even after 3 months I am still hearing about how wonderful they are! I was impressed by the quality when they arrived and the color was gorgeous!! They are perfect for a quick weekend getaway or a week long vacation.

I am continually impressed by the company and the customer service I received initially and continuously. Look forward to purchasing for myself soon.
 
 The Air Boss is BOSS!
By Mr. Bill Travel , New England , November 29, 2013

I love the Air Boss....

As it my 12 year old son would say it is "Boss"!!

I have paid for the bag already with the bag fees I have saved with the airlines!!

Great bag for work or pleasure travel!
 
 My family's third AirBoss
By Mike, Maryland, November 21, 2013

I bought an AirBoss (blue) in 2010 in response to the raves on the OneBag site. My son saw it and asked for his own (navy) for Christmas 2012. Then with my daughter going abroad to study, she asked for one to complement her red rolling suitcase; the AirBoss sits nicely atop the roller, and also serves as a weekend bag.

I've used mine on many trips, as carryon and checked bag; it carries a ton of clothes and other gear (laptop, books, etc.). No real signs of wear. My only reservation is that it's not an easy bag to live out of--better if you can unpack and hang or store your stuff. But for getting to your destination--including that last mile on foot--it's hard to beat.
 
 Outstanding
By mspeed, Guelph, Ontario, Canada, November 17, 2013

I needed a carry-on bag meeting international limits, but didn’t want the clunky, hard-sided wheeled variety. I was hesitant to buy on line, but I couldn’t find anything that met my criteria elsewhere. So after reading many, many luggage reviews, I ordered the Air Boss. Delivery was quick and efficient, and I was immediately impressed by the good looks and outstanding craftsmanship. It reeks of quality. After a month-long trip around Greece (including island-hopping on ferries and regional airplanes) and several subsequent weekenders, the bag has come through with flying colours. It is very easy to load into an overhead bin (one of my main requirements). The compartments are very well thought out, and the red lining makes the contents more visible than the standard black, when top-loading the centre compartment. Nice looking, too. The cinch straps in the outside compartments keep skirts and blouses from arriving wrinkled. The padding means I can slip my laptop safely into the centre compartment for trips where weight is not an issue.

The only suggestion I would make (and it is minor) would be to allow locks to hook to the zipper-pulls closer to the bag. Normally, of course, one would not use locks, but on one of my flights the plane had some cargo issues and it seemed the bag would have to be checked. Attaching TSA locks to the zippers was a little awkward; they stuck out a bit. On the other hand, this was an unusual situation, and I suspect I’m not the norm in carrying around extra TSA locks “just in case”.

The bag has travelled a lot of miles already, and still looks brand new. To paraphrase Elton John, “I think it’s gonna last a long long time.”

This is an outstanding piece of luggage, and I’m patting myself on the back for choosing it. Makes me look like a seasoned traveller—with very good taste.

 
 Revolutionary
By John C, New York City, November 14, 2013

Found the airboss based on the onebag website. For me it involved a whole new way of packing. I'd been rolling my stuff in a wheeling bag for decades. I've now taken 3 trips with this bag and i'm sold. it's gone to Hong Kong (six day trip), California, and Boston. My clothes fit easily, even though i'm 6'6" tall, and it's no problem to carry it on the shoulder. Super easy to fit in overhead bins. Very well made. I've already convinced one of my pals to get one as well, and i'm sure there will be more.
 
 More versatile than described
By Gavin, Sydney, Australia, November 2, 2013

I ordered the Air Boss for the sole purpose of business travel and adhering to the ‘one bag’ philosophy. I have used the bag twice for business trips to towns in rural New South Wales

We generally travel on smaller planes and the Air Boss performs perfectly. I wish I had discovered this bag years ago as it would have made travelling much simpler. The bag is perfect for my 3-4 day trips, but you could easily travel on extended trips with this bag.

Little did I realise, the Air Boss is also perfect for 4x4ing and outback trips. The bag is easily strong enough to handle long dusty trips and the same compartments that serve business folks so well are nicely organised for campers too.

I am heading off on a 3 week 4x4 tour of Tasmania over Christmas and I the only bag I will be taking is the Air Boss!

Thanks guys

Gavin

 
 Travelling a lot
By Durlon, Bedford, Tx, October 31, 2013

I travel for work on average 2 to 3 times a week. Usually just an overnight trip. But I do have paperwork, my clothes and essentials that I must bring with me. These bags have simplified my travels immensely. I used to carry 4 bags, with my electronics, clothes, paperwork etc...Flying was a pain carrying all that around.

Now I've cut it all down to two bags, the Air Boss, and the CPA Briefcase and I'm good to go. I can carry everything and I don't have to check my bags anymore. I don't have to worry about a bag being lost in transit (which has happened to me several times).

It's sturdy, seems to be very well made. I think these bags are going to last me a long time. The shoulder strap could be a little wider for me, but the no-slip is amazing. Even with both bags over my shoulder I don't have to worry about them sliding off my shoulder.
 
 Almost perfect bag
By Joel, california, October 25, 2013

I used this bag on a 2 1/2 week trip to Japan and Hawaii. I needed clothes for a variety of weather: hot/cool/dry/wet.

At 21 1/2 lbs total weight it was close to the max I wanted to carry, but it worked well and held everything. On a shorter trip I could have kept the weight down to maybe 16-18 lbs, which would be easier to carry around on public transport. The 3 compartment arrangement worked well.

I did use the Tom Bihn strap rather than the Claw, simply because I knew I would sling the bag cross-body for any extended walking so the great grip of the Claw wouldn't be needed, and the TB strap was lighter and a bit more comfortable.

What would I change?

Just in case I need to check-in the bag (I didn't) it would be nice if the zippers were of the style where a TSA lock could connect the 2 handles at the base rather than at the tag end as the current design has it. This would allow the lock to hang closer to the bag and be less likely to get snagged on the conveyor belts, etc.

And of course a small loop on which to hang keys would be nice (yes, you have the accessory pin key holder, but that just leaves another connection point which could result in a lost key).

A great bag. Small enough to be carryon for international flights. Excellently made, of course.

 
 Superlative Piece of Luggage
By Martin, Missouri, October 17, 2013

For a number of years, I have been doing the "one-bag" method for travel. I had an old Samsonite carry-on bag, similar in size to the Air Boss. That poor bag had seen better days, but it did it's job, after a fashion, on many trips domestic and abroad.

I was preparing to go to Spain, to propose to my now fiance, and it was clear I needed a new bag. Being the frugal sort, I had some reservations about spending over $200 on a simple carry-on bag, but I bit the bullet and decided to buy the Air Boss, based on numerous positive reviews.

When I ordered, nearly every color was out of stock and I needed the bag quickly, so I chose one of (I think) two colors in stock, which was the Safari design. I wasn't sure how I would like the color scheme, but fashion isn't that important to me. However, I do like it; it has sort of a military look, all business I guess one would say.

The bag came quickly, and I was immediately impressed with the quality of construction. While not heavy in weight, the fabric is tough. Beefy snaps, heavy duty zippers, and straps and handles that are stronger than automotive seat belts complete the package. Even the luggage tag is heavy duty. I imagine one could slice through the side with a sharp knife, but the rest of it seems indestructible in a practical sense.

I packed enough clothes for a two-week trip and had room to spare. Granted, I pack light and have lightweight, quick-drying clothes for travel, but I could have packed my regular clothes just as easily.

Going through the airport with this bag was a great experience. The "claw" shoulder strap functioned better than advertised. I didn't realize how poorly the strap from my old Samsonite bag functioned. I was able to just hang this bag on my shoulder and forget about it.

One thing I very much appreciated was that after emptying the bag, it lies very flat. It slides easily under a bed for storage. My old bag had a hard bottom and it was less convenient to store.

The red lining was a nice touch. I was skeptical that it made any difference, but after having an all-black bag, I found Red Oxx is right that the red lining makes a big difference in sorting through one's items.

Being an objective sort, I would like to list the negatives of the bag. However, I cannot think of a single one. Everything said on this website about the bag is completely accurate. Obviously, this is one of the best engineered carry-on bags ever made. It's over-engineered, overbuilt -- I know I will never have to buy another bag. Superlative is indeed the appropriate descriptor.
 
 Weekend Getaway
By All Stage and Sound, Maryland, October 10, 2013

This is perfect for my wife and I. She gets one side and I get the other side for our clothes. This leaves the middle part for our toiletries and anything else. Its the perfect size for us. We both don't have to carry bags. The carry strap is super comfortable. The handle is comfortable. The side pockets are very useful for phone chargers and kindle type devises. Finally this thing is never going to break or rip. Never. You get what you pay for!
 
 Great bag, but I don't use it as much any more
By AS, NJ, October 5, 2013

I must admit I don't this bag as much anymore. I bought this bag before I got married, and used it exclusively for my carryon. But after marriage, since my wife uses a rolling suitecase, I usually do it.

Plus, this bag can get heavy carrying it across large airports like Dubai.

In any case, I still use the bag for short 4 day trips where we drive because it can pack a lot while offering plenty of organization. So although I hardly use it for air travel anymore, it still sees monthly action. Plus, it's easy to squeeze into my car's small trunk.

I've used this bag in South East Asia, Hawaii, California, Florida, the Bahamas, and many other places in the continental US. Like everyone else's reviews, I've had no trouble fitting it into carryon space.

I also have some other products, including the Market Tote, Lil Roy, Travel Basket/Tray, the XS Aviator. Personally, I'm a HUGE fan of the XS Aviator, and I think it's one of best bags from any manufacturer.

My personal reason for really appreciating my AirBoss is that I lived out of it for a period of 6 weeks. When my wife was hospitalized and in between the hospital and in-patient rehab, I lived out of the AirBoss for 6 weeks. I also had the XS Aviator which I used for food and medical supplies, but it acted mostly as a storage bag. Fortunately, I could do laundry whenever needed. The AirBoss was great, as I was able to keep plenty of clothes separated between the three compartments. I mainly put dirty clothes in one outside section, and used the center for toiletries, shoes, laptop, and a DSLR. The other outside section held the clean clothes. The narrow zip slip pocket was used to keep receipts and records of medical expenses. The large side zip pocket held medical papers. I also used the XS Aviator to carry heavy loads and items like cans of food and bottles of water.

During the 6 weeks, I also ended up buying a lightweight nylon ripstop packable duffel from another company which was used to store dirty clothes (or be packed away in minimal space until needed). However, the build quality of the Redoxx gear was much better.

Anyways, that's the reason I appreciate the AirBoss. I relied upon it at the most critical time of my life, and it didn't disappoint.

Thank you Redoxx team. You helped me out.
 
 as promised
By Rotcoddam, Virginia, USA, September 26, 2013

Worked as well as promised in the various on line reviews and the product web site. A great bag that fit easily in any overhead compartment due to the soft sides and lack of wheels. I did underestimate how heavy it would get when carrying it a while. The shoulder strap really was great, but still my shoulder ached after carrying it for a half hour or so. I did find that by sliding the strap so that the weight of the bag was in front of my hip I could stand up straighter and this helped my back. With the case more to the rear, I had to lean forward to balance. Of course, I weigh only 145 pounds, so for a bigger guy that might not be an issue. Definitely recommend.
 
 Great bag!
By Bill, Alabama, September 26, 2013

This is a great bag! I recently took a one week vacation to Aruba and packed all my clothes in my bag so I needed no checked bag. It has become my go-to bag for every trip I make now.
 
 I'm sold
By Anonymous, NE, September 26, 2013

Purchased based on flyertalk reviews/raves. Used it for a family (3) trip to Vegas for 5 days. Using an EC folder and organizing bags, I was able to fit EVERYTHING in this bag. We also toted along two backpacks for diapers, snacks, etc., but the main luggage was only this Air Boss. It was heavy, but manageable. On a leg bag, was able to switch flights; therefore, having this bag eliminated the angst of trying to find room for a fullsize roller.
 
 Best travel bag I have ever used
By Jeff B, Santa Monica, September 20, 2013

Exceeds expectations. This bag is beyond tough and looks great. Zippers are strong and do not slip. Compartments hold more than seems possible. Color options are great. You will not be disappointed. Only two issues--cost us high and availability can be problem. But, this have should last ten years. Worth the wait.

 
 Fantastic gear
By JV, An airport somewhere in the US, September 5, 2013

The perfect bag for me. I have a couple of dozen domestic trips on this bag, most of them of 3-5 day duration. Carried on every time, all manner of aircraft. Plenty of space for casual business, plus some workout gear. I also have the metro briefcase for my 17" laptop, iPad, etc. I love NOT having wheels -- so fast and easy on trains, in planes, in airports, and especially getting across town in NYC. Great bag. Extremely well made and extremely well thought out.
 
 Best Luggage I've EVER or WILL EVER Own
By Benjamin, Boston, MA, July 29, 2013

I am not a tourist! I am a business traveler! I set foot on over sixty airplanes last year, so I know exactly what I want in a carry on. Never before had I found it until I did a search for "best carry on luggage" and this was at the top of the list.

I can easily fit a week's worth of clothes in here, which includes a pair of shoes, two suits, the RedOxx Tri-Fold Shave Kit, the RedOxx travel basket, and much more. If you know how to pack, this is the only bag worth having.

As far as utility goes, it easily fits in the overhead bin and doesn't take up excessive space like those idiotic "rollies" and the rude travelers who inexplicably carry them on. I've never had to gate check this bag...not even on smaller regional jets.

It's also tough and remarkably weatherproof. I personally feel that RedOxx downplays their products' water resistance. This thing has sat in the rain and been lugged through snow more times that I would have liked and nothing inside ever gets wet.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.